Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,033 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Cadillac CTS electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Cadillac CTS:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Cadillac CTS Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Jun 192016

CTS

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While returning from a trip, the engine shut off and all the power in the car was gone, while driving (in motion). We had been driving approximately 1.5hrs. We were going about 65mph, when the radio and ac went off. There was a message that said something about "battery reserve" ("???") I turned the radio and air back on. Immediately after, "service brake assist" message, then entire dashboard (including speedometer) goes dead. Car shuts off and immediately decelerates. Fortunately, we were in the slow lane already and could get out of quickly moving traffic (and the cars behind us could swerve into the other lane to avoid hitting us). On the side of the road, all power was still lost and could not remove the key from ignition. Attempted to "jump off", which restored power to remove the key. But vehicle would not start and ultimately had it towed. Dealer said motor was locked but didn't know (or immediately care) why. After I prodded the service manager, the technician called to say it was the alternator belt that was locked, causing the motor to be locked. With all of the ignition switch issues that I have read about the last 2 days, I am concerned that neither of those are the cause, but a result. My key "fix" lasted about 2 days. Although mentioned, the key was not "fixed" on the next visit.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #29

Apr 152016

CTS

  • 114,720 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Cts. While driving 50 mph, the speed decreased without warning, as if the brakes had been depressed. The vehicle came to a complete stop without warning. The contact was able to accelerate the vehicle by applying pressure to the accelerator pedal. Furthermore, the check engine light illuminated and the air bag light remained illuminated and flickered continuously. The vehicle was taken to a dealer to be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 114,720.

- Burlington, IA, USA

problem #28

May 122009

CTS

  • 40,000 miles
I was driving the vehicle and was hit from behind and went into a curb. My airbags did not deploy and the car would not restart. The engine completely shut off. The car continue to have problems with the engine and smoking after it was repaired by a GM dealer. We had to turn the car in and file bankruptcy after it stopped working.

- Chelsea, AL, USA

problem #27

Jul 012015

CTS

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My back center brake light no longer works and since this was pointed out to me earlier this month, I have noticed at least four other Cts cars with the same issue. They range from my year ('06) to at least 2009. And when quoted a price ($600+!) I balked at having it replaced. Anyone else notice this or have this issue?

- Terrace Park, OH, USA

problem #26

Jul 282015

CTS

  • 60,052 miles
Turned on windshield wipers and windshield washer motor starting spraying cleaner. I tried turning off the wipers and even changing the wiper speeds but the motor keeps trying to spray cleaner. Eventually I ran out of cleaner but you can still hear the motor running when the wipers are on. Pulled over and shut car off, waited 5 minutes and started car again but the washer motor still comes on when I turn on the windshield wipers. This was dangerous as it just flooded my view with wiper fluid. Not sure if wiper washer motor will burn out and cause other electrical issues. MA 10/16/15

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #25

Jul 262015

CTS

  • 922,730 miles
On 07/26/2015 went to start car. It started ok, but then there was no power to dash non on my indicators came on, when I went to put the car in drive the gear shift would not move. So I went to turn the car off, at this point the key would not turn all the way to full off position and is stuck in the ignition, all night. This of course means the alarm would not go on. So key stuck in ignition, no alarm, no dash power. This of course by morning had killed a new battery of only 5 days old.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #24

Jun 202015

CTS

  • 99,350 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my wife to get a hair cut on Saturday Jun 20th; when she was done a couple hours later we returned to the car and notice it was filled with smoke. I didn't see any fire but could smell something was melting, I unplugged the battery figuring that it may be electrical related. I opened all the doors to let the smoke out once the smoked cleared I plugged the battery back in and drove it to murdocks Chevy dealership to have the mechanics take a look. They found that the motor that controls the forward movement on the passenger seat had failed or shorted and melted. I am not sure if the mechanic reported the incident so I am filling out this form...updated 08/31/15

- Manhattan, KS, USA

problem #23

Feb 022009

CTS

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Cts. While operating the vehicle, the air bag sensor and battery sensor lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to determine the cause of the failures. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- Moss Point, MS, USA

problem #22

Nov 122014

CTS

  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle, there was an abnormal noise coming from the ignition. The failure recurred numerous times. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V394000 (electrical system) however, the part was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 170,000.

