Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Cobalt continued to carry the torch first lit by the 2005 model year. To be clear, that torch is burning bright with widespread power steering issues, electrical curiosities and a dangerous ignition switch defect which led to a massive recall by GM. This isn’t a great torch to carry.

The 2006 added it’s own special flare with gas leaks due to cracks in the “return portion of the modular reservoir assembly.” A recall of 2006 Cobalts was issued to fix the problem, but only to vehicles sold in or current registered in Arizona and Nevada, leaving other owners to pay for repairs themselves.

Between this car stalling while driving, giving owners fits with power steering failure and having it be a potential tinderbox because of gas leaks, we felt we had no other option than to award it our “Avoid Like the Plague” badge.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
68 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
129 / 3
Average Mileage:
60,279 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 6 of 56)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #1011

Jan 032015

Cobalt

  • 111,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Chevy Cobalt ltz New Jersey - ignition recall performed Sept 2014 - Jan 3, 2015 @ 1100- started the car pulled out of parking spot, vehicle began to jerk forward, heard chime; message board displayed power steering. The traction control warning lamp was, the vehicle was stalling, steering wheel bound up tight, clicking noise coming from ignition area, and gauge returned to default off position while on. Shut vehicle off, got out looked around, got back in, started vehicle up, drove for 3-4 miles, vehicle performed as if nothing occurred. Called GM, appt set for Monday am, found some additional recall info contacted GM dealership, was advised no steering recall avail. Printed out recall notices from NHTSA pertaining to steering and will present to service personnel on Monday.

- Hamburg, NJ, USA

problem #1010

Jan 032015

Cobalt

  • 111,400 miles
2006 Chevy Cobalt ltz New Jersey - ignition recall performed Sept 2014 - Jan 2015 started the car pulled out of spot, vehicle began to jerk forward, heard chime; message board displayed power steering. The traction control warning lamp was, the vehicle was stalling, steering wheel bound up tight, clicking noise coming from ignition area. Shut vehicle off, got out looked around, got back; vehicle started up as if nothing occurred. Called GM, appt set for Monday am, found some additional recall info contacted GM dealership, was advised no steering recall avail. Printed out recall notices from NHTSA pertaining to steering and will present to service personnel on Monday.

- Hamburg, NJ, USA

problem #1009

Jan 032015

Cobalt

  • 111,400 miles
2006 Chevy Cobalt ltz New Jersey - ignition recall performed Sept 2014 - Jan 2015 started the car pulled out of spot, vehicle began to jerk forward, heard chime; message board displayed power steering. The traction control warning lamp was, the vehicle was stalling, steering wheel bound up tight, clicking noise coming from ignition area. Shut vehicle off, got out looked around, got back; vehicle started up as if nothing occurred. Called GM, appt set for Monday am, found some additional recall info contacted GM dealership, was advised no steering recall avail. Printed out recall notices from NHTSA pertaining to steering and will present to service personnel on Monday.

- Hamburg, NJ, USA

problem #1008

Dec 152014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving, my a power steering message displayed on my display center. The car became very difficult to turn. I wasn't able to drive at the normal accuracy and would like to Chevrolet to open the previous recall to solve this issue.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #1007

Dec 052014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 112,820 miles
Lets see my electric steering is messing up it wont turn right sometimes need to be recalled before I have an accident.

- Waynesboro, VA, USA

problem #1006

Dec 072014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
I was backing out of my driveway and the car immediately lost power steering. I heard a chiming sound and saw the power steering flashing on the dash.the steering wheel was almost impossible to turn and was very difficult to get the car back in the driveway.

- Stanley , NC, USA

problem #1005

Oct 252014

Cobalt

  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were driving down the road in Oct when all of sudden dash lights up flashing dinging going crazy the car keeps jerking forward like its trying to shift into a gear for the whole 40 min drive it drove fine on the way home. It has done this maybe three times since the other day I was driving my grand children to school when the car started to jerk forward then just stopped running and lost power steering, in a three way intersection, my car finally started up after about 10 mins. In Oct when the car started having problems I called our dealer they said the car had all the recalls done that it would cost 90 to check it out and that they wouldn't be able to find anything unless it was having the issues at the time they had the vehicle I ended up calling GM about the problem only to be told I am sorry that you had a stressful morning we can give you a case number and will get back to you within 24 to 48 hours may car now sets at my daughters house I will not be driving this car for fear I may injury or kill my grandchildren or others this vehicle id a death trap GM needs to own up and buy out these vehicles so upset right now shame on them how many lives need to be lost before they do something this time?

- Queensbury, NY, USA

problem #1004

Dec 062014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 35,251 miles
My wife was driving her car a 2006 Chevy Cobalt ls all of the sudden the dash board lights turned on as if it was being turned on from a cold start. The car started to buckle in the message board started to say power steering. She lost power steering and had to make an emergency stop. I checked the car that afternoon and nothing seemed fine then on a Saturday afternoon it did the same thing to me. I took it to a mechanic to be scanned and the code U0073 popped up which is the control module bus ( communication buss was off). The transmission has not been shifting right, hard, rough shifts are being done. The idle drops and raises automatically. My door lock for he driver side does not open as well. This is really unsafe.

