Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,862 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Cadillac CTS seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Cadillac CTS:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Cadillac CTS Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Jun 252014

CTS 6-cyl

  • miles


I have a Cadillac Cts for about two years now and just a couple of days ago the airbag light came on that it needed to be serviced and I took it to a dealer and they told me it was the passenger air bag that it would cost me approx: $649.38 dollars and I have seen where some of the Cadillac Cts have been recalled for the same problem and the dealer repaired some of the recalled cars but the dealer advised me not to drive it due to that if we had a crash the air bags may not deploy and I have no other vechile to drive I have a wife and three kids that ride in this car and I cant afford to have the service performed I just want to know how can they perform recalls on certian vechiles is it so they will fix half of them and the other half would have to pay to get the service done to help make up for the money they lost due to the recall also I have a car the dealer dont want me to drive I have babies and doctor appts that they have to be taken to. And if I was to have to take my kids to a doc appt and someone hit me and the airbags didnt deploy and someone got killed I pray not but who to say it wouldnt be a lawsuit because some are recalled and some not and now they want to charge a arm and a leg to get the problem resolved I don't think its fair we should have to pay for a problem like this plus how can we afford it whenever our wonderful state pays us minimum wage and the cost of living is outrageous.

- Twincity, GA, USA

problem #20

Apr 172014


  • 87,000 miles
Passenger seat sensor would not come on with passenger in seat. Looked up and there was a recall. Called Cadillac and was told no recall

- Huntingdon, TN, USA

problem #19

Dec 122013


  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated the air bag warning light illuminated. There was a NHTSA recall campaign number: 10V644000 (air bags) that could have been related to the failure. The manufacturer was contacted and stated the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 119,000.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #18

Feb 062012

CTS 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles


A passenger (6'2" 200 lb.) man sat in the passenger seat and as result, the passenger air bag light went on the instrument panel. I figured it was a sensor that must have snapped or come loose. I went to Cadillac dealer and they charge $140. To diagnose the problem and then wanted another $300 to repair it. At no time did they tell me there was a recall for this type of incident. I just called the number for Cadillac listed on the recall website and spoke with someone, who after I gave him the VIN number on the car, said my car was not part of the recall. He recommended that I call the dealer and have that taken care of...on my dime. It seems ridiculous that I should get stuck paying for this. This is why I will never buy another GM car and many people that I speak with, have purchased Mercedes and other foreign made cars. Apparently Cadillac does not stand behind their products. Too bad.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #17

Jun 012013

CTS 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Vehicle stopped detecting person sitting in passenger front seat. Passenger airbag remains off when there is a passenger. Service message appears on dash stating to service airbag. This is a safety issue that could cause the front passenger airbag to not deploy in an accident. There is a recall on 2005-2007 Cadillac Cts models however, there is no recall on mine for some reason. There is nothing that could have caused this issue other than faulty equipment that should be recognized by GM.

- Newport News, VA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Oct 012011


  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that while parked the contact noticed that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnose that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V644000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module) that may be related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 135,000.

- Lebanon, TN, USA

problem #15

Apr 122010


  • 71,000 miles


4/12/2010 - I was slowing down preparing to turn into my development when another driver ran a stop sign. The other driver was going approximately 20 mph, she stated that she did not see my car, but saw the oncoming cars and the cars behind me so she didn't prepare to stop at the stop sign. She was trying to beat the oncoming vehicles and the traffic behind me aggressively accelerating and impact was my driver's side front door. We both had our seat belts on, her air bags deployed, mine did not. Her car was totaled. The impact was just like a wrecking ball coming out of nowhere. The impact was so that my struts had to be replaced. I had sustained traumatic brain injury (tbi) and I'm still recovering, that is why it's taken this long to submit a complaint. My car was towed to the Cadillac body shop for the body work and tutwiler was to take care of the mechanical issues. When I picked up my car at tutwiler Cadillac they would not provide me any of the paperwork for the repairs or anything in writing as to why the air bags did not deploy, I was told that the itemized receipt would go to her insurance company since they were paying for the work to be done. The chiropractor bill was in excess of $7,000 and my medical (still recovering) but has exceeded well over $40,000. The electrical issues, bad radio, carpet, bell housing leak, exhaust system, gas gauge should have all been repaired under warranty when I took the car in on 1/5/2009 while the car was still under warranty. I was not aware of the air bag issue not deploying unfortunately until the accident in April of 2010.

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #14

Apr 122010

CTS 6-cyl

  • 71,080 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph another vehicle crashed into the driver side and the air bags failed to deploy. The driver side had extensive damages to the door and was not drivable. The contact sustained traumatic brain injury. A police report was filed. The vehicle was repaired by the manufacturer and the insurance company was notified. The vehicle continues to have air bag failure. In addition, the rack and pinion rod was defective and had to be repaired twice. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The failure mileage was 71,080 and the current mileage was 103,000. Updated 9/26/12 updated 09/27/12

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #13

Jun 182012

CTS 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,273 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was found on the wires under the front passenger seat. The wires had a short circuit and failed to recognize when a passenger was seated. The vehicle was repaired by replacing the passenger presence module. The current and failure mileage was 25,273. Updated 7/26/12 the consumer was informed, if the vehicle was not repaired, the air bag may deploy even without a crash occurring. Updated 07/30/12 updated 08/02/12

- West Covina, CA, USA

problem #12

May 242012


  • 71,200 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts-V. the contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was causing a distraction while driving. The dealer was notified of the issue and informed the contact that the vehicle was not under recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 71,200 and current mileage was 71,448.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #11

Nov 012011


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the air bag module was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 71,000.

