Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,757 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche Owner Comments

problem #11

Jul 152013

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact stated the brake and fuel lines was rusted and leaking fluid. In addition, the contact stated that the frame was rusted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000 and the current mileage was 140,000. Updated 10/7/14

- Minocqua, WI, USA

problem #10

Dec 292013

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 157,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact stated that a strong gasoline odor was inside the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic for inspection, who stated that the fuel lines were corroded and caused fuel to leak. The fuel lines were replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure and current mileage was 157,000. Updated 2/11/14 also, the brake lines were replaced as well. Updated 02/18/14

- Clarkston , MI, USA

problem #9

Oct 292009

Avalanche

  • 110,000 miles
10/2009: As I was driving and approaching a red light my brakes went to the floor. Almost going through a busy intersection I was able to maneuver around traffic until I came to a stop. 8/2013: As I was approaching a red light my brakes went to the floor. My brake lines are so badly corroded and rusted as well as my fuel line. Total cost to fix everything is $1500, which with the value of the truck seems absurd to fix, but with the economy I can't afford to trade in and have car payments. I feel that something like this shouldn't be happening multiple times as it is costly and dangerous, I was fortunate to avoid an accident both times. I feel that these lines should have more life to them and shouldn't be so cheap but yet so expensive to fix. Something needs to be done with how "cheaply" vehicles are being made and especially something like this that can cause a fatal accident.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #8

May 292013

Avalanche

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Chevy Avalanche brake lines rusted through. We bought the car two years ago in pa. With the carfax showing it has been housed only in NJ and pa since 2002. We currently live in nc moving here only last October. Yesterday while driving with my family going 45 miles per hour, a car in front of me was making a right hand turn and as per proper procedure I attempted to slow down. My brake pedal went completely to the floor board of the truck with no resistance, and I was unable to stop myself. I ended up in the ditch to avoid an accident with the vehicle in front of me, and have continued to have issues with no resistance on the brakes. My husband original thought the issue was the cylinder. But as he was starting to replace that part he noticed a fluid dripping from the truck. And upon further investigation discovered that it was brake fluid. He bought all new brake lines and is in the process of the long job of reinstalling them.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #7

Nov 182011

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500. The contact stated that he attempted to brake, but the brake pedal depressed to the floor. The contact down shifted and the vehicle coasted to a stop. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and a five foot section of the brake lines was replaced due to corrosion. The contact was also informed that the remainder of the brake lines would need to be replaced due to rust and corrosion. The failure and current mileages were 53,000. Updated 01/03/12 updated 01/04/12

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #6

Jun 032011

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph when the brake warning light illuminated and the brake pedal was depressed to the floor board, reducing braking pressure. The contact stated that the failure was constant and the brake pedal needed to be depressed to the floor in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnostics or repairs. The contact referenced an open investigation relating to the failure under NHTSA action number: EA11001 (service brakes, hydraulic service brakes, hydraulic:foundation components:hoses, lines/piping, and fittings). The approximate failure mileage was 76,000. Updated 08/01/11 updated 08/11/11

- Cohoes, NY, USA

problem #5

Apr 142010

Avalanche

  • 49,123 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 2500. The contact was driving 45 mph when the brake pedal traveled to the floor surface when pressure was applied. The emergency brake was engaged to stop the vehicle. There was a massive leak of brake fluid. The contact continued to drive with extreme caution. The contact noticed excessive rust within the brake line several months before the failure. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide assistance. The vehicle was neither diagnosed for the failure nor repaired. The failure mileage was 49,123.

- Mastic, NY, USA

problem #4

Jul 282010

Avalanche

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. While driving 35 mph the contact applied the brakes and they would not respond, in order to stop the vehicle the contact had to apply the emergency brake. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who stated that the hydraulic brakes lines were cracked due to rust. The vehicle was not serviced and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 31000.

- Chester Springs, PA, USA

problem #3

Jul 282010

Avalanche

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. While traveling at 35 mph, the contact applied the brakes yet they would not engage. In order to stop the vehicle, the contact had to apply the emergency brake. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where the brake lines were replaced. The mechanic advised that the brake lines had failed due to road salt erosion. There were no prior warnings of the failure. The current and failure mileages were 31,000. Updated 1/19/2010 the consumer stated after the brake failure, the frame and cross member rotted and the vehicle was scrapped. Updated 03/25/11

- Chester Springs, PA, USA

problem #2

Nov 232007

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,800 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle would not stop. The brake pedal extended to the floor when it was depressed. The contact had to downshift and cruise to a stop. As of November 26, 2007, the dealer had not inspected or repaired the vehicle. The contact felt that the rusted brake lines caused the failure. The current and failure mileages were 93,800. Updated 0310/08.

- Brewster, NY, USA

problem #1

Sep 102007

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,400 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche. While driving 25 mph, the brake pedal depressed completely to the floor and made the vehicle difficult to stop. The brake fluid leaked. The dealer stated that the brake and bleeders failed. Repairs were not made. The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 45,400. Updated 01/02/08. The consumer stated the dealer claims to have replaced the line to the master cylinder when infact they just union spliced into defect area. Updated 12/12/07

- Wallingford, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?