Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Cobalt was introduced to replace two of Chevy’s smaller cars, the Cavalier and Prizm. But the compact’s fresh start that Chevy was hoping for was riddled with issues, most notably widespread power steering failure.

The power steering failed so often that GM was forced to issue a recall in March, 2010. Great, but what about other problems like the key getting stuck in the ignition or all the other electrical demons this car possesses?

And, oh yes — then there’s the terribly dangerous issue where the Cobalt randomly shuts off while driving. As it turns out, that problem is related to GM’s massive 2014 recall for a dangerous ignition switch defect. A recall that eventually ballooned to 2.6 million vehicles in one of the automotive industry’s biggest scandals.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 1
Average Mileage:
47,498 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

May 132010

Cobalt

  • 43,067 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received a recall notice for recall 10V073000 (steering:electric power assist system). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership for repairs but was told that there were not enough parts to cover the repairs. The contact called the manufacturer and was told that they would call her back with the parts became available. The current and failure mileages were 43,067.

- New Haven, IN, USA

problem #31

Mar 182010

Cobalt

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact referenced recall NHTSA campaign id number: 10V073000, component: Steering: Electric power assist system. The contact stated she has called the dealership three times to get the recall repair performed and they still did not have the parts. The contact stated she did not feel safe driving the vehicle. The current mileage was approximately 89,000. Updated 12/7/10

- Oxford, MA, USA

problem #30

Feb 272010

Cobalt

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer states power steering malfunction the consumers wife was driving, when all of a sudden the steering became difficult to steer. After she pulled off the road and re-started the vehicle, the issue was resolved temporarily. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the consumer was informed the power steering assist motor needed to be replaced. The dealer also stated the vehicle was not a part of the recall.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #29

May 032010

(reported on)

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer states vehicle stopped suddenly. Consumer has received recall notice and is requesting reimbursement the consumer stated the power steering light illuminated. The consumer was also informed the headlights were full of water.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #28

Jan 042010

Cobalt

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the power steering assist failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and repairs were made accordingly. On a separate occasion while driving at speeds of 60 mph, the power steering assist failed a second time. The contact later received notification of a recall (NHTSA campaign id number 10V073000: Steering: Electric power assist system) but has not taken the vehicle to the dealer to be repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 49,000 and the approximate current mileage was 66,600.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #27

Sep 242008

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Cobalt lost all power steering and had to pull over. The consumer stated the vehicle has electric power steering. Once the consumer pulled over, she turned the vehicle off and then on again and the vehicle was fine for a few minutes, but then the problem returned.

- Holt, MO, USA

problem #26

Nov 252009

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 65,726 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving at speeds of 55 mph the power steering alarm flashed on the dashboard and triggered the alarm. Immediately, the vehicle lost power steering and proceeded to drift to the left into oncoming traffic. The contact had to utilize extreme bodily force in order to avoid crashing with oncoming traffic and maintain control of the steering wheel. She was able to maneuver the vehicle off the highway and shut off the engine. When starting the ignition, the power steering reset itself and was operating normally. The failure occurred two additional times and the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where he replaced the entire power steering column and assembly. There were no failures after the repairs were made. The failure mileage was 65,726 and the current mileages was 82,000. Updated 4/7/2010 the power steering assist module was replaced. Updated 05/12/10.

- Fort Valley, VA, USA

problem #25

Feb 142010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 48,418 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving approximately 45 mph the power steering light illuminated and within seconds the power steering failed. The steering wheel did not shake or make a noise. She turned the vehicle off so that the steering wheel would reset and within five minutes the same thing happened. The steering failed a total of three times. She contacted the dealer. The dealer stated that if the motor was electrical and there was a problem they would need to replace the motor. The dealer replaced the power steering motor at the owners expense for $391. The failure mileage was 48,418. The current mileage is 48,847. The dealer informed the consumer the entire electrical power steering motor needed to be replaced at a cost of $391. They also stated that the power steering column was also making noise and needed to be replaced. Updated 05/12/10.

- Dallas, PA, USA

problem #24

Aug 282005

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
I am a high school algebra teacher. I own a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt it has been experiencing these power steering problems the entire time I have had it. I have taken it to numerous mechanics and back to the dealer while it was still under warranty. It has a 175000 miles on it now. The first time I did take it back they replaced a wiring harness. At approximately 3000 miles (approx in August 2005) I had my first oil change and this is when my power steering light came on for the first time. It has been coming on every since. When the power steering light comes on: Car jerks slightly at cruising highway speed and* when I am at speeds less than 20 mph it jerks violently and * it goes dead when it stops and gauges on the dash (odometer, speedometer, and gas) fluctuate wildly, and very frequently and for sustained periods of time (days) I have no power steering and the power steering goes out abruptly, several times this has happened while I am turning at a busy intersection. Sometimes the power steering will come back after turning the car off about (1 out of 5 times) the check engine light turns on and off and the light with a lock on it turns on and off. It has been checked at sellers Chevrolet in purvis numerous times for this. I have had regular maintenance and service checks. I have had the transmission fluid changed twice. They have not been able to fix it the power steering problem. It keeps recurring. I have not been in any accidents. I have had several near misses though. Thank you so much for exposing this problem and if you want to come get my car and test it you are more than welcome to have it and make it your poster boy/car for lemons. I need a new vehicle since I have 4 foster children now. All my friends and family have urged me to sell this car for the entire time I have had it because of its recurring problems. The consumer stated the power steering light illuminated again three days after the recall was performed. Updated 04/21/10.

