Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Cobalt continued to carry the torch first lit by the 2005 model year. To be clear, that torch is burning bright with widespread power steering issues, electrical curiosities and a dangerous ignition switch defect which led to a massive recall by GM. This isn’t a great torch to carry.

The 2006 added it’s own special flare with gas leaks due to cracks in the “return portion of the modular reservoir assembly.” A recall of 2006 Cobalts was issued to fix the problem, but only to vehicles sold in or current registered in Arizona and Nevada, leaving other owners to pay for repairs themselves.

Between this car stalling while driving, giving owners fits with power steering failure and having it be a potential tinderbox because of gas leaks, we felt we had no other option than to award it our “Avoid Like the Plague” badge.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,099 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #51

Feb 112013

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 65 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate over 35 mph. The vehicle was taken to the independent mechanic for diagnostic testing, who replaced the fuel pump and the shift cylinder. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle was stuck in first gear and the speedometer failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Gibbs Town, NJ, USA

problem #50

May 122014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
This complaint is that the fuel pump recall for this car, with NHTSA campaign number: 09V419000, did not show up in the database visible to either my mechanic or a GM dealer. This is a life-threatening part failure, with significant amounts of gasoline leaking from the car, either while it is moving or stopped, and I was never notified of this issue. My car currently has this problem, leaking gasoline at quite a rapid rate. The fuel smell while driving is unbearable. Wherever I park a puddle of gasoline forms under the car. If I parked in a closed garage, this would be a terrible safety issue. It is for good reason that this recall was put in place. However, apparently this issue shows up in the GM system as a "special coverage" and not a recall. I found out about this issue online. I was searching because I was preparing to pay $833 for my mechanic to replace the fuel pump assembly. When I phoned the dealer, he said he had to get to "another screen" to see the special coverage items, and he only did that because I prompted him. Apparently they don't have a system in place to warn car owners of this issue even when the owner has their vehicle in for a recall (which mine was in the last two years). I have also never received a notice of this recall, and I've owned the car since January of 2007. After the recent press coverage of the recall of the ignition switch for this vehicle, I am shocked that this kind of a safety concern is essentially being hidden from public view.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #49

Sep 122008

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 36,998 miles
Recall campaign number 09V419000 components: Fuel system gasoline recall #090226 under my vehicle supposedly this was under warranty and was replaced in 2008. I services my vehicle in 2010 and my veh report indicates replacement of fuel tank module was already done under recall #09226. My vehicle was worked on 2/28/2014 have been have gas leak and odor had me worried, come to find out fuel pump module needs to be replaced. I spent $112.07 for work seal replacement and labor. Was not able to afford to pay estimate cost for parts and labor fuel pump module is $569.38. I forgot I had this replaced in 2008... I recently took my vehicle in to Chevy service center on capitol expressway in san jose. [xxx] lawton pulled up my vehicle report and I complained about the gas leak first thing came out of his rude mouth was you must of heard this on the news right! I told about the gas leak he said this part was already replaced and I asked then why is it happening again said maybe could have been a defective part. I now see that there is a recall on electrical system ignition switch and can cause the vehicle in a crash. [xxx] said I had no reports on my vehicle for recall. Now im really concerned if I get into a collision and my vehicle is currently spotting with fuel and odor is pretty strong should I happen to have a collision im sure will cause a combustion to charge a fire. Fuel pump module's. gas leak, fuel leak, odor. Safety comes first. This needs to be addressed to all service consultants. Across the board. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #48

Jan 012012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle emitted a strong fuel odor while driving at various speeds. The contact inspected the vehicle and located the failure at the fuel pump plastic return line. The manufacturer advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000 and the approximate current mileage was 139,239. Updated 4/24/13 updated 06/04/2013

- Paramount , TN, USA

problem #47

Dec 232012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 47,062 miles
Smelled fuel after parking car. Asked my brother-in-law to look at it. He said that there is fuel leaking from the top of the gas tank and dripping on the ground. He said to contact the dealer because there is a recall for the fuel pump leaking. The dealership said that my vehicle was not covered under the recall because we lived in Maryland and it would cost approx. $1000 to fix. The recall is only for certain states. I could not afford this so I had to not drive for a couple of weeks. Had my brother-in-law who is a master mechanic purchased and installed a fuel pump. After some research, there have been numerous complains about this and GM said there would be a special coverage for this, but the dealership says that there is not. Is there a special coverage?

- Parkville, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #46

Dec 102012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while parked, a strong fuel odor could be noticed and there appeared to be a fuel leak. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The contact was unsure which component was repaired. The dealer also informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 03/01/13 the fuel pump was replaced. Updated 03/07/13

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #45

Dec 032012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to fuel pump malfunction. The consumer stated a recall was issued for the exact problem he experienced. However, the recall was limited to selected states. The consumer believed his state should be included in the recall. The top of the pump assembly, and the side hose to the assembly cracked and broke.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #44

Dec 122012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle emitted a strong gasoline fuel odor when being driven or when parked. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who inspected the vehicle. The failure was located at the fuel pump, in which the plastic covering was found to be cracked and caused the fuel to leak. The contact was advised that the fuel assembly needed to be replaced. Vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The dealer advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump). The approximate failure and current mileage was 125,000. The consumer was informed the recall was restricted to vehicles sold or currently registered in selected states. Updated 12/27/12 updated 01/22/13 updated 01/24/13 updated 02/11/13

