Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
35 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
30 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,699 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Mar 172014

Cobalt

  • 47,728 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle would exhibit an abnormal noise when started, the key was difficult to turn in the ignition and the driver's side door would only open manually. Additionally, the vehicle stalled without warning as the contact decelerated to a traffic stop and the vehicle could not be immediately restarted. The contact also stated that the air bag warning light would sporadically illuminate. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and was waiting for the necessary parts to complete the repair. The contact believed that the time frame for the defect to be remedied was unreasonable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 47,728.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #35

Jan 052007

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
Around two months ago my car locked it self while the keys was in the ignition! then service air bag soon light came on and has stayed on! just last week the engine slowed down like it was going to shut off! I'm 58 years old and disabled and live on very little money each month! so I've been unable to have my car looked at and fixed! I'm frighten to drive my car now ! please help! god bless, thank you!

- Ontario, OH, USA

problem #34

Oct 152008

Cobalt

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was driving approximately 25 mph when another vehicle crashed into the front of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop where the dealer advised that the height of the other vehicle probably did not trigger the air bag sensor. The contact believed that the air bags should have deployed because the front end was completely destroyed. The manufacture was not alerted of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000. The VIN was not available.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

problem #33

Apr 222013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

4/22/13 approx 7:30 am, approached red-light, gently applying brakes. Car started to lose power! dashboard lights dimmed while I was slowing down. This has been happening for over a yr. As soon as light turned green, car felt like it was losing power and was going to stall out! (like if you were to run out of gas. Stepped on the gas, as soon as I saw the light turn green, to try to prevent the stall out, and about 1/4 into intersection, another car was running a caution light, which turned to red... my car regained power with a thrust of the engine, which took me into the path of the other vehicle who hit me at about 35 mph, which caused us to spin completely around in the middle of intersection. Airbags did not deploy. The police report stated I failed to yield the right of way. In part that is true, as I felt I had to apply the gas to the car to keep it from "stalling! heavy damage to driver's side, front end, hood, bumper and support beam by engine. There are many recalls on this car. 5/9/2012, fuel odor or spotting on ground; 9/16/10-loss of power steering assist; 3/1/2010-recall 10V073000 power steering motor replacement; 1022/2009-fuel pump module replacement. In the pass three yrs I advised East syracuse Chevy dealer that my dashboard lights, lighted areas radio, etc; go in and out like the car has an electrical problem, door left-open, lights, low-fuel, single lights chimes all don't work. Dealer advised me there is a short in the dash somewhere causing all these problems, radio speakers are all connected I would have to pay to repair which was over $2,000. Remotes don't work. I have had many front end problems with this vehicle, I.e. sway bar, steering column bushings; struts'steering components, linkage/cv drive axle boots, control arms; repairs;11/30/11, 2/16/2011.

- North Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #32

Jan 122014

Cobalt

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the key became stuck in the ignition and was not able to be removed. The contact had to put the vehicle in park aggressively to remove the key on multiple occasions. The battery also had to be replaced due to the vehicle not turning off on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who reprogrammed the vehicle and issued a new key. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) but the dealer advised that part was not available to complete the required repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonable date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Oxford, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #31

Mar 122014

Cobalt

  • miles
It's very disturbing to receive a safety recall notice in the mail. It's even more disturbing to be advised that your car cannot be repaired asap because "parts are not currently available." Really" it's come to light this was known as far back as 2001 and parts are not currently available?"!! even by keeping the ignition key all by itself on the key ring is no guarantee that this issue will not occur. This is the second recall I've had on this car since I purchased it in 2009. I've owned a number of cars in the past and none of them ever faced any type of recall whatsoever. Needless to say, I'm very unhappy and very unimpressed.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #30

Jun 012011

Cobalt

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The battery was disconnected to and the key became stuck in the ignition. The vehicle was diagnosed by a dealer. The diagnosis was to replace the gear shift. The vehicle was repaired. The front drivers seat and the front passenger seat air bag illuminated when the front passenger and driver are in the vehicle or if no one is seated in the front passenger's side. The dealer was not able to diagnose the airbag failure. The failure still recurred. The battery had to be replaced and the codes had to be reprogrammed due to having to disconnect the battery to remove the key more than once. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not taken back to an authorized dealer for an inspection. The approximate failure mileage was 17000.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #29

Oct 182013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 104,014 miles
I was traveling on the freeway when I was clipped by a diesel truck on my drivers left rear. I spun counter clockwise in front of diesel and went straight towards center divider, upon observing a vehicle in the same lane my vehicle was head towards. Both vehicles made contact hitting me on my drivers front panel and the Cobalt hitting straight into center divider no air bags were deployed. Injuries were sustained, car was a total loss. This vehicle has nothing but problem twice in 2013 the key would break off in the ignition and were not fitting correctly causing replacement.

