Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Cobalt continued to carry the torch first lit by the 2005 model year. To be clear, that torch is burning bright with widespread power steering issues, electrical curiosities and a dangerous ignition switch defect which led to a massive recall by GM. This isn’t a great torch to carry.

The 2006 added it’s own special flare with gas leaks due to cracks in the “return portion of the modular reservoir assembly.” A recall of 2006 Cobalts was issued to fix the problem, but only to vehicles sold in or current registered in Arizona and Nevada, leaving other owners to pay for repairs themselves.

Between this car stalling while driving, giving owners fits with power steering failure and having it be a potential tinderbox because of gas leaks, we felt we had no other option than to award it our “Avoid Like the Plague” badge.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
68 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
129 / 3
Average Mileage:
60,279 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 16 of 56)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #811

Oct 142010

Cobalt

  • 8,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 06 Chevy Cobalt. Since October 2007, the power steering has been going out and the transmission has been acting up. At the beginning, the problem would occur only once in a while. Now it is happening everyday. I'm currently a nursing student and rely on my car. There have been many times when my car would start acting up and during dangerous conditions such as thunderstorms or just in an unsafe part of town. I was happy when a power steering recall was issued, but after having the recalled fixed, the problem is still occurring! I'm a Michigan native and know first hand the impact on the economy on the american auto industry. I wanted to support the local economy by choosing this car. Now I don't think I would ever buy a GM car again. Something more needs to be done! this car is not safe!!!

- White Lake, MI, USA

problem #810

Oct 092010

Cobalt

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving 65 mph, the power steering failed when the contact attempted to turn left to exit the highway. She had to use additional force to complete the turn and avoid a crash. The failure occurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who would not offer assistance. The contact called the manufacturer. The failure mileage was approximately 82,000 and the current mileage was approximately 86,000.

- Calexico, CA, USA

problem #809

Sep 202010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
I have a problem power steering my Chevrolet Cobalt 2006.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #808

May 282010

Cobalt

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

All of my electrical components go crazy including the gauges, radio, headlights, power breaks/ steering. The car also stalls upon stopping and in traffic(usually going over 40mph). It has stalled several times in traffic causing other cars to swerve or slam on their brakes. Im shocked I haven't been hit yet. Then the car will also overaccelarate. On one occasion I barely touched the gas to pull away from a stop sign and the car accelerated very quickly through the intersection and into the park across the street. After all this happens the battery will die and the key will get stuck in the ignition. The same basic cycle occurs every few months. I have had it to the dealership four times this week alone and each time it acts up again within hours. They do not seem to have any idea how to fix it either.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #807

May 162010

Cobalt

  • 69,000 miles
Lost control of the car going around 50, rolled across the road and then into a ditch where I hit a tree. Car was totaled.

- Snow Camp, NC, USA

problem #806

Aug 292010

Cobalt

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving approximately 40 to 45 mph the dashboard light illuminated within seconds the steering failed. The driver lost control of the vehicle and crashed into an embankment. She received bruises to the body. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure and the current mileages were 68,000.

- Mount Airy , NC, USA

problem #805

Jul 172010

Cobalt

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power assist steering fails to operate during normal operation of vehicle. Stopping and turning the engine off and on remedies the failure. This occurrence is random and without a noticeable pattern. However, the problem seems to occur more often during hot weather conditions.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #804

Aug 032010

Cobalt

  • 62,873 miles
My daughter has (had) a 2006 Cobalt. We were co-owners of this car but she was the primary driver. We did receive the recall notice and took it to a GM dealer on 6/21/10 for the repair. On Tuesday, August 3, 2010, she was driving home on a two lane country road and was less than 1/4 mile from home when she wrecked. The car suddenly pulled to the right side of the road and couldn't be steered back, she side swiped a telephone pole, the car pulled hard the other way, she fought for control of the car but lost. She kept hitting the brakes and the car spun around and was stopped when it got stuck on steps and a railing on a downhill slope into someone's yard. Thankfully she was not seriously hurt but is suffering from back and neck pain and had abrasions and bruises. She had to crawl out a window because neither door would open. We have pictures of the car and parts that went everywhere. Can you help us and direct us what to do?

- Natrona Heights, PA, USA

problem #803

Aug 012010

Cobalt

  • 54,342 miles
My 2006 Chevy Cobalt has been under repair for the faulty steering since I got it. I had it taken care of under recall, this weekend the steering totally locked up I did not have manual steering I had nothing and I was on an S turn when it happened. GM is reluctant to fix it again. I had this fixed twice under the recall and it is getting worse.

- Naples, ME, USA

problem #802

Jul 282010

Cobalt

  • miles
We encountered harding of the steering wheel when we tried to parallel park our 2006 Chevy Cobalt. The problem persisted and we are having steering problem.

- Murray, KY, USA

problem #801

Jan 112010

Cobalt

  • 29,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while approaching a traffic light her power steering light came on. The power steering failed for approximately five minutes then the steering wheel began to function normally. The failure occurred approximately three times. The contact received the recall notice approximately six months ago for NHTSA campaign id number: 10V073000, electric power assist system steering. She called the dealer several times and was informed that the parts were not available. The contact does not feel safe driving the vehicle with an existing safety recall. The failure mileage was approximately 29,000. The current mileage was approximately 34,000. Updated 10/05/10.

- Spence , IA, USA

problem #800

Jul 112010

Cobalt

  • 61,500 miles
Electronic power steering suddenly went out while driving.

