Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
55 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
46 / 3
Average Mileage:
56,550 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 10 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #377

Dec 032010

Cobalt

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while attempting to park, the steering wheel locked and the vehicle abnormally accelerated to 11 mph before crashing into another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy yet there were no injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not repaired or inspected. The VIN was unavailable. The current mileage was approximately 55,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 53,000.

- West Allis, WI, USA

problem #376

Dec 302010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 107,577 miles
I have a 2007 Chevy Cobalt took it in July 2010 to have power steering unit replaced as per recall notice I received was not having any problem with the one presently on the vehicle. In Dec 2010 started noticing problems with the steering locking up got an appointment with the local dealer where I live which was not until Jan 2011 due to holidays dropped of my vehicle to be checked when I picked it up was told the power steering unit was bad and they would have to order it then they told me I would have to pay for it was not covered by warranty the new part they had put on in July 2010 was only six months old called GM customer service and was told vehicle had to many miles on it and cost of replacing would not be covered it is my understanding that there has been multiple issues of the same type since 2005 and has not been corrected my question is how many other people have had the same problem I am having after the unit has been replaced my other concern is what will happen if we lose power steering while driving my safety and others on the road may be at risk if this happens.

- Little Mt , SC, USA

problem #375

Jan 172011

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. On January 17, 2011 the repairs for recall 10V073000 (steering: Electric power assist system) were performed on the vehicle. The next day while driving approximately 5 mph, the steering wheel became stiff. The traction control and check engine lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer but the dealer inspected and stated that the diagnostic code indicated a faulty traction control module. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that they would call the dealer. The manufacturer verified what the dealer stated. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage was 65,252.

- Commerce, CA, USA

problem #374

Oct 012010

Cobalt

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle violently jerked while she was driving. The contact believed the failure was related to recall 10V073000 (steering: Electric power assist system). The vehicle was repaired by the dealer however the jerking continued. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current mileage was approximately 78,000. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #373

May 212009

Cobalt

  • 40,862 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving at an unknown speed, the contact drove over a pothole and the rear passenger side wheel bent abnormally. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic and the mechanic replaced the wheel. Later, the failure occurred again when the contact drove over another pothole. The vehicle was again, taken to a local mechanic and the bent wheel was replaced. The contact stated that on a later date, the vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where the front vertical bushing on both front lower control arms were replaced as well as both end links for the front sway bar. In addition, the contact stated that the steering shaft and column assembly would also need replacing. He called the manufacturer and they advised him that they could not assist with the cost of the repairs. The vehicle was not repaired for the steering failures. The failure mileage was 40,862 and the current mileage was 58,000.

- Oak Creek , WI, USA

problem #372

Nov 162010

Cobalt

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph when the powering steering warning indicator illuminated and the power steering would not operate causing difficulty in turning the steering wheel. The vehicle was driven to the side of the road and the engine was turned off, and then restarted. The vehicle resumed for two minutes and the failure reoccurred. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they advised of a recall and informed that the power system would need to be replaced. The contact planned to take the vehicle to the dealer for the recall repairs under the NHTSA campaign id number 10V073000 (steering: Electric power assist system). The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Riverton, WY, USA

problem #371

Sep 152010

Cobalt

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was driving 20 mph when the steering wheel began to jerk violently and the power steering assist failed. The contact stated that the failure would occur sporadically and when it did, the vehicle would have to be shut off for two days before the power steering would independently reset. The air bag warning light also remained illuminated. The vehicle was never taken to the dealer for diagnosis or repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #370

Oct 312006

Cobalt

  • 369 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact noticed many problems with the vehicle since the date of purchase in October 2006. The contact stated that the alignment was incorrect so the vehicle was taken back to the dealer for alignment immediately. Also, the check engine light, and the air bag light would illuminate intermittently so sensors were replaced by the dealer. The steering column and power steering motor, headliner. Catalytic converter, wheel bearings, struts, and the heating/cooling system were all replaced. The vehicle also stalled completely on an intermittent basis. The contact stated that the problems were consistent. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current mileage was approximately 104,000. The failure mileage was 369.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #369

Oct 042010

Cobalt

  • 68,000 miles
When the vehicle is turned off, the steering column locks as does the ignition and the car cannot be restarted. The car has been stranded several times due to this defect.

