Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.0

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,172 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Cadillac ATS electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Cadillac ATS:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Cadillac ATS Owner Comments

problem #19

Oct 142016

ATS

  • 57,958 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On my 2013 Cadillac Ats premium model my Cadillac cue system touch screen isn't working I've only had this car for three days from a dealer. I am not able to control the navigation system, the weather, radio settings, my climate control, and bluetooth. By researching on the internet I found that this is a very very very common problem with Cadillac in their touch screen technology.

- Bridgeville, DE, USA

problem #18

Aug 232016

ATS

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Cadillac Ats. The contact stated that the Cadillac user experience (cue) system failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the cue system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Schertz, TX, USA

problem #17

Jul 262016

ATS

  • 52,000 miles
My sunroof will not close while parked my car did not start. The gauges and lights came on, but the car would not start while parked my defrost doesn't work on the front window when raining. The windshield is foggy while driving

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #16

Dec 152015

ATS

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I wanted to provide additional information relative to recall no. 15299. This recall effected Cadillac Ats rear defrosters. The "fix" was to add software controls that minimized the risk of fire to some owner, but it certainly did not eliminate the risk. In fact I pointed out to Cadillac last year that there were still controls strategies that would could result in a fire. Meaning for some owners the recall would do nothing to minimize the risk of fire. When I expressed this to Cadillac they immediately stopped responding to my emails (attached). Since then Cadillac has quietly implemented an actual fix to the weak connectors. But they are not issuing this fix to all owners. Only to ones that complain about to lost features. Since this actual fix eliminates instead of reducing the life safety risk it must be added to the original recall.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #15

Oct 052015

ATS

  • miles
On both my Cadillac's, the que system is defective and is a safety hazard. If I have the que system set to either radio screen or navigation screens and I make a blue- tooth call. The display starts in either the radio screen or the nav screen. When I make the call, the screen changes to the telephone screen which is fine. But when I hang up, the screen remains in the telephone screen positon. I have to manually reach over, fumble around to find the icon to return it to the original position. This is dangerous and a safety problem and concern. It happened every time I make a call and I'm afraid this is going to cause an accident.

- Commerce, MI, USA

problem #14

May 052015

ATS

  • 14,000 miles
There is an automatic lock feature on this vehicle. If the key is left in the car, the driver's door is to remain unlocked. On May 5th 2015, this feature malfunctioned and locked all doors. The safety complaint I have is that my 19 month old baby was in the car when this happened. Fortunately, I was in my driveway and was able to locate my spare key within minutes and get her out. I live in AZ. If this were to happen away from home on a hot summer day, the outcome could have ended up in fatality. Please suggest a recall so this can never happen to anyone.

- Casa Grande, AZ, USA

problem #13

Feb 052014

ATS

  • 3,308 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had 4 recalls on my Ats since purchase June 2013. Starting 2/5/14 with only 3308mi taken the car in several times for squeaking sound when backing out of my garage complained after fourth visit with the same complaint and listening to the dealer to say that was normal final on 5th visit on 12/10/14 7960mi final solve the problem. Several complaints about when back windows are roll down there is a loud squealing sound that hurts your ear and distract your driving again I was told that was normal how can that be normal when you can't roll back window down for fresh air. All so complained about losing radio signal on several occasions penske reprogrammed. Replaced weather strip around front doors driver& pass side 8/20/14 6521mi. Several complaints about how rough the engine runs when stop at red light on 12/10/14 reprogrammed engine. Is there any safety station I can take my car for safety check. I am afraid to even drive this car on the freeway at high speed. I paid over $37,000 the car has been in the shop more than the previous car I was driving which was 2001 Buick Lesabre. I don't feel that penske Cadillac is being honest with problem I was told that the loud noise from driving is coming from exhaust system. Please advise on where I can go to get a second opinion without voiding my warranty. What is the lemon law regarding these issues? I really don't feel that I brought a new car by all the trouble this car is giving me. Back and forth for repairs.

