Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,767 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Aveo lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Aveo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Aveo Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Aug 292016

Aveo

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In fear of a fire in my Aveo!

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #30

Aug 232016

Aveo

  • miles
Update on previous claim #10898024 left side tail light is out and left head light. This is all from the main connector in fuse box under the hood of car.

- Conley, GA, USA

problem #29

Jul 102016

Aveo

  • 51,600 miles
About 6 weeks ago smelled something burning. Prior to burning smell, the daytime running lights all inside dash lights and clock lights and gear shift lights went out while car was in motion on a major city street. All lights stayed off for about 20 mins. Daytime running ligts never came back on. Clock lights still goes off an on. Dash lights and gear shift lights came back on once. But have been off a month now. Reported to GM. Recall on daytime running lights fixed free. But they said no recall on wiring of lights. I am not the only owner that has thos problem there are many who have written complaiys on GM. Recall website. I have pictures of burnt fuse connector relay that controls all lights. 10 mins of mechanic checking the part was so hot he couldn't touch it. On 8/09/2016 terry cullen fixed recall. I payed them $100 to check problem about lights they said they needed $400 more dollars for 4 hours of more looking. My family mechanic found problem with in 10 mins...... dealer.. all about money! I think they should have saw the problem or even knew it.

- Conley, GA, USA

problem #28

Jul 312016

Aveo

  • 175,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dash and shifter lights went out and came back on and eventually went out completely- would not come on upon startup. Some front and rear lights as well. Blinkers & flashers still work. Have checked all fuses and bulbs. Needs electrical repair.

- Peculiar, MO, USA

problem #27

Feb 102016

Aveo

  • miles
On a winter morning I went out and started my car to go to work, I got on the road and realized that my dashboard, heating control, and shifter lights did not work. I moved the settings switch and nothing came on. I have checked the fuses. They are fine. I did some research and it seems that many Aveos have had this problem. And the only fix is to rewire the system. Something needs to be done. If I take it to the shop it's going to cost anywhere between 50-100 dollars or more. If its a problem to the consumers then it should be a recall and not just a manufacturing defect. If this is a wiring issue then it could possibly end up causing a fire.

- Muncie, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #26

Aug 142015

Aveo

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Aveo. While driving approximately 70 mph, smoke entered the vehicle through the vents and impaired the contact's visibility. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V261000 (exterior lighting) however, the failure recurred. The approximate failure mileage was 49,000.

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #25

May 012015

Aveo

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that the head lamps failed. The contact inspected the head lamp bulbs and found that the ground wires were burned due to overheating. The dealer advised that NHTSA campaign number: 14V261000 (exterior lighting) would only repair the drl module and would not replace any additional failure caused by the recall. The contact also wanted to state that the engine valve cover gasket was defective causing the engine fluid to leak. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Garry , IN, USA

problem #24

Jan 152015

Aveo

  • miles
GM safety recall 14093, July 2014- parts still not available- Friday, 16 Jan 2015, I spoke with a lady, only name given was [xxx]- who stated GM has been unable to find a vendor who can manufacture a headlamp switch to repair this vehicle. I find it extremely difficult to fathom how GM, producing millions of vehicles each year, each and every one equipped with a headlamp switch, yet cannot find a vendor to produce a headlamp switch. [xxx] statements leads me to deduce GM has no intention of repairing this vehicle. [xxx] also stated that because parts are not available, this vehicle is not subject to the replacement or buy-back available under the us national traffic and motor vehicle Safety Act. Is that true? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sierra Vista, AZ, USA

problem #23

Jan 172015

Aveo

  • 127,000 miles
My Aveo has had a burning electrical smell in the cab for approximately 2 years. A recall was issued 8 months ago and nothing has been done. GM states that the remedy not yet available. Since the recall the daytime running lights have stopped working all together and the electrical smell has gotten worse. This car has been plagued by electrical issues and I do believe they are all related. I really don't feel safe driving this car everywhere with my family in it due to the risk of it catching fire. GM refuses to give me any answers on this except that the remedy is in development. I think 8 months of waiting is long enough. The car also has issues with the airbag, radio, horn, security system, and headlights. All of which run through the same wiring harness.