- Downey , CA, USA

problem #28

Jul 152010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
On July 15, 2010 I was hit head-on by another driver. Pictures of my Chevy Cobalt clearly show the driver side airbag didn't deploy correctly on the ride side of the steering wheel. As a result, I suffered multiple injuries, most of the injuries are on the right side of my body. Dislocated and shattered right foot, right wrist fracture, cut in right knee, disfigured stomach, need left hip replaced, also have depression, ptsd, anxiety, long and short term memory loss, chronic pain, degenerative disk disease, both knees and arms weak. Totally disabled, unable to work. How do I sue GM?

- Forest Grove, OR, USA

problem #27

Jul 152010

Cobalt

  • 77,000 miles
On July 15, 2010 I was hit head-on by another driving at high speed near warrenton, Oregon. Four vehicles in all were involved. I'm am totally disabled. Suffered multiple injuries, most on the right side of my body. Am unable to work. Pictures of my Chevy Cobalt steering wheel clearly shows the airbag didn't deploy correctly. Thus leaving me with ongoing pain. Dislocated my right foot, six surgeries in all. Fractured my right wrist, key went into my right knee, bruised right breast and tissue damage, both knees and arms weak, bruising from seat belt and disfigured right foot, stomach, and right hip. Suffer also from ptsd, long and short term memory, depression, agitation, degenerative disk disease, migraines, and more. Pictures clearly show the airbag did not deploy correctly on the right side of the steer wheel. How do I sue GM.

- Forest Grove, OR, USA

problem #26

Feb 192014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,621 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL- the contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated while driving approximately 58 mph over a patch of ice the vehicle began to slide and it crashed into an embankment. The vehicle rolled over three times and then landed on all four tires. The vehicle came to rest on its top. The air bags did not deploy. The driver sustained a broken collar bone, bruises to kidney, ribs and other parts of the body including minor head injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was completely damaged and towed to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 81,621. Rk update 4/7/14 va updated 04/11/2014

- Shelbina, MO, USA

problem #25

Jan 152014

Cobalt

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was driving approximate 25 mph when the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The driver's air bag failed to deploy and the contact sustained minor injuries. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed to determine the cause of the air bag failure or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Oklahoma City , OK, USA

problem #24

Sep 162013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 68,886 miles
Driver information center showed message: "service airbag soon". took car to dealership, told that clockspring was bad. Replaced clockspring, took car to dealership, told that wiring was bad. Repaired wiring, took car to dealership, told that rf airbag sensor was bad. Airbag system has been broken for nearly 2 months now.

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #23

Feb 122013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the clock spring was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 75,000. Updated 11/25/13 the emergency lever would not hold the emergency brakes in place. A piece in the lever would not let cables hold tension. The consumer had the brake lever assembly replaced. The steering wheel coil had to replaced, to rectify the air bag light problem.

- Gary , IN, USA

problem #22

Jul 052013

Cobalt

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that he started the engine and the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Windburn, PA, USA

problem #21

Jan 072013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the front passenger side air bag warning light illuminated. The failure occurred as the passenger's seat was occupied. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic and it was determined that the passenger's side wiring harness was chaffed and caused the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 48,000 and the current mileage was 50,000.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #20

May 062011

Cobalt

  • 45,000 miles
Driving down the road and the airbag on the passengers side shuts off with a passenger in the seat. Service airbag light goes on. Shut the car off and restart then it will be fine for a while. I think it is sensor on the seatbelt retractor.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #19

Mar 192012

Cobalt

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt ltz. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the driver crashed into another vehicle and the airbags did not deploy. The driver sustained injuries to he neck and back. The police were contacted and a report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic pending an investigation. The manufacturer was contacted but had not assisted the contact. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileages were approximately 40,000.

- Grinnell, IA, USA

problem #18

Jan 202012

Cobalt

  • 67,000 miles
After being rear-ended by a vehicle going 80+ mph an hour into the back of the Chevy Cobalt going 50mph and rolling into a 20 foot bar ditch, no air bags deployed.

- Atoka, OK, USA

problem #17

Sep 122011

Cobalt

  • 52,000 miles
Service air bag light is constantly on. Dealer says its caused by sitting something in the passenger seat that isn't very heavy (purse, book, shopping bag, etc) and "confusing" the sensor, though I do not place anything in the seat. When the service light is on, the airbag will not deploy in an accident. Was told by a dealer service manager that they really weren't sure how to/if they could fix it.

- Asheboro, NC, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?