Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

8.7

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,923 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Cadillac Catera engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Cadillac Catera:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Cadillac Catera Owner Comments

problem #13

Jan 202007

Catera 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I'm repairing the blown head gasket on the same engine for the third time in less than 50000 miles, 100000 total miles. These cars were lemons! Cadillac knows it, but does not feel the need to respond to the thousands of Catera owners who have suffered the expense of repeated repairs, totaling $10,000 with transmission replacement, major engine repair, timing belts, cooling systems, water pumps, and oh yeah...electrical system failure!!! give me a break! and any advice besides the obvious.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #12

Jun 252002

Catera

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer received letter from manufacturer warning him that camshaft/timing belt idler, and pulley could fail, resulting in engine failure.

- Sun City, AZ, USA

problem #11

May 012002

Catera

  • miles
While driving, vehicle stalls and surges, intermittently the vehicle will not start, dealer has replaced the battery, alternator and crank sensor as the problems.

- Ostrander, OH, USA

problem #10

Jul 242001

Catera

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake insp.brake replaced3/9/00;check engine light on 5/12/00-fuel injector dirty, replace sensor; left window slow in operation - 6/23/00;ingintion remote key not working- two replacement 6/23/00;car jerking in sport mode, prblems with headlights, sunroof slides back an forth without turning dial, recall on engine check pulley 7/05/000; check engine light on car stalls7/31/00; vibration on acceleration told nothing wrong with car but tires, replace two front tires, I was told to replace tire rods. I ask for a rea susp. I was told it was not necessary and that they did not have time to do it that day. Right front headlamp out 3/01/01; left head light out 4/13/01;check engine light on, sunroof opens while driving w/O turning dial,5/24/01; remote key not working replace key, check engine light on, 6/21/01; check engine light on, slow pickup, rear sus. Rough ride help-recall emission 7/26/01; check engine light on contact dealer on my way out of town told not to worry about the check engine light and to adjust the knob on the gas tank by turning it several times. 8/6/01; car will not start battery dead, sunroof not working. Contact tow service they refuse to take car to dealer. Tow service boost car battery and left. Sunroof refuse to operate. Check engine light on 8/13/01-car parked going on vacation; check engine light on return from vacation 8/23/01-help- doing the first year of 1999 I had problems with my breaks thoses documents were destroyed in a house fire. My house caught on fire on 11/24/99. (tiresize: 14rhs)

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #9

Mar 252001

Catera

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle has stalled 3 times; first time at 40 mph vehicle sputtered/ stalled second time while driving 60 mph, and then started again while driving 50 mph without prior warning. Took vehicle to dealer twice, told consumer he could not find cause, unable to remedy problem.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #8

Jun 272000

Catera

  • miles
Contacted dealer immediately upon receipt of recall notice for engiine problem-was not advised of any imminent danger-lost power steering-car overheated & engine failure, brakes continue to squeal intermittently, steering pulls to side.

- Toms Rivwe, NJ, USA

problem #7

Apr 102000

(reported on)

Catera

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle would not start after being parked for a week.

- Hot Springs, AR, USA

problem #6

Apr 172000

(reported on)

Catera

  • miles
The leveling light and engine light illuminate intermittently. Nlm

- Hot Springs, AR, USA

problem #5

Apr 172000

(reported on)

Catera

  • miles
The leveling light and engine light illuminate intermittently. Nlm

- Hot Springs, AR, USA

problem #4

Apr 172000

(reported on)

Catera

  • miles
The leveling light and engine light illuminate intermittently. Nlm

- Hot Springs, AR, USA

problem #3

Feb 011999

(reported on)

Catera

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car stalled and never discovered problem.

- Palos Verd, CA, USA

problem #2

Mar 011998

Catera

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
O-ring leaking.

- San Juan Caistrano, CA, USA

problem #1

Nov 011998

Catera

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Engine failed.

- San Juan Caistrano, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?