Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,368 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Buick Verano electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Buick Verano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Buick Verano Owner Comments

problem #9

Dec 102015

Verano

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brought car from carmax they sold me a car with a messed up motherboard whenever onstar comes through the car it put the car in cruise control about 50 or less mph. It stays on 24/7 and now its draining my battery and now the car completely cuts off while im driving or it wont even start.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #8

Aug 112016

Verano

  • 56,000 miles
I was at a stop sign and when it was my turn to go I started to drive and realized my car was not accelerating, I had the gas peddle all the way to the floor as a tractor trailer was fastly approaching my rear bumper, luckly I was able to coast to median. Took to dealer and they said there was a switch that needed to be replaced. My entire dashboard lights and radio went out, which dealership had to replace twice. My car shut off while pulling into a parking spot, it was raining and defrost was not working, took to dealership which they stated it was my battery, paid $200 for a new battery. My car jerks and stalls when I am going from a complete stop and begin to pick up speed. I was backing out a parking spot today and my car shut off and the check engine light came on, I restarted my car which the check engine light remains on and the stalling and jerking continues. These issues can cause a major accident and if severe enought can be life threatening. If I am required to hold up my end of the bargain by paying my car note the manufacturers need to be held accountable for their end of the bargain which is providing their buyers with a secure and reliable vehicles for families.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #7

Nov 022014

Verano

  • 15,000 miles
Corrosion and faulty connection to positive cable I have had to replace battery 2 times in the past year. The battery bracket is corroding and the computer. Positive cable terminal

- O Fallon, MO, USA

problem #6

Oct 262015

Verano

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

10/26/15 - car wouldn't start; recv'd jump, replaced battery ($169.40). 11/6/15 - came out of restaurant, car wouldn't start. Got jump took to dealer. Dealer replaced starter and issue resolved. 11/12-11/21: Car stalled 8-10 more documented times both when backing out of parking spot in reverse and at vehicle speeds varying from 35mph to 67mph on 5 lane interstate during rush hour. Took to dealer and called GM. Replaced two solenoids and some hose, keeping car so tech can drive for 2 days to see if problem can be replicated. I can't determine a cause or pattern and don't get any prior warning, so hoping it does occur in their possession during testing. This vehicle is unreliable and very dangerous. I almost caused a multiple vehicle accident on the interstate and risk injury or death by operating this vehicle. My family is at risk, myself and other motorists. GM says there is no problem but after seeing the numerous complaints on NHTSA.gov as well as several other online forums, it is clear that GM is trying to avoid another issue with their vehicles. I have owned GM products since turning 16 and this is completely unacceptable. I have been provided with a dealership loaner and will refuse to take my Verano back as I do not feel safe driving or owning this vehicle. Currently have open complaint with GM but do not have resolution at the time of this complaint.

- Pacific, MO, USA

problem #5

Mar 042015

Verano

  • 59,831 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Buick Verano. While driving approximately 40 mph, all of the warning lights on the instrument panel remained illuminated and the brakes made an abnormal noise when the gear was shifted into reverse. The failure recurred several times. The contact also stated that the traction and low volt lights needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 59,831.

- Jacksonville , FL, USA

problem #4

Aug 122013

Verano 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
From the time I leased the car in August of 2012, the car always stalled from time to time. I took it in 2 months after I purchased it for the stalling, but they didn't find anything wrong with it. Once in March of 2014 I turned my car on and went to put the car in drive and it wouldn't shift. I tried multiples times, but it wouldn't shift. I turned the car off and back on and then the gear moved to drive. On July 12, 2014, the car actually turned off while I was driving it. I was leaving work and as I proceeded to exit my jobs parking lot, the car turned off and I noticed the malfunction light was on. I immediately called Buick/onstar to report the problem. I drove the car home because I didn't want to be stranded at work because I work for a school and it was closed for the day. Anyway, the car was attempting to turn off the entire drive home which is about a 25 minute drive. The Buick/onstar representative stayed on the phone with me to make sure I was safe and when I arrived home a tow truck arrived shortly after to tow my car to the Buick dealer that I purchased the car from. I received the car back 2 weeks later and they informed me that the cables connected to the battery were loose and that they had fixed it. I drove the car for another 2 weeks and one day I went to drive it and it wouldn't start. So, I called Buick again, they towed it again and it has now been back at the Buick dealer for a little over 2 weeks now. I have one of their loaner cars in my possession now. I do not want this car back because I can't be sure that the car won't cut off on me while I'm driving on the expressway or anywhere which could result in an accident. They need to recall this model because I've read other comments where people have had the same issues. A car randomly cutting off while you're driving it is just not safe!

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #3

Mar 102014

Verano 4-cyl

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Buick Verano. The contact was driving approximately 35-45 mph and reached for the radio but haphazardly hit the keys in the ignition causing the vehicle to stall. The vehicle was restarted and taken to the dealer. The dealer was unable to generate a failure code after performing a diagnostic. The failure recurred and was taken back to the dealer, who test drove the vehicle for six miles but was unable to duplicate the failure. The dealer advised the contact to limit the load on the key ring to avoid the failure. The failure mileage was 200 and the current mileage is 15,000. Updated 04/28/14 updated 05/05/2014 updated 05/09/2014

- Windlake , WI, USA

problem #2

Oct 142013

Verano 4-cyl

  • 12,641 miles
The vehicle is unreliable, unpredictable and dangerous to drive, since you do not have any warning or know when and where the engine will die. The engine died while driving 60 mph on a two lane highway, leaving only a few seconds to steer onto the shoulder. The car would not restart. This was following an earlier electrical system problem four weeks before in which multiple warning lights stayed on after starting the engine and the transmission would not go into gear (we were told this was caused by the battery being installed over a portion of the wiring harness and eventually cutting the wires). This was repaired by replacing several computer modules and portions of the wring harness. The earlier repair, was double checked by another Buick dealership and we were assured that the vehicle was fully repaired and safe to drive. The 60 mph failure was attributed to a chafed wire shorting out and blowing a fuse. The day following the latest repair the engine died again, while driving 45 mph. The car would not restart. Before beginning the next repair, the electrical system drained the battery overnight. We were told two days ago, that a new main computer and four coils were replaced. We have been told since then, that the car was ready to be picked up in the morning and then called the next day and was told more test were required. It is now 7 days later, and GM engineers and the dealer are still trying to diagnose the root cause and find a solution. We have been told repeatedly that this is the first auto of its kind, with this problem for a Buick Verano. Day 28/18, dealer called this morning and told us they have now found a ground fault in the wiring harness. The service manager told us he would want his wife to drive this car. We don't drive it either...updated 12/17/13

- Ferandina Beach, FL, USA

problem #1

Oct 142013

Verano 4-cyl

  • 12,641 miles
This Buick Verano has cascading electrical system problems. While driving at highway speed the engine stopped and would not restart. This left my wife with only a few seconds to steer the car to the shoulder. It was a dangerous situation just past the crest of a bridge. The car was towed to the dealer and we were informed that a frayed wire had shorted out and blew a fuse. Two days later the car was "repaired" and died in a similar fashion. After a week's consultation with GM we were informed the car was "fixed". the service manager stated he would not want his wife to drive this car. So we won't either. This followed a repair a month before which was caused by the battery being installed over a portion of the wiring harness. These problems started at 11 months and 11,237 miles. Still unresolved.

- Fernandina Beach, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?