Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 2
Average Mileage:
53,125 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 7 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #102

Jul 202013

Cobalt

  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 20-25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle proceeded to move and crashed into a tree, a pole, and then a mailbox. The vehicle came to a stop when it crashed into several trees. The contact suffered injuries to the knee, legs and bruises to the body. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was not filed. The contact also stated that NHTSA campaign number id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) was received after the crash. The failure and current mileage was 93,000. The VIN was not available.

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #101

Mar 192014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 148,000 miles
Ignition switch recall- GM refuses to provide a loaner vehicle until recall repair, with no date given on possible repair. Communication with customer service has stopped. They will not answer E-mails and there is no # to speak to someone live.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #100

Oct 032011

Cobalt

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start upon turning the key in the ignition more than once. The contact had to wait and within a few minutes the vehicle would restart after more than one attempt. The vehicle had also stalled without warning. The air bag sensor light illuminated and continued to illuminate at random. The vehicle was not taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The drivers seat had deteriorated to the point that the frame was loose and the padding was exposed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who diagnosed that the fronts drivers seat needed to be replaced. The front drivers seat was replaced. The air bag sensor, vehicle stalling and failure with the key not turning in the ignition continued to recur. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number:14V047000 (air bags and electrical system) and the authorized dealer stated that the part would not be available until mid April. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30000. Updated 06/17/14

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #99

Mar 262014

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. There are no failures at this time. There are no failures at this time.

- Wetumpka, AL, USA

problem #98

Sep 232013

Cobalt

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated while driving at no particular speed the vehicle lost all power; however, the engine did not shut off. When the vehicle was totally shut off the vehicle did not restart. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Windham, ME, USA

problem #97

Oct 012013

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the key was difficult to remove from the ignition on multiple occasions. The contact was able to remove the key after multiple attempts. The internal light illuminated at random with or without the key engaged. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition module and the trunk key needed to replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the failure recurred. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags and electrical system); however, the dealer stated that the part was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was not available.

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #96

Mar 292014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 51,000. Updated 05/28/14 MA the consumer stated her vehicle still hasn't been repaired regarding the ignition recall. Updated 08/05/14

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #95

Mar 062012

Cobalt

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the driver crashed into another vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy with the force of the impact. The contact suffered from injuries to the head, back and neck area. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a salvage facility. The contact experienced the failure consequence as mentioned in the recall under NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Grinnell, IA, USA

problem #94

Mar 122014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
I have had electrical issues dating back as fast as 4 years ago. In 2013 my car stopped while driving. I had to have it towed to a shop and spent close to $300 to fix it. It was not the battery. I am in the GM recall for Cobalts. My vehicle is currently sitting at bill fox in rochester mi waiting for parts. I do not feel safe driving this car even if the part comes in and I am getting the car back.

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #93

Jun 192013

Cobalt

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevy Cobalt. The contact was driving 30 mph when the vehicle stalled and independently engaged into neutral before stalling. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the failure was caused by a malfunction of the ignition switch. The failure mileage was 71,000.

- Masons City , IA, USA

problem #92

Nov 102012

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On November 10, 2010, I was on my way to work. It was about 10:00am if I remember correctly. I could not even make it out of my subdivision before my Cobalt began to give out on me. I made a right turn at a stop sign, and my car suddenly started to "roll" I would say, because I was not able to steer or press the brakes. Basically the car had cut off without me knowing. I definitely didn't expect it to happen since it was on a full tank of gas. But anyways as it was rolling it was pulling towards the right since that's how my steering wheel was already turned from me making a right at a stop sign. I could not get the car to stop and I was rolling down the hill drifting off into peoples yards. The car rolled into a brick mailbox. It hit pretty hard. The brick mailbox came completely out of the ground and luckily fell in the opposite direction. I slung forward one the car hit the mailbox. I blacked out for a few seconds, and then immediately went into a panic attack which caused me to go into an asthma attack. I have asthma pretty bad. The air bad did not deploy. The front end of the car was all smashed in and all the fuels had leaked out. Because I slung forward I had whiplash, and also a knot on my head and a swollen busted lip. I was wearing my seat belt. I was out of work for a while due to the pack neck and head injuries. The police was called and a police report was filed. And of course the car was totaled out, which also left me with no transportation.

- Hampton, GA, USA

problem #91

May 062013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I would be driving down the highway and the car's dials would not work then start bouncing around. Then the power steering message would read out, I would loose power steering. If I slowed down it would take more of an effort to get the car up to speed and the car would jump in to gears hard. It wouldn't shift smooth. None of the gauges would work, and if the A/C was on it wouldn't work. When it started back working, the engine lock light would stay on. And the car wouldn't shift in and out of gear with out jerking.

