Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.7

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,000 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Cadillac DeVille miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Cadillac DeVille:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Cadillac DeVille Owner Comments

problem #7

Feb 152003

DeVille

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Right front head lamp lense fell off. Repaired February 19, 2003. Left front head lamp lense fell off, December 19, 2001. These head lamps are not sealed properly causing lense to fall off. When brought in February 19, 2003 a 1998 Cadillac came in behind mine and I ask the driver if he had the same problem and he stated that his right lense had fallen off. Checking with the parts department I was informed they keep plenty of these in stock as it happens frequently. When the first one fell off it was repaired under the warranty. I purchased a extended warranty from the dealership and was informed it was identical to the original warranty but extended for 2 additional years and 25,000 miles. When I had the second lense replaced on February 19, 2003 the service advisor informed me it was not covered under the extended warranty. Cadillac is charging $245 for a defected part plus tax and labor.

- Fontana Dam, NC, USA

problem #6

Apr 152003

DeVille

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
Failure of head gaskets and main seal leaking. 4.6L V8.

- Cataula, GA, USA

problem #5

Oct 202000

DeVille

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving in the day light won't be able to see the dashboard, and was unable to read the speed without taken eyes off the road.

- Mauston, WI, USA

problem #4

Jan 011998

DeVille

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel gauge malfunctions.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 081999

(reported on)

DeVille

  • miles
Message center.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Jan 041999

DeVille

  • miles
Instrument panel.

- Indian Wells, CA, USA

problem #1

Apr 231999

DeVille

  • miles
1. gear shift had too much play when going from park to drive (dealer-no problem found) 2. rear rotors replaced because dealer found them warped at 2221 miles 3. running rough and rotten smell (dealer found no problem) 4. wipers went out on 2/26/99, dealer had to order part so drove til 3/2/99 without wipers. Upon returning to dealer entire dashboard had gone out. They kept the car until 3/5, again went to dealer on 3/26 for wipers not working, still had to order more parts, returned on 4/6 to get replaced again. So I was from 2/26/99 to 4/6/99 without windshield wipers. 5. complained of noise when turning right, they found no problem, I also complained of rough ride, they replace bushings and lubed bar - felt better for a day, but rough ride returned after that. I feel they have had my car more than I have. I currently have 5225 miles on a 13 month old Cadillac, thus is outragious. Thank you.

- Ocean City, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?