Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,084 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Aveo lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Aveo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Aveo Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Mar 062013


  • miles


My Chevy Aveo has had el cervical issues for the last 3 years. I have noticed that there is a recall for this year on lighting but my VIN is not associated with this recall and I am having the sam issues. And now nothing on the drivers side of my car is working. Blinkers, brake light and more. My light for my radio do not work as well. I have 2 kids and my car is not safe with the electrical issues going on with it. I have called the Chevrolet garage where it was purchased and all I am being told is there anything S nothing they can do cause my VIN is not listed with the recalls. I need my car fixed especially with it having the same issues as the recalled 2007 Aveos.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #21

Apr 252016


  • 86,000 miles
Since the drl module was replaced as a recall item, I have had to replace each headlight every 2-8 weeks due to burning out. There is obviously a problem with the so-called "repair."

- Chugiak, AK, USA

problem #20

Sep 012015


  • 168,000 miles
I have a 2007 Chevy Aveo that I've had to replace the drivers side > headlight on 5 times in the 4 yrs I've had it. Also, for the past 2 yrs I > haven't had any radio lights. There's a recall on the running light > modules for this year, the cars can catch fire. Recall number: 14V261000. The module on my car is melted and black. I have pictures of this. I've called Chevy several times > but get told there's no recall on my car. Do I have to wait until the car catches fire to do be able to do something about this?

- Fenton, MI, USA

problem #19

Jan 282016


  • 144,000 miles


My headlights are completely burning out. I've changed them a couple times and my father told me my wires keep burning out. Also my fuel system keeps not giving enough fuel. I keep getting a gas line emissions when I get a check on my car. Check engine light on then off a few days later. Also my seatbelt in the back keep coming out.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #18

Oct 192015


  • 0 miles
Have to change headlights every other month. When I change one the other went out immediatelly. Should not have to change headlight bulbs. Told dealer he said by bulb from them"? I bought correct bulb???" this has been ongoing since I bought car in 2010..ive replaced over 7/8 times.

- Agoura Hills, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Mar 022015

Aveo 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that the headlight housing fractured and caused the headlights to face in an upward position. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 8/31/15 updated 10/14/2015

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #16

Jan 012015

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles


Dash lights quit working and could smell plastic burning from under the dash. Also the tail light on the passenger side keeps blowing fuses.

- Beattyville, KY, USA

problem #15

Oct 142014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet aevo. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V261000 (exterior lighting); however, the parts needed to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/06/15 the consumer also stated the vehicle stalled. Updated 04/28/15

- Sugar Valley, GA, USA

problem #14

Jan 012014


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that burning fumes were present in the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the dlr module wiring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V261000 (exterior lighting); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Kingstree, SC, USA

problem #13

Dec 312014


  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, there was a burning smell inside the vehicle. As a result, the instrument panel became inoperable. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle failed to shift into the park position. Also, the contact mentioned that the ignition key failed to disengage from the ignition. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the fuse box wiring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V261000 (exterior lighting). The failure mileage was 71,000. Updated 4/29/15

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #12

Dec 172014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles


Daytime running lights suddenly turned off while driving and now headlights don't work at all.

- Wenonah, NJ, USA

problem #11

Mar 012011

Aveo 4-cyl

  • miles
Headlight failed. I have owned this auto 4 years and have had to replace 6 headlights. I just got a ticket because my headlight was out, and I had replaced a headlight less than 3 months ago. I have never had to replace so many headlights in one vehicle in all my 49 years of driving. These headlights cannot be replaced by the owner, because it requires specialized tools. I have to take my vehicle in for service every time a headlight goes out, so the cost in 3X what the lamp alone costs at a parts store. Something is wrong with the design of this vehicle.

- Madison, OH, USA

problem #10

Nov 212014


  • miles
In July 2014, I received a recall notice #14093 from Chevrolet/GM advising of a fire hazard involving my daytime running headlights. The notice advised the parts are not currently available... I called their 800 number several times up through today to check on getting this hazard fixed. Unfortunately, today is 11-22-14, and they still are not ready to remedy the hazard. In addition, my interior light stopped working a few months ago, and it's not the light bulb because I replaced it. I would like this repaired too. I do not feel safe in my car, and in light of the fact that four months have now gone by since the recall notice, I strongly feel that Chevrolet/GM should offer/pay for a safe loaner vehicle until they remove the fire hazard. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #9

Oct 032014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 233,500 miles
I was traveling on the Kansas turnpike returning home from a family funeral when I noticed smoke coming from under the steering wheel. I pulled to the side of the road at mile marker 116. My son and I both got out of the car and within 5 minutes flames began shooting out from around the steering wheel. It took state troopers approx 10 to 15 minutes to arrive on scene and approx 20 to 25 minutes for the fire dept to arrive. By the time state patrol arrived on scene the car was fully engulfed in flames.

- Louisiana, MO, USA

problem #8

Aug 152014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • miles
Unsure what is going O. but turned on running lights and one head light comes on with it and turn it to auto for the lights and the other side turns one and the other side isn't working.

- Duncan, OK, USA

problem #7

Apr 032013

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The dashboard over the speedometer becomes very hot and the key is hot when removed. I feel this may be related to recall 14236 regarding running lights. I am concerned about the recall 06133 regarding fuel line/fuse block as well.

- Wagoner, OK, USA

problem #6

Jan 012013

Aveo 4-cyl

  • miles
Daylight bulb fused and electrical dashboard instruments stopped working. Ignition key got stuck and the gear changing stick would not get out of parking gear. There was a faint burning smell. Similar incidence has happened multiple times, everytime. Within 2 weeks of repair.

- Dunwoody, GA, USA

problem #5

May 032013

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 131,000 miles
My headlights are grey on the bottom so I can't see to drive at night. I changed headlights but there appeared to be a big problem installing the new lights. I paid $60 for the new lights. There was no improvement. I still can't see to drive at night.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #4

May 212014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 63,800 miles
When the car starts air bag light gets deployed this has been happening since 2011. The front panel gets overheated- daytime running light.

- Belmont, MA, USA

problem #3

May 122011


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated the front headlights malfunctioned. The contact stated that the high beams and the daytime running lights were operable but not the headlights. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer to have the bulb and fuse replaced but the replacement did not remedy the issue. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer a third time and the dealer stated that the entire fuse box needed to be replaced. The contact was unable to have the fuse box replaced because the part was no longer being manufactured and there was not an aftermarket part available for purchase. The contact believed the vehicle was unsafe to drive because the headlights continuously malfunctioned while driving at night. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Piscataway, NJ, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?