- Gardena, CA, USA

problem #12

Feb 282014

ATS 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
I was driving down the street and the car turned completely off and then I panicked, hit the clutch, put the car in neutral, and hit the start button twice to restart the car. I took it into the dealership and they told me they couldn't find an issue after driving the car for 2.2 miles. They advised me to continue driving the car and risk my safety on the road. The consumer stated he took the vehicle to the repair shop three times, for the same issue.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #11

Feb 012014

ATS

  • 14,000 miles
Turned car off. Started 5 mins later moved just a couple miles and hour and power steering and power brakes went out. Turned car off and worked after that.

- West Warwick, RI, USA

problem #10

Apr 082014

ATS

  • 3,920 miles
The vehicle stalled while sitting in neutral, waiting at a red light. The air conditioning was running. The engine runs so quietly that from inside the vehicle I would not have been able to tell the engine had shut off if the A/C had not stopped blowing. I restarted the vehicle and an alert came on the dash screen stating: Service power steering, drive with care. I was approximately 3/4 of a mile from my home coming downhill on a quiet neighborhood street so I carefully drove the vehicle home and parked in the garage while I called the service department at my local Cadillac dealership. He told me the power steering is controlled by the electrical system may have glitched when I restarted the vehicle and not been activated. He said I could restart the vehicle after 30 seconds and the power steering should function properly again. He told me if there is an issue I can have GM tow the vehicle in, or if the power steering begins to function again I can drive it in to have it serviced. Once I restarted the vehicle the power steering was functioning properly. I will be having Cadillac look at the vehicle this afternoon.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #9

Jan 092013

ATS

  • 3,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have two issues to report that may be a safety concern: 1) there have been multiple times when driving in wet conditions (rain/snow) where I will get a 'power steering failure' warning. When this happens the power steering does one of two things. It either almost locks up and becomes extremely hard to turn the wheel, or it will still move easily, but it won't auto center when making turns. I have reported this to the dealer and they said it was a bad steering angle sensor. They replaced the sensor but the issue is not resolved and now that it's snowing it's happening more and more consistently. 2) there have been 3 cases where I was driving and coming to a stop and the car will just randomly shut down. I lose all ability to steer (since it's electric steering) and brake. This stall is different then a stall associated misuse of the clutch. The clutch has been pressed in all the way in when this happens and the car doesn't shutter like a clutch stall, just totally shuts down quietly. Luckily there has not been an accident yet, but if this happens when there are multiple cars around me it will be difficulty to avoid one.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #8

Oct 202013

ATS 4-cyl

  • miles
Vehicle headlights with the hid option do not always align properly causing one side, either left or right on occasion to aim higher than the other. This issue seems to be happening when the vehicle headlight selection is in the auto mode and the key fob or ignition button is used. This has become a nuisance because I must constantly park by a wall to make sure the headlights have aligned properly before driving off and blinding oncoming traffic. The calibration cycle seems to be faulty and I have been to two dealers with no resolve. I am also working with Cadillac customer service and am hoping for a quick solution. This issue may blind oncoming traffic and I must stop and restart the car numerous times to get the headlight cycle to align the lights.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #7

Jun 202013

ATS 4-cyl

  • 1,500 miles
When coasting to come to a stop the vehicle engine will stall/turn off. This has happened numerous times since the first incident in June. This is a 6 speed manual transmission equipped vehicle, and the transmission is either in neutral or the clutch pedal is depressed so that the engine/transmission are decoupled. I have been able to watch the tachometer when it has stalled twice, and then the engine just shuts off, very abruptly (no shaking, or noise). It has also happened when slowing to take a turn with the clutch pedal depressed, which is very difficult to get back started as you are trying to drive and not cause an accident (plus the steering wheel locks). I have reported this to the dealer, and they have tried to diagnose it, however no fix has happened. It will normally stall about once every week or so, it is very intermittent. The dealer went as far as to blame me for stalling the vehicle, they said I didn't disengage the clutch at a high enough RPM which is completely untrue and regardless the car was in neutral and I was coasting to a stop (therefore it would be impossible to stall the vehicle in gear). I am not the only one with this issue, there have been numerous people on forums complaining of the same issue. My car is currently in the lemon process with the BBB autoline program as this has happened multiple times. Dealer/GM can not duplicate the issue and has no idea what the problem is.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #6

