CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Cobalt continued to carry the torch first lit by the 2005 model year. To be clear, that torch is burning bright with widespread power steering issues, electrical curiosities and a dangerous ignition switch defect which led to a massive recall by GM. This isn’t a great torch to carry.

The 2006 added it’s own special flare with gas leaks due to cracks in the “return portion of the modular reservoir assembly.” A recall of 2006 Cobalts was issued to fix the problem, but only to vehicles sold in or current registered in Arizona and Nevada, leaving other owners to pay for repairs themselves.

Between this car stalling while driving, giving owners fits with power steering failure and having it be a potential tinderbox because of gas leaks, we felt we had no other option than to award it our “Avoid Like the Plague” badge.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
68 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
129 / 3
Average Mileage:
60,623 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 54 of 56)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #57

Mar 082009

Cobalt

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sunday, March 8 starting car in parking lot and began to drive but the power steering failure displayed. This is a 2006 Cobalt and should not experience something like this so soon. I've read numerous complaints about the same thing. What is being done about it!"! warranty or no warranty, repair of this should be on the hands of Chevrolet, not me. Where on earth has quality gone and ownership of your work ethic. Who cares about putting the latest and greatest vehicle on the road" how about thinking about the person driving the car! thank goodness there wasn't an accident 5 minutes before the parking lot because the car was on the interstate on a busy weekend.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #56

Feb 212009

Cobalt

  • 44,000 miles
On this particular day I was driving North on I55, from joliet to Chicago, without any previous warning while driving about 65mph. The "power steering" warning flashed on the dash and simultaneously the steering wheel became extremely hard. Luckily I managed to gather enough strength and safely steer the vehicle to the closet off ramp. I turned the vehicle off and it was fine again until I was on my way back home and the same thing happened. I took the vehicle in for service but it is under no warranty. After doing some research I see that this is a frequent and extremely dangerous problem. I checked with the dealer but they say no recall is in effect. However, I certainly think that there should be this could result in fatalities. This is a giant problem that shows up without any warning.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #55

Feb 162009

Cobalt

  • 72,391 miles
I purchased a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt on 10/06/2007 the car was a prior corporate lease vehicle, with an impeccable car fax history detailing its service records. I did not start having any problems with the steering until approximately 1 month ago and it was intermittent power steering loss. It has now progressed to the point where there is only power steering for the first minute the car is running. I did a little research and contacted a service writer that I know and trust at a large Chevrolet dealership here in Kansas City and he mentioned that he wrote replacement orders for 20 of the steering columns himself within the last year. I took the car in and they did a diagnostic check and sure enough the column needs to be replaced. I feel that a car with under 75000 miles should not have this type of a failure, so I contacted GM and was told the best they would do is 15% discount on the total repair which is $760 plus tax, I feel this is a major slap in the face for a 30 year + Chevrolet customer, not to mention the fact that my daughter is driving this car with my grandkids and it is not safe. I do not have the means at this time to afford this repair. This should have been a recall on GM's part a year ago, the person I spoke to at GM denied that this was a wide spread problem, but obviously after what I've found on this site as well as numerous others, I beg to differ. Please help!!! thank you

- Shawnee, KS, USA

problem #54

Feb 212009

Cobalt

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2006 Chevy Cobalt, I have had this occur 2 times. While driving the electronic steering that is used in this car malfunctioned and the whole steering wheel locked up and the engine started shutting down. This is a dangerous situation because this has happened twice to me while driving, the first time I took it to the dealer they failed to properly fix the vehicle and stated the replaced a computer chip. Four months later this happened again. This final time they had to replace the whole steering column. If this were to happen while driving on the expressway going over 55mph this would have been a life threatening situation. This defect could kill innocent people along with the driver and any passengers as kids in the car. I have had the steering column replaced, however I am doubtful that this issue won't happen again due to the fact the electronic system in the car may be defected.

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #53

Jun 152008

Cobalt

  • 30,000 miles
Our 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt loses it's power steering. At first it is only intermittent, now it loses power steering within about a minute of turning it on. It makes it harder to steer. We have not done anything to correct the failure because the solution to fix it is to replace the steering column and we can't afford it.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #52

Feb 082009

Cobalt

  • 50,000 miles
I just bought a 2006 Chevy Cobalt ss last year and have only put 15000 miles on it and the power steering went out last night while I was going 70mph on the freeway! I researched to see if anyone else is having this problem with Cobalts and found site after site of thousands of people! this needs to be recalled before it kills someone!

- Elko, MN, USA

problem #51

Dec 102008

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving less than 65 mph, the power steering warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. Within seconds, the steering wheel locked and could not be turned in any direction. The dealer performed a diagnostic and discovered that the power steering column needed to be replaced at an estimated cost of $547. The VIN that was provided was not accepted by the system. The failure and current mileages were less than 73,000. Updated 03-06-09 updated 03/09/09.

- Pound, VA, USA

problem #50

Aug 012008

Cobalt

  • 50,000 miles
There were no events leading to the failure of the power steering in my 2006 Chevy Cobalt. It happens everyday, atleast once every three minutes. In order to "temporarily" fix it you have to put the car in park and turn it off and restart the car then in about three minutes it goes out again. Then you have to repeat this. I am not the only one with this problem thousands and thousands of people are having the same problem with 2005 and 2006 Cobalts. You can search on the internet power steering problems Cobalt and you will see. This has been going on for about 5 months because on top of my car note and insurance I can not afford to fix this.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #49

Jan 162009

Cobalt

  • 47,100 miles
Normal driving, and the eps shuts down, making it hard, or sometimes even impossible to steer. Quite dangerous saying it does it only while driving. Once the car is started and running, it takes approx 15 mins to begin acting up. Shutting down the car resets it, but shortly after, the eps shuts down again eps(electronic power steering). Nothing has been done yet to fix this problem because this is a newer car, and it's basically not affordable right now. Knowing by reading forums this is not only a problem I have, but many others are having with this. With this kind of system being in newer cars, this product should be looked at closer to see if there is going to be an outgoing problem.

