Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 3
Average Mileage:
42,160 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #51

Apr 172010

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact stated there was an unusual increase in stopping distance when braking. In addition, the ABS would activate abruptly just as the vehicle would come to a stop. The manufacturer was contacted and advised there were no recalls on the vehicle and would not provide any further assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 84,000 and the current mileage was 84,400. Updated 7/20/10 updated 07/23/10

- New Castle, PA, USA

problem #50

Dec 192008

Avalanche

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact stated that while driving at speeds of 55 mph and depressing the brake pedal, the brakes would not engage. The ABS warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact shut off the engine and disconnected the battery cable in order to shut off the ABS motor. The dealer stated that the ABS marginal would need to be replaced. The dealer made repairs accordingly at the owners expense. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock) was directly related to the failure; however, his state (Florida) was not included in the recall. The contact experienced the identical failure a second time. The manufacturer told the contact that they would call him to determine if they could provide any assistance with the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 120,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #49

Nov 132009

Avalanche

  • 74,000 miles
I own a 2002 Chevy Avalanche, and I am having daily problems with the anti lock braking system activating inappropriately at slow speeds and during slow turns. It started happening occasionally some 2-4 years ago, and has progressed to a daily occurrence. I just had major work done replacing my wheel bearings, rotors, pads, shocks, and struts, but the problem did not go away its still occurring. Chevrolet is away of the defect, but not enough owners have complained or have been injured for them to make it worth their time to fix or contact owners of a certain potential problem.

- Washington, MI, USA

problem #48

May 152009

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. Whenever the contact attempts to stop the vehicle at low speeds, the brakes would pop back and forth as if the anti-braking system had been activated. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer and the contact did not notice any differences beforehand. The current and failure mileages were 79,000. Updated 10/06/09 updated. 10/08/09

- Dexter, NY, USA

problem #47

Mar 102007

Avalanche

  • miles
Unwanted antilock brake system (ABS) activation.

- North Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #46

Dec 192008

Avalanche

  • 55,000 miles
Re: NHTSA campaign id # 05V37900, NHTSA action # PE05020. I purchased 2002 Avalanche in late July, 2006, from fucillo Chevrolet in East greenbush NY; mileage ~44,000. In November, 2008 (~55,000 miles), I noticed unwanted ABS activation at low speeds as described in above references. Independent mechanic confirmed. Fucillo Chevrolet declined to provide recall service, advising that it had already been done, notwithstanding that the problem had not been remedied. Chevrolet declined for the same reason, advising that the recall repair had been done at fucillo in July, 2006, and that their obligation under the recall was to perform the recall service only one time, irrespective of whether the service fixed the defect.. I then had an independent mechanic repair the defect at my expense. He advised that the recall service had not been done, as could be determined during the repair. If the recall repair was not in fact done, then the dealer misrepresented to Chevrolet (and me). However, irrespective of whether the recall service had actually been done or not, it appears to me that Chevrolet and the dealer have taken the position that their obligation does not extend to remedying the defect -- they apparently make no distinction between effective repair work and ineffective repair work. In either event, Chevrolet and its dealer knew that there was an unsafe vehicle subject to recall and declined to remedy the defect.

- Nassau, NY, USA

problem #45

Apr 122008

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

About 4 years ago the ABS system failed....I had to replace a part on my 2002 Chevy Avalanche 's ABS system..again the same noise occurred and again it is the ABS system..4 years ago it was out of warranty 38,000 miles I had to pay out of pocket $1,200. It is at the dealer now being repaired.....I'm sure it will be $1,200 or more...again.

- Kings Park, NY, USA

problem #44

Aug 042006

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,438 miles
Rear brake dust shields rusted through at 62,438 miles allowing dirt, stone, and other materials into brake system. Dust shields replaced.

- Jeddo, MI, USA

problem #43

Mar 272007

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500. While the brake pedal was depressed, the ABS activated. The dealer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock). The contact is responsible for the repair costs. The current and failure mileages were 75,000.

- Melbourne Beach, FL, USA

problem #42

Apr 012005

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. While driving 5 mph, the contact depressed the brake pedal and heard a buzzing noise coming from the steering area. The vehicle then began to pull to the right. The ABS warning indicator light illuminated. The vehicle has not been inspected by a dealer. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock). The failure mileage was 65,000 and current mileage was 104,000.

- Ravenna , OH, USA

problem #41

Oct 032007

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. use of brakes at low speed 2. unwanted ABS activation and extended stopping distances during low-speed braking 3. Chevrolet refuses to correct problem related to recall 05V379000.

