Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,620 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Blazer lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Blazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Blazer Owner Comments

problem #9

Jun 012009

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Blazer. The contact noticed that the brake lights were inoperative on her vehicle. She attempted to use her flashers to alert other motorists when she was changing lanes; however, the hazard lights were also inoperable. The dealer stated that the brake and hazard lights were inoperable because the multi-function switch needed to be replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 01V364000, although the failures were identical. The contact paid over $500 to have the vehicle repaired. The current and failure mileages were less than 120,000. Updated 07/14/09 updated 07/15/09.

- Grapevine , TX, USA

problem #8

Mar 162009

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,300 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Blazer. The contact noticed that the brake lights were not working on the vehicle. He went to a mechanic and was informed that the signal lights were canceling at the same time when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 100,300. Updated 04/15/09. Updated 04/16/09.

- Manaahwkin, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jun 132008

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,332 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Blazer. After a routine inspection, the contact noticed that her exterior brake lights were inoperative. The dealer stated that her VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 08V231000 (exterior lighting:brake lights:switch). The contact would be responsible for the repair costs. The vehicle has not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 119,332. Updated 07/10/08. The hazard lights were inoperative. The consumer was informed his VIN was not included in the recall for the hazard warning light switch. Updated 07/08/08

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #6

May 192008

Blazer

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I came across a 2002 Chevrolet Blazer ls recall #01V364000 issued on or about March 2002. I had forgotten about the recall when I had my car repaired at jim trenary Chevrolet in O fallon, mo in March 2008. I later found the recall. The repair work that I paid for matched exactly what the recall was about so I asked for a refund for that work. They refused since my VIN wasn't on GM's list of open recalls. What went wrong with my vehicle was what was exactly described on the recall. Why wasn't my VIN included? part # 26100837 was a part mentioned in the recall and it is listed on my paid invoice.

- O Fallon, MO, USA

problem #5

Apr 182002

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles
Brake lights failed due to a faulty hazard light switch. Called dealer and GM and was told "there is no recall for vehicle based on VIN and not covered under recall id # 01V364000".

- Southgate, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Aug 242007

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,950 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Blazer. The contact stated that the brake and hazard lights do not work. The center brake light works, but the tail lights do not. He took the vehicle to a mechanic and they stated that the failure was due to the multi-function switch. NHTSA recall number 01V364000 (exterior lighting: Brake lights: Switch) was referenced. The purchase date was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 46,950. The consumer stated is seeking reimbursement for repairs due to the fact no recourse concerning the recall. Updated 09/17/07

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #3

Jun 152007

Blazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Blazer. The contact stated that the brake lights no longer work. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they replaced the hazard flashing switch. The manufacturer stated that her VIN was not included in NHTSA recall number 01V364000 (exterior lighting:hazard flashing warning lights:switch). The current and failure mileages were 80,000.

- Gig Harbour, WA, USA

problem #2

Jul 062006

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
Brake lights work intermitently, can get them to work sometimes by pushing the hazard light switch on and off, but may still work on and off. Took to dealer and they were not showing any recall and would cost about $450 to replace hazard switch carrier if defective, if not it the cost would be $99.69 for labor to check it out. Called GM 1-800-222-1020 and they said that it should be covered recall #01073A. Gave number to dealer and was told that only some of the vehicles within ven # range were covered by recall and they would have to check into it. My problem with this is why did I not receive a recall notice for this problem when the NHTSA web site shows a recall and my vehicle fall within the range of VIN numbers" and why does'nt the dealer know about this"

- Pontiac, MI, USA

problem #1

Feb 182005

Blazer 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
Vehicle experienced problems with the hazard light switch and rear tail lights, which became inoperative. Owner contacted the dealer and called the manufacturer, and was informed that although the VIN fell within those affected by the recall they still refused to accommodate the owner with repair assistance.

- Salem, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?