- Summerville , SC, USA

problem #21

Dec 192014

CTS

  • 77,585 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that the key failed to release from the ignition after being repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V394000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the shifter assembly failed and needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,585.

- Brea, CA, USA

problem #20

Nov 112014

CTS 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am the owner of a 2006 Cadillac Cts 3.6L V6 with a broken timing chain which is a $1,500 repair. I was traveling 70 mph down the highway when the timing chain went out and almost had an accident trying to pull onto the side of the road. I contacted GM and was told that even though my vehicle has the same engine as the 2007 model, it was not covered by the extended warranty. Upon researching this is a known issue with the Cadillac Cts from the very beginning of its appearance in 2003. The number of complaints from 2003 to 2006 for the timing chain on the nhtfs website was the same as the number of complaints in the years covered by GM¿'s special extended warranty (GM subject 10287 concerning timing chain issue) for the 2007-2009 Cts. GM realized the timing belts were an issue and found a way to only cover those 3 years by blaming the need to reprogram engine control module. By doing this they managed to prevent investigations by the nhtfs regarding the timing chain issue. While the engine control module may have contributed to the timing chain issue in the 2007 ¿¿ 2009 years, it is not the cause of the issue since the problem existed in the 4 years prior to the addition of the faulty engine control module. The years following the extended warranty there have been zero complaints related to timing chain issues. This indicates that perhaps the timing chains being used previously were likely replaced, but I do not have the resources to investigate that. The nhtfs has never investigated the timing chain problem in the 7 years it was occurring. Part of the problem is that most people filing a complaint about a timing chain don¿¿T know how to categorize it (I found instances under airbags, electrical, etc.) these are only the cases that have been reported to the nhtfs, but the internet is filled with people complaining about the problem.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #19

Nov 132014

CTS

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that while attempting to park, the vehicle stalled and failed to restart. The contact also mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number 14V394000 (electrical system). The vehicle was towed to the dealer who stated that the main computer needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #18

Oct 162014

CTS 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Cts. The contact received NHTSA campaign: 14V394000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the recall remedy was not a permanent repair for the vehicle. The contact declined the recall repair to be performed on the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure...updated 12/02/14 updated 10/1/15

- Barrington, IL, USA

problem #17

Oct 042014

CTS

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V394000 (electrical system). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 109,000.

- Lyle, WA, USA

problem #16

Oct 012014

CTS

  • 72,400 miles
Between 12/2013 and October 2014 my car blows out electronic control modules A/K/a E.C.M.S possible causes are the ignition and or fuel gauge shows momentarily no gas motor shuts off and stalls while driving.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #15

Sep 082014

CTS

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Cts. While driving 25 mph over a bump, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V39400 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Roselle, IL, USA

problem #14

Aug 052014

CTS

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Cts. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #13

Sep 182014

CTS 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Cts. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V394000 (electrical). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/24/2014 updated 4/16/2015

- Christiansburg, VA, USA

problem #12

Jun 282014

CTS

  • 98,000 miles
I was driving down the road and my car stopped accelerating. Causing a close encounter of a bad accident. This has happened numerous of times. Today my car will not move at all. It still runs it just will not move. This morning it continued to stop accelerating. Causing some really close encounters. Luckily I got my car in my driveway and now it wont move.

- Waynesville, MO, USA

problem #11

Jul 162014

CTS 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that after entering the vehicle, the door locks activated and there was a loss of power. The contact was unable to open her doors and the on star service system failed. The contact stated that she was locked in her vehicle for over an hour. The contact was assisted by a fire department who was called to the scene. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the ECM module needed to be repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 63,000. Updated 8/27/14

- Naples, FL, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?