Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
66,529 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Jul 212011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I began to smell a strong odor of gasoline from time to time when driving my car. Over time, the smell became stronger and I noticed I was having to fill my tank more frequently. It got to the point where I could actually see a leak underneath of my car. I took it to an autoshop to be looked at and they mentioned work needing to be done on my fuel pump, but I found out about a recall on 2007 and 2006 Chevrolet Cobalts (I drive a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt). The recall mentioned a leak, an odor and a problem with the fuel pump. I contacted Chevrolet and was told that the recall didn't concern my specific VIN. I'm still extremely concerned, seeing as the problems I'm having with my Chevrolet Cobalt sound identical to the issues raised in the recall of these other Chevrolet Cobalts. I've already had to take my Cobalt to the dealership because of the power steering recall. Fyi, see below. Thank you! recall date: Oct 29, 2009 model affected: 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Summary: General Motors is recalling certain model year 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt and Saturn ion vehicles originally sold in or currently registered in the states of Arizona and Nevada; and model year 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt, Pontiac G5 and Saturn ion vehicles originally sold in or currently registered in the states of Arizona, California, Florida, Nevada and Texas. The plastic supply or return port on the modular reservoir assembly may crack. If either of these ports develops a crack, fuel will leak from the area. If the crack becomes large enough, fuel may be observed dripping onto the ground and vehicle performance may be affected. Consequence: Fuel leakage, in the presence of an ignition source, could result in a fire.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #39

Jul 302011

Cobalt

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While the vehicle was parked the contact smelled a strong fuel odor in the exterior of the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) that may be related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact they were unable to verify if the VIN was included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #38

Jul 272011

Cobalt

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact smelled fumes inside the vehicle, when he noticed a fuel leak at the top of the fuel tank. A private mechanic confirmed that there was a fuel leak with the tank. The manufacturer advised the contact that his VIN was not included in recall number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump). The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- Gardner, KS, USA

problem #37

Aug 022011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 17,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel leak around the top of fuel tank. Strong fuel smell in garage could have caught house on fire if ignited by a spark or other source.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #36

Jul 032011

Cobalt

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that there was a strong odor of fuel inside and outside of the vehicle at any given time. The vehicle exhibited no fuel leakage. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump). Although the contact experienced the same failure as mentioned in the recall, the vehicle was ineligible for the repair as a result of not being currently registered or sold in the United States as indicated within the recall. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 21,000.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #35

Jul 102011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Strong smell of gas when im driving the car in and outside. The car has trouble starting, I had it checked and was told there was a fuel leak. Called GM and was told even though their was a special coverage for my state they would not fix the leak. This is a dangerous leak due to a faulty plastic part. I hope my family doesn't die from inhaling fumes or blow up. Kinda makes you think its another pinto exploding gas tank deal. I guess they wont do anything until someone dies. I have had many problems with this car starting a week after I bought it new. Knocking when the engine starts, using oil now, airbags not working, small electrical things keep going wrong. When I take it in im told they cant reproduce the problems.

- Sevierville, TN, USA

problem #34

Jul 092011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 82,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel leak around the top of fuel tank. Fuel smell.

- Saginaw, TX, USA

problem #33

Jun 182011

Cobalt

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. When the contact started the vehicle, a strong odor of fuel emitted inside and outside of the vehicle. In addition, a significant amount of fuel leaked onto the ground. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they stated the fuel tank would need to be removed in order to perform a diagnostic test. The failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact drove the vehicle to his residence for an inspection and detected the inexpensive plastic lines cracked on the fuel tank module. NHTSA recall campaign id number 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump) was related to the defect. The VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000.

- Sykesville, MD, USA

problem #32

Jun 122011

Cobalt

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet colbalt. The contact stated that fuel began to leak while driving at an unknown speed, due to a crack on the fuel pump module. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the fuel pump module was replaced. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The failure and current mileages were 100,000. Updated 08/11/11 updated 3/05/2012

- Cinncinatti, OH, USA

problem #31

Jun 082011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
I smelled a strong gas odor and the minutes later half of my gas was leaking out onto the parking lot with gas so high it is expensive took it to the dealership said I had a crack in my filler neck of the fuel tank and that it would be $1150 to get it fixed.

