Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,735 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chevrolet Aveo engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Aveo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chevrolet Aveo Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Mar 282014

Aveo

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was stopped at a red light waiting to make a left southbound turn at approximately 10:30 P.M. the Aveo malfunctioned on turning. I ended up going southbound in the northbound turning lane and was completely stopped. I was unable to start the car, change gears, turn on headlights, or turn on flashers to warn other drivers of impending danger. The car was completely stalled with absolutely nothing working - confirmed by police, a friend, and wrecker operator. It was impossible to even push the car to a safe location as the wheels would not move/turn. A manual override was required by the wrecker operator to even load the car onto the wrecker. I was blessed to have a good samaritan pull up behind me and put on flashers and wait until the police arrived as without lights or flashers, it was difficult to see the car stalled in the wrong lane of traffic - creating the potential for an accident. In the weeks preceding this complete malfunction, I had replaced both front hub bearings, brakes, timing belt and water pump. Shortly after the last repair - replacing the timing belt and water pump - the air conditioning stopped working and received an estimate of approx another $1,400 for this repair from a Chevrolet dealer in my area.

- Glenpool, OK, USA

problem #23

Feb 142011

Aveo

  • miles
2011 car lost acceleration hold light and check engine light came on had to pump gas pedal to prevent car from cutting off. Took car to Chevy dealer had to purchase water or fuel pump I forgot which one. Then receive recall for coil. Had that replaced free at dealer. 2012 incident, car lost acceleration at speeds of 40mph again had to pump gas pedal to prevent cut off. Did not take to dealer added gas treatment to fuel and changed gasoline brands. Problem solved for about two weeks. Lost acceleration again. Changed air filter car was good for about 2 days. Continued to drive car for next several years with same problem. 2013 car not producing any heat added anti-freeze, heat came out right after. Next day no heat again anti-freeze container was empty again. Continued to added anti-freeze to prevent car from running hot. 2014 took car to dealer for anti-freeze problem they replaced the container and cap (purchased separately) and flushed the radiator cost $312. Two weeks later car ran hot steam shooting out from under the hood. Anti-freeze container empty again. Returned car to dealer where it is now they told me I had blown head gaskets and that it would cost $1500 to repair on a car I still pay monthly notes. They called the next day told me GM would cover 60% of the cost and I had to pay $600. I feel that GM should add the 2009 Chevrolet Aveo to their list of recall and replace the whole car for all who have paid out money for these reoccurring problems because this car is a piece of junk.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #22

Oct 132012

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 19,256 miles
Vehicle had open recall on October 13th, 2012; took the vehicle to john elway Chevrolet to fix recall 11290, and was told that the check engine light was illuminating due to an oxygen intake related issue. The open recall, which is was a defective emissions component, is, in addition to the emissions system, covered under the federal emissions control system warranty and federal emissions defect warranty in accordance with the U.S federal clean air act, and backed by Chevrolet's promise to "repair and/or replace defective parts in material and workmanship which cause vehicle to fail to conform with those regulations" (P20, 21), and cover "emission related defects in the genuine GM parts listed under the emissions warranty parts list, including related diagnostic costs, parts, and labor" (21). (Chevrolet limited warranty and owner assistance information). The oxygen intake related issue however, was not repaired, and diagnostic costs and repairs for these parts were, according to john elway Chevrolet, at the owners expense. Since October 13th, 2013 I have had several failed attempts to not only abide by the Chevrolet owner's rights and responsibilities, but to maintain the vehicle I had purchased in may of 2012. It is because of Chevrolet's failure to abide by their very own promise to their customers, the binding contract I myself purchased and signed with my vehicle which states in their own words warranty, was broken and as a result my 2009 Chevrolet Aveo was no longer considered a working or legal vehicle. On August 16th, 2013, a case was made with poison control after driving this vehicle, for the last time.

- Denver , CO, USA

problem #21

Jul 022012

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During annual inspection, mechanic noticed slight looseness in the tie rod connection; passed inspection and asked me to have him check during next oil change. We discussed replacing the tie rod in any case with a brand with a lifetime warranty in two months when I was off from work. In the meantime, I had to have recall work done at the dealership to replace all spark plug boots and plugs. (Chevrolet 5-door Aveo). Asked the dealer for an opinion on the tie rod. Dealer mechanics looked at it and said it was of no concern. Went back to the local mechanic and arranged for the replacement of the left inner tie rod anyway. During the work, the mechanic discovered that the threads on the outer tie rod were completely stripped down to shiny metal. The nut slid off when pulled gently with his fingers. Replaced both parts and then had to have a front end alignment. Other than the looseness noted during annual state inspection, there were no warning signs. The vehicle was used for commuting in well-maintained state and us highways only. I am the second owner and purchased the car used in March 2011. I tried to report to GM using their website, but there is no part dedicated to the reporting of safety issues.

