Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,809 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 2 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #170

Feb 232016

Cobalt

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Initially smelled fuel while car was running (but not when turned off); a few days later, check engine light came on; immediately took to shop. Repair shop informs me that the fuel lines are rusted, leaking, and need to be replaced -- a serious safety issue! I did some searches online and found that numerous other owners of 2007 Cobalts are reporting the same issue with rusted, leaking fuel lines. General Motors needs to acknowledge this as a serious safety problem, issue a recall, and reimburse owners who have had to undergo this expensive repair.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #169

Feb 232011

Cobalt

  • 71,939 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that a strong fuel odor was present in and around the vehicle. There were no warning lights illuminated. The failure was persistent. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump module failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 71,939.

- Fort Washington, MD, USA

problem #168

Jan 072016

Cobalt

  • miles
The gas lines cracked and can smell gas constantly.

- Kuna, ID, USA

problem #167

Dec 272015

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 251,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A severe fuel leak detected on the ground after encountering gasoline vapor smell. This was determined to be defective fuel lines. I was notified by servicing dealer that the entire fuel delivery lines would need replaced at a cost of $700 plus. I believe these lines are located close to the exhaust / emissions systems. This is described and seen as an explosion/ fire hazard.

- Martinsville, IN, USA

problem #166

Dec 112015

Cobalt

  • 55,000 miles
We noticed a gas smell in the car, both on the road and stationary. The smell became more noticeable in late November, early December. My mechanic found a crack in the hose connection at the fuel pump. It broke off when he touched it. He replaced the fuel pump and hose lines.

- Chevy Chase, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #165

Nov 162015

Cobalt

  • 156,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while parked, there was a strong odor of fuel. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was taken to independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the fuel line was leaking due to corrosion and needed to be replaced. A dealer repaired the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 156,000.

- Normal, IL, USA

problem #164

Oct 212015

Cobalt

  • 154,711 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a letter, #12191, from GM in March 2013 stating special cover of my 07 Chevrolet Cobalt lt for a condition "where the plastic supply or return port on the fuel pump cracks and leaks fuel or fuel vapors. Fuel vapors, in the presence of an ignition source, could potentially cause a vehicle fire." At that time I was not experiencing the problem. However, on October 21, 2015 I started notice a powerful fuel odor from underneath the car when park after running. I remember the letter, #12191, that stated my car was covered, so I called the local Chevrolet dealer, jim trenary in troy, mo, and stated the problem and letter. The service technician stated they would raise the car up and check for fuel liquid leaking from the car. I told them that at this time only fuel vapors were leaking, and he said if that the case then it would not be fixed. This is in violation of the statement S in letter #12191. I also called the GM recall center and was told to just take it to dealer to tell me they wouldn't fix it. This resulted in me dropping the fuel tank, only to discover that indeed the supply line on the fuel pump was cracked. I order an ac delco mu 1970 direct oem replacement pump, and installed the unit. I contacted GM and they are refusing to cover the cost of the fuel pump. Basically GM is refusing to fix a special coverage of my car that could potentially lead to a fire that they said they would fix but are refusing to fix. I just wanted to make the NHTSA aware of what GM is not doing, which is fixing cars that could potential catch fire in presence of an ignition source. Their own words not mine.

- Winfield, MO, USA

problem #163

Oct 022015

Cobalt

  • 86,000 miles
My car started smelling like gas whenever I shut it off and I noticed it was leaking. Because I live in Maryland my car isn't covered under the recall for a defective fuel pump. Current recall for the fuel pump in other states is #090226. Why is this recall only in certain states? does it take someone dying for this recall to be performed in other states before either GM steps up or the government steps up and does the right thing. I will never again buy anything Chevrolet or GM. They knowingly sold people cars that were piles of defective crap. Now I have a car that I don't drive and the trade in value is virtually non existent, and most car dealers won't give you a dime for these defective cars.

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #162

Aug 242015

Cobalt

  • 108,708 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that there were strong fuel fumes emitting outside and inside the vehicle. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline) and the dealer stated the vehicle was not safe to drive and needed to be repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline). The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing and repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 108,708.

- Bayonne, NJ, USA

problem #161

Jun 182015

Cobalt

  • 94,823 miles
A plastic component in the fuel return cracked causing a gas leak that was unrecognizable at first. First noticed the scent a week after adopting a cat and assumed it must have peed in the car or something. At first, only noticed it after driving more than a few minutes and parking the car. When the car was left in park overnight, it would not smell in the morning, however once it was driven any distance, the smell would become apparent by the time the trip was done. The smell was faint and seemed to come from the passenger side of the car, but was not strong enough to be narrowed down more than that. Eventually the scent was strong enough that it could be recognized as gasoline and by that time it was clear that it was coming from behind the passenger seat. Upon lifting the back end to look at the car, the underside was wet with gasoline and the source of the leak could be isolated to the top of the tank. Took it in to be checked and fixed to find out it was a crack in a plastic component of the fuel return and the way the component is designed, the entire fuel pump had to be replaced. Received a notice from GM about potential fuel leaks and submitted my information only to learn that the current bulletin pertains to the fuel tank itself and all other service bulletins related to this particular issue are for different car batches sold mostly to warmer climate states so GM will not reimburse for the repair.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #160

Aug 032015

Cobalt

  • 184,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel lines are corroded to the point that they are leaking. Fuel/gas odor can be detected around vehicle.

