Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,381 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Cadillac SRX electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Cadillac SRX:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Cadillac SRX Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #4

Apr 232007

SRX

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Cadillac Srx. 40,000 miles, 3 years old. 1. 12-2006 - loud noises when vehicle was idling. Entire exhaust system replaced. 2. 4-23-2007 - check engine light came on. Car then began accelerating on its own. Replaced the throttle position sensor. 3. 6-21-2007 - engine would not accelerate beyond 20 mph. Service engine soon light came on. Took car in, it would not duplicate problem, was not fixed. 4. 6-29-2007 - picked car up. Noticed fuel gage was not working. Advised they did not know what caused fuel gage to not work, and was not related to the service engine message on 6-21-2007. Replaced the fuel sensor. They damaged the fuel hoses, ended up not getting vehicle back until Friday, 7-6-2007. 5. 7-12-2007: The check engine light came on again, vehicle started accelerating on its own (similar to 4-23-2007 issue). Took car back, vehicle was accelerating while it checked in, also strange odor coming from car. Replaced the throttle position sensor (same as replaced 4-23-07). 6. 8-3-2007: The "service engine soon? message appeared on the driver screen and car again failed to accelerate. Drove car to service and left it on so that they can hook it up to the computer immediately. Discussed that it may be time to send this vehicle back to manufacturer. Service manager is aware of our concerns " vehicle is not reliable. 9. 8/6/07: They called and are going to replace one of the engine computers today (the ECM). They are then going to drive it around to be sure that takes care of it. 8/9/07: Picked up vehicle, seems to be working fine - time will tell. If this does not take care of it, we will be asking the dealer to contact the manufacturer and ask them to purchase the vehicle back from us.

- Clive, IA, USA

problem #3

Jan 292007

SRX 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,612 miles
Ran out of gas on the Ohio turnpike. Dic displayed 17 gallons used on 20 gallon tank with what appeared to be 3 gallons remaining, I didn't ask the aaa tow to bring gas. The car was towed to cleveland, where the dealer said that the car was on empty. This cost $60.03 plus nearly $200 with car rental back to Michigan, then additional gas and time off work to return to work to pick up the car. Didn't mind that the dealer made me feel like an idiot. I only wish that I would have been informed when I purchased the vehicle that the dic is not reliable. I could have had aaa bring gas free of charge and been on my way. Obviously, this really upset me.

- Saline, MI, USA

problem #2

Mar 082007

SRX

  • miles
Recurring electrical problems. First problem I had, the motor in the window went out, then the next electrical problem I had was the wiring for the blinkers kept going out, the next and most major electrical problem I'm still having is that when the car is turned off and secured the dashboard lights and radio comes back on within ten seconds after I've turned off and secured the car. The middle armrest keeps detaching at the back where the cell phone plug is located. The door locks (indicating latch by window) doesn't lift up. These electrical problems have been corrected by the dealer (Cadillac) at least two times each.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #1

May 202005

SRX 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,287 miles
The vehicle will shut down starting with air conditioner. Then a warning light will come on, system theft service. And the rest of the vehicle will follow. Consumer could not even get the key out of the ignition or turn it when it does this. The consumer was able to get the vehicle to pull to the side of the highway because she knew that when the air condition starts failing, it will shut down. Will have to wait at least 25-30 minutes before it will start again. The first time this happened the dealership replaced the computer. The second time they replaced computer again. The third time they changed the module. Consumer was not entirely sure of all the work the dealership did. There were no other known problems with the vehicle at this time. Everything that the dealership has done to try to repair the problem has not helped. Consumer contacted the manufacturer, they told consumer that they would reimburse her for what she paid. The replacements were done under warranty. The consumer did not want the vehicle since she felt it was unsafe.

- Orlando, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?