Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,008 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Cadillac CTS seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Cadillac CTS:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Cadillac CTS Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Oct 292016

CTS

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The airbag sensor light just came on even though the car has never been in a wreck. Although, this was issued a recall it is only on certain cars of that year. The problem has been acknowledged so not sure why all cars in this year range are not fixed on the recall since this is an acknowledged safety issue. This light comes on as soon as the car is started. Is Cadillac going to take responsibility if the airbag goes off or does not go off in an accident? this is a safety feature that should be fixed by Cadillac.

- Elkton, VA, USA

problem #41

Sep 012016

CTS

  • 122,900 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that while stationary, the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact stated that the air bag sensors do not recognize when an occupant was in the seat and the air bag warning light remained off intermittently. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 122,900.

- Munroe Falls, OH, USA

problem #40

Nov 012015

CTS

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. While depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle would not stop immediately and the braking distance increased. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. When operating the vehicle, the air bag sensor light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the occupant restraint system was faulty. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #39

Mar 152015

CTS

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - owned car since 2007, never notified of airbag recall. Service air bag light came on and I took car to mechanic on 3/15/15. Advised of recall. Called Cadillac cust. Serv. Recall was removed 12/15/14 and told there was nothing they could do. Have been searching for help since. My car is unsafe.

- Red Oak, TX, USA

problem #38

Mar 112015

CTS

  • 120,000 miles
The airbag sensing system for the passenger seat has failed. This is a known issue for GM who handled it by means of a "service accommodation" that extended the warranty to 100,000 miles. If it was handled as a recall it would have required them to make the needed repairs no matter what, they are dodging their responsibility by handling it in this manner and will not provide any support for consumers once you pass the expiration. This is fraud.

- Westlake, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #37

Feb 012016

CTS

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer for diagnostic testing. A failure code was found at the passenger sensing system. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 10V644000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 180,000.

- Brentwood, NY, USA

problem #36

Mar 152015

CTS

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall-not notified of airbag recall. Recall withdrawn December 2014. March of 2015 my passenger airbag light came on. Took to my certified GM mechanic, checked it out and sent me to chuck fairbanks (dealer) because of recall. This is when I was told the recall had been withdrawn. I have been searching for help with this dangerous matter since. I need more information on who and what to do regarding getting the services needed. It is no longer a safe car for me to have a passenger with me. I did call Cadillac customer service and they said they could do nothing about it. I am not financially able to make this repair, retired, elderly and on ss. Can you please advise me where and what to do next? I have owned Cadillac since 1985 and never encountered not being notified of recalls. Please notify me of any assistance you may be able to advise me of at P. O. box 220, red oak, tx 75154. I have trouble with my E-mail and at&T has screwed up my telephones. This is important to me and I want to be sure I receive your response. I am not very computer savy and my computer is quite old. Thank you for any assistance you can give me.

- Red Oak, TX, USA

problem #35

Mar 012016

CTS

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. While operating the vehicle, the service air bag sensor light and message displayed. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 62,000.

- New Iberia, LA, USA

problem #34

Nov 012015

CTS 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. While driving 35 mph, the air bag light remained illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 10V644000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 23,000. Updated 04/14/16 updated 04/18/16.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #33

Jun 012015

CTS

  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. While operating the vehicle, the passenger side air bag sensor light would illuminate and the message to service air bag displayed. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 93,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #32

Oct 102011

CTS

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bags were repaired 10/10/11, recall #10355. This was done at my own expense. The air bag indicator is once again on. I was not reimbursed for the first repair. I would very much like to have this corrected by the manufacture, without any personal expense.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #31

Jun 262009

CTS

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. While driving at an unknown speed, the air bag light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 97,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #30

Apr 072015

CTS 6-cyl

  • miles
My vehicle has a recall on the air bag pressure sensor module. Due to missing the cutoff date of exactly 1 month the dealership would not honor the pairs. Due to the $650 repairs required I was not prepared to have that service done. Any assistance or clarity on this is greatly appreciated.

- Grovetown, GA, USA

problem #29

Oct 012014

CTS

  • 55,000 miles
Came to a stop waiting for a car ahead of me to make a left hand turn. Was then contacted by another vehicle from behind that was traveling at an estimated 60 mph. My Cts-V was then pushed into the car in front causing significant damage to that vehicle, and crushing my front end. Of all airbags in the Cts-V, not one deployed.

- West Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #28

Dec 032014

CTS

  • 114,200 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated the passenger side air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 114,200.

- Keystone Heights, FL, USA

problem #27

Oct 312014

CTS 6-cyl

  • 38,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the passenger side sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 38,500. Updated 01/20/15 updated 6/9/2015

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #26

Nov 102014

CTS 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that while entering a driveway, the brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to respond causing the contact to crash into the garage. There were no injuries. Also, the contact stated that the brake pedal depressed to the ground and the service brake assist warning light illuminated. The air bags failed to deploy. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure but was able to reset the ABS system. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000. Updated 12/22/14 updated 05/26/2015

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #25

Jan 152014

CTS

  • 144,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that the air bag warning light continuously illuminated. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the passenger seat belt buckle pre-tensioner assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure and informed that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign: 10V644000 (air bags). The approximate failure mileage was 144,000.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #24

Oct 222013

CTS 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included under NHTSA campaign number: 10V62200 (air bags). The failure mileage was 150,000. Updated 1/7/15 updated 01/15/15

- Alabaster , AL, USA

problem #23

Sep 012014

CTS

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated and the steering wheel air bag became warm. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Kenton , OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?