- Springfield, OR, USA

problem #1003

Dec 032014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 66,450 miles
When driving the vehicle and going over bumps, there is a clunking noise from the steering column. Overall, the steering column appears loose, the steering wheel is hard to turn left or right and clunks as well. Took it to two different ase certified mechanics and was told that the steering is loose inside the column itself. Steering is not responsive to turns as it should be.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #1002

Jun 072013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 189,442 miles
I bought car used and wasn't told of recalls so I had car one wk before it just broke down...the steering column is defective said the GM dealer but they said I'd have to pay out of pocket even though it is a factory installed part it being of poor quality has cause the steering gear to go bad and the half shaft that goes into transmission...if they know it's just a poorly designed steering column why aren't they being held responsible for the lack of responsibility as a car maker who know of this issue but they haven't been forced to offer a recall on the steering column....instead they expect the consumer to pay for their total lack of safety!!!! what am I suppose to do with a car that's unsafe to drive and my only car"?" not to mention after the recall on electric power steering they just put in has gone bad due to the steering gear & bad steering column...

- Mill, VA, USA

problem #1001

Nov 212014

Cobalt

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While leaving from a parking lot my power steering gave out. It is electrical and affects the rest of the electrical in the car. Transmission feels affected as well. When changing gears the engine will drop drastically creating a change in momentum and sending the driver and passenger forward. From reading online this seems to be an ongoing issue with 2005 and 2006 Chevrolet Cobalts.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #1000

Oct 172014

Cobalt

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that there was an intermittent electrical short pertaining to the steering column and the instrument panel cluster. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 10V073000 (steering), but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer who diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact indicated that the speedometer gauge failed, the power steering sensor illuminated, and, at various points in time, the transmission downshifted intermittently. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- East Canton, OH, USA

problem #999

Oct 172014

Cobalt

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that there was an intermittent electrical short pertaining to the steering column and the instrument panel cluster. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 10V073000 (steering), but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer who diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact indicated that the speedometer gauge failed, the power steering sensor illuminated, and, at various points in time, the transmission downshifted intermittently. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- East Canton, OH, USA

problem #998

Nov 182014

Cobalt

  • miles
As I was driving, the message center displayed power steering. It became difficult to steer. This is a recall that has been closed and I believe that it should be opened again to customers having the same issue. I would like to see GM assist with this issue.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #997

Oct 272014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
While driving, my power steering flashed on and it became difficult to drive. I understand that there was a recall issued four years ago but the problem continues. I would like to see GM assist me in the appropriate way to handle this issue.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #996

Nov 022009

Cobalt

  • 32,150 miles
I have owned my 2006 Chevy Cobalt since 2008. Starting in 2009 all the way until now 2014 I have had issues with the car that are related to the ignition switch recall. I took my car in to the Chevy dealer to take care of the ignition switch recall on November 5, 2014. I got my car back the same day, they replaced the ignition switch and gave me two new keys. Surprise! two days later on November 7, 2014 my car again had the exact same problems related to the ignition switch recall that it did before I took it in for the recall fix. Hence, Chevy's "recall ignition switch fix" does not solve the problem with these cars! my car still does the following things even after the ignition switch fix that is supposed to solve these problems. Whenever it pleases it will lose electrical power and turn off the engine, leaving me stuck in the middle of a busy highway, this has happened on numerous occasions!! as if that isn't bad enough there's more! the power steering light flashes, the check engine light comes on, the service airbag light comes on, the gauges on the dash completely stop working properly the speedometer needle goes haywire moving from 0 mph to 60 mph back and forth non-stop when I'm not even accelerating to those speeds. The RPM gauge does the exact same thing. The car jolts forward uncontrollably, like it is having a problem shifting especially when the RPM is between 2000 and 3000. When you go to brake you have to slam the brakes all the way down because you lose your normal braking power the car skids as you're braking and continues to jolt forward uncontrollably. Oh and on top of all of this sometimes the power steering completely goes out leaving you with all of the problems mentioned above and you can't steer properly! something needs to be done immediately! the ignition switch recall fix does not work! these cars should not be on the road period.

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #995

Nov 042014

Cobalt

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated the power steering failed causing the contact to use excessive force to maneuver the vehicle. The power steering light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 52,000.

- Warminster, PA, USA

problem #994

Mar 122014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 820,000 miles
Had my car recalled for the ignition recall and had my car sitting at the dealer ship waiting on the part for 6 months. Received my car back in August 2014 and find that having several problems. The ignition locks the key does not open the door, electric problems, lights go out and than come on, ac has rattle when turn on high, car jerks. These problem have occurred since I have received my car back after 6 months sitting at the dealership because of the GM recall. I had a rent a car and paid over $600 in gas and had to get the window repaired from a chip that got bigger, from a small one when I got it. Had to get an oil change because it was low on oil and new wipers. I would never had to have done that with my car. It cost me more money to have a rent a car and I never got reimbursed. Just got a thank you. I feel I should get something out of this weather I am injured or not.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #993

Oct 162014

Cobalt

  • 115,000 miles
My power steering went out on my 2006 Chevy Cobalt while driving in a parking lot. This resulting in an increased difficulty steering at low speeds. I took it to a local Chevrolet dealership for repair and although they replaced the power steering motor, which was under a recall, they also need to replace the whole steering column assembly since it too was damaged, as replacing the motor did not fix the issue. The dealership could not confirm or deny that the issue of loss of power steering being the result of the motor failing or the steering column failing. They also could not confirm or deny if it was the motor failing that caused the failure in the column to need replaced as well. If it was indeed not the motor that failed and instead the steering column failing due to manufacturer error does that not produce a similar issue of safety as the failing of the motor (which is currently recalled).

- St Charles, IL, USA

problem #992

Aug 142014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. Upon starting the vehicle, the power steering indicator illuminated and the vehicle became extremely difficult to maneuver. The power steering resumed normal operation once the vehicle was warmed up. The vehicle was previously repaired twice according to NHTSA campaign number: 10V073000 (steering). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 12/09/14 updated 9/30/2015

- Lumberton, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?