Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,441 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Blazer lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Blazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Blazer Owner Comments

problem #20

Oct 132011

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Blazer ls. The contact stated that the hazard light switch exhibited a short circuit, which caused the brake lights to fail. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that the VIN was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 08V231000 (exterior lighting: Brake lights: Switch). The dealer then advised that the hazard switch carrier would need replacing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who confirmed that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 11/14/11

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #19

Jan 142011

Blazer 6-cyl

  • 152,339 miles
Loss of stop lamps and rear hazard lamps could fail to warn a following driver that the vehicle is braking and/or is stopped and could result in a crash. Took vehicle to Chevy dealer service, problem was identified to be the same as vehicle recall 01073B but it was determined that vehicle was not included with recall number 01073B. Why? the loss of stop lamps and rear hazard lamps could fail to warn a following driver that the vehicle is braking and/or is stopped and could result in a crash. NHTSA campaign id number: 08V231000 and NHTSA action number: RQ08001.

- Hubbard, OH, USA

problem #18

Jun 012009

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Blazer. The contact noticed that the brake lights were inoperative on her vehicle. She attempted to use her flashers to alert other motorists when she was changing lanes; however, the hazard lights were also inoperable. The dealer stated that the brake and hazard lights were inoperable because the multi-function switch needed to be replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 01V364000, although the failures were identical. The contact paid over $500 to have the vehicle repaired. The current and failure mileages were less than 120,000. Updated 07/14/09 updated 07/15/09.

- Grapevine , TX, USA

problem #17

Oct 292008

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Blazer. The contact was stopped by a police officer for inoperative brake lights. The officer warned him and did not give him a ticket. He took the vehicle to a mechanic, who discovered NHTSA campaign id number 01V364000 (exterior lighting:brake lights:switch) when ordering the parts. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall; however, they would perform a diagnostic at the cost of $90. The contact would not receive a reimbursement even if the VIN turned out to be included in the recall. The manufacturer gave him a file number and confirmed that the VIN was not included in the recall. The current mileage was approximately 34,300 and failure mileage was approximately 34,250. Updated 11/19/08. The consumer stated the manufacturer a and dealer agreed to fix the problem at no charge after it was determined the consumers VIN was included in the recall. Updated 11/19/08.

- Everett, MA, USA

problem #16

Aug 292008

Blazer

  • 66,500 miles
My step daughter 2002 Blazer tail light were not working. She her that a recall was issue on that problem. NHTSA campaign number 08V231000 action number RQ08001. When she went to the dealer she found out that her SUV was not included. The VIN number is. The Blazer was taken in and the problem was the hazard switch indicate in the recall. Cost $193 to fix. I believe that the recall should be extended to include this and other vehicles.

- Southgate, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Dec 012007

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Blazer. He stated that initially the brake and hazard lights worked intermittently however they were currently inoperable. There is a recall for the exterior lighting: Brake lights: Switch (NHTSA campaign id # 01V364000) however, the dealer stated that his VIN was not included. As of December 5, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were 100,000.

- Herondo, MS, USA

problem #14

Aug 152007

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 152,131 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Blazer. When applying pressure on the brakes, the brake light and hazard lights failed to operate. The brake light bulbs were replaced and the failure continued to occur. The dealer stated that his vehicle was not a part of recall number 01V364000, exterior lighting: Brake lights: Switch. The failure mileage was and the current mileage was 152,431.

- Flooren, AZ, USA

problem #13

Jul 012007

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Blazer. The contact stated that the brake lights stopped working. The dealer replaced the switch. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number 01V364000 (exterior lighting:brake lights:switch) at 924 miles. The current and failure mileages were 68,000.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #12

Aug 242007

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,950 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Blazer. The contact stated that the brake and hazard lights do not work. The center brake light works, but the tail lights do not. He took the vehicle to a mechanic and they stated that the failure was due to the multi-function switch. NHTSA recall number 01V364000 (exterior lighting: Brake lights: Switch) was referenced. The purchase date was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 46,950. The consumer stated is seeking reimbursement for repairs due to the fact no recourse concerning the recall. Updated 09/17/07