- Petersburg, WV, USA

problem #20

Apr 062010

Aveo 4-cyl

  • miles
Went to an appointment, came back and car would not start. Had to have it jumped. A few months later went to a store, came back out car would not start had it jumped again. Had the battery checked and it showed a drain on the battery but couldn't find the cause. After having it jumped the next time the check engine light came on for a brief time then went out. Next the check engine light came on and the car immediately stopped running. Had it jumped again, it would turn over but die again. Finally had to have it towed. Took it to one shop and they couldn't find the problem. Now it is being check at another shop. Since this is the only transportation I have, I have had to cancel appointments and rely on others for over a week. This car has been nothing but a problem since I bought it and I feel that I was sold a lemon. Updated 05/02/12 the consumer was informed the computer needed to be reprogrammed. The consumer was told it was a known problem with the Chevrolet Aveo. Updated 05/04/12

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #19

Mar 012012

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
There is a ticking noise coming from the right side of the engine. Car is less than 3 years old with low mileage. Why is this going on" oil changes on-time, tires rotated, what is the problem????????" have seen a lot of complaints about several issues that can end up getting someone killed or others hurt. Please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! also, have to keep buying new tires so the car does not ride so hard and I end up killing the suspension. Tires are costly. Again, helpppppppppppppppppppppppppppp.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #18

Apr 012011

Aveo

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 Chevrolet Aveo was bought in March with 25000 miles, in April I began having problems. After taking the car to two different Chevrolet dealerships, at separate times, the harmonic balancer was found to be worn which damaged the timing belt and had to be replaced at 28000 miles. Before this, the car was taken to the dealership for problems of not starting (occasionally). The issue could never be duplicated and was told the car was fine. Since then, the car will now act as though it does not want to take gas or that there is a "mis-fire" such as spark plugs. No lights come on. At 42500 miles when going 45 mph, the car acted as though it wasn't getting gas, or trying to "miss" and the engine light flashed three times but didn't stay on. After pulling over, turning off the car for 10 secs and restarting it, as said to do in manual, the car was able to be driven home with no security lights on. Car will once again be inspected a dealership for the same problems!!! this car should be recalled. It is not safe to drive. It "lunges" at intersections or when letting off the brake, jerks or makes a hard "miss" when traveling at a constant speed. Aveos should not be on the market. My Aveo gets great gas mileage, has no power options, which is what I wanted, but is still more trouble than any vehicles I have owned. My Aveo is driven mostly on the interstate and no more than 30 miles in each direction. It currently has 42550 miles.

- Mt Vernon, KY, USA

problem #17

Apr 012011

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 32,600 miles
I have a 2009 aveo5 purchased new in March 2009. In April 2011 at approx 32600 the vehicle stalled while I was driving, cel came on, and it would not start again for about 20 minutes. Onstar diagnostics reported "internal control module failure" P16F3. I had already requested a tow truck, and when it arrived, I tried starting it again. It started and was able to move it to get it on the tow truck. Cel was still on. Took it to mike wilson Chevrolet. They kept it 1 week, said there was no cel, no fault code, nothing wrong with it. Last night, January 2, 2012 at approx 48000 miles I experienced the same problem with the same fault code. Onstar, advance auto parts, and my own personal obd2 scanner all reported the same code: P16F3. I searched online and found tsb 09-06-04-005 (February 2009) describing the exact problem and resolution: ECM recalibration. This morning, cel is off, and I went to rod hatfield Chevrolet which was the dealer closest to me, and they said that despite having that exact problem while under warranty and having it repeated now, that they would not fix it under warranty. I feel it should have been discovered the first time in April 2011, since it was a known problem and the bulletin was published before I even bought the car. Because it was not fixed the first time, I feel it should be covered under warranty. I was in danger both times when my car stalled in the roadway. This could have been fixed the first time and I would not have been in danger last night. I am in process of filing a complaint with GM.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #16

Aug 012011

Aveo

  • 30,000 miles
At 24000 miles the timing belt had to be replaced due to a worn harmonic balancer. Now there are more problems which cannot be duplicated at the dealership. When trying to start the car, it will sometimes not start. After waiting about 5 minutes, it will eventually start. No engine or security lights come on. As you are driving down the road, the car will "miss" and/or lunge at various speeds. It also does not want to take gas, especially at about 30-35 mph. The vehicle "pulls back" while accelerating. Unknown whether this is fuel system, engine, or transmission related.

