Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,600 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Cadillac SRX engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Cadillac SRX:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Cadillac SRX Owner Comments

problem #16

Jun 122015

SRX 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles


Ongoing issues with the vehicle transmission and speedometer since the vehicle was purchased. The vehicle was returned to legacy Chevrolet (legacy automotive of columbus, llc) reference invoice # [xxx] more that five (5) times for the same issues. Issues range from: Due to inadvertent acceleration of the engine, the speedometer read that it is traveling at 160 miles an hour when traveling at approximately 70 miles and hour. Speedometer gage does not reset and vehicle accelerates causing the transmission to lag in it's acceleration response time. To back up gallery camera error waning codes on June 18th I contacted General Motors regarding my vehicle problem and issues with getting assistance from legacy Chevrolet (legacy automotive of columbus, llc). I have been working with [xxx] a supervisor at General Motors, case # [xxx] who can be reached at 18667905700 ext # [xxx], [xxx] contacted legacy Chevrolet (legacy automotive of columbus, llc). About getting help through my current warranty to fix the issues with the car, he was informed by [xxx], that they will not be able to provide me a loaner car per the dma. And service manager advice, with the knowledge that there is clusters are on restriction so we can not get one issue with the vehicle and that they "are on restriction so we can not get one" ([xxx], legacy automotive warranty administrator) see email above. Current situation: On July 8th, I contacted gneral motors about the recall on VIN: [xxx] and to verify that the cluster display was ordered and that the known issues was fixed. The findings are as follows: There has been more than 10 recalls on this vehicle. Still no resolution to the problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Phenix City, AL, USA

problem #15

May 012014

SRX 6-cyl

  • 19,500 miles
Approx 5 second lag in acceleration when departing parking space. Two occasions.

- Destin, FL, USA

problem #14

Mar 182014


  • 19,000 miles
Stopped at a light. Light changed to green and pressed peddle to accelerate. Vehicle started normally into intersection and then would not continue for 5 to 7 seconds. The engine was at idle, not stalled, and would not respond to the peddle no matter what input was rendered. Been to dealer several times and even had a recorder installed, but they could find nothing wrong and returned the vehicle to us. This will eventually cause a fatality.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #13

Nov 132013


  • 1,500 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Cadillac Srx. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle lost acceleration power without warning. The vehicle regained power independently. The failure recurred a dozen times over a period of seven months. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who could not duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 1,500 and current mileage was 4,349.

- Great Falls, MT, USA

problem #12

Aug 192013

SRX 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Cadillac Srx. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle suddenly lost acceleration power. The vehicle regained power independently. The failure occurred four times over a period of a year. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who could not duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 6,000. Updated 5/27/14

- Randallstown, MD, USA

problem #11

Feb 222014

SRX 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
This incident has occurred 5 times on my vehicle. The most recent today, 4/2/2014. What happens is I push on the gas pedal and their is a delay of 4 seconds before the car engages and moves. First time this occurred was when I was getting on highway. I pushed down on the gas pedal and the car did not move. Two times I had this issue occur when I came to a complete stop at a stop sign. I pushed on the gas after stopping and the car did not move. I had another incident after backing out of a parking spot. I shifted the car into drive and then pushed on the gas pedal and the car did not move. The latest incident today occurred when making a right hand turn. After I completed the turn I pushed on the gas and the car did not move. In each incident, it feels like the car is trying to engage and then it finally kicks in. I have taken the vehicle into lindsay Cadillac dealership and they have told me this is normal behavior for this vehicle and nothing is the matter with it. They refer to a January 2014 post on their blog site. When they read it to me I confirm I was not passing a vehicle nor did I do a rolling stop since that is when they say this issue would occur. I did speak with GM customer care after my visit to the dealership when they told me they could not find a problem and they were shocked to hear me say the dealership stated this is normal behavior. They told me it was not. I am now reporting this issue to you hoping you can look into it with GM.

