If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,408 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1997 Cadillac DeVille brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1997 Cadillac DeVille:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1997 Cadillac DeVille Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Feb 022009

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 157,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1997 Cadillac Deville. While driving approximately 20 mph on normal road conditions, the contact heard a noise and there was a low power response when the brake pedal was depressed. There was also a decrease in the brake line pressure, which increased the stopping distance. The failure occurred intermittently. The anti-lock brake system and traction control warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel and remained lit until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to the authorized dealer and is currently being repaired. The technician stated that the cause of the failure was related to the electronic brake control module. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 97V064000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock), although the failures were identical. The failure mileage was 157,800 and current mileage was 158,000. Updated 03/17/09 the ABS and traction control light illuminated. The consumer stated the dealer would not honor the recall. Updated 03/18/09.

- Tualatin, OR, USA

problem #23

May 112008

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 1997 Cadillac Deville. After the vehicle had been driven for approximately 20 minutes, the contact parked and noticed smoke and small flames under the hood. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the tracking control and ABS control module burned. The failure is identical to NHTSA campaign id number 97V064000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock). The vehicle has not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 58,000. Updated 07/08/08. Updated

- St. Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #22

Oct 282006

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
: the contact stated when the brake pedal was depressed while driving 40 mph, the brake pedal pulsated as if the ABS had activated. The traction control light and the ABS light also illuminated constantly. The vehicle was not seen by a dealer. The manufacturer was also contacted. There was a NHTSA recall # 97V064000 which pertained to the antilock brakes. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. Updated 1/29/2007 -

- Charlestown, NH, USA

problem #21

Jan 202005

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at 45 mph and having to apply the brakes they will not catch, and periodically they would apply automatically. Vehicle has not been driven for awhile..

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #20

Sep 012001

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
Consumer complained about problems with traction control, ABS and console message center, indicating a problem with steering. Consumer took vehicle to the dealer, who informed consumer that these problems were not covered under a recall, and any repairs would be charged to the consumer.

- Holt, MI, USA

problem #19

Aug 082003

DeVille

  • miles
When the brakes were applied, the ABS brake light would appear on the dashboard. Please fill in any additional information. Dealer was made aware of the problem.

- Altadena, CA, USA

problem #18

Aug 222002

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1997 Cadillac Deville has intermittent traction control activation. Dealer could not find the problem. They stated that they could replace wireing harness at a cost of $600 but did not know if it would solve the problem. They stated that sometimes it does and at other times it does not. Informed them of a recall on ABS system and Cadillac hq. Has never heard of it. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #17

Aug 192002

DeVille

  • miles
Car was manufactured in Sept.1996, during NHTSA recall bulletin, campaign no. 97V064000, 77449 affected vehicles, April -Dec. 1996. No safety defect listed.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #16

Aug 262002

DeVille

  • miles
ABS braking relay switch burst into flames from a corrosion. Dealership is aware of problem.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #15

Oct 062000

DeVille

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Brakes chatter when vehicle goes over 50mph or makes a sudden stop. Front disc rotors wore out of round, and dealer had to adjust front disc brakes by resurfacing them. 2 weeks later, after the repairs shattering came back. When problem returned consumer contacted dealer, and was told "that was the way anti lock brake system was supposed to work. Consumer states this still occurs.

- South Port, NC, USA

problem #14

Apr 142000

(reported on)

DeVille

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rotorsd faulty. Dealer and Cadillac refused to replace under 48,000/4 year bumpper to bumper warranty.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #13

Nov 181999

DeVille

  • miles
GM will be sending out an inspector to determine cause of brake failure.I do not know what brake component failed. Whether it was master cylinder, ABS, vacuum booster, etc. I only know there was failure. I was traveling at a speed of 15-20 mph with plenty of space to stop in response to 2 separate accidents that happened just in front of me. I applied the brake and when I got no response I pressed the petal with extreme pressure and the pedal went to the floor. Later at the garage the pedal again went to the floor, but on another occasion it was able to stop. Air bags did not deploy. Actual damage in dollars is only estimate as adjuster has not determined cost as yet. Another car ( 1999 Geo) was hit in rear and I do not know the amount of her damages. I have contacted Cadillac and I am not happy that an impartial witness cannot be on site when they do their physical examination. Please be advised that milage is close estimate. The car is physically not at this location. I also do not know if it is a 2point 3 point or motor belt.

- Clemmons, NC, USA

problem #12

Aug 231999

(reported on)

DeVille

  • miles
The ABS warning light keeps coming on. When applying the brakes it feels like they are dragging, and as if the brakes are on the whole time. Dealer can't find the cause of the problem.

- Mineral Wells, WV, USA

problem #11

Jan 201998

DeVille

  • miles
Vehicle has experienced continued electronic brake and traction control module failure (recall 97V-064), recall repair completed however vehicle continues to experience brake failure. Mjs

- Rockville, NY, USA

problem #10

Aug 201997

DeVille

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While coming to stop sign consumer stepped on brakes pedal to stop vehicle, but the brakes malfunctioned. Rotors were warped and had to be replaced.

- Cypress, CA, USA

problem #9

Apr 301999

DeVille

  • miles
When brakes are applied the pedal goes to the floor, resulting in extended stopping distance. Vehicle was repaired undeer recall # 97V064. Consumer indicated that brake system has been repaired by the dealer several times, but problem still exists.

- Rockville Center, NY, USA

problem #8

Oct 261998

DeVille

  • miles
Recall # 97V064000 GM/ABS; after having recall performed owner was involved in a crash on 7/28/98. Same part was replaced on 10/14/98 by another dealership that was suppose to be replaced by the first dealership.

- Coppell, TX, USA

problem #7

Sep 151998

(reported on)

DeVille

  • miles
When the brakes are applied they pulsate. The dealer has replaced the rotors twice.

- Norwich, CT, USA

problem #6

Mar 201998

(reported on)

DeVille

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
ABS brakes failed.

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #5

Oct 291997

(reported on)

DeVille

  • miles
While driving vehicle around a curve at 25-26 mph owner lost all braking power. Brakes then returned a short while later.

- Dover, NJ, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?