- Rock Island, IL, USA

problem #799

Feb 132010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 50,278 miles
My 2006 Chevy Cobalt has the air bag light on. I received a possible recall notice in February 2010 stating that there were problems with the steering. The letter stated that I would be receiving a letter stating were and when to take my car in for check up. It is July 2010 and I have not received any notice. I'm afraid that this defect will cause an accident. I called the Chevy dealer here in salinas ca, and they told me that they did not have the parts yet and that I should wait for that letter and my car could not be checked until then. Please help out it is very scary and I'm very concerned. Thank you for your attention to this important matter.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #798

Feb 152010

Cobalt

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving 10 mph, the steering wheel became extremely difficult to turn without warning. The contact had a recall repair performed for the power steering that was partially repaired. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who stated that the entire steering column would possibly need to be replaced. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 96,000 and the current mileage was 97,000.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #797

Oct 252009

Cobalt

  • 47,000 miles
I have a 06 Cobalt recalled for power steering. In October of 09 I started calling GM over my power steering going out. My car is under the powertrain warranty then and still is with just 50,000 miles. I called GM researched, and signed the petition for the recall and got nowhere but lies from them. I thought that maybe they could fix it under the warranty before the recall that they said they knew nothing about went into affect. They told me to get a diagnostic test which cost 100 dollars out of my pocket which I did. Still no result, now we have a recall 2 months after they told me that they would not fix my car. The thing that troubles me now is that there is another lie being told because the diagnostic test says that there is 2 things that should be fixed not just one, the cheapest one, the recall is only going to fix the motor. The column is also suppose to be fixed because the motor will not solve the problem altogether it is just a bandaid sort of thing. This is what the dealer told me that GM required before the recall. This is about a $1500 problem.why are they not going to fix all of it like they said it required before recall. It goes out when you get to 10 or 15 mph and stays out until car is shut off. They are lying about when it happens, it happens all the time who only drives 10mph impossible! I have been getting on the ramps on highways in a curve and it would go out, very dangerous very unsafe because it is extremely hard to turn steering wheel, it is very hard to keep car steered straight, not to mention trying to park or back up it is almost impossible and dangerous on hitting other vehicles that are close to you. I drive in fear every day with a new car, I have got neck and back problems now from this. I have a list of front end wear & tear damage from this being out for 10 months now. I have a 87 yr father who was a GM worker, who I take to appts in this car, which we both fear everytime we are in it. GM needs to fix both problems.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #796

Jul 032010

Cobalt

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving various speeds, the power steering light illuminated and the steering wheel locked which was difficult to turn. She will had to use extreme force to turn the steering wheel. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer was not notified. The failure and current mileages were 80,000.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #795

May 122010

Cobalt

  • miles
Having accident because power steering went off. The car was in shop (vara Chevrolet san antonio, tx)on April 28, 2010. Asking dealer to fixed it. Saying no parts. After 2-3 weeks got an accident, dealer still did not have parts. Took car to the shop. (benson Chevrolet san antonio tx) dealer called allstate without asking or informing us. They did not want to pay. Car is in the shop since May 13 2010 until today's date (June 27 2010) asking for rental car. Local dealer authorized it. After GMC Chevrolet found out we put a complaint on BBB cancel rental meantime the car is still in the shop. Due to the complaint. They knew the consequence why sent letter without no parts and now do not want pay for the repairs.the car is 2006 and it has 4 recalls. 1. fuel pump. 2. power steering not fixed on time. 3.power train: Automatic transmision.4.structure. Already had fuel pump and power steering defected.

- Elmendorf, TX, USA

problem #794

Jun 252010

Cobalt

  • 48,000 miles
2006 Chevy Cobalt ls: Power steering failure, as well as tach & speedometer fluctuations. Transmission shifts rough. Engine light is on, as well as an icon that looks like a car with a lock on it. All this happened at one time...between the time I parked it after work (no problems), til I went out and started it again to go to the store.

- Schuylkill Haven, PA, USA

problem #793

Jun 242006

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
I have owned my 2006 Chevy Cobalt since June 2006 and have had numerous problems out of this car. I have had to pay out of pocket for every repair because they seem to all happen before a recall is issued and the dealerships will not refund money on the repairs. 1) A/C leaks water in passenger side floor board. I have had it in the shop 3 times and it is still leaking. No one can figure out why the water is leaking into the car. 2) gas tank had to be replaced due to fuel lines cracking. 3) power steering went out while my husband was driving on the interstate and was about 130 miles from home. 4) the car would die if the RPM's got too low, this was caused by a carbon build up on the idler. 5) there is no way to check the transmission fluid and it is starting to slip and take forever to upshift. 6) the key gets stuck in the ignition and will not come out. 7) the drivers side door gets stuck and will not open. 8) the door latch sometimes messes up and the door does not close. 9) the stereo display and buttons no longer work. I can not use the cd player for fear of losing the cd for ever since the eject button doesn't work. I can not see the clock or what station the radio is on. The car lost its value so fast that even after 4 yrs of having it I still can not trade it in due to the amt. I still owe on it. So I am stuck driving this piece of crap until it is paid for. I have already invested several thousands of dollars into this car for these problems. I believe that the car is a lemon and I should be reimbursed for the car and all of the out of pocket repairs I have had to make.

- Gilmer, TX, USA

problem #792

May 272010

Cobalt

  • 74,000 miles
Steering locks up.

- Independence, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?