Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,120 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Aveo suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Aveo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Aveo Owner Comments

problem #8

Sep 042015


  • 100,000 miles


The driver side head lamp is not working properly. The wire lighting harness kept shorting out, I had it repaired at a shop. It later melted and the light went out. I tried to order another on, but the dealership only sells the whole kit not just the light bulb itself. I am having to pay over $300 for a new kit when all I needed was a bulb and the harness. This is insane, especially when there have been recalls for this very same problem. I also had an electrical problem where my car battery would drain, and lose power.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #7

Oct 282014


  • 42,000 miles
This is the second time I could not shift my car out of park. I paid lait of money and had it fixed almost two years ago. When I went to take my daughter to school this morning of course it happened again. I can not afford to keep fixing a part that I did not break. So right now I have to use the shift release button until Chevrolet realizes they have an issue. A recall needs to be made. I have only had the car 6 years. I got it brand new. These problems should not be happening. Thank you[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Burlington , NJ, USA

problem #6

Jun 192013


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the rear end of the vehicle made an abnormal noise. The contact also mentioned that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. An independent mechanic noticed that the bushing was worn. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Weirton, WV, USA

problem #5

Jun 112012

Aveo 4-cyl

  • miles


I purchased a used 2008 Chevy Aveo in June 2011. Nearly one year later I started having issues with it. June 2012 - valve cover gasket was cracked and caused smoking after an oil change. Repaired at dealership. Sept. 9, 2013 - sputtering and stalling. Was told it was due to a hold in the exhaust pipe. Replaced at dealership. Sept. 16, 2013 - still experiencing power issues. Was told I needed new spark plugs and wires. Replaced at dealership. Nov. 7, 2013 - engine light came on. Was told it was a faulty cam sensor. Replaced at dealership. Jan. 23, 2014 - engine light came on. Was told the oxygen sensor had failed. Replaced at dealership. April 20, 2014 - TPMS light finally went off after being on for 3 months. Air conditioner stopped working the same day. Was told it was an electrical issue (ac clutch). During the same visit an inspection found the right front top bushing worn, left lower bushing worn, and rear cross member bushing broken. I sent a letter to Chevrolet, expressing my disappointment in the quality of the Aveo. My other Chevy vehicles had been great, but this Aveo fell short. After speaking to someone in customer service, who"in response to my statement "individuals who purchase these kinds of economy cars are typically on a budget and can't afford the repairs the Aveo has needed due to its poor quality""simply told me that it was not her fault that I couldn't afford a better car. I will never buy another Chevy again.

- North Royalton, OH, USA

problem #4

May 082014


  • 76,508 miles
I hear loud bangs coming from the rear section of the vehicle and took it to a local mechanic. He informed me that the axle housing bushings were worn causing movement side to side in the housing. When he called a dealer to purchase bushings the parts person said he could not sell the bushings but had to sell the complete housing because there were problems with the parts and it was redesigned. If they knew about a design flaw why did they not issue a recall for the parts. Estimated cost for new rear axle is $1,000 plus labor verses replacing bushing for around $70 plus labor.

- York, PA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Jun 152009

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
Noticed a creaking sound when turning and going over the bumps coming from the front suspension area. Took it to the dealership and they replaced the shocks and struts. Still have the noise. Now the car is out of warranty but it still make noise louder than ever.

- Franklinville, NC, USA

problem #2

Nov 252012

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 88,950 miles
I began hearing a "thud" from underneath the car while making near-90 degree left turns, and occasionally when going over bumps at speeds from 5-25 mph. On 11/25/2012 I was ascending level after level in a parking ramp, making left turns. During many of the left turns the "thud" noise was heard, at one point I heard what sounded like a piece of metal falling off the rear half of the car. It made noise as it bounced around the underside of the car before falling off. I stopped, got out, and tried to find what had made the noise but after looking around in the immediate area I couldn't find anything. In the weeks after this event I noticed a slight wobble occasionally while driving the car. The "thud" noise was continuing to increase in frequency and intensity. I didn't feel that it was safe to drive the vehicle as it was now obvious that something was not right in the steering or suspension. I was worried that a tie rod would come loose on the freeway or something similar to that. I brought the car to my mechanic for inspection. He informed me that the bushings had completely rusted out on the rear axle. The axle was loose and moving around while driving! it was beginning to damage other parts of the under body. He was unable to locate any replacement bushings from parts stores or the Chevy dealership. The only way to repair the defective bushings was to completely replace the rear axle. My mechanic informed me that there were plenty of axles available in stock for this repair but not a single bushing. This indicates that this is not an isolated case, but that there is a much larger safety issue with these defective bushings on many other vehicles.

- Albertville, MN, USA

problem #1

May 012008


  • 500 miles
Purchased new 2008 Aveo in April 2007 which has excessive vibration. I took into dealership and was advised it was due to the ac causing extra work for the motor. Since it was summer time I went on my way and dealt with this vibration (which only happens while in drive) it is now January and no ac is being used. I took the car back in to the dealership and was told yes there is excessive vibration and we will look into it 4 hours later they called to let me know they cannot find the problem and even contacted the GM advisors and are all in agreement with this issue however since there is not service bulletin or recall regarding this I will have to just deal with it and wait and see if something comes up with a fix. I cannot believe I am having to just deal with a brand new car with issues...this car has been taken in several times already..shifter locked up and would not move from park so they replaced that...then car dies on hwy and was towed into the dealership had to fix something that had to do with the throttle, paint in now peeling and only has 11,000 miles any help would be great.

- Lebanon, OR, USA

Not what you are looking for?