Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,087 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Avalanche electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Avalanche Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Oct 292016

Avalanche

  • 71,028 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After a weekend of camping (rv) my Avalanche would not start, battery less than one year old. The RPM $ mph were moving up & down, clicking sounds were coming from the front seat arm rests, no power to the windows & locks. Vehicle was parked & both the Avalanche & rv had to be towed. Diagnose-U0140 loss of communication of BCM, defective body control module, replaced control module.

- Churchton, MD, USA

problem #20

Aug 262014

Avalanche

  • 174,000 miles
The engine has a hesitation due to a manufacuring problem it also uses more oil than it should between oil changes. Also having problem with the electrical system every time I turn around something stops working like the side mirror on the drivers side won't fold in like its supposed to and the backup sensor stopped working. Tried to get our mechanic to fix it but it needs a code to get into the electrical system and GM won't give it to anyone but thier own mechanics. So now we have to go to the dealership to have it fix which will cost alot more. About amonth after purchase the dash got a small crack around the passenger air bag. This is our second 2007 Avalanche the first one had no problems at all and I had no idea that this model had so many problems that the manufacturer won't fix. With as much as these trucks cost even used the should have to repair things that are manufacturer defects

- Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #19

Mar 092015

Avalanche

  • 186,000 miles
I used my factory remote to unlock the truck the ignition sparked twice and then went on fire, for no reason it just started burning the entire steering column and all of what is around it burned up we used a pitcher of water to put the fire out, I contacted GM and was advised there was no recall for this. It can not be common for a car or truck to just ignite unlocking the doors we are grateful that I was not in the truck and just suffered burns to my hands trying to put the fire out if not my entire home would have been in flames.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #18

Jan 012010

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The alarm sound for warning of seat belt unbuckled, door open, keys in ignition, etc, is generally inaudible. Occasionally it does work, but usually it does not. In 2010, the dealer said this was an issue with the radio. My warranty had expired so repair was no longer covered. I did not have the problem repaired due to the high cost. I thought that this was an isolated incident until I just read that there is a recall for this exact problem in later models. - when functional, the alarm sound emanates only from the speaker on the left side. I swapped the left and right speakers and the problem remained, suggesting that it is not a speaker issue. When the audible alarms are dead, so is the left side sound when the radio is on.

- Fayetteville, WV, USA

problem #17

May 152014

Avalanche

  • miles
2007 Chevy Avalanche I believe should be included in this recall #1: 2004-2012 Chevrolet Malibu, 2004-2007 Chevrolet Malibu maxx, 2005-2010 Pontiac G6, 2007-2010 Saturn aura. The vehicle, when scanned is producing an error code of P0573- cruise control/brake switch a circuit. As a result of this error the functionality of my cruise control is jeopardized, rendering the vehicles cruise control at sometimes useless, not functional or worse disengaging without warrant causing a safety concern while driving.

- Scranton, PA, USA

problem #16

Mar 012012

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact stated that a burning odor was present coming from the dashboard area near the radio. The vehicle was diagnosed by the dealer as burning wires that were connected to the radio. The radio was replaced but the defect was not remedied. The vehicle continued to experience the defect. The contact indicated that the radio was replaced 4 separate times and each time the burning odor continued to be present. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The failure mileage was 25,000.

- Hiram, GA, USA

problem #15

Feb 062014

Avalanche

  • 207,990 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When light comes on engine runs rough and shifts hard. When light goes off it runs fine.

- Pine Knpt, KY, USA

problem #14

Jan 062014

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • 200,000 miles
Upon arrival at work and parking my Chevrolet Avalanche in the parking lot, I heard a couple of popping noises come from under the hood of the vehicle. I pulled the hood release lever and noticed flames emerging from the engine compartment. I called emergency services, but the vehicle was totally engulfed in flames before they could put the fire out. The vehicle was was a total loss.

- Florence, MS, USA

problem #13

Feb 282009

Avalanche

  • 9,600 miles
The interior door handles on my 2007 Chevy Avalanche ltz have peeled and become razor sharp. Opening the door under normal characteristics has caused a slice, or paper cut type of wound to my hand"?truck failed to start due to dead battery after sitting for less than 24 hrs. This vehicle starts immediately after being jumped. It has occurred 3-4 times?replaced both alt and now a new battery"..cracked dash above driver & passenger airbag. Potential safety issue when airbag is deployed.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #12

Nov 282013

Avalanche

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact stated that the driver's side door control panel was no longer working and a burning odor were emitting from the panel. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 112,000.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #11

Jan 042011

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • 72,266 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Date of current incidents: 1/3/11; 1/4/11; 7/28/11; 8/23/11; 9/07/11; 12/9/11; 12/16/11; 6/4/12; 6/10/12 and 6/11/12 and 6/L7/12. The engine light comes on; engine reduce power light, stabilizer tract light comes on plus oil light and other lights. I have had it in the shop to try to figure out why my Avalanche keeps breaking down. And I was told that they can not find a problem. I was never informed that they have had probems with the wiring. In December 2011 my Avalanche shut itself off during a snow storm. Eventually, it started but because of reduced power it would only go between 35-45 miles per hour. I made it to a repair shop, they could not find a problem, but replaced sensors and/or relays. In June 2012 the lights came on, I could only go approx 35-40 miles per hour. Called and set up an appointment. On the way to the appointment the engine oil light came on and the car shut down. I had to call for a tow truck. I took it to a non dealer service repair shop, because they were the closest. When they looked the car over the wires were eaten. I was informed that the newer cars have a soy base in their wiring and that the rodents love to eat this product. Why are they using this soy based wiring? this is not safe. I can not have my vehicle break down leaving me stranded on the side of the road. It is getting very costly when parts are being replaced when it is the wiring that is faulty. I live in the country and I can not keep the mice out of my truck. Please look into why the car manufactures are using this product which is causing major safety and financial concerns why aren't the manufactures informing the public of this problem.