- Centralia, IL, USA

problem #22

Jul 012014

Aveo

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V261000 (exterior lighting) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that a remedy was not yet available. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure listed on the recall. However, the headlight failed to illuminate when the emergency brakes were applied. Also, the right single light started to flash abnormally fast when turning right. The failure mileage was approximately 68,000.

- Columbus , GA, USA

problem #21

Dec 022014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

S101 splicer pack overheats and burnt wiring under the hood causing tail light to not work.

- Bristol, NH, USA

problem #20

Dec 292014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 111,334 miles
Dash lights did not turn on when the headlights were turned on. Also, running lights did not turn on after my headlights were turned on (front and rear right). Left rear turn signal does not work. I was told by a mechanic this was due to the splice pack melting. He also informed me this was a known issue with Chevrolet Aveo's. this should be a manufacturers issue and not the owners if it is a known hazardous issue.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #19

Jul 182014

Aveo

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V261000 (exterior lighting) and stated that the part was not available for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact did not experience a failure. Updated 02/04/15

- Mackville, KY, USA

problem #18

Jul 012014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • miles
Received letter stating vehicle was being included in a safety recall for the daytime running lights. Letter stated that parts were not currently available and another letter would be sent out when they did become available. Have not heard anything about parts becoming available or any other news at all. So far I have had no issues but am concerned that nothing is being done to fix this problem.

- Greenacres, WA, USA

problem #17

Dec 022014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 19,050 miles
The front signal light on the driver's side stopped working, so I purchased a bulb and when my son went to replace it, it was working. About two weeks later, I went to start the car and the battery was dead. The battery was charged and it worked the next day. The windshield wiper fluid motor did not work for about two years, but recently, it started working again. This sounds like an electrical problem. I have received a recall notice for the drl, but they do not have the part.

- Lomita, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 012014

Aveo

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that the drl lights failed to activate. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact noticed that parts of the lights were melted. The contact was placed on a waiting list for NHTSA campaign number: 14V261000 (exterior lighting). The contact mentioned that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were on back order and not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Mineola , TX, USA

problem #15

Jan 012014

Aveo

  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the daytime running lights activated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that daytime running light module needed to be repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V261000 (lighting, electrical) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 170,000.

- Garrison , NY, USA

problem #14

Nov 012008

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
I purchased my '06 Chevy Aveo new from friendly Chevrolet in fridley mn and after approximately two years I realized that I was needing to change headlights far too frequently for any car. I asked the dealership about it at the time and was told they knew nothing about any problems. Several other mechanics also looked at it and I was told there is a short somewhere but could not specify where without digging into it. Every other month (approximately) for over three years, one headlamp or the other would go out. I received the lecture about not touching the bulb when installing, though I knew this already, and it was not the problem. Both headlamp plugs are now charred and approximately one month after I got the original recall letter, both headlamps went dim, so dim that the parking lights shed more light, making the vehicle unsafe for driving other than daytime. I was initially told that I need to wait until I can make an appointment to repair it, so waited another month or two and made an appointment, only to be told when I arrived, that there was not a fix for the problem yet. I have had ongoing problems with the friendly chev staff, not being able to contact the service manager [xxx], and the one occasion I was able to leave message for him, he still has not called back. I have now left message for the general manager, whose name was inaudible on his outgoing message. I need to know what can be done; will GM fix it? do I drive it (daytime only) until it burns? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New Brighton, MN, USA

problem #13

Jul 252014

Aveo

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that burning electrical fumes were present inside the vehicle and the daytime running lamps flickered on and off. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V261000 (exterior lighting: Headlights); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 109,000.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #12

Jun 022014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that the daytime running lamps would illuminate sporadically. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V261000 (exterior lighting); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000. Updated 10/23/2014 updated 7/14/2015

- Ogdensburg, WI, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?