Jan 082013

ATS 4-cyl

  • 1,500 miles
When coasting to come to a stop the vehicle engine will stall. This has happened numerous times since the first incident in January. This is a 6 speed manual transmission equipped vehicle, and the transmission is either in neutral or the clutch pedal is depressed so that the engine/transmission are decoupled. I have been able to watch the tachometer when it has stalled twice, and it seems to get to a lower RPM than normal (<500rpm) and then the engine just shuts off, very abruptly. It has also happened when slowing to take a turn with the clutch pedal depressed, which is very difficult to get back started as you are trying to drive and not cause an accident. I have reported this to the dealer, and they have tried to diagnose it, however no fix has happened. It will normally stall about once every week or so, it is very intermittent and seems more often with a higher load on the engine (hot days, A/C running, etc...). the dealer went as far as to blame me for stalling the vehicle, they said I didn't disengage the clutch at a high enough RPM which is completely untrue and regardless the car was in neutral and I was coasting to a stop (therefore it would be impossible to stall the vehicle in gear). I am not the only one with this issue, there have been numerous people on forums complaining of the same issue.

- North Aurora, IL, USA

problem #5

Sep 042013

ATS 4-cyl

  • 70 miles
While driving my manual transmission cad Ats it stalls without warning or reason. It stalls mostly when in neutral, like when sitting at a red light, or pulling into a parking place. It also stalls when in first or second gear, like when turning a corner. I am not pulling the clutch out too soon and hence stalling the car myself, it does it all by itself! the car gives no warning shake or noise, it simply is off, often without my knowing it is off. This has happened to my brand new Ats since the second day of having it, and has ever since, approximately 7 weeks now. It occurs with the gas tank full, almost empty, and in between. It occurs on flat streets, and maybe at an incline. It occurs when cold in the morning, and after hours of driving. It occurs day and night, with and without passengers. The dealer has had the car in twice to investigate, with no luck. This is ridiculous!!

- Lomita, CA, USA

problem #4

Oct 042013

ATS

  • 420 miles
Vehicle quietly stalls and has happened numerous times since purchasing the vehicle less than a month ago. Brought it to the dealer but they basically just say it is designed to stall in certain instances which I believe is just nonsense and unsafe. I have read online that this is happening to other Ats owners so I know that this is a serious and unsafe issue with the 6spd Ats.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #3

Jul 262013

ATS 4-cyl

  • 38 miles
Vehicle turns off when in neutral approaching to stop. This is not from improper foot work on the clutch. The vehicle is in neutral. It has happened over 13 times since vehicle purchased on 7/26/2013 (first incident on date of purchase). The vehicle will turn on immediately after. It has been to the dealership three times and twice they kept it for a week. The problem did not duplicate with the dealership. On the third visit they replaced the engine control module. Five days after picking it up after they replaced the engine control module the problem happened again. This is very dangerous as it has happened at busy intersections and it is a safety concern.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #2

Jul 012013

ATS 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Vehicle stalled quietly when coming to stop with vehicle in neutral and/or clutch depressed. I say quietly because I did not hear or feel it shut off. (different from stalling vehicle due to improper foot work on the clutch) when I went to turn left I realized it was dead. Vehicle did restart immediately. This has happened 6 - 10 times in the last 3 months. Most recently the power steering rack failed to turn back on at restart. Dealer serviced steering controller per tsb. They could not duplicate random stalling in a 10 mile test drive as it only happens to me only once a week or two. This could be more dangerous if it did not restart and I was in the middle of an intersection or moving.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #1

Jun 072013

ATS 4-cyl

  • 1,050 miles
Right turn from stop onto major 6-lane highway; no power to engine after engagement of accelerator; acted as though not in-drive gear; tachometer reved past 6K; foot off of pedal; transmission engaged; very slow return to normal operation; evasive action by other drivers following; no replication by dealer after 4-days of testing; returned vehicle to owner without explanation of problem.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?