- Lake Ridge, VA, USA

problem #368

Oct 042010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 118,423 miles
I have just got back from work, and on my way home my power steering went, I live in a city so this is very dangerous, also I have 3 small children, this is the first time this has happen and as I have read the comments I assume this isn't the last time, this car is a piece of [xxx], I have told many people not to buy this car, since I got it I have to do alot of part replacements which aren't cheap.. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Halifax, 00, USA

problem #367

Jul 152009

Cobalt

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2007 Chevy Cobalt in 2008, with approx. 30,000 miles. When I had around 35,000, miles it started to get loud, rattling noises, like metal on metal, coming from under the car. They usually happen when I go over ripples or bumps in the road, at slower speeds. I took my car back to the dealer and asked him if they had heard of any problems or received any technical service bulletins about this problem and he said they had not. (July 2009) I told him to inform me if they did. In the meantime, my warranty expired. At that time, I had already started to research the problem online and network with some other persons, locally, to see if they had any such problem. Well lo and behold, it seems that there was a technical bulletin issued on 11-9-2005 (# 050232005) that details this problem. And yes, apparently, other persons that I have talked to, and also with the research that I did online, definitely showed that many others are also having this same problem! I feel that as a responsible auto manufacturer that GM needs to correct this horrible rattle.a recall for this is in order, especially since they were aware of this since 2005. I do not feel that we, ,the consumer, should be responsible for this repair, as GM is trying to repair their image, "do the right" and fix this at no cost to the consumer--recall.

- North Smithfield, RI, USA

problem #366

Sep 222010

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving approximately 35 mph, there was a loss of power steering without warning. The contact experienced difficulty turning the steering wheel. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired for the malfunction. There was a recall associated with the defect under NHTSA campaign id number 10V073000 (steering: Electric power assist system). The contact was uncertain whether the VIN was included in the recall and was in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was unknown.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #365

Sep 182010

Cobalt

  • 33,000 miles
I am a owner of a 2007 Chevy Cobalt and I just hit the 33,000 mile mark. As I was driving on the freeway at a speed of about 60 mph, my steering got really hard when I was turning on a small curve. Then on the dash board "power steering" came out and it started making a beeping noise. Since that happen I exited the freeway, as I was turning into a save area to check the car, the steering became impossible to maneuver. "

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #364

Aug 242010

Cobalt

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated she was involved in a crash in which she could not recall the events. A police report was available. There were no reported injuries. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the steering wheel locked, which caused the crashed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 10,000.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #363

Aug 102010

Cobalt

  • 37,800 miles
Well I bought a 2007 Chevy Cobalt 2 weeks ago. They did the recalls on it and the power steering column I then drove the car down a gravel driveway at my girl friends dads house and the front end sounded like it was about to fall apart. So I took it back to the dealership, they then basically disassembled my entire dash and replaced the steering column. Unfortunately in the process of doing this they tied practically all my wiring in knots and taped it all up with electric tape. The steering still rattles and the problem is better but still exist. I don't think dealerships should be selling cars with this defect. I mean I thought I was buying a car in good condition with 37,000 miles and I end up with the hunk of crap.

- Maiden, NC, USA

problem #362

Aug 152010

Cobalt

  • 24,969 miles
I was driving and suddenly lost power steering when attempting to make a right turn. Continued driving though very difficult to even change lanes. Once I reached my destination, had extreme difficulties in parking my vehicle. I turned off the vehicle, turned it on again and at that point power steering was restored. No where in the vehicle manual did it indicate I can turn off the car and restart should I suddenly lose power steering. I have already contacted Chevrolet and they informed me of the power steering recall of which I never received a recall notice as well as a recall for the fuel pump modular, again, never received a recall notice. I have scheduled an appointment for tomorrow to have my vehicle serviced at a Chevrolet dealer to have both items fixed.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #361

Jul 032010

Cobalt

  • 88,100 miles
Hi my name is [xxx]-I have bought a 2007 Chevy Cobalt lt. And it has a pretty dangerous failure with the power steering. It happened to me the first time when ever I was driving on the highway, I didn't know so I almost crash, I was about to turn and that's when ever I realize that my power steering was totally gone. It was so hard that I had to used both hands to turn the car to the side. Now its happening every 5 minutes, and I need to turn my car off and them turn it on. So I can reset the electronic power steering.. they need to recall this cars. Its not fair that we have to paid more than $1500 for something that they already know that its happening. How can a 2007 car, had such a dangerous failure like this.. they need to recall all Chevy Cobalts. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #360

Jul 272010

Cobalt

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was driving at 55 mph when the steering wheel became stiff and extremely difficult to maneuver. The contact took the vehicle to a local dealer and was advised to have an authorized dealer diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was awaiting an email response from the manufacturer. The failure and current mileage was 52,000.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #359

Jul 152010

Cobalt

  • 40,000 miles
Power steering my wheel tightens up and it is very hard for me to turn and switch curvey lanes.

- Phila, PA, USA

problem #358

Jul 172010

Cobalt

  • miles
We were simply driving to the hairdresser, and my mother complained that the power steering sign came on and she was hardly able to turn the steering wheel. The Cobalt is a 2007 and has about 44,000 kilometers on it.

- Kitchener, Ontario, Canada, 00, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?