- Gooshland , VA, USA

problem #43

Nov 272012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. While the vehicle was parked, the contact smelled a strong fuel odor inside the vehicle. There was also fuel visible on the ground. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated there was a crack in the fuel pump assembly. NHTSA recall campaign id number 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) was associated with the failure; however, the VIN was ineligible. The vehicle was repaired at the owner's expense. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 76,000. Updated 01/02/2013 updated 01/09/13

- Bishopville, MD, USA

problem #42

Sep 202012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 132,384 miles
Gas mileage had significant decrease on highway trips. After driving >50 miles and parking car in garage, garage would smell horribly of gasoline. Upon initial investigation, gasoline was leaking from the top-end of the fuel tank in the area of the plastic supply and return lines via the fuel pump. Significant amount of leakage found on car under body. Symptoms match NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000. Car was taken to tom gill Chevrolet for repair work where it was diagnosed to replace fuel pump assembly due to a cracked fuel supply/return line on fuel pump modular. Upon discussing with dealership, it as indicated this item was under recall but is region specific. Dealership made comments that it was regional due to cost of repair. This car was manufactured with the same components as the cars recalled in New Mexico, Mississippi, California, etc. It is unacceptable for the consume to bear cost of replacement due to region when it is a common problem with the Cobalt platform.

- Independence, KY, USA

problem #41

Sep 122012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The plastic supply and return port on the modular reservoir assembly is crack, causing fuel to leak. This is exactly the same as current NHTSA campaign id 09V419000. However, GM told me that my VIN is no covered under this recall. The recall should be extended to the rest of the country, instead just certain states. Luckily, I caught this issue before a car fire occurred.

- Willowick, OH, USA

problem #40

Jul 112012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the contact smelled a strong odor of fuel inside of the vehicle. There was no fuel leakage visible on the ground. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated the fuel pump plastic valve was cracked. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The dealer refused to repair the vehicle under the recall due to the excessive mileage on the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000 and current mileage is 140,000. Status updated 11/29/12 the consumer received a letter stating the build date of her vehicle was out of range for the recall. However, the consumer disagreed with the finding, and stated the build date was January 2006, which did fall within, the build date for the recall. Updated 04/15/13

- Sam Miguel, CA, USA

problem #39

Jul 282012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 90,400 miles
The fuel pump was leaking fuel from the top of the pump and had to be replaced. This was a safety hazard because fuel was leaking on to the ground. This is the same issue other 2006 Cobalt's were recalled for in other states, recall # 09V419000. My car was not purchased or registered in those states but it still experienced this problem. I want to be reimbursed by the manufacture for the repairs.

- Blacklick, OH, USA

problem #38

Aug 082012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,100 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that fuel fumes were emitted into the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel pump was cracked and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 45,100 and the current mileage was 45,700. Updated 10/11/12 updated 10/17/12

- Bergenfield, NJ, USA

problem #37

Aug 082012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that fuel fumes were emitted into the vehicle. The contact mentioned that after inspecting the vehicle he determined that the fuel sending unit was defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and the current mileage was 75,000. Updated 01/05/13 the consumer stated the defective fuel pump sending unit was replaced. The plastic lines were defective and started to leak.

- Seaford , NY, USA

problem #36

Jul 302012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph there was a fuel smell coming from the interior and exterior of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who inspected the vehicle and stated that the fuel pump was leaking. The vehicle was then taken to the dealer who ran a diagnostic test and informed her that the fuel pump was leaking and needed to be replaced. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump) but the contact's VIN was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was notified who stated that the vehicle was over the required mileage to offer any assistance. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 144,000. Status update requested 09/27/12

- Warrenville, SC, USA

problem #35

Aug 042012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that there was an overpowering gasoline fuel smell emitting from the vehicle. She checked under the vehicle and noticed a fuel leak. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for repairs. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and the current mileage was 75,000. Updated 09/05/12 the consumer contacted the dealer about the gas leak and was informed the recall was only for certain VIN numbers and certain states. Updated 09/11/12

- Smithfield , PA, USA

problem #34

Jul 202012

Cobalt

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the fuel tank was leaking at the top line, causing fuel to leak to the ground. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel pump would need replacing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, , gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump) and provided no further assistance. The failure and current mileage was 64,000. Updated 08-10-12 updated 08/13/12

- Hampstead , MD, USA

problem #33

Mar 062012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 95,242 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle was leaking fuel. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for inspection and was advised that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but was not included in the NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The manufacturer was notified but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 95,242 updated 08/28/12 fuel was leaking from the top of the fuel tank. The technician found the fuel tubes at the pump leaking as well. Updated 08/30/12

- El Dorado, KS, USA

problem #32

Jul 022012

Cobalt

  • 99,999 miles
There is currently a recall on this make, model and year in the states of Arizona and Nevada for fuel tank problems (NHTSA campaign id: 09V419000). I live in Missouri where my car was issued and am currently experiencing the same problems to my car due to the extreme heat in the area. I think that all cars that fall within the make, model and year should be recalled in the midwest due to the extreme heat we've experienced.

- Festus, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?