Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,888 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche Owner Comments

problem #15

Jul 102016


  • 230,500 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500 equipped with bf goodrich rugged terrain tires, size: LT265/75R16. While driving 70 mph, the rear driver side tire blew out. The tire was not diagnosed, but was replaced. The tires were replacement tires. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle failure mileage was 230,500 and the tire failure mileage was 45,000.

- North Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #14

Jun 132012

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • 131,207 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500. The vehicle was equipped with good year Wrangler hp tires, tire size 265/70/17. The dot number was mkt6F00R1707. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the front end of the vehicle began to shake excessively, follow by a significant amount of tread separation from the front driver's tire. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road. The front driver's tire exhibited uneven tread wear and severe separation. The defective tire was replaced with a spare tire temporarily. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 48,240. Updated 08/03/12 the consumer stated the total mileage on the vehicle at the time of the incident was 131,207. The vehicle's front end was aligned on 9/10/2011. The tired were rotated from rear to front on 03/09/2012. The tires were all maintained at 32 psi, whereas the vehicle manufacturer recommended 30 psi. No debris was struck in the roadway. Updated 08/06/2012

- Puntagorda, FL, USA

problem #13

Aug 282011

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
2 tire tread separations - 3 days apart from each other. First on driver side rear tire. 2nd on the passenger rear tire. Tires are a used - good condition purchase. First incident required my auto to be in for repairs for 29 days. 3 days later the rear passenger side tire tread separated.

- Sherman Oaks, CA, USA

problem #12

Sep 302010


  • 87,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 2500 equipped with hercules line all track tires (N/a), size 265/75/R16, dot jenkecl, serial nss-010733. While driving 45 mph, the passenger rear tire failed causing damage to the rear bumper. The contact planned to have the vehicle repaired and to contact the manufacturer. The current and failure mileages were approximately 87,000.

- Salineville, OH, USA

problem #11

Dec 202005

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,290 miles
: the contact stated on the left rear tire there is a small bulge on the sidewall. The vehicle was taken to the local dealership for inspection. Upon inspection, the dealership determined the tires were defective and replaced all four tires. Several months later the contact experienced a blow out with the left rear tire. The local dealership was notified and the tire was replaced. The tire line is Goodyear P26570R17.

- Milpitas, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Jun 062004


  • 4,000 miles
In the past 60 days I have had two blowouts andf a flat tire on the original Goodyear tires of 2002 avalance. Near multicar collison last week. Firestone said "looks like tires rotten inside" sears said "we have had a quite a few avalances in lately".

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #9

May 282004

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


While driving at any speed, consumer heard a loud noise coming from the steering wheel. Vehicle was taken to an independent shop, and the technician found the left and right front tires as well as the left rear has bubble and inside wall are cracked. Dealer was notified.

- Thomaston, CT, USA

problem #8

Nov 152003


  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I have not given permission to the dealership service department to start repairs. They told me it was the rear axle or rear end that was damaged beyond repair and must be replaced. I was quoted a repair cost of $2,400 for a used part and $3,000 for a new part. This truck has around 42,000 miles and was purchased June 1, 2003. I have had multiple problems ranging from replacement of cd's to a door window motor problem. I inquired/complained about a noise in the rear end at around 25,000 miles prior to the breakdown. However, they could not find the problem. The tailgate would fall open when locked occasionally, but this was adjusted after taking it back for repair. I have also replaced one hub assembly on the front of the truck at a cost of $250. There is an oil usage problem that requires an additional quart to be added between changes. I personally think that this truck is a lemon and needs to be researched to discern if it has had some previous mechanical problems. Although it was purchased new there is a possibility that it could have had some malfunctions before it was delivered. I misplaced my receipts, and I'm not sure that the service department will give me another copy. However, I will search for them as verification that I took the truck in on several occasions for various and sundry complaints.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #7

Apr 062004

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The rear passenger and both front tires accumulated bubbles.

- Cantonment, FL, USA

problem #6

Aug 132003

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,330 miles
Standard tires issued with vehicle were offroad Wrangler hp which have very poor rain handling capabilities. I was not notified of this or given option of switching to highway tires with better rain capability. As a result of the poor control of vehicle in rain, front edge was damaged when entered parking lot and was trying to turn on wet pavement and slid into wall when steering was non-responsive due to tire sliding instead of turning. Speed was less then 10 mph. I have found several articles on internet indicating should either replace those tires or have them "siped" to achieve better control in rain. Since my Avalanche is two wheel drive I never thought much if any about offroad use or that the standard tires would be so geared up for offroad use as to make them handle poorly in rain. Capitol Chevrolet service manager confirmed this information with me. I have 40 years experience driving in the North under all conditions with military and civilian vehicles and have never had this kind of problem before with any vehicle with any kind of tire. Military vehicle tires are very offroad oriented but never had this kind of problem in rain. Thanks.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #5

Apr 052003

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles


Front passenger's side tire bubbled on the side. As a result, the consumer continued to rotate tires prematurely. The rotation did not stop the tires from pushing outward in the thread and tire wear. Tread wear was only 27%.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #4

Oct 212003


  • 38,000 miles
While driving vehicle at 72 mph front driver's side tire blew out, causing the consumer to pull off the road.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #3

Mar 072003


  • miles
At 7,500 miles I had a blow out on the interstate and had to use my spare, then realized it was a smaller size. I drove to my dealership and they gave me a new tire, and said all of these trucks came with a 16 inch spare. I now have 30,000 miles and now need all new tires. I usually get new tires about every 60,000 miles. I went to the dealership to ask why my tires were wearing so bad and they were not willing to help or discuss this issue.

- Leander, TX, USA

problem #2

Nov 102002


  • miles
The incident on May 11, 2002. The driver side rear tire blew out while traveling on the freeway going 65 mph. The vehicle only had 8827 miles and had original wheels and tires. The incident on November 10, 2002: The left front wheel, including the disc brake mechanism, separated and bearing parts, etc. Were scattered on the street. The exposed wheel well dug into the concrete and shock absorber and struts clearly visible with wheel separated. Photos are available if needed.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #1

Jul 172002

Avalanche 4WD

  • miles
Passenger tires were supplied with Z71 off-road package. I took these tires off-road, and tore a hole one. All4 tire dealers in montrose, co including the Goodyear dealer, said that these are passenger tires, not off-road tires, and that they will be damaged by taking them off-road in the mountains. Chevy's photos on their web page show the Avalanche fording streams, driving over rocks, and driving in the mountains. The owner's manual discusses driving over rocks and logs, "bouncing the car" and having one or more wheels off the ground as things that might be encountered in "off-road" driving. Still, they deliver the nearly 3-ton truck with passenger tires, not light truck tires. Had I not punctured the dire, but only separated the ply, I could have had a serious accident driving the 400 miles back to my home. The off-road package includes skid plates, heavy duty shocks, a tow package, the all-important Z71 decal, and upgraded tires. It turns out that the upgrade is not to a stronger tire, just a tire that's 1 inch bigger. Still, the implication is that it is suitable for the off-road use described in the owner's manual and in their advertisements. The safety issue is that these tires are more susceptable to damage when used of-road, and subsequent to failure later at high speed when the driver returns to the highway than tires more appropriate to the task, such as a light truck tire.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

Not what you are looking for?