Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,552 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Cadillac DeVille seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Cadillac DeVille:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Cadillac DeVille Owner Comments

problem #19

Aug 112015

DeVille

  • 163,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Deville. While starting the vehicle, the driver side air bag inadvertently deployed. The contact sustained minor cuts that did not require medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 163,000.

- Maynard , IA, USA

problem #18

Jun 092015

DeVille

  • 111,811 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Deville. The contact stated that the air bag service light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the driver side air bag needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 111,811.

- S Sioux City, NE, USA

problem #17

Dec 202014

DeVille

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Deville. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Indianapolis , IN, USA

problem #16

Oct 152014

DeVille

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Deville. The contact stated that while driving at 60 mph, the driver side air bag deployed. The vehicle was taken the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.

- Sebastian, FL, USA

problem #15

Sep 022014

DeVille

  • 90,000 miles
I veered right to avoid a vehicle who approached over the center yellow line, the wheel locked, and I crashed over guardrail and into a utility pole. The airbags never deployed. I was not injured, and did not seek medical attention. The vehicle was a total loss. I did not know my vehicle was involved in a recall until my insurance provider sent me a document to that effect as part of the payout for the car. I've been driving for over 40 years, I am a defensive driver. I have 15 keys on my keychain what happened was just as they outlined I am totally screwed in this whole situation.

- New Haven, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Apr 092004

DeVille 8-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
Driving East on flamingo St, las vegas, hit dip in road, suddenly, went dead. No power, engine died, hit from behind, airbags did not deploy. Went hospital by ambulance, with neck brace, iv drip, spent one night, went doctor next day. Car taken repair shop, per geico insurance adjuster. Went to this doctor for two years, then another doctor at V.a. hospital, to this date. Had shots to low back, neck, many chiropractor treatments, with various pills, such as oxycodone, hydocodone and other narcotics for pain. Having to shots in low back this month, 29 Oct 2014. The accident was investigated by las vegas state police department. Damage to my car was over $20,000. Dollars, geico would not replace, had to sell, suffered lost after 5 months. It was never correct after accident. Purchase 2005 new cts, it shut off while driving, traded it for 2005 Cadillac Deville, with 13,000 miles, engine leaked oil before warranty off, dealer refused to do anything. Now at 200,000 miles, it leaks 2-3 quarts between oil changes. Does not burn, engine was developed with defect, it leaks oil from bottom. I have spent thousands of dollars to repair. Found over 200 owners have same problems with Deville, leaking oil. Reported to GM, they said nothing could be done, refused to assist in repairs or fix the problem.

- Washington, UT, USA

problem #13

Sep 172014

DeVille

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Deville. The contact stated while driving approximately 25 mph, the steering wheel seized and the air bag disabled warning light illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The contact received notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). However, the parts was unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 73,000.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #12

Sep 202013

DeVille

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Deville. The contact stated while driving approximately 4 mph, the brake pedal sank into the floorboard and the vehicle failed to slow down after numerous attempts. The vehicle continued to accelerate into an intersection where another vehicle crashed in the driver's side. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact suffered from whiplash which required medical treatment. The driver in the other vehicle was transported to the hospital. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to the contact's residence. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000.

- Wanatah, IN, USA

problem #11

Jul 282014

DeVille

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Deville. While driving 57 mph, the engine stalled and the air bag and ABS warning indicators were illuminated. The contact was able to merge to the side of the road and restarted the vehicle. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to remedy the recall was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Spring Grove, IL, USA

problem #10

Apr 062012

DeVille 8-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
I was standing still at red light old van with steel bumper ran into back of me knocking me forward an out against steering wheel air bag failed to deploy I was injured car had extensive damage.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #9

Feb 092014

DeVille 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Deville. The contact stated that another vehicle crashed into the rear of the contact's vehicle. As a result, the contact's vehicle crashed into one other vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries that required medical attention. The dealer repaired the vehicle. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The speed was unknown. The failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 10/23/14 updated 05/21/2015

- Medara, CA, USA

problem #8

Nov 042013

DeVille

  • 142,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Deville. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact crashed the vehicle into a parked vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact was injured and received medical attention. The vehicle was inoperable and was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 142,000.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #7

Nov 132013

DeVille

  • 13,000 miles
Air bag warning light has come on for a third time after dealer repaired it twice. First time it was a loose connection. Second time rt. Rear airbag was replaced. All within a period of driving it 7,000 miles.

- La Quinta, CA, USA

problem #6

Jul 032014

DeVille 8-cyl

  • 75,940 miles
I entered my car and put the key in the ignition when I started the car the drivers air bag activated. I was back in my seat so it never touched me.....updated 07/23/14

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #5

Apr 252014

DeVille 8-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
I was picking up my wife from her cardiac rehabilitation exercise program at the hospital. I pulled up to the door, shut the car off to assist my wife and put her rolator into the trunk. After placing the rolator into the trunk and ensuring my wife was safely within the vehicle I got into the vehicle and inserted the key into the ignition. Immediately the driver's side air bag deployed even though the vehicle did not contact anything in fact was not even moving nor in gear. The vehicle is currently at the dealer for analysis and repair.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #4

Apr 252014

DeVille 8-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
While picking up my wife at the hospital, I removed the keys from the ignition and opened the truck put my wife's rolator in the truck and ensured she was safely in the vehicle. I then went around to the driver's side and got into the vehicle when I inserted the key into the ignition the driver's side air bag deployed. There was no collision nor even movement of the vehicle when the air bag deployed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #3

Nov 062013

DeVille 8-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
I was traveling South on highway 385 when a deer flew out in front of me. We hit head on destroying the whole front end of my car. I would like to know why the air bags did not go off if that deer would have flown up on the hood and came through the windshield it could have killed me. The air bag could have saved my life. Why did it not deploy.

- Alliance, NE, USA

problem #2

Aug 222008

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,743 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Cadillac Deville. On August 22, 2008, the contact inserted the key into the ignition and the air bags suddenly deployed. The deployment made a loud bang that startled him and his wife. The police and fire departments arrived and filed a report. The contact's wife sustained bruises on her body and face. The contact had the vehicle towed to the dealer for repair. Since the repair, all of the other warning lights are illuminated on the instrument panel. His wife is scared to drive the vehicle. They spoke with the Cadillac manufacturer, but they did not seem to care and offered no assistance. The vehicle was parked overnight in the contact's garage. The failure mileage was 21,743. Updated 10/14/08 the rear driver window was inoperative. Updated 10/15/08.

- Norridge, IL, USA

problem #1

Dec 142006

DeVille 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
: the contact stated the air bag light and the service air bag light illuminated. The dealer attempted a repair however, the problem recurred.

- South Bend, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?