Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
55 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
46 / 3
Average Mileage:
55,931 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 14 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #291

Feb 072010


  • 49,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving over an hour at 60 mph the power steering warning light illuminated. When she turned the vehicle off and on so that it would reset. The dealer was called and stated that they would diagnose the failure. The failure mileage was 49,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #290

Feb 242010


  • 57,930 miles
I had been out of town and had driven 200 almost non stop, interstate travel all day, when while driving on the interstate my power steering went out. It became difficult to keep my car steady and had severe difficulty following the twists of the road as the wheel was very difficult to turn, even just to change lanes, or follow the curves of the road through road work. I had to swerve to miss a truck that swerved into my lane, and almost crashed due to the fact my wheel was so difficult to turn. I was able to make it to the side of the road, so I stopped, turned off my vehicle for a few minutes, turned it back on and worked fine. Went 4 miles, and it went out again. I drove another 60 miles and it didn't come back on. I have 58000 miles on my vehicle. I was told my vehicle is no longer under warranty so any work done to it will be out of my pocket.

- Falkville, AL, USA

problem #289

Oct 212009


  • 72,000 miles
Electronic steering failure on 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Started in Oct 2009 power steering does not work: This happens daily after you drive it a mile or so. I replaced the electronic steering in Nov 2009 the car drove fine until Jan. 2010 now the second electronic steering has gone out also. I still have the original electronic steering column, we nee a recall on this because I changed the part once and I can not afford to do it again. Also, this is very dangerous!.

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #288

Feb 012010


  • 39,000 miles


My power steering goes out multiple times per trip. The power steering failed light comes up on my screen. I put the car in neutral and start the car and its fine for about 2 minutes and it goes out again. Chevy dealer says they have never heard about it. I almost ran into my brick subdivision sign this morning because of it. If this problem is not fixed soon, I hate to say it but something tragic is going to happen to someone that is very weak and old that can not control the car. GM needs to do something about this now!!!!!!!!!!

- Niceville, FL, USA

problem #287

Dec 202009


  • 64,000 miles
I have a 2007 Chevy Cobalt and I am writing this complaint due to loosing the power steering on my car. The power steering is electric so it was hard for anyone to figure out what was going on with my car, I had to take it to the Chevy dealer and they knew exactly what was going on. The power steering went out and the power steering light came on, on my dashboard. I restarted my car and the power steering kick back in, but after that one time, the power steering would go out every three seconds and there was nothing I could do but restart the car no matter where I was once the power steering went out. I have a 6 year old son and this scared me extremely badly. I am a single mother who works daily to provide for my son, and other family members, it is imperative that I have my vehicle. Unfortunately the dealer had to keep my car and the insurance company does not give you a car while your car is in the shop, the funny thing is neither does Chevy, although they knew what the issue was they would not provide a car for me to use while they had my car. This also happened right before christmas, so the christmas money I had saved for my sons christmas went into getting my steering fixed which cost me $600. So needless to say, there went christmas. And according to Chevy I had to pay the entire lump sum before I could even move my car, so I had no choice but to pay the entire amount. I am very disappointed in Chevy for this issue, my sons safety is utterly important to me and I only got this car because I was under the impression it was a safe car, had I known about this power steering issue I would never have chosen Chevy in the first place.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #286

Jan 242010


  • miles
My 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt has steering wheel problems. Everytime I turn on my car power steering flashes about a minute or so after and immediately the wheel is very hard to turn. This makes it difficult to turn in any direction and even to change lanes. It is so hard that I cannot park correctly and I am scared to even try to parallel park because the last time I tried I hit another car. I do not understand why this issue is not being dealt with immediately because it is putting people in unbearable situations. I was told that I could only get it fixed at the car dealership where I purchased the vehicle from but what they would charge is beyond what I can pay. Something needs to be done now about this problem because it can only lead to more disastrous events. I vote for a recall immediately!!!

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #285

Feb 222007


  • 39,000 miles


Event: Just driving alone look down at the message board and it says powersteering failure, and just like that the powersteering was gone. I was able to maneuver the car over to the side of the road, turn the ignition off and back on which worked for about 2 min and the problem recurred. The car is very difficult to steer without powersteering and the way the problem occurs could easily cause a accident I would think after only 39,000 mile that part would not be worn out. The problem still exist, I have no other transportation. Just driving on alert hoping someone will take notice of the issue.

- Crandall, TX, USA

problem #284

Feb 242010


  • 32,000 miles
Steering shakes alot on rough roads and sometimes when applying the break. We brought the car in to the dealer a dozen times. They said they do not know what the problem is. We brought it to different dealers and they said it might be the I-shaft we have not fixed this yet because we are still looking for a for sure answer what it is. My future mother in law has a similar car but different year and has the same problem. The started of the shaking both cars had 32000 miles on them. Since the start both cars has replaced struts, control arm and tie rods. And we are looking to replace them again. What is causing this shaking?

- Menomonie, WI, USA

problem #283

Feb 062010


  • 52,000 miles
2007 Chevy Cobalt. Power steering intermittently goes out while car in use. Happened 1st time, then 2 weeks later happened again. Now(3 weeks after 1st incident) happens daily, several times a day. Turning the ignition off and restarting fixes the problem. Taking the car into Chevy dealership for repair on Friday. Now not driving the car in case more serious issues could happen.