- Lorton, VA, USA

problem #10

Nov 112013


  • 19,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Cadillac Srx. The contact stated that while accelerating from a stop, the vehicle would not respond. The contact applied extreme force to the accelerator pedal but to no avail. The contact would have to resume normally after a five minute waiting period. The failure was recurring over a six week time span. The vehicle was taken to dealer, who was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 19,000. Updated 4/26/14

- St. Clair , MO, USA

problem #9

Feb 142014

SRX 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Twice I have been stopped at a stop light... when it was time to go, I pushed the gas, it went a little ways (a few hundred feet) and then it lost power (for lack of a better term)... I had the gas pedal to the floor, but the vehicle wouldn't go. After about 5-8 seconds, it pealed out and went. Again, this happened twice - two days in a row. It hasn't happened since then, though I have experienced a slighter hesitation several times coming off a stop. Along with this, I can also be driving down the road with nothing in front of me, behind me, or anywhere around me, and the collision lights flash and the seats vibrate as if I am approaching another vehicle to quickly. Again, it does this when nothing is around me. This typically happens when I'm going down the interstate at 65-70 mph.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #8

Oct 302013

SRX 6-cyl

  • 5,500 miles
I was driving on a side road, came to a busy road stop sign, stopped, went to turn right and lost acceleration power for approximately 5 seconds. My car just coasted into the direction I was turning my steering wheel. No power! fortunately, at the time, there no cars coming close enough, to make my vehicle a hazard. But, if the conditions were different, I certainly would have been in danger. The power picked back up after a few seconds, and I had acceleration power again. The same scenario has happened 4 times now, always after stopping and then trying to accelerate, and losing power for a few seconds, approx. 5 seconds. It began on 10/13/13, then on: 11/4/13, 1/3/14. And 2/3/14. I bought this 2013 Cadillac Srx luxury brand new on 4/20/13.

- Deland, FL, USA

problem #7

Jan 022014

SRX 6-cyl

  • 750 miles
Acceleration problem starting from stop light (3)and turning right on a red light after a full stop. (1) in all cases car was accelerated from a fully stopped position. About 10 feet into the acceleration the car stopped accelerating for 2-4 secs then abruptly accelerated as commanded lurching forward. These events were random without any warning lights being illuminated during the event. Being an unknown condition a driver could expose the vehicle to an accident because of its shut down on acceleration.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #6

Dec 112013


  • 4,500 miles


I had come to a stop to turn left. I was waiting for the traffic to clear, when there was adequate distance between cars, I pushed on the gas pedal and nothing happened. The car just stood still, no lights came on, no warnings, no engine rev, nothing happened for about 3-4 secs. However, by this point the cars were closing in on me and finally after I let off the pedal and slammed down on it again, my Srx moved and cleared the road way. It was very scary to be sitting there and expecting the car to move when the gas pedal is depressed and nothing happens.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #5

Nov 142013

SRX 6-cyl

  • 85 miles
This incident occurred while driving our new Srx home from the dealer. We stopped at a stop sign, and when the light turned green, we started accelerating but slammed on the brakes after noticing a car had ran the red light from our right. Our Srx only moved about 3 feet from the time the light turned green to the time we slammed on the brakes. After the car that ran the red light cleared the intersection in front of us, we tried to continue the acceleration but the accelerator would not respond for 3-5 seconds. After that time, accelerator responded and Srx ran fine. We have not had this happen again and can not reproduce this issue.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #4