- Scottsboro, AL, USA

problem #90

Mar 172014

Cobalt

  • 47,728 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle would exhibit an abnormal noise when started, the key was difficult to turn in the ignition and the driver's side door would only open manually. Additionally, the vehicle stalled without warning as the contact decelerated to a traffic stop and the vehicle could not be immediately restarted. The contact also stated that the air bag warning light would sporadically illuminate. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and was waiting for the necessary parts to complete the repair. The contact believed that the time frame for the defect to be remedied was unreasonable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 47,728.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #89

Jan 052007

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
Around two months ago my car locked it self while the keys was in the ignition! then service air bag soon light came on and has stayed on! just last week the engine slowed down like it was going to shut off! I'm 58 years old and disabled and live on very little money each month! so I've been unable to have my car looked at and fixed! I'm frighten to drive my car now ! please help! god bless, thank you!

- Ontario, OH, USA

problem #88

Apr 222013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
4/22/13 approx 7:30 am, approached red-light, gently applying brakes. Car started to lose power! dashboard lights dimmed while I was slowing down. This has been happening for over a yr. As soon as light turned green, car felt like it was losing power and was going to stall out! (like if you were to run out of gas. Stepped on the gas, as soon as I saw the light turn green, to try to prevent the stall out, and about 1/4 into intersection, another car was running a caution light, which turned to red... my car regained power with a thrust of the engine, which took me into the path of the other vehicle who hit me at about 35 mph, which caused us to spin completely around in the middle of intersection. Airbags did not deploy. The police report stated I failed to yield the right of way. In part that is true, as I felt I had to apply the gas to the car to keep it from "stalling! heavy damage to driver's side, front end, hood, bumper and support beam by engine. There are many recalls on this car. 5/9/2012, fuel odor or spotting on ground; 9/16/10-loss of power steering assist; 3/1/2010-recall 10V073000 power steering motor replacement; 1022/2009-fuel pump module replacement. In the pass three yrs I advised East syracuse Chevy dealer that my dashboard lights, lighted areas radio, etc; go in and out like the car has an electrical problem, door left-open, lights, low-fuel, single lights chimes all don't work. Dealer advised me there is a short in the dash somewhere causing all these problems, radio speakers are all connected I would have to pay to repair which was over $2,000. Remotes don't work. I have had many front end problems with this vehicle, I.e. sway bar, steering column bushings; struts'steering components, linkage/cv drive axle boots, control arms; repairs;11/30/11, 2/16/2011.

- North Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #87

Jan 152014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 140 miles
I contacted the dealer where I got the car from at hawk Chevrolet about my car problems a few times, and they did try to fix it, which they said it was a electrical problem and they fixed that but then...after that multiple occasion started to happen, my car would turn off just because.the key would get stuck in the ignition and I couldn't get it out. Or the car would turn off when I, M stopped at the light sometimes........it, S very stressful enough in my life and now have to deal with this is very stressful...I would just like to get a brand new car from GM....and called it a day....because I don't want my Chevrolet Cobalt no more even if they fix it I want a refund to put down on a new car now....and dealers are not honoring, the safety recall notice by not giving out any loaner cars for people like GM said they would..and it, S very sad....because if people feel unsafe in recall car we should be able to get a loaner car...they are full of it.

- Justice, IL, USA

problem #86

Jan 122014

Cobalt

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the key became stuck in the ignition and was not able to be removed. The contact had to put the vehicle in park aggressively to remove the key on multiple occasions. The battery also had to be replaced due to the vehicle not turning off on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who reprogrammed the vehicle and issued a new key. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) but the dealer advised that part was not available to complete the required repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonable date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Oxford, NC, USA

problem #85

Jun 012011

Cobalt

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The battery was disconnected to and the key became stuck in the ignition. The vehicle was diagnosed by a dealer. The diagnosis was to replace the gear shift. The vehicle was repaired. The front drivers seat and the front passenger seat air bag illuminated when the front passenger and driver are in the vehicle or if no one is seated in the front passenger's side. The dealer was not able to diagnose the airbag failure. The failure still recurred. The battery had to be replaced and the codes had to be reprogrammed due to having to disconnect the battery to remove the key more than once. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not taken back to an authorized dealer for an inspection. The approximate failure mileage was 17000.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #84

Mar 072014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 196,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated while driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted and was taken to an authorized dealer, who could not diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 196,000. Updated 05/12/14

- Rockledge, FL, USA

problem #83

May 242010

Cobalt

  • 60,000 miles
My car was running and getting warmed up, then suddenly the locks start going off and on, repeatedly. It has continued to do this and the car will not stay locked. It does this whether it is off or on now. It is constant. The power locks no longer work and you can't use the door handle to unlock the car from the inside, you must manually pull the lock "up" and to lock the car you must manually push all the door lock knobs down, but that doesn't matter because it will not stay locked. In addition to this electrical issue the front speakers go off and on at random. Also, the turn signal remains on even after the full turn has been made. The car will randomly shut off while it's being driven. It doesn't matter if you are going 70 mph or 20 mph. Also the power steering went out on my car, that was recalled and has since been replaced, but the steering still malfunctions. My car was leaking fuel the summer of 2012, after the fuel pump module was replaced the gas tank had to be replaced months later because the car continued to leak gasoline. There are many other countless issues with this car. I am surprised and fortunate that there haven't been any injuries or fatalities while operating this death trap. I will never purchase another GM.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?