Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 2
Average Mileage:
53,125 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 5 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #142

Jul 312013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Once the car was stopped and shut off the driver side, and on one occasion the passenger side, door(s) would unlock, but not be able to be opened. The door would then have to be locked, and then unlocked several more times, sometimes taking ten to fifteen minutes, to be opened.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #141

Mar 062014

Cobalt

  • 11,800 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the key was extremely difficult to remove from the ignition on multiple occasions. The steering wheel was also extremely difficult to turn intermittently. The contact stated while driving approximately 40 mph she lost control then flipped and rolled into an embankment. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The contact sustained minor injuries. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 11,800.

- Spring City, TN, USA

problem #140

Jun 022014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to recall notice issues. The consumer stated he has been unable to secure an appointment. He has received three recall letters so far.

- Arlington Heights, IL, USA

problem #139

May 032011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle ignition replaced. The consumer stated she went to the dealer, to have the ignition replaced, and it cost $478.31. The consumer stated the ignition was replaced twice.

- Rocky Hill, CT, USA

problem #138

Jun 092014

Cobalt

  • 52,217 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 14V171000 (electrical system). After the repairs were performed, the contact did not feel safe since she had to use a different key to open the doors and trunk. The dealer and manufacturer were notified. The failure mileage was 52,217.

- Gaylord, MI, USA

problem #137

Jun 072014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 100,026 miles
I was driving, and this isn't the first time that this has occurred, and I will get a notification on my dash for the power steering, the car will remain powered. The gauges(speedometer fuel and RPM) will all go down to zero, and vehicle will be very hard to steer. I do have to stop my car, and let it sit for about 30 seconds to continue driving. This is a intermittent issue that I have noticed. It happens at any given time.

- Mesa , AZ, USA

problem #136

Mar 032014

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I find it incredible that it is taking months upon months to complete a simple parts replacement. I was notified in March 2014 of the recall and replacement of the ignition switch for my car and contacted the repair shop for my area that was assigned to do the repairs in March and was told they did not know anything about the recall. I received another letter in April and called the shop again on May 12, 2014 and was informed that the part had to be ordered and it would take 4 to 6 weeks, so I waited until June 4, 2014 to check in on when they could fix the switch and was told it would take 4 to 6 weeks again. I feel that the public is getting the run around in this situation and that the GM company is trying to delay this so that they won't have to fix the problem because time has run out. The parts manufacture has had plenty of time to make more or get more parts this is a stall tactic and I feel that I am taking a risk with my life every time I have to drive to work.

- Roswell, NM, USA

problem #135

Mar 312014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start intermittently. The contact also mentioned that the key was loose in the ignition. The contact mentioned that he received notices for NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The dealer stated the parts were not available in order to perform repairs. The manufacturer was contacted who stated that they were making only a limited amount of parts available and could not provide an estimated amount of time of when the parts would be available. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 41,500. Updated 8/11/14 the consumer stated the vehicle experiences a failure with the ignition key to turn on at almost every start up. Parts were not available. Updated 08/20/2014

- Levittown, NY, USA

problem #134

Jun 022014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
Received original notification of Chevrolet recall several months ago, scheduled for repair, and took vehicle in to have recall performed and advised they could not do it. Have received several notifications that correct I the repair has not been completed and have scheduled the vehicle 2 more times for repair to be told they do not have parts. Contact with Chevrolet has been lees than cooperative. Total of 3 times they have not been able to perform the required recall repairs. The recalls numbers are for 13454 ignition switch, 14113 ignition lock cylinder and key. It appears from the staff of local facility that no vehicles on list have been repaired yet nor do they have any knowledge of when this will be corrected. It is of my opinion that GM is playing a game to relieve themselves of liability by sending notification to schedule your repair but unable to provide the support to correct the issue.

- Tecumseh, KS, USA

problem #133

May 052014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 1,110,000 miles
I was driving at about 35mp and it felt like my right rear brakes was sticking like they where stuck, then I was driving and it the car didn't want to move I push all the way to the floor with the gas pedal and it still wouldn't move, so I put it back into park, try again the it went in reverse.but it moved really slow, the key wouldn't turn most of the time had to keep turning it also took car to dealer to have key ignition fix said they don't know how long it would take to fix, then I get on internet and see there are up to six recalls on this car but how do I find out if I can have them fix them too. Only got one letter which was for the ignition switch.

