Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,401 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Cadillac DeVille seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Cadillac DeVille:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Cadillac DeVille Owner Comments

problem #18

Feb 122016

DeVille

  • 104,255 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light is staying

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #17

Aug 102015

DeVille

  • 125,000 miles
Front end collision at 42 mph that caused heavy front end damage and the air bag failed to deploy. My vehicle was in motion when the small pickup in front stopped short causing impact.

- Quincy, IL, USA

problem #16

Jun 272015

DeVille

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owned a 2003 Cadillac Deville. While driving approximately 30 mph and approaching a stop light, the brake pedal was applied, but the contact's foot slipped. As a result, the contact crashed into the preceding vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact and the passenger sustained injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #15

May 212015

DeVille

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bags

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #14

Mar 022015

DeVille

  • miles
2003 Cadillac Deville. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch issues. The consumer stated the recall repair was not effective. The consumer stated the ignition switch should have been replaced, as the vehicle shut off while driving in traffic. The consumer had to put the vehicle in neutral and re-start the vehicle. The vehicle usually re-started, but a times when he turned the switch nothing happened. Also, the air bag light illuminated on an intermittent basis.

- Key Largo, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Dec 302014

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Cadillac Deville. While driving 35 mph, the contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a wall. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was towed to a dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 71,000. Updated 2/24/15 updated 03/02/15

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #12

Dec 092014

DeVille

  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Cadillac Deville. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle shook violently and the brake pedal stiffened. In addition, the steering wheel seized and the vehicle crashed into a steel dumpster. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed. The driver was injured and required medical attention. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system), but the part was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 109,000.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #11

Dec 052014

DeVille 8-cyl

  • miles
Friend was driving my car at the normal speed limit and the car cut off. When the car cut off a car hit her from the side which caused the car to spin out of control and hit another car! the air bags never deployed and she was hurt badly. The key ignition recall for the 2003 Cadillac said that it will cause the car key to shift and could cut off while driving. This is a serious matter that needs to be taken care of because her neck and shoulder and foot got injured very badly because the air bags didn't deploy!......updated 01/12/15

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #10

Oct 292014

DeVille

  • 88,000 miles
I took my 2003 cad.Deville to vince webb cad dealer in pensacola fl. Oct.25th to get the keys fixed and the air bags fixed. I took with me NHTSA recall number 2002-08-14. The service writer insisted that there is no recall on this car. I then called GM customer service and got the same the same thing. Now I'd like to know witch one is right, your recall number (2002-08-14 or 03V051000)" or vince webb no" the light that indicates air bag came on about two weeks ago and I feel that there is a safety issue here and the dealer said they will fix it for $90 dollers, but I feel that if they check the recall it might be what the check air bag light is trying to tell me.

- Cantonment, FL, USA

problem #9

Aug 192014

DeVille

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Cadillac Deville. The contact stated while driving various speeds, the check engine and the air bag warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the driver side air bag inflator module and the throttle needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 145,000. Updated 01/22/15

- Avon, MA, USA

problem #8

Oct 152014

DeVille 8-cyl

  • 147,495 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In September of 2014, I received a recall from the state of Massachusetts about (1) part that must be repaired in my 2003 Cadillac Deville sedan: (1) ignition switch 14V355000, the only recall showing up on the GM web-site is the ignition switch and the other three and the first are listed here totaling (4) recalls all together! after entering my make, model, year, and VIN, of my vehicle I received three more urgent recalls ! (2) fuel tank pressure sensor 03V238000, (3) driver air bag 03V051000, and the (4) air bag inflator 02V222000. During a recorded phone conversation an agent and a manager at/from (GM) General Motors stated that they do no honor any recalls from safercar.gov/NHTSA or any other web-site as they are "not valid" but their own @GM.com. These are serious recalls that require immediate attention and validation by GM before they are sued for much more than simple repairs! I thank you for your time! blessings! on August 21, 2013, he paid $300 to replace a tie rod. On December 30, 3013, the tie rod broke again. He had to call aaa several times due to electrical failures, which caused the vehicle to stall. Updated 11/26/14

- Avon, MA, USA

problem #7

Aug 212013

DeVille 8-cyl

  • 14,878 miles
I have a lengthy complaint that I will send to your email address as an attachment ? thankyou !

- Avon, MA, USA

problem #6

Aug 312014

DeVille 8-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Cadillac Deville. The contact stated that the service engine indicator remained illuminated. The dealer stated that the passenger side air bag was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 66,000. Updated 11/14/14 updated 7/28/2015

- Seattle , WA, USA

problem #5

Sep 012014

DeVille

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Cadillac Deville. While driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. As a result, the contact crashed the vehicle into a parked vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained neck and jaw injuries and the other two passengers sustained neck and back injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Detroit , MI, USA

problem #4

Jan 092013

DeVille

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Cadillac Deville. The contact stated that while driving 25 mpg and approaching a traffic signal, the air bags deployed without warning. The contact mentioned that the shield became smashed due to the failure. A police report was not filed and the contact did not sustain any injuries. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 130,000. The VIN was not available.

- Parsonsburg, MD, USA

problem #3

May 032010

DeVille

  • miles
On May 3, 2010, my friend was driving my 2003 Deville, the side airbags deployed from the vehicle without a collision with another vehicle. They deployed on their own, smoke fill the vehicle, the force of the airbags push her so hard, then their was great pain coming from her left arm it started to swell then it bruised. The force of the bags knock the passenger window off track, and the driver mirror is damage. The vehicle was taken to one Cadillac dealer where we found that general motor had down sized taken the dealership. Next we took the car to crest Cadillac, they didn't know who to blame. The vehicle was left at dealer their overnight, little help their but only a bill. It has taken her since may to get some resolve with GMC. This Monday August 22,2010 they will send a investigator to look at the vehicle, this investigator will come from Chicago, the car is in milwaukee Wisconsin. He tells her it will take 7 to 8 hours to find a module and to upload pictures to GMC. She is a senior, when talking with the first GMC employees they were very rude, but that the way business is these days. She is under the doctor care, we want to know why did those side airbags deployed?

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #2

Feb 242010

DeVille 8-cyl

  • 113,500 miles
Son was in car seat in left rear of vehicle and was driving and son called out to me that his seat belt came off. Had to pull over and and switch side of the car he was on the seat belt buckle was broken off. Went to the dealer for that and airbag light going on and off intermintently so dealer told me it was a pretentionor pulley so the seatbelt and my sensors were going off due to this...

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #1

Oct 272003

(reported on)

DeVille

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,084 miles
Intermittently instrument panel malfunctioned. Consumer could not duplicate the fuel level, and could not indicate in what gear the vehicle was in. Also, air bag light/battery light/service air bag indicator, and service tire indicator illuminated. The dealer had not been able to duplicate or determine the cause of the problem.

- Rancho Cordova, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?