- Bossier City , LA, USA

problem #10

May 082011

CTS 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
I was involved in a serious head on collision with an oncoming car. My car was severely damaged and no air bags deployed causing me to get 10 stitches, a fractured nose, neck, back, chest and abdominal pain. The air bags were serviced less than a year ago at the specific brand car dealer but this did not help. This was not the first time the air bags did not deploy. There were no stop signs or traffic signals to prevent this and also the double yellow lines in the middle of the intersection seem to be at fault. If the driver of both sides stays next to it the cars will hit each other.

- Tarrytown, NY, USA

problem #9

Feb 092011


  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that the passenger air bag sensor failed and the air bag warning light was constantly illuminated. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic and they advised her that the passenger presence system control module would need replacing. The manufacturer was also contacted and informed her that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number :(10V644000 (air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 127,000.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #8

Feb 012010


  • 99,800 miles
The "service air bag" light came on. Brought the car to the dealership on 2/26/2010. The said the seat weight sensing module was bad and offered to repair it at about $611. They said it was not covered by any warranty or recall. I called Cadillac customer service on 2/22/2011 after discovering recall # 10V644000. I spoke to a man named john who said the recall does not apply to that VIN, and refused to help or to refer me to a supervisor. Similarly, around the same time, I had to have the ECU re-flashed at a cost of$110, because the car was shuddering under acceleration. I got the same answer, even though I advised them of recall #06V020000, that my VIN was not covered under that recall. It appears that this is a deliberate effort by Cadillac not to avoid performing recalls. I request that this VIN be included in the above referenced recalls, and that Cadillac's pattern of behavior be investigated.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #7

Oct 012010

CTS 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
I have a 2005 Cadillac Cts with 67,000 miles. Since about 65,000 miles car has been making a rattling sound under the hood during acceleration. I have given the car a tune up, oil change and the car has other fluids are at level. Once my car has accelerated and the gears have changed (I.e, second gear) the rattling sounds stops..the noise is continuous and only happens at acceleration, not while idling. In addition every now and again when a front seat passenger gets in the car the airbag sensor/light comes on the dashboard. This problem doesn't happen often but it happens every once in a while. Upon doing my research for both these issues I find that I am not the only one having this problem...hopefully something will be done so that GM can address these serious issues without having the consumer/owners having to pay an arm and a leg.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #6

Jun 212010

CTS 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
My us navy son was driving my 2005 Cadillac Cts when he was struck in the rear by a negligent driver. The crash was so severe, he was forced into 3 more cars-totaling my car. All safety features failed - including all airbags and the seat belt. My son was spared, but he did suffer injuries. I have spent countless hours attempting resolve with GM for some answers - all to no avail. They spent several hours with my vehicle, yet passed it over to their 3rd party insurance company - who in turn took zero accountability and had the nerve to put it all back on us (preserving the car and providing more documentation). What more documentation do you need? you saw the failed seat belt, you saw my sons injuries and you witnessed all failures with the airbags. I have now retained an attorney; and I filed a formal complaint with the consumer product safety administration. I am so grateful for your recent breaking news and the ongoing investigation, involving the Cadillac Cts models. I feel strongly that this is not an isolated incident / defect - I have plenty of back up to assist with your investigation, including eye witness accounts, photography and my attempts for resolve this matter with General Motors. Please, please do not close out your investigation as being a front passenger airbag issue only. You could be saving many lives from the hardships my family have had to endure with this obvious safety issue. Updated IVOQ 02/09/11

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #5

Jun 212010


  • 112,000 miles
The contact owned a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact was sitting idle at a traffic stop when a vehicle crashed into his rear. The contact's vehicle was pushed into three additional vehicles and the seat belt did not restrain the contact. The air bags did not deploy. The contact was injured when her head struck the steering wheel. A police report was available. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure and current mileage was 112,000.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #4

Oct 252010

CTS 6-cyl

  • 63,200 miles
My 2005 Cadillac Cts just hit 63,000 miles started to hear a chatter under the hood went to go get a diagnosis and said timing chain and crankshaft balancer need to be replaced. Another issue is the airbag bag sensor went bad causing the airbag light to keep popping up on display and now needs replaced. I'm hoping we get enough people that have these problems file a complaint in order to get a recall.

- Marysville, OH, USA

problem #3

Oct 112010

CTS 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
2005 Cadillac Cts- while traveling @35 mph was struck on drivers side door by Chevrolet 2500 series truck. Cts was pushed sideways toward curb where it turned on its side, no airbags had deployed, resulting in head injuries, lacerations and trauma.

- Wyndmoor, PA, USA

problem #2

Jul 122006

CTS 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 17,200 miles
: the contact stated there are several things wrong with the vehicle. The check coolant light and the check engine light illuminated on the dashboard. The dealership determined the radiator was damage and attempted to repair the radiator four times. The first three repairs performed by the dealer in an attempt to repair the radiator were unavailable. The fourth time, the dealership determined the problem was with the water pump and the water pump was replaced. The fuel pump was also found to be defective and was replaced. The check engine light illuminated on the dashboard prior to the fuel pump problems. The drive shaft was defective causing the vehicle to become inoperative. The crs light illuminated in the vehicle. There was an unknown part replaced to repair the crs light. The driver's power window worked intermittently making a grinding noise and the dealer repaired the window. The wiring was in backwards on the passenger seat causing only half of the seat to move. The dealership corrected the wiring to repair the seat.

- West Babylon, NY, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?