- Nappan , 00, USA

problem #48

Jan 092009

Cobalt

  • 67,500 miles
I was driving my car at 25 miles per hour and a warning signal was heard and then the digital display read power steering and I couldn't turn the wheel. Got it home, narrowly missing a car, and turned it off. Turned it back on again and worked fine. It happens randomly, and often. Took car to local Chevy dealer, it's out of warranty and Chevy refuses to pay for it. It will cost $971 to fix. Car is unsafe and I am not the only one with this problem.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #47

Jan 082009

Cobalt

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving 35 mph, warning tone came on, power steering warning light came on, steering became difficult. Pulled over shut off ignition. Checked under hood saw nothing obvious. Started car, pulled out all was well for ten minutes then happened again. Same scenario every time it's driven. Repair will be $900 !"!?!? parts are on back order because this is apparently such a problem. Why is this not a recall??"

- Clinton , KS, USA

problem #46

Jan 092009

Cobalt

  • 55,000 miles
While driving our 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt a loss of steering control has occurred over 3 times which includes erratic transmission and gearshift noises. If this had occurred on the highway in any of these occurrences a crash would have resulted. After conducting an online investigation there are thousands of owners of Cobalts which have the same problem with the electronic steering and other electrical problems within the steering column. Nothing has been done to correct the problem due to the dealer wanting to charge $2K. It is clearly a manufacturing defect with most dealers stating it is.

- West Alexandria, OH, USA

problem #45

Jan 092009

Cobalt

  • 67,532 miles
I just bought a 2006 Chevy Cobalt ls from a dealership. They had it inspected while I waited, at another inspection site, off their lot. I am 4 day out of the 30 day warranty they gave me on the purchase of the vehicle. The warranty expired January 5, 2009. Today as I'm driving through the town I live in, I hear a warning signal and look down at the digital readout on my dash board. It says power steering. I try to turn to go home, and the vehicle will not turn. I almost hit another car. I struggled with great effort, after turning on my hazards to turn it enough to get it into my parking lot. Since then it has occurred five times today. I called the dealership from which I bought it and they said they can not fix it. I bought it from monstre auto credit in manassas, va. They never offered me an extended warranty and only offered to have the guy the general manager knows fix it for me at a deep discount. I cannot even drive it back to manassas because I feel unsafe in driving it a 55 miles per hour and having the power steering give out on me.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #44

Dec 012008

Cobalt

  • 50,000 miles
Car has 50,000 miles on it. First time the electric power steering went out I was driving 60 mph down the highway and "power steering" popped up on the dash and then the power steering stopped working. I pulled over and turned the car off and then back on again and it worked. It seems to happen every time I drive the car for longer than 45 minutes, it will go off and then I will restart the car everytime it happens but it will only stay on again anywhere from 1-10 minutes before it goes out again.

- Ramsey, MN, USA

problem #43

Aug 102008

Cobalt

  • miles
The power steering on my 2006 Chevy Cobalt cuts in and out with no rhyme or reason. There have been other people with this same car who have experienced the same problem. This is extremely dangerous and needs to be address by GM.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #42

Dec 312008

Cobalt

  • 54,000 miles
My power steering has went out twice, both times were very frightening. The first time, I was about to turn out into a busy street. Luckily, when I noticed that it was extremely difficult to control my steering, I put my car into reverse in order to back into a parking space in the lot that I was about to leave. I was hoping this would be the only instance where this would happen. However, while I had a co-worker in my car, coming back to my workplace after picking up lunch, I was faced with the same problem. I was very thankful that I was able to turn into my parking lot. I couldn't imagine wrecking with a passenger in my car. And even worse, if I would've lost control and crashed into the nursing facility that I work at, I could've injured residents, too! after reading all of the complaints about this problem, I'm just curious what it's going to take for it to get recalled. Will someone have to lose their life in order for someone to take action?! I'm furious with Chevrolet for forcing people to pay for something that they (Chevrolet) can prevent!!!

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #41

Jan 042009

Cobalt

  • miles
My power steering light comes on, on the dash and I loose all power steering.

- Crystal Beach Ontario , 00, USA

problem #40

Sep 192008

Cobalt

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact noticed issues with the power steering in her vehicle. While driving 20 mph, the power steering would function for approximately.2 miles and then fail. She attempted to turn off the vehicle and restart it, but the failure continued. The failure recurred frequently. She took the vehicle to a dealer and they stated that there was no recall. The vehicle has not been inspected or repaired. The manufacturer has not been notified. The current mileage was approximately 82,000 and failure mileage was approximately 80,000.

- Daphne, AL, USA

problem #39

Dec 202008

Cobalt

  • 36,000 miles
The power steering unit locks up when I am driving. I can only slow the vehicle down and hope I don't have to turn while it is locked. I hit a curb and busted my rim on one occasion. It does it frequently and I can't afford to get it fixed.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #38

Sep 152008

Cobalt

  • 75,865 miles
When ever I drive a small distance the power steering signal comes on and I loose my power steering which almost made me have an accident, and my car locks keep popping up and down.

- Coldwater , MS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?