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #11

Feb 212007

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
Rear brake lights & third light were staying on intermit. White smoke is now coming from steering wheel after the brake light switch was replaced today. This switch should have been to the subject prior recall of Blazer brake light and multi function break light switches. According to the repair shop, the old break light switch showed a burn mark. And, I kept the old part. We just drove it home and the break lights still stayed on and the smoking started which scared me so the shop has it once again this time to replace the multi- function switch. Note: That we were told by GM customer service that our Blazer was a few VIN numbers off the recall and wasn't effected by the break light recall.......... the problem was in at the time. The repair shop is now in the process of changing out the second switch at great cost to us.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #10

Feb 162005

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Multifunction switch on 2002 Chevrolet Blazer failed VIN [xxx]. GM corporate refuses to honor recall (NHTSA campaign id number : 01V364000 ) and refuses to cooperate in rebating $504.31 replacement cost at dealer for services performed on 2/16/05 to replace multifunction switch. Updated 07/12/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Salem, MA, USA

problem #9

Jul 222006

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The left and right brake lights on my 2002 Chevrolet Blazer stopped working while the central upper brake light continued to work. I found a GM safety recall notice on edmunds.com that indicated that this was a problem on this very model. I called GM's service center, gave them the VIN# and they informed me that this recall did not apply to my 2002 Chevrolet Blazer, yet it did apply to some 500,000 other 2002 Chevrolet Blazer.

- Farmington, NM, USA

problem #8

May 022006

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,600 miles
Vehicle brake light switch sticks subjecting the trucks tail, brake and safety lights to over heat. Had to disconnect the battery terminal overnight to reset. Found out about a recall and called GM who said that the Blazer was 50K off on the VIN number from the effected vech's. we had GM open a file#1408511117 and told them that we were reporting this to NHTSA because we should fall under the recall for this known safety issue.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #7

Aug 302004

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,632 miles
I was informed by my husband, as he was following me, that my brake lights did not work. We took the vehicle to the dealership from which, I purchased the vehicle to have it checked out. They said the multi-function switch was bad and needed to be replaced. We paid $391.72 to have the switch replaced. I later found out there is a recall for the same year vehicle, on the same part, with the same problems as we have experience, however the VIN # of our vehicle is not included in the recall because our vehicle was manufactured at a different plant.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #6

Jan 242005

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While the vehicle was parked driver noticed that the brake lights were inoperative. Vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection.\, and mechanic determined that the multi function switch needed to be replaced. This information was provided by catherine's son tracy williams.

- Stigler, OK, USA

problem #5

Aug 242004

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,412 miles
1) rear brake lights and saftey hazzard lights fail do to an open circuit caused by switch malfunction 2) rear brake lights do not operate and no malfunction is displayed on instrumentation display. The loss of stop lamps and hazard lamps could fail to warn a following driver that the vehicle is braking and/or is stopped, and could result in a crash. 3) had GM dealer repair hazard switch assemby. NHTSA recall no. 01V364/GM recall no. 01073 has been issued on some 2002 Chevy Blazer, but the VIN number for this car was not included in the recall list.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #4

Jul 272004

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
Brake lights and hazard lights do not work. Spoke to GM and they said that there is a recall for this issue, but my VIN didn't qualify. Was told by GM to pay for the repairs, and that they would reimburse if a new recall was issued. Called dealer and was quoted $360 for the repair.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #3

Apr 282004

Blazer

  • 62,000 miles
The stop lamp and the hazard lights are inoperative. There's a switch recall (no. 01V364000) on brake light switch, but VIN isn't included.

- Colleyville, TX, USA

problem #2

Mar 012004

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The consumer didn't meet the requirements of the recall even though he experienced problems with brake lights working randomly. Recall#01V364000

- Kaiser, MO, USA

problem #1

Dec 082003

Blazer 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
Both rear brake lights continually burn out. Dealer replaced rear brake lights several times, has been replaced many times, but problem recurring.

- Kingshill, VI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?