- Spanish Fort , AL, USA

problem #30

Mar 012011

Cobalt

  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that there was a strong gasoline smell from the vehicle interior. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump was cracked and needed to be replace. The mechanic also made the contact aware of NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) for her year, make and model vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted who advised that contact was not included in the recall and would be responsible for any repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 102,000.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #29

Mar 312011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked and shut off when he could smell an overpowering odor of gasoline. While having the vehicle repaired by an authorized dealer for an unrelated failure, the contact was informed that the fuel tank was leaking. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) but was advised by the dealer that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 55,000.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #28

Mar 012011

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that she smelled a strong gasoline odor. After a few months of inhaling the fumes she was hospitalized and given antibiotics. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic who advised her that the fuel tank assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired for the fuel tank assembly. The manufacturer was contacted and advised her that only certain states were included in a recall, which did not include her state. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 90,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Bena, VA, USA

problem #27

Apr 202011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
2007 Chevy Cobalt leaking fuel from fuel tank. Know problem, GM issued recall in several states. Called dealership, was advised vehicle was not recalled in Indiana. Offered to sell replacement tank at cost of $1200.

- Avon, IN, USA

problem #26

Nov 182010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 82,030 miles
I own a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt that on November 18, 2010 gasoline began to leak out of the gas tank at the fuel pump. Approximately 10 gallons of gas leaked over about 60 miles of road before the problem was diagnosed. There exists a recall on 2007 Chevy Cobalts in a few states but not in Virginia. This is exactly the same safety failure as noted in other states but the recall does not include identical vehicles title in Virginia. The VIN is included in the recall but not Virginia titled cars.

- Salem, VA, USA

problem #25

Nov 132010

Cobalt

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that when driving or while the vehicle was parked she would smell a gasoline odor and there was also a fuel leak. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who informed the contact that she needed to replace the return ports for the fuel system due to it being fractured. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000. Updated 04/15/11 updated 12/19/2011

- Oak Grove, MO, USA

problem #24

Sep 152010

Cobalt 4WD 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Connection to the fuel pump broke. Strong smell of gasoline in the cab alerted the driver to the problem. Gasoline was found leaking from the car. No accident, bump, or other event leading up to the failure noticed. Very unsafe. Part was immediately replaced. Fuel tank had to be taken off to get at the part, which was time intensive, and part was expensive.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #23

Nov 012010

Cobalt

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving at various speeds, the contact smelled a strong odor of fuel inside and outside of the of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they diagnosed that the fuel pump module exhibited a crack. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump). The vehicle was not included in the recall defect due to the vehicle not being originally sold in or currently registered in the required states mentioned in the recall. The vehicle was not being driven. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 38,000.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #22

Oct 292010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
My 2007 Chevy Cobalt has a leak in the gas tank, which is coming from the fuel pump. There was a recall on 2006 and 2007 but since my car was purchased in Florida 2007 I am not covered.this is a hazardous car and can catch on fire. When the car is on a flat surface it leaks like a faucet. When in a angle it does not leak because of the position of the fuel pump. I call GM and they said since my car was purchased in Florida 2007 I was not covered. That is not my fault. They also stated since I had high miles they probably could not do nothing anyway. I am still paying for this car, and this repair is going to be expensive. They should be held liable for their defected cars they send out. They are lucky that when me and my daughter was driving in it did not blow up, this would have cost them more money than just to repair it. For this very reason, that is why americans buy foreign cars due to reliability. Its sad. I am a loyal customer to GM and I only buy their cars, but if I am considered a loyal customer, then where is their loyalty to me. Signed very disappointed GM loyal customer!

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #21

Oct 222010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 28,250 miles
Smell of fuel odor on passenger rear of vehicle. Inspection revealed fuel leak at the plastic supply or return port on the modular reservoir assembly.

- Shepherd, MT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?