- Dow, IL, USA

problem #159

Sep 242015

Cobalt

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While the vehicle was parked, the contact noticed a strong fuel odor coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Westminister, MD, USA

problem #158

Sep 152015

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I have a 2007 Chevy Cobalt. I have been experiencing strong gas odor from outside the car after driving and inside my car while driving.no huge leak but the odor is making me sick :( I know there is a recall but I live in Maryland....can someone please help. I have 2 young kids and having to pay to fix this will be extremely hard. Especially when lots of these cars are having this issue. Please make Maryland a part of this recall better yet all states.....since these cars are in all states thank you.

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #157

Jul 152015

Cobalt

  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving at various speeds, a strong fuel odor was detected behind the vehicle. The contact also stated that fuel leaked heavily from the rear of the vehicle while it was in motion. The check engine light was illuminated while the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel valve and the fuel pump was damaged and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and also sent the contact additional information about the failure. The dealer refused to do the repair due to the vehicle's mileage being more than 150,000. The failure mileage was approximately 170,000.

- Pikeville , TN, USA

problem #156

Aug 012015

Cobalt

  • 78,000 miles
The fuel lines were leaking. Apparently there are two fuel lines wrapped in an encasement with a vent tube. The car only had about 78,000 miles on it when this hazard was discovered. It is only a 2007, but the fuel lines are not made well at all. Because they are in that encasement with the vent they rust quickly. It caused a very strong odor, and gas was visibly leaking out of the back end of the car. The driver had headaches every time after driving the car. The car was barely starting as well. After putting the key in and turning it, it would take awhile before the car actually started. The driver took it into the Chevy dealership where it was purchased thinking it was the cracked fuel tank inlet control valve special service problem that had just been issued in August 2015. That would have meant it would be fixed with no charge to the driver. The dealership said it was neither related to that issue nor to another special service issue dealing with leaking gas that the driver had already gotten fixed in April 2014. The dealership said it was instead related to the fuel lines rusting. The dealership said it was very dangerous to be driving and that it would cost at least $659.38 to get it fixed. The driver eventually got it fixed somewhere else for $250 less. In the meantime the driver continued to get headaches and feel very unsafe driving the car. The driver knows of other Chevy Cobalts with this exact same issue. It should be looked into further before a serious incident occurs. Chevrolet should take responsibility for this immediately and pay for it to be fixed on these new 2007 cars!

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #155

Jul 102015

Cobalt

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that there was a strong odor of fuel emitting under the vehicle, which was progressing. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline). The approximate failure mileage was 122,000. Updated 11/09/15

- O Fallon, MO, USA

problem #154

Jun 102015

Cobalt

  • 75,104 miles
In June 2015, we smelled fuel under car. The next day we took the car immediately to our mechanic who replaced the fuel pump at a cost of $531.85. In August of 2015, we received a letter from Chevrolet that indicated our Cobalt may have a cracked fuel tank inlet control valve. The letter said that the vehicle may emit a strong fuel odor from the rear of the vehicle which is what we detected. The letter indicated we could be reimbursed if we submitted the requested documents if we already had the vehicle repaired. I submitted all documents to our local Chevrolet dealer but was denied reimbursement.

- Ferguson, MO, USA

problem #153

Jul 012015

Cobalt

  • 50,000 miles
SE light came on followed by strong gas odor in cabin and surrounding vehicle. Parked vehicle. Next day strong fuel odor surrounding vehicle. Investigation found gas leaking on ground under fuel tank. Took to mechanic who discovered both plastic supply and return ports on fuel pump cracked. Had to replace fuel pump. ($467). Research found 2 recalls for this problem 10/29/2009 and 9/19/2012 neither of which covered vehicles in North Carolina. The 2012 recall did expand into nc and surrounding states but for 2006 model vehicles not 2007. NHTSA # 12V459000 (09) and # 09V419000 (12) it is my contention GM should have included all states in these recalls or have a reimbursement plan in effect if this problem occurs in areas not covered. Two separate recalls for the same problem clearly indicates GM was aware of the cracking ports on the fuel pump. (I would appreciate a reimbursement) in a separate, yet very closely related issue, I now have a letter dated August 2015 about a cracked fuel tank control valve. Vehicles that have had tank removal procedures (replace fuel pump July) are "especially at risk" for this condition. SE light is back on, slight hint of gas fumes, and erratic engine performance especially after refueling. I now have to follow up on this gas tank issue.

- East Bend, NC, USA

problem #152

Aug 172015

Cobalt

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, fuel fumes emitted from the fuel tank. The failure recurred on one occasion. The vehicle was not taken a dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure and the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline). The approximate failure mileage was 122,000.

- Chickamauga, GA, USA

problem #151

Aug 132015

Cobalt

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that fuel fumes emitted into the cabin from the rear of the vehicle near the fuel tank. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic. The technician stated that the fuel line was leaking at the fuel tank. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Matthews , NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?