Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,030 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Cadillac DTS electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Cadillac DTS:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Cadillac DTS Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Oct 022014

DTS

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Dts. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number:14V355000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Niles, OH, USA

problem #37

Sep 172014

DTS

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Dts. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, another vehicle crashed into the rear of the vehicle. On another occasion, the contact lost control of the vehicle and rolled over. As a result, the contact crashed into a ditch and the was able to exit the vehicle only through the front driver's side window. The air bags failed to deploy and the vehicle failed to restart. A police report was filed. The driver sustained injuries to the arm that required medical attention. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V355000 (electrical) after the crash. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Carrollton, AL, USA

problem #36

Oct 062014

DTS 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Dts. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the recall was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 11/13/14 the consumer stated the problem was resolved. Updated 12/02/14

- Murray, KY, USA

problem #35

Oct 022014

DTS 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Dts. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the notification stated that the recall part was available, but the dealer stated that the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/20/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired under the recall. Updated 5/5/2015

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #34

Jan 012014

DTS

  • 154,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Dts. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the steering wheel seized without noticed. The contact had to restart the vehicle in order for it to resume normal function. Also, the contact stated that the key failed to release from the ignition. The contact had to make several attempts and wait over thirty minutes for the key to release. In addition, the key would become hot. The dealer conducted repairs that were unknown. However, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The vehicle was included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 154,000.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #33

Sep 292014

DTS

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Dts. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the parts were unavailable to remedy the recall. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the parts should become available on or after October 1st. The dealer was notified, but they continuously sated that they were not scheduling appointments because the parts were unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Owings Mlls, MD, USA

problem #32

Sep 092013

DTS

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Dts. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start and the key remained stuck in the ignition. The vehicle was jumpstarted and then the key was released from the ignition. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact was informed to wait for the second notice. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 39,000.

- Salem, MA, USA

problem #31

Aug 012014

DTS

  • 40,000 miles
Tire monitoring system stays on even when tires are properly inflated.

- Orchard Park, NY, USA

problem #30

Jun 232014

DTS 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Dts. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system ); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/03/14 updated 3/10/2015

- Pulaski, VA, USA

problem #29

Aug 152014

DTS

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Dts. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to remedy the recall was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #28

Aug 172014

DTS

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Dts. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #27

Apr 232014

DTS

  • 87,341 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Cadillac Dts. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start upon turning the key in the ignition. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician diagnosed that the ignition switch and the ignition module were defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 87,341.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #26

May 012012

DTS 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Shortly after purchasing my Dts I began to notice a melting plastic/smoke smell whenever I would turn on the driver's side heated/ventilated seat heater. I took the car to the dealership and was advised this is a common wiring problem on the Buick and Cadillac models and that I should stop using the heated seat function because the wiring is undersized and can melt and burn. The dealership told me the new part has been revised to include larger wiring but the part has not been recalled at this time so there was nothing they could do for me.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #25

Jun 062014

DTS 8-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
High amperage connectors controlling driver and passenger heated and cooled seats shorted at module under passenger seat inside passenger compartment. Car filled with smoke and I had to search and pull the fuse under the rear seat cushion for the wire that shorted under front passenger seat. Trolling forums yielded very quick results with many that had same issue. The module and associated wiring should be recalled by GM (not to mention the stealership charges well over 1,200 for the part alone).

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #24

Nov 232011

DTS 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
While driving my car the right headlight will go off. You can turn the switch to the off position and then on again and the lights will come back on. After that sometimes both headlights will go and that's a very scary. Thing when you have the family that you love and care for in there with you...I have taken the car to the dealership and been told the balance controls are over heating, but in winter I can start the car in the drive way and the lights will flicker and go out both of them.....can GM stand behind there product so we can keep our hard earned dollars in America......