- Clifton, VA, USA

problem #40

Aug 022007

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,800 miles
2002 Chevy Avalanche 1500 4X4 Z71 corrosion in the front wheel bearing hub contaminated the tone ring on the speed sensor causing the brakes not to work correctly. Lock up or not work at all very dangerous situation. I replaced the hud and it cured the problem appears that the moisture causing the corrosion got thru at the speed sensor plug. I see Canada already has a recall on this why is the us taking so long to implement the recall. Does some one have to die for it to be an important safety issue.

- Sterling, CO, USA

problem #39

Jun 072007

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,224 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. While driving 45 mph downhill, the contact heard a noise coming from the vehicle. He attempted to stop, but the brakes failed. The vehicle stopped when the right rear tire blew out. The contact experienced the same failure as noted in NHTSA campaign # 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock). The vehicle was towed to a shop and has been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 70,224.

- Benson, AZ, USA

problem #38

May 272007

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,400 miles
2002 chev Avalanche, intermittent activation of ABS at speeds typically below 10mph. On 2 occasions resulted in brakes not stopping the vehicle completely, required brake pedal to be pressed with full body weight to bring vehicle to a stop. Brakes seem to work normally when stopping at from speeds greater than 10mph.

- Demossville, KY, USA

problem #37

Nov 142005

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,532 miles
- the contact called stating that he took 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500 to the dealership on 09/29/05 for wheel inspection, at the time the vehicle's odometer read 59,289 miles. An inspection was done with invoice stating wheel sensor and Inc. Cleaning was done. The contact stated that he felt that they didn't apply zinc/X to the sensor during inspection. The vehicle malfunctioned on 11/13/06 while he was pulling into the driveway and the vehicle didn't stop once the brakes were applied. The contact stated the vehicle damaged the garage door. The contact took the vehicle back to dealership on the next day, and was shown that the wheel speed sensor was not in its proper place and it was rusted. The dealership told the contact that the rear wheel brake dust covers were rusted and they needed to be repaired before they would fix the problem. Also, he was having brake problems. The contact stated that on several occasions he had to use emergency brakes to stop the vehicle. The contact stated that he did his own research on his vehicle and found a recall 05V379000 for 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche for the service brakes, hydraulic: Anti-lock. The contact informed the dealership of this recall, and was told that they would not repair the recall until he replaced the wheel speed sensor. The dealer would not fix the wheel speed sensor issue, if the consumer didn't have the rear brake backing plate replaced at his expense. Updated 01/29/07.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #36

Oct 212004

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The vehicle is a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. 1]the intermediate steering shaft has gone bad twice in 61,000 miles, dealer refuses to fix. This could cause the U-joint in the steering shaft to fracture on rough roads. 2] the ABS brake system has intermittent failure problems, this could cause a loss of brakes at slower speeds and cause an accident.

- San Diego, Ca, CA, USA

problem #35

Oct 242005

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,200 miles
I believe your recall system is broken. My vehicle was recalled for a brake problem. I was not experiencing any problems but I took it in for the recall anyway. The service performed was inadequate to address the problem. 3 months went by and the wheel sensors failed. When I took the vehicle back for service they said it was not covered under the recall because I already had addressed the recall. This would suggest I should have waited for the problem to exist before addressing the recall.

- Collingswood, NJ, USA

problem #34

Nov 012001

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
There are two separate brake problems... parking brake does not work proper now or when the vehicle was new. GM has continuously denied that this was a design problem. In addition, the anti lock brakes take a long distance to stop. (since rear brake pads wear out much quicker than front pads, it appears anti lock brakes are not applying much pressure to front pads).

- Townsend, TN, USA

problem #33

Nov 212005

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,689 miles
I went off road at 45 mph airborn struck a very large tree which caused vehicle to roll over violently landing on its top. No air bags deployed, both my wife and I were ejected from the seat belts onstar was not notified. I noticed brakes acting strange just before leaving the road, they didn't slow the vehicle and didn't "click" like antilock breaks should. Vehicle was a total loss, windshield and drivers window broke, severe buckling of hood, passenger side pushed back to the tire, frame torn in several areas, duct and lower dash area displaced, SDM was downloaded showing incomplete data, SDM data does not support the amount of damage and know facts. My wife had to be airlifted to trauma cntr with serious injuries, my injuries were put on hold so that I could be with her.

- Shelton, WA, USA

problem #32

Dec 142005

Avalanche 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact received NHTSA recall campaign 05V379000 concerning the anti lock brakes. The vehicle is currently at the dealership getting repaired. The dealership states the hub needs to be replaced. Since the hub is not included in the recall the contact will have to pay the deductible for extended warranty.

- Hillside, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?