Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,658 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Cadillac SRX lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Cadillac SRX:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Cadillac SRX Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #71

Nov 032016

SRX

  • 44,970 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 9/16/2016, I purchased a used Cadillac Srx 2010 from a local dealer. I was presented with a carfax report that listed repairs. Among the repairs was a headlight replacement even before the sale as a new car. It wasn't specific so I figured it was damaged in transit or something. The car had 43356 miles on it when I purchased it. On 11/3/16, when driving, I noticed that I was without a headlight. I got out and looked at the front and noticed that the driver side headlight was full of moisture and the low beam bulb was blown. On 11/4/2016, I took it to the dealer to resolve and they replaced the bulb which didn't work so I left it there overnight and they replaced the "igniter". I picked it up the next day. I drove it for a week to ten days, but not at night. Until 11/12/16. The driver side headlight no longer worked on low beam or high beam. The car now has only 45,273 miles on it. I have driven it only 1,927 miles. I live in a dense fog area and this is a safety issue, it will be extremely dangerous to drive anytime there is fog. Even when there is no fog, the lack of a driver side headlight could result in an oncoming car misjudging the size of the car and possibly turning in front of it, assuming that it is a motorcycle or small car. I have returned the vehicle to the dealer for repair and now it remains there because they refuse to resolve this safety issue and want me to pay for it. It is a fairly expensive repair around $1200 to replace the entire headlight assembly. I do not understand why a safety recall has not been issued on this vehicle forcing the manufacturer to replace the defective headlight assembly.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #70

Mar 102015

SRX

  • miles
I purchased this vehicle in may OF2012. Both headlamps are filled with moisture and condensation causing pooling on the floor bottom of both lamps. At night, the lumination is poor. I started noticing the problem approximately 1-1/2 year ago. It is becoming progressively worse.

- Medford, NY, USA

problem #69

Oct 012012

SRX 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
I own a 2010 Cadillac Srx, the low beam headlights are so dim that it makes driving at night dangerous, they are so dim you can not see the road well enough to drive and must use the high beam lights to safely drive, I have changed the bulbs and the problem is still present, there is water inside the fixtures also.

- Town Creek, AL, USA

problem #68

Oct 182016

SRX

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side headlight is full of condensation, reason unknown.

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #67

Oct 172016

SRX 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
Right passenger headlight keeps flooding with water, lights go out cant see while driving. Dealer wants $2,000 to replace. This happens very frequently. Water leaks on floor and on the electrical of passenger side from sunroof drain, I've been told the drain is too short and disconnects. These are defaults in the car, we should not have to keep paying to have fixed.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #66

Aug 172016

SRX

  • 84,000 miles
Condensation in the headlight covers. Considerably dims vision while night driving. High risk of lights shorting or going out completely because of water build up. Repairs are unreseasonably high.

- Melber, KY, USA

problem #65

Aug 102016

SRX

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side headlight high and low beam out. Condensation in lense.

- Paducah, KY, USA

problem #64

May 312016

SRX

  • miles
The low beam headlights in perfect operating condition are so dim that the road in front of the vehicle is barely visible. The only way to safely operate the vehicle is with the high beams on. Many others have experienced the same issue. The vehicle is dangerous with only low beams on.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #63

Jan 012016

SRX

  • miles
I have a 2010 Cadillac Srx and both of the the light covers are field with condensation the drivers light got blown out because of the condensation. It does not looke like my lights are even on when they are and I just got new lights on both sides. The dealership said the light covers are $450 a piece and $1300 for labor which I can't afford they really should recall this because it is unsafe.

- Bellevue, NE, USA

problem #62

Apr 302016

SRX

  • 10 miles
Headlights lens fill with water and short out

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #61

Apr 132016

SRX

  • 97,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

(1) driver side headlamp failure. Dealership indicates ballast failure, and the entire assembly has to be replaced. The cost of this is a minimum of $1,200. (2) as of April 27, 2016 - car won't start (10 days): Indication is "no remote detected" (remote battery was replaced); vehicle's battery was replaced December 2015.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #60

Mar 202016

SRX

  • 130,122 miles
I purchased my used 2010 Srx in Feb. Of 2015. Since then I've had my headlights fixed three times due to condensation buildup. It started off with the passenger side, I got that fixed then six months later they both got condensation. Got them both fixed because its inspection time two weeks after inspection driver side completely burned out. I was on my to pa from va and my headlight went out. Cadillac refuse to fix it. Its very costly.

- North Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #59

Mar 052016

SRX

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Cadillac Srx. The contact stated that the driver side low beam headlight failed to illuminate. The dealer diagnosed that there was water intrusion and that the light fixture needed to be replaced. The dealer did not specify if a seal fractured or if there was a remedy for the short circuit electrical failure other than replacing the low beam head lamp assembly. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and indicated that there was no manufacturer recall to cover the repair. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 43,000.

- Eagle Pass, TX, USA

problem #58

Sep 122015

SRX

  • 57,000 miles
September 2015 headlites started getting moisture and water in them.in Oct whilr driving at nite the left headlite went out then the right one did, I could not see the road and went in ditch.called Cadillac next day told them what happened and was told nothing they could do and advised me to call dealer which I did and was told I would have to but 2 new headlites at $1200 each with out labor, I could not afford that so took lites out of car, the ballast were filled with water.I seperated the lenses and resealed them withsilicone and replaced ballast and bulbs from ebay.headlites no longer leak but im sure they will at some point in time.this should be a recall this is to dangerous and it is definately a disign flaw, I have read where many other people are having the same problem. This is a 2010 Cadillac Srx, issue started at 57,000 miles

- Gansevoort, NY, USA

problem #57

Jan 172014

SRX

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Cadillac Srx. The contact stated that the passenger side headlight failed to illuminate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that condensation entered into the headlight assembly, which would short out the electricity in the unit. The headlight assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure occurred on two prior occasions. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 42,000.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #56

Mar 012016

SRX

  • miles
Headlamp condensation causing lamp to go out sometimes will come back on. Should not be happening. Never had another vehicle have this issue. Should be a recall to fix this expensive condensation and lamp. Police enjoy stopping vehicles with no light! this has beenoccuring over last 6 months more off than on. Rain really makes worse. Condensation never completely goes away and inside indicstor light stayson all the time 24/7. #2 another issue is sun roof will not shut. Window will close but cover stops half way and will not advance any further. Had taken to baker Cadillac in charleston, SC for service March 1 2016. Worked on it for 2 days and told not fixable. Why is it not fixable? recalls should be issued on these problems Srx owners are having on these luxaury vehicles.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #55

Mar 132016

SRX

  • 43,921 miles
Vehicle has on 43,921 miles and the front headlamp assembly got water in it and blew out the hid headlight. These are supposed to be sealed units and should not ever leak. Never in any other car I've ever owned has the headlamp assemble leaked. Further this is a known problem with this make and year model, and Cadillac should be replacing them at no cost

- Hartselle, AL, USA

problem #54

Mar 012016

SRX

  • 93,600 miles
The front headlight assy continues to get water and condensation in it and the head light fails.

- Rockwall, TX, USA

problem #53

Feb 092016

SRX

  • 89,000 miles
Front headlamps have a recurring failure due to a design flaw with the housing.

- Hedgesville, WV, USA

problem #52

Feb 192016

SRX

  • miles
The passenger headlamp assembly had to be replaced in April, 2014 because moisture shorted it out. This cost $1450 out of pocket, repaired by the dealer with new GM parts. Now less than 2 years later, the same passenger headlamp is out due to the same reason. I have read about many similar complaints on headlamps for this model. Not safe when headlamps suddenly go out.

- Akron, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?