Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,779 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Avalanche seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Avalanche Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #75

May 272016

Avalanche

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V381000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Starkville, MS, USA

problem #74

Dec 292016

Avalanche

  • miles
The recall was issued May 2016. We received notice July 2016. It is now end of December 2016. Chevrolet states the vehicle is 'safe to operate'. the recall states that it may 'cause serious or fatal injuries' if it deploys. On the face of this, the vehicle may not be safe to operate. When can I expect to have this recall completed?

- Moody, TX, USA

problem #73

Sep 152016

Avalanche

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche. While driving approximately 35 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the driver side air bags needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #72

May 272016

Avalanche

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V383000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Red Oak, TX, USA

problem #71

Dec 012015

Avalanche

  • 118,000 miles
Crack in dash around airbag

- Hazlehurst, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #70

Dec 102013

Avalanche

  • 50,000 miles
Dash cover is cracking around passenger airbag and above instrument cluster. Cracks started to appear around 50,000 miles. Current mileage is 50,692.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #69

Jul 152016

Avalanche

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V383000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Livingston, TX, USA

problem #68

Nov 302009

Avalanche

  • miles
2007 Chevy Avalanche ltz started cracking less than two years after I bought it new. It now has 55,000 miles on it and I have taken very good care of it. The crack and hole next to the passenger airbag looks like it could project sharp plastic parts if airbag is deployed, causing injury or puncturing the airbag rendering it useless. Also on the drivers side, the cracks are huge over the instrument cluster and I'm afraid shrapnel could come loose and cause injury, the cracks started when the truck was stationary but gets worse when driving. The rattle is terribly annoying. I live in a suburb with good roads and only travel daily about 5 miles but take long trips on freeways once a year. I've never driven it on unimproved or dirt roads.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #67

Aug 292016

Avalanche

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500. While driving 5 mph, the vehicle drove over a pothole and the air bags deployed inadvertently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Texas City, TX, USA

problem #66

Jul 012016

Avalanche

  • miles
Takata recall not gettng fixed

- Goddard, KS, USA

problem #65

Oct 242016

Avalanche

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I contacted everett Chevrolet in hickory, nc after having just purchased the vehicle used from another dealer. I was provided with recall paperwork. I was referred to a service manager who informed me that they did have replacement parts, but I would have to pay for the repair and hopefully be reimbursed by tekata.

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #64

Oct 242016

Avalanche

  • 54,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V381000 (air bags) months ago. The dealer indicated several times that parts were unavailable. In addition, while driving approximately 20 mph to make a left, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The contact coasted the vehicle over to the side of the road. A police report was filed. The front of the vehicle was damaged. None of the air bags deployed. The dealer and manufacturer were notified of the failure. The contact was waiting for a response from the manufacturer concerning the recall and to investigate why the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained whiplash, but did not require medical attention. The approximate failure mileage was 54,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 12/28/16

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #63

Oct 252016

Avalanche 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall - I contacted Chevy's hotline today (800-222-1020) and they told me that my vehicle is no longer apart of the recall. I'm concerned that they are telling me this to get out of replacing my airbag. I need Chevrolet to fulfill their commitment to me as their customer and put my safety and the safety of my family first. Thank you

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #62

Oct 212016

Avalanche

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V381000 (air bags). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #61

Aug 122016

Avalanche

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V383000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN tool confirms the remedy not yet available.

- Haledon, NJ, USA

problem #60

Sep 012016

Avalanche

  • 100,000 miles
I am having the same cracked dash issue every other owner is having with these GM models 2007-2014 GM trucks/SUVS. I just noticed the three cracks I have, so I am not sure when exactly they started (within the last few months).

- Dover, DC, USA

problem #59

May 272016

Avalanche 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V381000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 12/20/16 updated 12/21/16.

- Brunswick, GA, USA

problem #58

Feb 052014

Avalanche

  • miles
I have a truck with a air bag recall but, on top of that I have another crack in the same place on the dashboard that was replaced once already while under warranty. I fear air bag will cause dash to come out a strike passenger while riding.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #57

Aug 272016

Avalanche

  • 95,500 miles
Received a notice on a recall that states that around the end of May 2016 GM began notifying owners that a recall was in place for defective airbag inflators that may degrade over time especially in hot and humid climates. That they pose a rupture risk and from researching on the NHTSA website if this happens metal particles could injure occupants...but GM states the vehicle is safe" and that parts are not available for repair yet. So my question, it's late August 2016 and I live in dallas, tx with hot humid days for months, what is considered an appropriate time to resolve? and how is this not a concern and considered safe??? my irritation is that if I have a susceptible pipe bomb here, why isn't there an immediate corrective action happening?"

- Lantana, TX, USA

problem #56

Feb 232016

Avalanche

  • 140,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche. While driving approximately 40 mph, another vehicle crashed into the front driver side of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was damaged, but drivable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. After the failure, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V383000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 140,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bowie, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?