- Greenville, OH, USA

problem #282

Jan 032010


  • 40,000 miles
My daughter's Chevrolet Cobalt 2007 car's power steering turns-off while driving and makes it a hazard during driving, especially for weaker individuals. The stiffness in steering makes it seem that it is locked. Research online shows that even earlier models have this problem. Chevrolet engineered making power steering powered electronically vice hydraulics and fluids as with most vehicles. And now, we find that there is no recall from Chevrolet and to repair it will cost about $2K. About 1/8 the cost of the vehicle. If were doing the same to a company like Toyota, then we should also look at the Chevrolet Cobalt.

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #281

Feb 042010


  • 44,620 miles


I own a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt with roughly 45,000 miles. Just recently, the power steering has begun to fail. I will be driving down the highway and, all of a sudden, the steering wheel gets very hard to steer and the "power steering failure" notification beeps. This has happened 3 times within the last 3 weeks. The first time I was making a right-hand turn and felt the wheel "pop". the other 2 times I was just driving down the highway without the wheel turned at all. I have called my local Chevrolet dealer and they claim to have never heard of this problem before. I have looked online and have found many people who are complaining about the same problem but say that their Chevrolet dealers do not know what is wrong. The 2007 Cobalt has an electronic power steering system without the standard hydraulic system and no power steering fluid. This is an extremely dangerous problem. I am driving down the highway at 60+ miles per hour and all of a sudden cannot steer my car. I have to pull over to the side of the road and shut the car off. This seems to reset the computer that runs the power steering and it will resume working once I restart the car.

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #280

Jan 202010


  • 38,000 miles
2007 Chevrolet Cobalt - power steering failure. Happens more often when weather/car is warm, particularly when weather is over 75 or 80. Most often when car is warm, like during long trips or when driving many places in one day (errands). I have had as many as 5 occurrences on days I am running many errands. The dashboard warning dings and power steering light comes on, the power steering fails and you cannot control the vehicle. Normally, you can stop the car, turn off the ignition and restart the car and it will work again for a while. Once crashed into my own carport pole, once ran over a curb. No one was hurt, and there was no serious property damage, only a bent support pole on my own carport, but I was lucky I was going extremely slow when this happened. It this happens at a higher speed, or in oncoming traffic, it could cause serious injury or even death. I took the car to a mechanic and was told the entire steering column/system would have to be replaced at a cost of over $2000. I am unable to fix this due to the high cost. This car is a 2007 with only 38,000 miles. Should not have major problems like this.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #279

Oct 202009


  • 37,900 miles
2007 Chevrolet Cobalt electric power steering failures. My power steering goes out while I am driving. It comes back on after I restart the car. I went to the dealer and they said there was nothing they could do unless they were driving the car when the power steering fails. This has been going on for 4 months. I feel unsafe. I will not allow my daughter to drive the car. I bought the car for her. Goodwrench has been unresponsive. I need help to fix this problem. It should not happen. I feel like they are sweeping it under the rug.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #278

Feb 222010


  • 27,000 miles
2007 Cobalt, the power steering just goes out at any speed. It make the car almost impossible to control.

- Monclova, OH, USA

problem #277

Nov 152009


  • 8,000 miles
I purchased a 2007 Chevy Cobalt new. At about 8,000 miles, I noticed at low speeds, when I turned to the right, the steering column would make a noise and jerky motion. I took the vehicle to the dealership. They replaced the intermediate shaft, but the problem returned after only 300 more miles.

- Belton, TX, USA

problem #276

Feb 222010


  • miles
Steering failure.

- Prince George, VA, USA

problem #275

Feb 192010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The vehicle was purchased new in 2007. She noticed that the key was hard to release from the ignition. In February 2007 the power steering failed under normal driving conditions. The vehicle will be taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The current and the failure mileage were 16,000. Updated 07/19/10 updated 07/21/10

- Hilliard , OH, USA

problem #274

Feb 212010


  • 16,000 miles
My wife's 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt ls power steering went out after restarting the car everything is fine for now. After searching online I see that many others are having the same problem. And in all cases they are being charged just for diagnostics and nothing is being done to fix it. This is a problem that could get my wife hurt being as she would have trouble steering it luckily I was driving it at the time. It is the Chevy dealer now having the fuel pump replaced which was recalled and we will see what they tell me about it.

- Paris, TX, USA

problem #273

Jan 122010


  • 80,000 miles
We live in lumberton Texas and we had to go to shreveport, la to take a friend of mine to the dentist. On the way home while we were in town the power steering light came on and my husband had trouble steering it around curves and turns. Not knowing that it was an electric power steering, he pulled into the store to get power steering fluid. He couldn't find the place to put it so I looked at the book that came with the car and found out. Well when we got back in the car to leave it was fine at first, then it started it again and all the way home. We have noticed that when you turn the car off for a while and start it back it does ok for a little while. We have problems with it everyday. Once the power steering acts up it stays that way until you turn the car off and let it cool off but after your driving it again its starts all over. We have not had an accident yet and hopefully we don't. it is very hard for me to drive it but I have to use it sometime to go places.we have not had it fixed yet and were told it could cost alot to get it fixed. We don't have the money now to get it fixed. Another complaint is well actually was the gear shift. It would not go all the way into park, I guess, and you couldn't get your keys out of the ignition. We have already had that fixed though. There are other complaints I have but probably nothing that would be cover under safety issues. This car is a lemon in my book.

- Lumberton, TX, USA

problem #272

Feb 202010


  • 67,000 miles
-the contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph on normal road conditions. There was a sudden loss of power steering. The driver proceeded to a service station which required greater force to be applied to the steering wheel. The engine was turned off. The vehicle restarted and resumed normal operation. The vehicle was in the process of being taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Grand Bay , AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?