Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

6.4

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,050 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Chevrolet Blazer accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Chevrolet Blazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Chevrolet Blazer Owner Comments

problem #8

Feb 012002

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Nar 03-31-2003 consumer experienced problems with wheel bearing, heater control switch, gas gauge, right door lock, brakes, and oil sending hoses.

- Brimley , MI, USA

problem #7

Oct 102001

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
10/10/2001 replaced the alternator - it was over charged and went bad! noticed several complaints about this too! 12/20/2001 windshield wipers stopped working in heavy rain. Then when motor turned off and on again they worked, this has been happening on and off since that time, but today 06/26/2004 they just stopped all together - nothing helped. Had to have the same soldering repair done as in the 1995 -1997 Chevrolet S-10 / Blazer - which I might add was a recall. The same parts are used in most 1998's as well. The recall needs to include all of the components, not just a few of them! also I have had several dash parts break loose - like the hatch door release / back wiper control is just sitting there - nothing holding it in. The passenger side seat recliner handle fell off - had it put back on at dealer - then it broke off. (makes being a passenger in my Blazer very uncomfortable) I have noticed several complaints about this too! the drivers outside door handle - one of the screws that holds it in place is not able to put back due to plastic is stripped- so the door handle wabbles. The heat from the sun has bowed up the front windsheild vent until it is cracked and broken now too. I have always driven Chevrolet's - but here latley with all of the plastic they are using - I am beginning to wonder if my money wouldn't be better spent in another make of vehicle. I love the design and ect. Of the Blazer - but the plastic is not holding up - this is some expensive plastic to be made so cheap. If you shut the doors hard at all the whole top of the arm rest pops up and has to be popped back in place.

- Lafayette, AL, USA

problem #6

Mar 122004

Blazer 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 400 miles
Front driver's side door does not latch due to the body of the strike plate on driver's side caving in. There was a crack around the sticker plate. The dealer adjusted the driver side sticker plate. The problem remained the same after adjustments were made. Two months after purchase the consumer would hear rattling on the passenger and the drivers side door. The seat belt would not release, the encoder motor had become inoperative after the module shorted, the stabilizer link nuts were missing, the left door would rattle when driven over bumps, when braking, a squealing noise was heard, there was a hesitation in the transmission when changing the reverse, the "trip meter" was inoperative, the was a rattle in the dash when driven over bumps, there was an oil leak, there was a rattle in the front suspension when driven over bumps, the left rear door would open by itself, and the tail gate rattled.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #5

Nov 042003

Blazer 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My '1998 Chevrolet Blazer's electric door locks started lockin G/unlocking themselves 3 months ago. Happens when driving, vehicle on/off. Also has prevented manual lock/unlock at times preventing exit/entry to vehicle. Dealer has had five times now and still cannot determine problem.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #4

May 212003

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Bought car brand new. Drivers side mirror consistently vibrates - had replaced twice - dealer would not replace a third time due to bug shield being installed. It still vibrates. June 2001 - door locks went nuts. They would lock and unlock themselves while driving down the road or while parked - with keys in it. March 2003 - blinker switch went crazy. It would not stop clicking - whole dash had to be taken out to replace switch - not a cheap thing! May 2003 - alternator went out and ruined battery. Almost caused a car fire. Transmission fluid leak. Not yet fixed because of unknown cause of problem.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Mar 011998

Blazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle was leaking transmission fluid. Also, doors on driver's side rattle like they are going to fall apart. Vehicle shuts off without prior warning. Dealership was aware of the problems.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #2

Aug 072001

Blazer

  • miles
While unlocking passenger door inside door latch broke, unable to close passenger's door. Dealer was notified, and informed that any repairs would be at consumer cost due to vehicle B eing out of it warranty, and no manufacturer's recall on that part. Feel free to provide any further details on this matter.

- Bomont, WV, USA

problem #1

Feb 011999

(reported on)

Blazer

  • miles
Rear door latch failed.

- Bonita, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?