Aug 222013


  • 1,150 miles
The first incident was on 08/22/2013 I was at a stoplight about to turn right- I depressed the gas pedal and went forward slightly, but then the vehicle stopped and there was absolutely no acceleration. I had to jam the gas pedal to the floor and even then the vehicle only got up to 20 mph in approximately 100 yards. It took the vehicle approx. 3-5 seconds to respond at all. The vehicle had approx. 1150 miles on it. There were no warning lights that came on in the vehicle. The engine did not rev up or do anything. I was almost rear ended on this occasion. 08/24/2013 I was at a stop light and attempted to go forward and there was a lack of acceleration--I had to jam the gas pedal hard for it to move. It took approx. 3-5 seconds to respond. 09/25/2013 I was at a stop light and attempted to go forward and there was a lack of acceleration--I had to jam the gas pedal hard for it to move. It took approx. 3-5 seconds to respond. 10/17/2013 sitting at a stoplight and attempted to accelerate went forward a few feet and stopped I had to jam the gas pedal to the floor for it to move. It took 3-5 seconds to respond. Approx 2150 miles on car 11/08/2013 I was almost hit in the driver side door. I was crossing an intersection and the car went forward a few feet and stopped in the road. It took 3-5 seconds for the vehicle to respond. Approx 3400 miles on car 12/7/2013 my boyfriend was driving--we were at a stop sign turning out of my neighborhood and there was no power as he depressed the gas pedal 3/4 of the way. It kicked in finally after 3-5 seconds. Approx 4000 miles on the vehicle there have been other instances as well but this is a summary of some of the times this has occurred.

- Maumelle, AR, USA

problem #3

Nov 272013

SRX 6-cyl

  • 21,500 miles
I was driving in a carls jr parking lot and stopped for another car. When I went to continue through the parking lot, the car pushed me forward and then I lost acceleration for 2 to 3 seconds. I stepped on the brake and the car was fine. Today, I was at a 4 point stop and went to go, and the car lurched forward and then lost acceleration. I almost got hit by a car.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #2

Nov 282013

SRX 6-cyl

  • 1,521 miles
I had a loss of acceleration occur on thanksgiving day. I was driving down a residential road at about 25mph when I came to the stop sign at the end of the road where I was turning right. I coasted up to the stop sign and looked to the left and it was clear and then proceeded to turn right. I pressed on the gas and it very slowly moved me into the lane and then stopped, it would not move at all. I depressed the gas all the way down and nothing happened. I didn't hear the engine rev as if it was in neutral or anything, it was just like it was dead. I didn't see any indicator lights on the dash but I was more concerned with the fact that I had a car behind me that I was concerned was going to rear end me as he was expecting me to continue moving as I turned into the road. Fortunately there wasn't a car coming from the left as I could have been hit since I as sitting there diabled in the road. After about 4 seconds the car finally responded and took off. I had the gas pedal all the way down so when it finally engaged my tires squealed and I took off. So here are the details: Time of incident was 4:02pm on 11/28/2013 and the car had 1521 miles on the odo and a full tank of gas. The car had been sitting about 4 hrs and I had been driving the car about 1.5 miles when it occurred. The outside temp was 64 degrees. If the car didn't move me forward into the road and it just didn't respond at the stop sign that wouldn't be nearly as bad but it moves you about 5 feet into traffic and then stops responding for about 4 seconds and if there was an on coming car I would have been hit. There have been several reports of this happening on this forums and it is obvious that there is something wrong somewhere in these cars (particularly the 2013). This is clearly a safety issue and Cadillac needs to figure this out before people are hurt or dies due to this malfunction.

- Ruskin, FL, USA

problem #1

Jun 292013

SRX 6-cyl

  • 600 miles
This is a report of a nearly fatal accident on June 29th, 2013 with a new Cadillac Srx that was leased from GM. The accident involved both me and my daughter who were belted in the vehicle which caught fire and accelerate to 110 mph. We were traveling on rt 127 N with the cruise control set at 60 mph. I was passing another vehicle and the speed started to dramatically increase. I would break and the speed would come down and then it would continue to rise. Black smoke was coming out of the engine. Using both feet on the brake, it finally came down to 5mph, but it would not stop. I pulled over at 5 mph and shifted the car into park. I used onstar and shortly thereafter the fire department, the sheriff, and another police officer were on the scene. This was a life threatening event!! the car was towed back to the dealership in adrian. I leased this car on 5-31-13, our second Srx and less than a month old. I sent a letter to [xxx] at GM regarding the aforementioned and have had no response. I am going on week two with no car and no resolution with this incident. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Adrian, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?