- Casey, IA, USA

problem #10

Feb 102012

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • 77,912 miles
Traveling at a normal rate and speed on a 5-lane highway. Vehicle loss power, engine lights activated. After maneuvering the vehicle off the highway, I shut the engine off. No signs of smoke or any leaks from engine (topside or underneath). I attempted to restart the vehicle and upon doing so the engine turned over and ran at a rough idle, clearly not on all 8 cylinders. I shut the engine off again. From that point on it was towed. The Chevrolet dealership (after 8 days and 449 miles later) then told me they could not find a problem. When they received the vehicle the original codes had been taken by a precision tune mechanic (nearest facility from location of break down) the dealership then informed me they could not duplicate the problem and was apologetic for any inconvenience. I received a bill for $103.95 and my vehicle which had only a 1/8 of a tank of fuel. After a little research I found GM recall no:08048 consequence: May cause electrical features to malfunction. Thanks Chevrolet and Chevrolet service technicians for taking care of your customers. Unfortunately their dealerships and district specialist do not follow their own executive director of safety who is quoted on the GM website "we always want to make sure customers can count on the safety and quality of their GM vehicle." Says, [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Centreville, MD, USA

problem #9

Jul 152010

Avalanche

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact stated he received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V240000 (electrical system) and took the vehicle to the dealer for repairs. The contact stated that since repairs, the windshield washer fluid would not spray from the fluid canister onto the windshield. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileage was approximately 73,000.

- Country Club Hills , IL, USA

problem #8

Jul 152010

(reported on)

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Avalanche. Consumer expresses discontent in regards to the repair and recall of heated washer fluid system

- South Ryegate, VT, USA

problem #7

Jun 212010

Avalanche

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact received a recall notification. He was in disagreement of the recall remedy repair which consisted of disabling and removing the heated washer fluid system. The recall was under NHTSA campaign id number 10V240000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified, and the contact refused to have the recall remedy repair performed on the vehicle. There had been no failures at the time of the complaint.

- Rossford, OH, USA

problem #6

Apr 102010

Avalanche

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500. While making a right turn at 10 mph, the contact stated that it smelled as if something electrical was burning. There was no smoke present. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the driver information center was not functioning properly. The failure also prevented the contact from seeing the trip meter, mileage and tire pressure. The dealer referenced a recall related to the failure, recall 08V44100 (electrical system). The current and failure mileages were approximately 54,000.

- Shady Shore, TX, USA

problem #5

Dec 312009

Avalanche

  • 60,000 miles
In Apr 2009 I took my 2007 Chevy Avalanche in for servicing. The "check engine" light was on and I had recall #0848 performed. This recall was to install a wire harness (heated washer fluid module shortcircuit). The catalytic converter and an 02 sensor was replaced. Approximately Aug/Sept I had an odor in the vehicle (smelled like dirty feet or the interior carpet was wet for some time, without proper ventilation to dry. However, I thought that was odd as I was unable to locate any leaks inside the cab of the vehicle.) on or about Oct 2nd, I was driving on the freeway and the "check engine" light came on and a message to turn off the engine which I did. After being towed to the dealership, I was told the engine had lost oil pressure and a sensor was replaced. Immediately after the work was performed the smell went away but that same evening I was driving and the windshield wipers started going, fluid spraying, while in the off position. I had to turn the vehicle off to get it to stop. I immediately notified the dealer, since this has happened 2 or 3 times. The end of Dec I took my vehicle in to the dealership for the intermittent wiper/fluid problem and I thought the transmission was slipping. They couldn't find an issue with the transmission and their diagnosis for the wiper unit was that the module was bad and needed to be replaced. They referred to bulletin #4298, dated 02/26/07, and part #1910885. It is my belief that all the failed sensors/parts are related to the recall and I am hoping the investigation to the recall is still open/on-going. Fyi: Within the first year of purchasing the vehicle my battery needed to be replaced after being inspected at the dealership. If I remember correctly there were several occasions I was unable to start the vehicle. There should be records on file at the dealership pertaining to this issue. Lastly, I do have the part that was replaced as a result of the oil pressure sensor.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #4

Oct 212009

Avalanche

  • 55,000 miles
10/21/09- went out to start my 07 Avalanche LT3 and there was no power to anything. Aaa service was called and check the battery and it had 4.6 amps. After attempting to charge battery it still would not start. The technician began checking fuses and removed and replaced the same starter relay switch and then it started.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #3

Jun 112008

Avalanche

  • 36,040 miles
Have a 2007 Avalanche ltz with everything in it. Had the same problem letting it set for extended period of time and having battery dead when going to start same. Jumped it and started fine. I can hear the computer working when vehicle is shut off and believe this is why. Need to start same often and run or put a battery charger on same solar to keep from happening. Dealers say they can find no reason for it.

- Pittsburg, NH, USA

problem #2

Dec 062008

Avalanche

  • miles
Truck failed to start due to dead battery after sitting for less than 24 hrs. Since purchase 5/07 it has occurred 6 times--7 if you count the day of purchase. Truck is dead again today and is at the dealership (12/6/08). This vehicle starts immediately after being jumped. They can never find anything wrong, and no stored codes whether I jump it then take it in or tow it in. They suggested that I was leaving accessory items plugged in-of which I was not. All recalls have been addressed. Dealer/GM will not admit a problem exists and replace the vehicle without a huge financial debt to me. Vehicle was purchased new, one owner and currently has 19000. Original complaint after purchase was 10/07 and 6475 miles.

- Avon, IN, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?