- Mt Vernon, KY, USA

problem #15

Aug 132011

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
On the first incident, when driving at 40 mph started shaking like it wanted to stall and stopped accelerating. The next day when stopped at a light it started shaking and the RPM gauge was going up and down. It didn't happen again until about a month later, which is when I took it in, but the dealership couldn't replicate the problem. It kept happening -- the car would start shaking while driving like it wanted to stall and would slow down. Once while driving it dropped the acceleration to about 20 mph and would not go any faster, then just lost power to the engine. I took it again for one week but they couldn't replicate the problem. I got the car back and it was fine for about two weeks but now is happening regularly. Sometimes it just shakes quickly but something the acceleration completely drops and the car will just stop while I am driving, which is scary. I'll try to accelerate and nothing will happen, then finally it will go again. Sometimes I will stop and then the car will lurch forward. The RPM gauge is always moving up and down. There is no pattern as to when it happens. I've taken the car in two more times and still nothing. They just installed a data recorder and I recorded four instances and gave it back; I'm waiting to hear the results. It's very dangerous, because I will be driving in traffic and my car will just stop, and since I am not braking there is no indication to the car behind me. Also, no lights are coming on (no check engine light, etc.). I had my oil changed the first time since I was about due but that made no difference.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #14

Oct 052011

Aveo

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2009 Chevy Aveo a year and a half ago. When my car was at 6,000 miles, I drove my car to school and parked it in a parking garage. When I returned to my car at the end of the day it would not start. My car was towed to a dealership and a faulty fuel pump was replaced. When my car reached 16,000 miles I began experiencing shaking at stop lights and stop signs, and very slow delayed acceleration when starting to drive after stopping. The shaking and delayed acceleration would occur randomly yet was very likely when my air conditioning was on. I brought my car to the dealership yet they said the problem could not be replicated. My car is currently around 22,000 miles. Over the last week my car has begun decelerating and then suddenly lunging forward while I am driving. The deceleration and lunging forward is happening when I am driving on local roads at about 30mph and when I am on a highway driving around 70mph (and everything in between). Today, pulling out of a parking lot, my car was very delayed in acceleration. When I stopped at a stop light, my car began shaking and then shut off. This problem is sporadic, yet increasingly worrisome and dangerous. Dealerships have not identified a problem and insist there is nothing they can do.

- Berkeley Heights, NJ, USA

problem #13

Aug 302011

Aveo

  • 70,000 miles
Bought a 2009 Chevy Aveo last year Sept. 2010 I am just now having a problem with it. Yesterday at the traffic light my car shook and jerked. Then the engine service light flashed along with the hold light. I couldn't hardly manage to move my car. I already had the spark plugs check, what could it be?

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #12

Aug 262011

Aveo

  • 34,442 miles
Harmonic balancer was worn and damaged the timing belt. Upon investigation, the damaged timing belt, belt tensioner, bolts, and worn harmonic balancer had to be replaced. After this, while driving home, the car made a very hard "miss" twice. Something in the engine and/or timing belt area are still not functioning properly.

- Mt Vernon, KY, USA

problem #11

Feb 082011

Aveo

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that when driving at various speeds or sitting idle in park, the check engine warning light would illuminate sporadically. The vehicle was taken to a dealer yet they were unable to diagnose the failure. This failure would recur on an intermittent basis. The manufacturer was then contacted and they advised her that they were attempting to determine a repair for the known defect. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 42,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #10

Apr 122009

Aveo

  • miles
2009 Aveo had 17 miles on it when purchased 2 days later car stalled and died out in middle of traffic. Car was in shop for about a week or two first was told it was catalytic converter stopped up then was told it was something with the motor parts was order and problem was fix then about a week later blower motor went out twice dealership didn't know what was wrong with it so they replaced blower motor twice and cigarette light blew out fuses twice as well. Car has blown out 3 headlight bulbs was told there is a short in the switch or somewhere but dealer don't wanna look for the problem, motor is tapping loudly like its not getting oil to the lifter was told two times by two different dealerships that the motor is suppose to tap but when I purchased the vehicle the motor was quiet I took it to a mechanic and was told it was the lifters and there's a problem with the motor also oil is all over the top of the motor around the cap was told by the dealer this is a normal problem they are having to many excuses to not fix the vehicle. There is another noise that starts when you first start up the vehicle and dealership is deaf ear to the tapping noise and this noise as well they kept the car for 3 days and couldn't duplicate the noise but the very next day after I start up the vehicles you hear the noise plain and clear, rattling noise dealership service manager heard the noise first hand before and he knows there's a electrical short he said so himself. Tires on front and back are wearing unevenly dealership says the alignment on the vehicle is straight how is that when im going on my third set of tires now and its 2011. Dealership where purchased vehicle from says its normal to be on 3rd set of tires another dealership says its not im working with the GM company to see what the outcome will be on this vehicle.

