If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,741 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Cadillac CTS electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Cadillac CTS:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Cadillac CTS Owner Comments

problem #18

Sep 102014

CTS

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that the key failed to release from the ignition which prevented the vehicle from turning off. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. However, the contact mentioned an independent mechanic came to her residence and was able to turn off the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Hackett, AR, USA

problem #17

Dec 012013

CTS 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Cadillac Cts. Consumer writes in regards to GM recall #14172.* ld the consumer has since sold the vehicle.

- Midfield, AL, USA

problem #16

Oct 082014

CTS

  • 90,000 miles
My Cadillac Cts 2004 key is stuck in the ignition and will not release. The car was towed to two different dealerships one said it was a battery. I purchased a new one that wasn't the problem and one thought it was the alternator and that wasn't the problem. I did have a recall on the key ring and got that taken care of, but honestly the same recall that is dealing with the camaros and the cobalts need to be enforced with the Cadillac. GM new there was something faulty about the keys getting stuck in the Cadillac. I've been on several forums and we all have the same problem!

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #15

Oct 142014

CTS

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Cts. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V394000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Middel Island, NY, USA

problem #14

Sep 152014

CTS

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Cts. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V394000 (electrical system). However, the parts needed were not available. The dealer provided an unreasonable timeframe as to when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Trevose, PA, USA

problem #13

Sep 202014

CTS

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Cts. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V394000 (electrical system), but the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gadsden, SC, USA

problem #12

Sep 192014

CTS

  • 139,746 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was notified by U.S. mail from General Motors on 9/19/2014 that my vehicle was involved in a recall notice #14172. The letter stated that parts were available for the repair to my vehicle. Letter also stated that I was to make an appointment with my Cadillac dealer to get the repair completed. None of this is true. The dealer informed me that the parts were not available and that they did not accept appointments for the repair. This letter from General Motors, dated September 2014, and signed by jeff boyer, vice president - global safety is very misleading and apparently contains false information. I contacted General Motors by telephone @ 1-800-458-8006 and the agent from General Motors confirmed that the letter contained false information. Since human lives are at risk concerning the recall, I feel this is a mistake that needs immediate correction.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #11

Sep 182014

CTS

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Cts. The contact was locked inside of the vehicle and could not get out after the vehicle was started. The contact was unable to shift into any gear or remove the key from the ignition. The contact stated that triple a was able to unlock the vehicle by tightening the battery. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 48,000.

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #10

Aug 212014

CTS

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Cts. When the contact turned the ignition switch, the traction control and brake warning indicators illuminated. The failure occurred numerous times. The dealer stated that brake fluid leaked into the computer, but the exact cause of the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was notified about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 122,000. Updated 11/26/14

- Dixon , CA, USA

problem #9

May 182013

CTS

  • 186,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Cts. While parked, the contact was unable to release the key from the ignition switch and all of the doors automatically locked. Also, the anti- theft service system warning message illuminated on the instrument panel. In order to remove the ignition key and the doors to unlock a screw driver was used to release the mechanism on the steering column. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 186,000.

- Beltsville, MD, USA

problem #8

May 032013

CTS 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This incident occurred twice. The first time (April 29th 2013), the car was at a stop light. The engine turned off by itself and the message: "anti-theft" was displayed on the car sat-nav screen. Key was removed from ignition and reinserted. After turning the key, the engine restarted. The second time (May 3rd 2013), the car was in motion in a parking lot. While pulling into a parking spot the engine turned off again. The message: "anti-theft* was displayed on the car sat-nav display. After removing the key and reinserting the engine started when the key was turned. My mechanic informed me of this website to report the incident. The car has been brought to a Cadillac dealership and I have also reported the incident with Cadillac corporate. A rep from Cadillac will be in contact with the dealer. Said that I will receive a call back between 5/6/2013 and 5/9/2013 with the options to resolve the issue.

- Malden , MA, USA

problem #7

Jan 012013

CTS 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2004 Cadillac Cts. Consumer writes in regards to ECM board recall. The consumer stated the dealer there was a recall on the vehicle. The cost to repair/replace the ECM board was $800. The day after the vehicle was returned to the consumer, it would not start. And the same message displayed on the vehicle, from when it was originally taken to the dealer. Also, the key would not come out of the ignition.

- Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA

problem #6

Jul 242010

CTS

  • 4,200 miles
I purchased a 2004 Cts in may of 2007. There was approximately 30,000 miles on the car. There is now 52,000 miles on the car. My concern is that since having the car on four occasions the car has failed to start. The dashboard goes black, the first time we thought it was the battery, but when the battery was tested we were told it was fine. The other times it was taken to the dealership for repair. No clear explanation was given for the breakdown. The problem is that car goes dead the dash panel is black and silent. There are no significant events leading to the failure.

- East Point , GA, USA

problem #5

Feb 272010

CTS 6-cyl

  • 29,635 miles
Was traveling approx. 55 mph lost all power except engine power. All dashboard features cd power and time. I have proceeded to pull off road turned key on again even though it was on and everything lit up again... if engine would of stopped this could of caused a serious accident.

- Virginia Beach , VA, USA

problem #4

Aug 012008

CTS

  • 53,751 miles
While driving in slow traffic, lost power in all electronic components (windows, door locks, air conditioner, dashboard indicator lights). Luckily car kept going. Drove off freeway and manually unlocked car to get out. Car started up normally after that.

- Costa Mesa, CA, USA

problem #3

May 122008

CTS

  • 65,000 miles
I am writing to report a very dangerous problem that occurred to my wife's 2004 Cadillac Cts. While she was driving to work that morning she began to smell a rotten egg type of odor inside the vehicle. She thought what she smelled was an exhaust odor. At this point she decided to return home with vehicle. When she returned she had me inspect the car, as there was steam emitting from under the hood. Upon opening the hood the source of the steam was revealed as the vent outlets on the battery. The battery was hot and was venting sulfuric acid steam. The battery is located in front of the firewall on the passenger side directly adjacent to the air intake grills for climate control system. The sulfuric steam was being sucked into the air intake of the HVAC system and then being emitted into the cabin via the vent system. My wife had inhaled this caustic gas for the period she drove the car causing her to have severe respiratory distress requiring an emergency room visit. She was treated for severe respiratory irritation due to exposure to the caustic gas. The symptoms and illness from this exposure lasted 8-10 days and included a number of follow up visits to the doctor. At this time there has been no definite cause or reason to why the battery failed. A certified mechanic said that the battery probable had a major plate failure and went into an internal, dead short circuit causing the overheating. I want to warn/document this incident as a dangerous threat to the occupants of 2004 Cadillac Cts and other similar models. My concern is that this problem may occur to others and someone may die due this poor design. GM patented the design of the battery and making it a dealer only replacement part. This demonstrates their responsibility for the battery design and location in the vehicle. It appears that they are negligence in providing safe vent path for the battery in the event of such a failure.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #2

Sep 292006

CTS 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
: the contact stated at various speeds without warning, the vehicle lost power and would not accelerate above 20 mph. Also, without warning, the vehicle stalled on several occasions, and would not restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealership, who replaced the throttle twice and the throttle body assembly harness, but the problem persisted. Updated 10/25/2006 -

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #1

Jan 252004

CTS

  • miles
Several issues with the 2004 Cadillac to report. #1 (most significant) the rear seat child seat latch mechanism does not work. I had this inspected by the dealership and then admitted that the design is defective and will not properly latch and hold the belt. Any wiggling of the seat will loosen the belt through the latch. The cadi does not have a lock type mechanism where you pull the belt all the way out and then it won't give. They claim the latch mechanism will hold. I drove around for two weeks with a two year old in a four inch slacked car seat. #2 - remaining miles display is defective. I recently ran out of gas when the display read "41 miles remaining". the service department admitted that this is the sixth time they have seen this and that I should us the gauge and not the display. What is the point of the display? very dangerous! I was stranded on the side of the road in a snow storm for over an hour. #3 - bose cd player has errored over 20 times and locks up with an "initializing cd" error. Not common to any one cd. Cd player will lock up and will be unusable for five minutes to two days.

- East Lansing, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?