Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,955 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Cadillac CTS electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Cadillac CTS:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Cadillac CTS Owner Comments

problem #11

Jul 102015


  • 41,500 miles


Vehicle died while driving with no prior warning or error messages-complete engine failure, loss of power steering, brakes. Unable to restart after several attempts. Mechanic determined that the ECM had failed unexpectedly. When computer was replaced, they were unable to detect any sensor issues that may have contributed to ECM failure, they concluded that the ECM had failed while driving. Had it failed on freeway, results could have been catastrophic.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #10

Feb 022015

CTS 6-cyl

  • miles
2010 Cadillac Cts. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice. The consumer stated the current fix, is nothing but a band-aid. She would like a new updated ignition switch.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #9

Dec 012014

CTS 6-cyl

  • miles
2010 Cadillac Cts recall 14171 with the key and ignition switch. The consumer received a recall letter, stating the parts were available. However, when he contacted the dealer, he was informed the parts were not available.

- Boydton, VA, USA

problem #8

Oct 202014

CTS 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles


I was traveling approximately 65 mph at around 7pm when a dump truck suddenly moved into my lane. I had to immediately slam on the brakes. Simultaneously, I sounded my horn and flicked my high beams multiple times at which point all of my outside lights went off. I was completely in the dark, traveling in excess of 55 mph, with no street lights and no car lights. I slowed as quickly as I could and pulled over to the side of the road. I turned the car off and then restarted. Once the car restarted, the lights came back on and functioned normally. I experienced this a second time on the night of November 18, 2014 once more around 7pm. I was attempting to pass a slower vehicle. I shifted my Cts into sport transmission mode in order to downshift to pass. At the same time, I put my signal on to indicate I was moving my car to the left to pass. I passed the vehicle, put my signal on to indicate I was moving to the right, and all of my exterior lights went out. Unlike the first time this occurred, I was not engaging any controls for my lights or horn. I was simply passing and using my turn signal. Once more, I was moving in excess of 55 mph with no lights on a rural road. Fortunately, I was familiar with this road, so I was able to find a safe place to pull over, shut the vehicle off, and restart. Just like the October 2014 occurrence, when the vehicle restarted, the lights returned to normal functioning.

- Mauricetown, NJ, USA

problem #7

Sep 122014

CTS 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
The car shut off while driving down a hill this is the second time it has happened I checked with GM to see if there was a recall for this car and at this time there is not. We were lucky both times that there were no other vehicles around and that the car was kept under control while bringing it to a stop. Although GM has no recalls for this car I am filling this complaint because of the many recalls that are out there for this same problem. Will the third time be a charm when it happens and someone gets killed or seriously injured for GM to include this car? it will be to late!!!!!!!

- North Huntingdon, PA, USA

problem #6

Oct 062013

CTS 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Cadillac Cts. While driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle veered to the right and crashed into a parked vehicle. The contact sustained bruising and the passenger sustained knee injuries, which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V394000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 01/20/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was totaled. The recall notice was not received until a year after the failure. Updated 10/7/2015

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #5

Oct 102014


  • miles


The contact owns a 2010 Cadillac Cts. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V394000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Monroe, LA, USA

problem #4

Sep 262014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Cadillac Cts. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V394000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Alexander, VA, USA

problem #3

Jun 032013

CTS 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
On 6 June, 2013 while driving on M59 in Michigan and applying the brakes, my knee made contact with the remote fob, causing the ignition key to move from the "on" position to "accessory" mode. The engine stopped running and I had to steer and brake the vehicle without power assist to the shoulder of the road. I put the vehicle in park and restarted without incident. The same situation occurred in January 2014 while driving on I-75 to Florida. In both cases I informed my dealer (lafontaine Cadillac in highland, Michigan). The response was that they had not received any similar complaints and they could do nothing about it. I informed GM of the issue and they arranged to have the vehicle examined today, 1 April, 2014. I just received a call from the dealership informing me that the ignition switch met specifications. Whether or not it did (and to which specification) is academic. This is a safety issue! while I was able to manhandle the steering and braking, I doubt that my wife would be able to.

- Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA

problem #2

Nov 012013

CTS 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Sporadically, a "service air bag" warning comes on when engine is running. Also, in a few instances, the airbag readiness light has stayed on after completion of the brief system check which occurs when the engine is started. The dealers service department reviewed the matter and found that the history code for the passenger seat air bag "cleared codes", indicating that air bag is in working order. It recommended that if the service warning and readiness light were on frequently, the passenger seat air bag should be replaced at a cost of $912. I do not know why the dealer focused only on that one air bag. This issue sounds like the problem for which GM recently recalled certain sport utility vehicles for years including 2010, our model year. I believe it should be determined whether that recall should be extended to cover additional vehicles, including ours. Updated 04/08/14

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #1

Nov 262011

CTS 6-cyl

  • miles
Passanger side sunvisor wiring caught on fire and burnt some of ceiling upholstery and melted plastic trim around sun roof.

- Bassett, , VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?