- Port Arthur, TX, USA

problem #9

Apr 122009

Aveo

  • miles
2009 Aveo had 17 miles on it when purchased 2 days later car stalled and died out in middle of traffic. Car was in shop for about a week or two first was told it was catalytic converter stopped up then was told it was something with the motor parts was order and problem was fix then about a week later blower motor went twice dealership didn't know what was wrong with it so they replaced blower motor problem fixed until now same problem, has blown out 3 headlight bulbs was told there is a short in the switch or somewhere but dealer don't wanna look for the problem, motor is tapping loudly like its not getting oil to the lifter was told three times by two different dealerships that the motor is suppose to tap but when I purchased the vehicle the motor was quiet I took it to a mechanic and was told it was the lifter and there's a problem with the motor also oil is all over the top pf the motor around the cap was told by the dealer this is a normal problem thereshould be no oil no where on top of the motor the more oil on top the less oil in the motor which will make the motor blow up these are suppose to be certified mechanics and they are having to many excuses to not fix the vehicle. There is another noise that starts when you first start up the vehicle and dealership is deaf ear to the tapping noise and this noise as well they kept the car for 3 days and couldn't duplicate the noise but the very next day after I start up the vehicles you hear the noise plain and clear, tires on front and back are wearing unevenly dealership wanna says the alignment on the vehicle is straight how is that when im going on my third set of tires now and its 2011. Im working with the GM company to see what the outcome will be on this vehicle. Don't feel comfortable taking this car outta town at all with the motor tapping loud and its loosing oil.

- Port Arthur, TX, USA

problem #8

Jan 042011

Aveo

  • 38,250 miles
My 2009 Chevrolet has had serious stalling or non responsive acceleration for 6 months now. On a regular basis the car will lose power to the engine; when stepping on the accelerator pedal. The car acts like there is no signals from the accelerator pedal to the throttle assembly. There are days when it does nothing at all. There are times when it happens then the engine will just seem to return to normal, then out of the blue the engine will lose power again. There are never any warnings or check engine lights. None have ever come on. We have taken the car to 3 different Chevrolet dealerships; and to one independent garage; who did have the problem happen once while I was driving with the owner, but the otc genisis device could not identify what was happening, it just recorded the history of the event. None of the Chevrolet dealers could get it to duplicate or find any codes in the 10 days they had the car. The problem seems to be getting worse. I have been taking videos with my htc droid when the car is having its problem (for all the good that will do). It is like keeping a journal. I show the RPM spikes and drops; the sudden deceleration and the ?no response when the gas peddle is pushed. The problem has occurred at all speeds, including when on the freeway. We have already spent over $600 on various (so called fixes); including a complete fuel system cleaning (including the throttle body cleaning) none have ever helped. I was told by a Chevrolet dealer it was a bad O2 sensor (but no check engine light had ever came on). O2 sensors always cause a check engine light to come on. I think it may be the entire ECU computer; but no dealer wants to admit that. I was told by the dealer today 01/04/2011; there is nothing more they will do; because we have too much negitive equity. They will not do a buy back. They have washed their hands of the issue. To bad there is no used car lemon law. 4 repair attempts and the problem is even worse.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #7

Dec 112010

Aveo

  • 5,000 miles
I purchased this car September 2009 and have drive around 5,000miles only. The engine is stalled everyday. However, the dealer said there is no issue. 2 months ago, this problem happened, the dealer changed a battery. Since December 11, 2010, again the engine has been stopped many times while I wait for the traffic signal. This morning (12/27), I was almost in the accident. The car was stopped on the hill and went backward. Fortunately I'm fine now, but I was scared. Debember 18, I visited the dealer, they said my car has no problem.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #6

Feb 102010

Aveo

  • 15,000 miles
Vehicle lost power to the engine. Stepping on the gas pedal did nothing. The car lurched and decelerated quickly. Power was suddenly restored to engine causing the car to speed up quickly, then engine lost power again. Car came to a stop, engine sputtered and then died. No warning lights came on. Restarted engine, car drove as normal. Took to dealership, they could find nothing wrong. Problem has continued intermittently for almost a year. Have taken the car to the dealership multiple times, they can find nothing wrong. The sudden deceleration has occurred at all speeds, including on the freeway almost causing a collision. The car went from 70mph to 40mph in one minute, sputtered for a while, and then came back to drive normally after several minutes. The problem happens within the first ten minutes of driving. It has happened twice in the same day after the car sat for 8 hours. The problem has not occurred for periods as long as two weeks but then comes back. The most extreme occurrences have been on side streets where traffic was not a problem, but if another car had been following closely a rear-end collision would have been certain. My spouse has driven the car and experienced the same problem.

- Clatskanie, OR, USA

problem #5

Nov 172009

Aveo

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without any warning. The dealer inspected the vehicle several times and stated that they could not find anything wrong with it. The failure mileage was 16000 and the current mileage was 35000.

- Clatskanie, OR, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?