Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,200 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Cadillac CTS fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Cadillac CTS:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Cadillac CTS Owner Comments

problem #6

Feb 022015

CTS 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Cadillac Cts experienced what he perceived was a fuel pump problem. The consumer received a recall years later, after he performed the repairs on the vehicle and at his expense.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #5

Jan 062014

CTS 8-cyl

  • miles
Driving from a side road onto the 505 freeway, vehicle came to a stop on the slow lane. Was towed to a Cadillac dealer. 1/6/14. Replaced left and right catalytic converter. Second incident occurred 1/27/2014. Driving onto I-80. Exact problem occurred and was towed to same Cadillac dealer. Dealer adjusted throttle body. Am concerned if problem has been resolved..

- Dixon, CA, USA

problem #4

Apr 122010

CTS

  • 71,000 miles
4/12/2010 - I was slowing down preparing to turn into my development when another driver ran a stop sign. The other driver was going approximately 20 mph, she stated that she did not see my car, but saw the oncoming cars and the cars behind me so she didn't prepare to stop at the stop sign. She was trying to beat the oncoming vehicles and the traffic behind me aggressively accelerating and impact was my driver's side front door. We both had our seat belts on, her air bags deployed, mine did not. Her car was totaled. The impact was just like a wrecking ball coming out of nowhere. The impact was so that my struts had to be replaced. I had sustained traumatic brain injury (tbi) and I'm still recovering, that is why it's taken this long to submit a complaint. My car was towed to the Cadillac body shop for the body work and tutwiler was to take care of the mechanical issues. When I picked up my car at tutwiler Cadillac they would not provide me any of the paperwork for the repairs or anything in writing as to why the air bags did not deploy, I was told that the itemized receipt would go to her insurance company since they were paying for the work to be done. The chiropractor bill was in excess of $7,000 and my medical (still recovering) but has exceeded well over $40,000. The electrical issues, bad radio, carpet, bell housing leak, exhaust system, gas gauge should have all been repaired under warranty when I took the car in on 1/5/2009 while the car was still under warranty. I was not aware of the air bag issue not deploying unfortunately until the accident in April of 2010.

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #3

May 192012

CTS

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the highway under normal operating conditions, my properly maintained and unmodified 2005 Cadillac Cts caught fire. The fire caused significant damage to the drive train and fuel tank with the plastic fuel tank seconds away from being totally breached by flames and likely significant injuries including death. The fire burned for 30-40 minutes until the responding firefighters were able to jack up the vehicle and extinguish the fire with water from underneath. Fortunately, the firefighters were able to extinguish the vehicle fire prior to the fuel tank breach with no apparent related injuries. Pursuant to an expert analysis and report, the following manufacturing and/or design defects sequentially caused said fire: 1. while driving, the rear carrier pinion bearing failed; 2. failed carrier pinion caused excessive play in the pinion gear; 3. excessive play in the pinion gear caused failure of the pinion gear seal in the ring and pinion housing; 4. failed pinion gear seal allowed the rear carrier lubricant to leak; 5. with vehicle in motion, rear carrier lubricant contacted rotating driveshaft assembly; 6. rotating driveshaft and pinion yoke "sprayed" lubricant in the rear axle housing area including onto exhaust, plastic fuel tank, rubber driveshaft coupler and floor pan; 7. heat from exhaust or pinion gear ignited lubricant & subsequent fire quickly spread across the bottom of the vehicle. Expert report concluded that manufacturing and / or design defects were previously well-documented by nhsa 2005 Cadillac Cts nhsa owner complaints and said fire could have been prevented by vehicle manufacturer through recall notices and use of non-combustible materials.

- Nutley, NJ, USA

problem #2

Feb 012010

CTS

  • 99,800 miles
The "service air bag" light came on. Brought the car to the dealership on 2/26/2010. The said the seat weight sensing module was bad and offered to repair it at about $611. They said it was not covered by any warranty or recall. I called Cadillac customer service on 2/22/2011 after discovering recall # 10V644000. I spoke to a man named john who said the recall does not apply to that VIN, and refused to help or to refer me to a supervisor. Similarly, around the same time, I had to have the ECU re-flashed at a cost of$110, because the car was shuddering under acceleration. I got the same answer, even though I advised them of recall #06V020000, that my VIN was not covered under that recall. It appears that this is a deliberate effort by Cadillac not to avoid performing recalls. I request that this VIN be included in the above referenced recalls, and that Cadillac's pattern of behavior be investigated.

- Katy, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #1

Jun 142005

CTS 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 400 miles
Events leading to failure: No abuse, no tire burning. Vehicle used for commuting and job related purposes. Problems & resolutions: 7/11/2005 7/18/2005 problem shifting - dealer could not verify sunroof rattling - dealer could not verify right-rear sail panel broken - warranty repaired pixels burn on nav screen - nav unit replaced wheels scratched - dealer paid for repair front panel loose - replaced loose panel 7/25/2005 7/27/2005 left-rear panel broken - warranty repaired competition mode not working - warranty repaired dash panel loose - warranty repaired 8/22/2005 8/24/2005 wheel hop - service bulletin warranty repair hard to put in reverse - dealer says normal grinding when shifting - aligned exhaust system sunroof rattle - dealer could not verify sunroof material loose - warranty repaired 10/19/2005 10/23/2005 fuel gauge malfunction - warranty repaired 11/21/2005 11/23/2005 sunroof rattle - dealer could not verify drivetrain rough - dealer could not verify clunk when shifting - dealer could not verify car pulls to the right - tires bald @ 9000 miles battery failure - warranty repaired grinding in 5th gear - dealer could not verify 11/29/2005 12/1/2005 rattle from rear - warranty repair suspension right-rear panel broken - warranty repair; dealer warned this would not be covered under warranty anymore as "someone" is braking the panels on purpose 2/6/2006 2/8/2006 clunk from rear - dealer replaced differential/drivetrain unit under warranty. 5th gear sometimes hits reverse - could not verify grinding noise in reverse - dealer forgot to check unit won't play cds - replaced navigation/radio 2/15/2005 2/17/2006 grinding noise in reverse - dealer replaced transmission under warranty; area rep advised they will not replace future failures. Competition mode not working - warranty repaired.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?