- Ironton, OH, USA

problem #132

Feb 042014

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL * the contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V171000 (electrical system) but the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact did not experience any failure.

- Keedysville, MD, USA

problem #131

Apr 012014

Cobalt

  • miles
To whom it may concern, I am a 76 year old woman who has contacted my local GM dealers in hopes of resolving the ignition recall for my Chevy Cobalt and have been unsuccessful. Today I spent over an hour on the telephone with GM and speaking to a manager by the name of jay who gave me the run around to let me know that the part is not available and does not know when it will be made to meet the demand of the consumers needs. I would like a defined answer as to when this part will be available to me and all others.I was baffled when he told me that GM does not provide me an email address for customers to communicate directly to him. In addition jay did not know or was either unwilling to provide me with a phone number so that I could follow up on my issue. I'm not certain how GM being such a large international vehicle manufacturer can not provide its employees with an internal email or phone number for customers to contact the representative assisting them. I am gravely concerned for my safety given my age, and what I would do in the event my vehicle should stall on the street or freeways in my area. I would appreciate a response including which local dealer can supply and install the part needed so I may be assured that my vehicle is functioning to its fullest potential without thinking of the recall. The service request number I was provided by GM is [xxx] in advance, I appreciate your assistance and look forward to a response and resolution to this matter. Thank you information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Los Angeles , CA, USA

problem #130

May 012014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 14V171000 (electrical system) however, the part needed was currently unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The vehicle had not experienced the failure.

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #129

Apr 092014

Cobalt

  • miles
Received notice of recall. Took my car to dealership service center. Still have not heard anything in regards to the part being available. I took everything off the keyring as suggested. Since then I have locked myself out of my home and car. This has been a terrible inconvenience for me. It is easier when my keys are together for sure! I am a patient person but for goodness sakes! I cannot keep worrying about locking myself out of car and home everyday for who knows how long. Please!!!!!! when are the parts going to be available?

- Loveland, OH, USA

problem #128

May 012014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall and a second recall notice. The consumer believed GM's actions by not sharing such important information with the public was negligent and criminal.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #127

May 012014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch problems. The consumer was angry, that Chevrolet was well aware of the ignition problem, since 2001.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #126

May 122014

Cobalt

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the key would not turn or release from the ignition. The failure occurred after the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #125

Oct 202013

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number:14V047000 (electrical) but was advised by the dealer that the parts needed to complete the repair were not available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide reasonable date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Swansea, MA, USA

problem #124

May 102012

Cobalt

  • 67,201 miles
I stopped the car, put it park, I turned the key off but it would only turn to aux. I could not get the key out. I used my spare key to lock my car after turning off all lights, radio, anything that might drain the battery. No safe with key in the ignition yet the car is locked. I did this for a month and looked in the car manual that came with the car and I found there is a emergency release in the steering column. After removing the small square emergency door under the steering column, I had to figure out through the wire harness where the small button I needed to push it in and hold it with one hand and use the other hand to turn the key to the off position and release it from the cylinder and have been doing that since. When the recall came in from GM with the ignition problem stopping in aux which will not deploy the airbags and seatbelts, I took my car to get it replaced as the recall directed. When it was replaced at the dealer, I still could not get the key out as prior repair. I have contacted GM and they said they contacted the dealer and then dealer called me and said I needed to pay $255 to fix it. I called GM back and they refused to correct their liability. If I get in an accident, the safety airbags and seatbelts will no work causing more damage to my passengers and myself. I should not have to pay for their liability.

- Milaca, MN, USA

problem #123

May 102014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 142,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that there was an abnormal noise being emitted from the ignition when the key was removed. The vehicle was repaired by the dealer under NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system), however the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 142,000. Kmj updated 7/16/14 the consumer stated the vehicle stalled three years ago. At the time, she was informed the vehicle needed a new transmission. The consumer believed it was the ignition all along.

- Wayne, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?