Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,070 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Apr 092010


  • 59,000 miles


Brake line burst near ABS module under truck.

- Southington, CT, USA

problem #29

May 152009


  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact stated that while applying the brakes at 55 mph, the brake and anti-lock brake warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. Simultaneously, the brake pedal fell farther into the floorboard than usual, causing an increase in the stopping distance. The contact shut off the engine and upon restarting, the warning lights were no longer illuminated. The vehicle had not been to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The failure mileage was 118,000 and the current mileage was 122000.

- Martinsvile, IN, USA

problem #28

Dec 272009

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • 134,700 miles
At the end of December, we were traveling down the highway at approximately 55 mph. I went to apply my brakes and the pedal went completely to the floor. I realized that I had no brakes. I down shifted and coasted to the nearest garage. After a thorough investigation, the mechanic informed me that the entire brake system needed replaced. At a hefty price, I replaced it all. The old parts are not available.

- Oakdale, PA, USA

problem #27

Mar 232010


  • 84,000 miles


NHTSA action # PE05020, NHTSA recall # 05V379000, GM Corp, service brakes, hydraulic, antilock. This problem persists in my 2002 Chevy Avalanche. The recall only temporarily fixed problem. I am requesting NHTSA extend recall to repair ongoing problem. This problem may cause loss of life. I have notified GM and expect a follow up by NHTSA.

- Wynantskill, NY, USA

problem #26

Feb 082010


  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact engaged the brake pedal while driving approximately 25 mph and the vehicle kept going forward. The contact almost rear ended another vehicle. The contact purchased new brakes and the vehicle has continued to accelerate. The contact never notified the manufacturer. He did contact the authorized dealer the second time the vehicle failed to stop. The dealer stated that the sensor caused the failure to occur. The contact stated that he had an extended warranty and the dealer advised him that the warranty would not cover the expenses. The failure mileage was 43,000. The current mileage was 45,180.

- Pontiac, MI, USA

problem #25

May 282009


  • 44,500 miles
During an emergency braking condition, the front brake line failed causing loss of brakes. Found all brake lines corroded to point of possible failure under same conditions. Truck has only 44,500 miles on it. Also found extensive corrosion throughout frame. Truck had additional undercoating installed by dealer(marchese Chevrolet in NY). Dealers reply to condition, yeah we have had several Avalanche and cavaliers with the same problem. It is not known if the problem is substandard steel or possibly a reaction with the undercoating. Vehicle is not being used at present time. Vehicle is a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche purchased new 12/2002. Additional issues with brakes, dealer recall on rotors 22,000 miles all 4 replaced, rotors and pads replaced by local shop with 42,000 miles, all 4 in need of replacement again.

- Mahopac, NY, USA

problem #24

Oct 092009


  • 53,000 miles


ABS brake system malfunctioning --- when slowing down to stop, at about 5mph, brake pedal becomes soft and vehicle pulls to the right. Recall tsb#02-05-25-006B does not include this vehicle but this is the same problem. Local GM service dept refuses to repair this unsafe design defect.

- East Moline, IL, USA

problem #23

Sep 202009


  • 81,000 miles
2002 Avalanche 2500 4X4 brake lines are failing one at a time under the driver seat their is a bracket that seems to collect dirt, salt, ect. In my opinion there should be a recall. This should be stainless brake lines. I almost got killed went off road to get stopped, towed home the truck. Now the next problem is trying to find parts actual 1/4" I.D. with metric O.D. 10 mm.

- Jamestown, TN, USA

problem #22

May 282009


  • 38,500 miles
2002 Chevrolet Avalanche - brake line rusted through after only 38,000 miles resulting in no brakes while going down hill. Luckily I was able to avoid hitting any other vehicles. Downshifted the transmission and used the parking brake to eventually stop the vehicle. I've now read several hundred other reports of the same problem. GM should be made to replace all brake lines on all Chevrolet Avalanche with stainless steel lines. This is an extremely dangerous situation which only shows up when you try to use the brakes - which is obviously when you most need them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Glenmoore, PA, USA

problem #21

Jun 202002


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. While driving 20 mph, the brakes failed to work properly. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall. There is a recall for the 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche. The brakes worked properly and they stated that everytime he took the vehicle in for service they would state that the brakes are fine. The failure mileage was unkown and the current mileage was 80,000.

- Sanford, CT, USA

problem #20

Apr 012009


  • 120,134 miles


2002 Chevrolet K1500 Avalanche 4WD activates antilock brakes while completing a stop at low speeds (less than 5mph). This malfunction occurs every time the vehicle is driven, often every time the vehicle comes to a complete stop. The activation of the ABS system has the undesired effect of greatly lengthening the stopping distance in an uncontrolled manner. In effect, the vehicle is not under control when approaching a stopped vehicle in traffic, intersection, pedestrian, parking, etc. This is a very hazardous malfunction of the ABS system. This particular truck was recalled and repair was attempted by a Chevrolet dealership a few years ago. This previous dealership repair of the uncontrolled ABS braking was not sufficient as the ABS malfunction has returned on this vehicle. On 4/1/09 the Chevrolet dealership has refused to repair my current ABS malfunction condition, stating that "GM will only do the repair once". the dealership repair did not work on my 2002 Avalanche, and now I am "stuck" with a vehicle that is a safety hazard on the roads due to uncontrolled releasing of brake pressure at low speeds. Please give me direction of what action I can take. Thank you.