- Lumberton , MS, USA

problem #23

Feb 032010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated the power steering failed when she stopped at a stop light. The warning light came on and then the steering failed. The vehicle was uncontrollable while driving. The contact stated she could only drive straight and was unable to turn left or right. The dealer had not been contacted. The failure mileage was 55,000. The VIN number was unavailable. Updated 03/09/10 the electric power steering motor was replaced. Updated 07/12/10.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #22

Jan 292010

Cobalt

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving approximately 60 mph the power steering failed without warning. She was able to drive onto the emergency lane and turn the vehicle off. The power steering reset itself and the vehicle began driving normally. A local mechanic stated that they were unable to diagnose the failure and to take the vehicle to a dealer. The current and the failure mileages were 57,000. Updated 3/12/10 the power steering motor was replaced. Updatd 05/14/10.

- Fairmount , WV, USA

problem #21

Jan 062010

(reported on)

Cobalt

  • miles
2005 Chevy colbalt has power steering problem. The consumer stated the electric power steering failed while driving.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #20

Sep 232009

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving 25 mph the power steering warning light illuminated on the instrument control panel and there was a loss of power steering. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the electronic control module was being repaired at an expense of $1100. He was in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The vehicle identification was unavailable. The failure mileage was 74,000 and the current mileage 74,020. Updated 10/29/09. Updated 10/29/09.

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #19

Aug 232009

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 35,800 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated while driving 5 mph the power steering warning light illuminated on the instrument control panel and then steering became difficult. She contacted the dealer, in which a technician speculated that the steering column needed to be replaced at an expense of $500. She contacted the manufacturer and was referred to a dealer. She was in the process of taking the vehicle for inspection. The failure mileage was 35,800. The current mileage was 36,400. Updated 10/21/09 the consumer stated the electric power steering motor and computer could stop working on the highway at any time. Updated 10/22/09.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #18

Apr 142009

Cobalt

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the electric power steering fails when a warning light illuminates. When she turns off the vehicle and restarts it, the steering operates normally. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer. The failure mileage was 68,000.

- Del City, OK, USA

problem #17

May 102009

Cobalt

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. The power steering in the vehicle fails intermittently. The vehicle is equipped with electrical power steering. While driving 65 mph, the power steering stopped working and almost caused the driver to lose control of the vehicle. He believes that there is a defect that could possibly lead to a crash. The failure has occurred on several occasions. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced the power assist system and the steering column. Through online research, the contact found numerous complaints on this same failure and believes that a recall should be issued and the manufacturer should be responsible. The current and failure mileages were 46,000.

- Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #16

May 012009

Cobalt

  • 53,890 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. Sporadically, while driving various speeds, the electrical power steering will fail. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer and they speculated that jumpstarting other vehicles could potentially cause a shortage of electricity to the component. After the diagnosis, the entire power steering was replaced. The manufacturer stated that they were unaware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 53,890.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #15

May 292009

Cobalt

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. Sporadically, the electrical power steering fails and causes the contact to lose control of the vehicle. The vehicle has not been inspected to determine the cause of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 68,000. Updated 06/17/09 updated 06/17/09.

- Prospect Hill, NC, USA

problem #14

Sep 222008

Cobalt

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving at any speed, the electric power steering shuts down. The contact stated that the warning light blinks twice and then the power steering fails and becomes difficult to steer. The failure mileage was 68,000. Updated 10/16/08 updated 10/21/08.

- Liberty, MO, USA

problem #13

Sep 072008

Cobalt

  • 37,000 miles
2005 Cobalt, 40K miles. Electric power assist steering system going out. Light comes on sometimes and power steering will go out. Will stop car, and sometimes this stops. Mostly bad on hot days. Out of warranty, researching will cost me 1,200 to 2,000. Understand this is a known issue. Why isn't there a recall. I have a 3 year old and brand new baby grand daughter. I shudder to think what will happen if this goes out while they are in my car. They live with me. This is horribly dangerous. They wont recall it, but make the part so expensive you cant afford it. No other part ever cost that much in my life unless I was replacing an engine. I am asking that they recall this part asap before someone gets killed. You never know when it will just stop working, and loose power and or control of your car. I pray that myself or my grandchildren can live through this long enough to save the money to make this ridiculously expensive repair. I cant just not drive it. It is our only car. Please please investigate this part in the Cobalt and from what I hear a few other car makes. It is the scariest thing in the world to loose power while driving. And extremely dangerous. Thank you

- Mesquite, TX, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?