- Americus, GA, USA

problem #23

May 012006

DTS

  • 120,000 miles
This problem - the car dies and I lose all power assisted functions like steering and brakes - has happened multiple times, probably two dozen, over a period of time beginning some time in 2006, with model years 2000, 2001, and 2006 sedans. Since 1995 I have driven only Cadillac. It occurs only when I'm stopped, or rolling at a slow speed, and then begin to accelerate the car, such as has happened many times when I'm in a non-raised center median attempting a left turn against oncoming traffic (I have learned to left lots of room now). I hope I, or someone else in a Cadillac, won't have to die or be seriously injured before they admit this problem in their flagship vehicle. I called GM's 'ignition switch recall' line and was told that this sounds exactly like the problem in the other vehicles.

- Cedar Park, TX, USA

problem #22

Aug 012013

DTS

  • miles
2006 Cadillac Dts. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle headlight problems. The consumer noticed while driving at night, the headlights flickered and eventually went out. The consumer had to turn off the switch and turn it back on again, in order for the lights to come back on. He had to repeat the procedure over and over again.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #21

Dec 292013

DTS 8-cyl

  • 81,960 miles
While driving the vehicle down the road with the heated seat (drivers side) on, I began to notice a burning smell and smoke coming from the passenger seat area. Stopped the vehicle to inspect to find a smoldering wiring harness and module, there was a small flame. The flame was extinguished. The vehicle was then turned off and brought to a GM dealership that diagnosed it as having a bad connector. Dealership also stated that this is a common issue on these cars. In order to fix this and make it safe it required the module under the passenger seat and the connector to be replaced. Was informed that the new module is an improved design that shouldn't have the same issue. All service was performed and the vehicle and accessories is now functioning as they should.....updated 09-03-14 updated 09/8/2014

- Laporte, IN, USA

problem #20

Sep 262009

DTS 8-cyl

  • 52,630 miles
While on a trip in Wisconsin, I was traveling at night on a 4-lane highway with two friends in the car at a speed of 65 mph. Both headlights went out with no indication of failure on the dash. Thankfully, we were the only ones on the road. I slowed down and pulled to the side as best as I could see. Upon stopping the car, I switched the light switch on and off several times until both headlights came on again. I pulled back on the road to proceed - again no indication on the dash that anything was wrong with the headlights. A few miles down the road, one headlight went out. I switched the headlights on-off several times and both came on again. I took the car to the dealer on 28sep2009 and they replaced both headlights under warranty. A few weeks later on 4dec2009, I returned the car to the dealer because the right headlight continued to go out with no indication on the dash. The dealer replaced the right headlamp and I had no further problems until recently. I returned the car to the dealer 8nov2013 because the left headlight would go out, come back on, go out, come back on, etc. With no warning or indication on the dash. This is a big safety issue!!!!! if you read some blogs on this problem on the internet, you will find that this is not a unique case - and there is no explanation why it occurs. If the headlights go out, you should get an indication on the dash that a lamp is bad. Certainly, both lights should never go out at once while you are traveling. It is extremely expensive to replace headlamps in this car >$550 per light!!!!! more importantly, I cannot believe there is no investigation into this problem.

- Long Grove, IL, USA

problem #19

Oct 012013

DTS

  • 66,233 miles
My wife and I turned on our seat heaters, and both noted a smell of burning wire and plastic. We evacuated the vehicle. I then proceeded to check under the passenger seat where the smell was coming from. I visually noted a small amount of white smoke. I have since pulled the fuse for the heated/cooled seat module, and repaired it. There should be a recall on this if not I'm almost sure a class action lawsuit will be in GM's near future for such a dangerous fault. Upon replacement of the module I note several burnt wires and melted connectors on the module. Not even a week after I replaced the module it happened a second time! this time there was even more smoke and I was sure there was a fire. There wasn't; just burning wires again. Dealers charge upwards of $800 for this repair!! a high price to pay for not wanting to be set ablaze for warm of ventilated seats just for it to disastrously fail again! do something about it GM!

- Grindstone, PA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?