- Milford, MI, USA

problem #19

Dec 272008


  • 55,000 miles
02 Chevy Avalanche electronic brake control module is defective and no longer under warranty. GM has had documented problems with the ABS on the '02 Avalanche but so far has only issued a recall for northern states, blaming the problem on road salt rather than the obvious design or manufacture defect. Road salt didn't cause this ABS failure because I live in Florida. The recall should be extended to the whole U.S. this is a safety issue that NHTSA should address with a mandatory recall for all '02 Chevy Avalanche. GM refuses to acknowledge that it is a safety problem rather than a warranty issue. I did a 360 on a major interstate due to this and should be addressed before it kills someone.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #18

Feb 122009


  • miles
Anti-lock brake system stays on and took to a repair shop. They advised us that there was a recall on it. Then we took it to the Chevrolet dealership and they told us there was no recall. Did some research on the internet and found that there was indeed a recall. Chevrolet dealership not cooperating.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #17

Jan 302009


  • 52,100 miles
The contact owns a 2002 GMC 1500 Avalanche. Two years ago, the ABS sensor was repaired on the vehicle under recall. Currently, the ABS sensor is not working properly and the brakes do not hold in the middle of stopping. The dealer stated that the contact would have to pay for the repairs due to the previous recall repair. The NHTSA campaign id number was unknown. The failure mileage was 52,100.

- South Milwaukie, WI, USA

problem #16

Jan 262008

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 2500. The contact took the vehicle to the repair shop for routine maintenance. The mechanic noticed that the rotors failed and a report was filed with the manufacturer. The manufacturer advised the contact to take the vehicle to one of their dealers for a diagnosis and to consider if they would assist with the repair. The current and failure mileages were 33,000. Updated 3/16/09 the front rotors needed to be turned and the rear pads needed to be replaced. Updated 03/19/09.

- Williamburg, KY, USA

problem #15

Dec 142008


  • 139,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500. When the contact turned off the vehicle, she heard a noise in the ABS. The battery was drained and the system no longer worked. The dealer stated that there was ABS failure. The contact stated that the recall on the ABS should be extended to all Chevrolet vehicles in all states, not just the winter states. The vehicle is currently being repaired at the dealer. The failure mileage was 139,000.

- Yucca Valley, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 072006

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
Parking brake failure. 2002 Z71 Chevrolet Avalanche brake did not last a year. General brake failure. Brakes were never enough to stop car safely. Note they really fail when going over bumps. Replaced rotors twice and pads 3 times and I'm at 60K!

- Charlton, MA, USA

problem #13

Aug 162005

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,656 miles
Brakes work sometimes, half brakes, ( were you have to pull the emergency brake to stop), or brakes go on by themselves were you have to pull over and stop and wait or cool your breaks until they cool down.( because the breaks are smoking. )problem has been going on for 7 months. 2002 Avalanche. The vehicle has been in the dealers 7 times and the last time on 05/08/06 because I almost hit a child. They replaced my brake lines but brakes still lock up and go on by themselves, when you stop quickly. Gave the dealer the paper work on salt affecting the anti- lock sensors recall since I live in Florida on 05/08/06 and told me in did not apply. My wife's 05 equinox went in for the exact same problems on 05/12/06 with no brakes at all except for the emergency brake and they want to replace her master cylinder. I told the dealer about the recall in the northern states and provided them with the recall paperwork and was blown off!. my truck came back today 05-12-06 with the exact same problems after being fix by the dealer.

- Psl, FL, USA

problem #12

May 252001

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150 miles
Purchased Avalanche in May 2001, had accident in ocean city NJ 2 weeks after owning truck. Told dealer problem with brakes. I was told it's in my head. 2003 took truck through inspection, they said may have front braking problem but passed me through to do load in bed of truck. Now have burning smell in driver front tire area after 40 min of city driving. Just read about brake recall. Please contact me.

- Mays Landing, NJ, USA

problem #11

Oct 182002

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
Contact states he is having a problem with his ABS. The brakes pulsate and they don't stop the vehicle. The consumer noticed the pulsation while driving at lower speeds but not as much as when he is traveling at higher speeds. This occurs during normal braking. This has been going on at some degree since he bought the car. It has gotten progressively worse. It is happening all of the time now. The brake light does not come on. There is also a grinding noise before this happens. The consumer is going to take the car into the dealer tomorrow. He has not yet talked to the manufacturer. The car has 22,000 miles on it. There has not been any kind of repair work done for the brakes.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?