Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 1
Average Mileage:
52,270 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments

problem #10

Feb 212015


  • 105,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While making a left turn, the vehicle suddenly shut off and the driver lost control of the steering causing the vehicle to crash into a parked vehicle. During the incident, the driver suffered a back injury. The front seat passenger suffered a neck and back injury and the rear passenger seat occupant sustained a head and right side injury. All occupants received medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the failure was caused by a faulty ignition switch. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Oakley , CA, USA

problem #9

Jan 012014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
Vehicle still has not been repaired by dealer for ignition switch replacement. Reno guthrie Chevrolet 501 w hanover St new baden, il 62265.

- Mascoutah, IL, USA

problem #8

May 022014


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving at an unknown speed, the key became stuck in the ignition and the contact could not shut off the vehicle. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system:ignition:switch); however, the dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Baldwin, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 032014


  • miles


I find it incredible that it is taking months upon months to complete a simple parts replacement. I was notified in March 2014 of the recall and replacement of the ignition switch for my car and contacted the repair shop for my area that was assigned to do the repairs in March and was told they did not know anything about the recall. I received another letter in April and called the shop again on May 12, 2014 and was informed that the part had to be ordered and it would take 4 to 6 weeks, so I waited until June 4, 2014 to check in on when they could fix the switch and was told it would take 4 to 6 weeks again. I feel that the public is getting the run around in this situation and that the GM company is trying to delay this so that they won't have to fix the problem because time has run out. The parts manufacture has had plenty of time to make more or get more parts this is a stall tactic and I feel that I am taking a risk with my life every time I have to drive to work.

- Roswell, NM, USA

problem #6

Feb 012012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
Have not had an accident yet even though my automobile is the subject of a safety recall. The ignition switch has to be replaced and I have been advised the dealer will make the necessary repair at no cost to me. My problem is that even though I have contacted the dealer and have provided the requested information, it seems that parts are not available, at least to my dealer. I called them again today and the dealer says they have hundreds of repair requests but have only received eleven (11) switches. My Chevrolet dealer is herrin gear Chevrolet, 1685 high street, jackson, Ms. Are all Chevrolet dealers experiencing the same delay in receiving the necessary parts" the safety recall is 13454. If I have contacted the incorrect department will you please advise so that I can route my concerns to the appropriate people" thanks

- Richland, MS, USA

problem #5

Mar 012012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 44,700 miles
I was notified early March that my car was part of a recall for the ignition switch, safety recall 13454. It indicated parts would be available beinging in April 2014. I am seriously disturbed that it is still not fixed as I am a senior citizen and have missed numerous doctor's and physical therapy appointments for fear of taking the car out. I have followed all the directions to the letter, taking all items from my key ring. As noted it is a serious risk to me and my health and my state of mind. I want to know when my car will be repaired as I have called findlay Chevrolet and they keep giving me the same old story, "parts are not in yet!!" it is not acceptable to have to wait for such a long time to be able to have peace and comfort back in my life.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #4

Mar 282014


  • miles


I am the owner of a 2007 Chevy Cobalt. I was not made aware of the dangerous and deadly ignition switch recall until 3/28/14 when I mother told me of it. I immediately phoned GM and the response after giving the rep my VIN was I'm not sure what to tell you but yes there is a recall. I asked if she was able to show my car was part of the recall why I wasn't notified in the mail. I indicated that the car is registered and insured under my name only and that I have presently been living at the same address for 7 years. I've had the car for almost two years. She was not able to give me an answer. I am completely appalled as a Chevy owner as I have always told people Chevy's were a great car to own. I think you should be aware of this as others may be in the same position I was in and was never notified of this dangerous recall.

- South Portland, ME, USA

problem #3

Mar 192014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 148,000 miles
Ignition switch recall- GM refuses to provide a loaner vehicle until recall repair, with no date given on possible repair. Communication with customer service has stopped. They will not answer E-mails and there is no # to speak to someone live.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #2

Sep 172013


  • 84,000 miles
The floor shifter on my 2007 Cobalt will not lock out to prevent car from moving will ignition switch is off. The pin inside shifter works it's way out of shifter and prevents lock out mechanism from engaging. In order to start car, the ignition switch has to manually engaged by sticking finger underneath steering column and pushing the button to release ignition to start car. This is another defect that GM needs to address in recall notice with ignition switch problem. I have two small keys on ignition key ring...very light. This problem is more widespread than reported and the manufacturer needs to correct this flaw.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #1

Feb 212008


  • 2,000 miles
On February 21, 2008 3:21 a.M. I was called by allegheny general hospital (agh) in pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to inform me that my son was taken there by helicopter and was unresponsive. He was in a car accident and suffered severe brain trauma. Unfortunately he died on February 29, 2008. This was my son's first "new" vehicle. We purchased it on 12/3/2007 and he died in it 2 months later. The vehicle is a 2007 Chevy Cobalt. The accident was investigated and the police believe my son fell asleep at the wheel as he crossed the center line of a 2 lane road and hit another vehicle. The person in the other vehicle survived. After receiving the first recall notice about the ignition switch issue I contacted the car manufacturer (General Motors) to inquire about whether they would investigate the vehicle to determine if it was defective and could have been the cause of the accident. I was told by a GM representative that there was nothing they could do as they had filed bankruptcy. I continue to receive the recall notices which leads me to believe that my son's death is not included in the total number of Chevy Cobalt deaths. I first contact the us dept. Of justice and got nowhere. I then contacted your organization (NHTSA) - reference# 614104 and was told that I needed to go back to GM. It is my understanding that both organizations are involved in an investigation of GM however nobody at either organization seems to want to talk to me. I don't trust GM after some reading I have been doing however I plan to make that call. This is reliving a nightmare!

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?