Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,535 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Cadillac DeVille windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Cadillac DeVille:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Cadillac DeVille Owner Comments

problem #9

May 122008

DeVille 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Cadillac Deville. The contact stated while making a turn, the power steering failed as the steering wheel became extremely hard to maneuver. The service engine and traction control sensor illuminated intermittently multiple times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The failure recurred with both sensors continuing to illuminate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who replaced the motor mounts and the power steering hoses. The repairs were performed twice before and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. The consumer stated after the vehicle was serviced, it started vibrating. She returned to the dealer, where they informed her the motor mount needed to be replaced. All four power window motors had to be replaced, and the service engine soon light illuminated. The ignition needed to be replaced, and she was unable to start the vehicle on two occasions. The ABS and traction system failed. The power steering hose line was replaced twice. Updated 07/16/14 updated 08/11/14

- Ladson, SC, USA

problem #8

Jan 062010

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Cadillac Deville. The contact stated that three window regulators have broken. The failure has prevented him from opening and closing the windows. The contact refused to assume responsibility and pay the repair cost to have the regulators replaced. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact awaiting a response. The failure mileage was 62,000. Updated 03/01/10 Cadillac informed the consumer they would not take responsibility for the repair and/or replacement of the window regulator. Updated 03/04/10. GM informed the consumer they will not replace the third window regulator. Updated 05/05/10.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Mar 112009

DeVille

  • miles
I have now replaced 3 window regulators in my 2001 Cadillac Deville. It is dangerous because the window stays down and I feel unsafe in my car. It is also the dead of winter and had to take my daughter to school with the window in the down position with the temperature outside of 10 degrees in her ski outfit. One regulator is acceptable and maybe a fluke but 3 is unacceptable. Blogging on the net have noted several complaints about this issue. GM uses a plastic piece not metal and this is the failure of the part.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #6

Oct 282004

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Cadillac Deville. The contact stated that the regulator assemblies on both front windows and the rear passenger side window have malfunctioned. The windows would cost $1,500 to repair. The vehicle has not been repaired. The current mileage is 180,000 and failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 03/17/09. Updated 03/17/09.

- Rawlings, VA, USA

problem #5

Jul 192008

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,450 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Cadillac Deville. After the contact lowered the driver side window, it would not go back up. She could hear the window motor attempting to take the window back up, but it failed. The dealer stated that the window regulator cable failed. The repair would cost $650. The manufacturer has not been notified. The current and failure mileages were approximately 36,450. Updated 09/15/08 updated 09/17/08.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Jun 182004

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,767 miles
I have had to replace my automatic window motor and regulators five times. First on the rear left, then one month later on the front right, then in 2006, both left and right rear, and just this week the passenger front. I have had this car for 2 years. I am a good driver and have never been in an accident. The windows are cheaply made with a little piece of plastic that breaks a lot. I know that this problem is not unique to other Cadillac Deville owners, because the window regulators are often out of stock- meaning that many other people are having to get their windows fixed. The incident dates are 06-18-2004, 07-14-2004, 07-17-2006, 07-17-2006 and 10-17-2006. This is not safe to have a window that breaks so that you cannot control it.

- Fillmore, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 072006

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,747 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

$3440.72 of repairs from Jan 05 to Aug 06, includes air bags, computer problems, electric windows, air conditioner, fuel pump, water pump, electric seat heater, etc. On a 2001 Cadillac dts with 60038 miles. All fixed by dealer and extended warranty. We paid #50.00 deductible for each trip to service dept. 8 times since Jan 05. The complaint is regarding the number of times we have been without a vehicle and the numerous repairs on a car that is suppose to be well made, and of course is very expensive. We are selling this vehicle because it is not reliable and will have to withdraw several thousand dollars to make up the difference of the sale value and what we owe. We would be keeping the car until paid for if there had not been so many problems. This car is kept in a garage at all times, and we have it serviced every 3000 miles and have done this since we bought the car in Dec 2003. Please contact us regarding any additional information needed. Thank you.

- Graham, NC, USA

problem #2

Jul 082005

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,855 miles
Electric window mechanisms breaking. Yesterday when the window was operated to close it, there was a loud cracking noise when it reached the top, the next day when the window was lowered, it made a grinding noise and then the window fell to the bottom and would not operate again. This was the driver's window. On June 14, we had the same thing happen but to the front passenger window. The Cadillac dealer charged us $640 to replace a window regulator. It seems something is very defective if 2 of them break within a month.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #1

Jul 102001

DeVille

  • miles
Consumer states there is a clicking sound when operating driver side window. Dealer could not duplicate consumer's concern.

- Gates Mills, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?