Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
55 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
46 / 3
Average Mileage:
56,550 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 14 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #297

Sep 012009

Cobalt

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Approximately six months after he noticed that the steering wheel was loose and before the steering failed and the power steering light illuminated. There was also a noise in the steering wheel. He took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer reset the computer, but the failure was not corrected. When he took the vehicle back to the dealer he stated that there was nothing to be worried about. The failure mileage was 32,000. The current mileage was 40,000. The VIN information was not available.

- Lagrange , GA, USA

problem #296

Feb 152010

Cobalt

  • miles
My 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt has had the power steering go out on it a few times since it started in Feb 2010. I bought this car new from a dealership. I have had it looked at and told there is no problem. However it continues to happen. I have read numerous complaints from others with this same problem and would hope that Chevy would look into this and fix it.

- New Berlin, WI, USA

problem #295

Feb 142010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Driver was changing lanes on highway in a 2007 Chevy Cobalt when her steering wheel froze up on her. She could not correct steering and her brakes seemed to lose power as well. She hit a concrete barrier, her car went airborne and started rolling. She was ejected about fifty feet. Vehicle was a complete loss. The auto insurance company won't investigate due to her car being just 12,000 miles over warranty. (economic loss rule) the car is still being held for further investigation per request of the driver. Vehicle never had trouble before this. Driver was severely injured spending 10 days in hospital, 2 of those in icu. Driver had complications due to injuries, now on round the clock iv's at home.

- Farmington, UT, USA

problem #294

Jan 202010

Cobalt

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving and the power steering light came on, the all of a sudden the steering wheel was hard to turn, and I was unable to make a right or left turn. When I did try turning, my car almost hit another car that was stopped at the light because I did not have enough strength to turn the wheel all the way. It has progressively got worse and when I took the car into a Chevy service dealer, I was told this is a common problem with the Cobalt and they had many of them coming in for service with the same problem and the whole system would have to be replaced. The cost I was quoted was $1,000. GMC customer service was contacted by the dealership service manager and the dealership agreed to pay a percentage of the repair cost which would still leave me paying $475. I've only had the car for 2 years and purchased it used with $14,000 miles. I was also told that this issue is occurring when and if the car has been jump started because this is a main cause of which triggers the major safety and costly issue. The first question that I was asked of me is: "has the car been jump started with cables at any given time?" this issue has caused some hardship in my family as well as transportation issues for a single mom as myself. I am currently upside down on the vehicle by 7 thousand dollars so trading it in is not an option for me. I am currently paying for a Chevy Silverado as well.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #293

Jan 012010

Cobalt

  • 35,000 miles
Yes, I would like to report that our 2007 Chevy Cobalt lt with 40,000 miles on it is failing 1st the powersteering goes out and almost causes us to crash. 2nd the keys our stuck in the ignition also the electronic reader is continuously blinking we have called the Chevy customer care center and the results were not in our favor I guess we need to do something about it can you please help us.

- Summerfield, FL, USA

problem #292

Jan 282010

Cobalt

  • 18,065 miles
The power steering on the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt I drive has suddenly stopped working about 5 or 6 times. If I can safely turn the car off, and restart it, the power steering starts working again.

- Anderson, IN, USA

problem #291

Feb 072010

Cobalt

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving over an hour at 60 mph the power steering warning light illuminated. When she turned the vehicle off and on so that it would reset. The dealer was called and stated that they would diagnose the failure. The failure mileage was 49,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #290

Feb 242010

Cobalt

  • 57,930 miles
I had been out of town and had driven 200 almost non stop, interstate travel all day, when while driving on the interstate my power steering went out. It became difficult to keep my car steady and had severe difficulty following the twists of the road as the wheel was very difficult to turn, even just to change lanes, or follow the curves of the road through road work. I had to swerve to miss a truck that swerved into my lane, and almost crashed due to the fact my wheel was so difficult to turn. I was able to make it to the side of the road, so I stopped, turned off my vehicle for a few minutes, turned it back on and worked fine. Went 4 miles, and it went out again. I drove another 60 miles and it didn't come back on. I have 58000 miles on my vehicle. I was told my vehicle is no longer under warranty so any work done to it will be out of my pocket.

- Falkville, AL, USA

problem #289

Oct 212009

Cobalt

  • 72,000 miles
Electronic steering failure on 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Started in Oct 2009 power steering does not work: This happens daily after you drive it a mile or so. I replaced the electronic steering in Nov 2009 the car drove fine until Jan. 2010 now the second electronic steering has gone out also. I still have the original electronic steering column, we nee a recall on this because I changed the part once and I can not afford to do it again. Also, this is very dangerous!.

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #288

Feb 012010

Cobalt

  • 39,000 miles
My power steering goes out multiple times per trip. The power steering failed light comes up on my screen. I put the car in neutral and start the car and its fine for about 2 minutes and it goes out again. Chevy dealer says they have never heard about it. I almost ran into my brick subdivision sign this morning because of it. If this problem is not fixed soon, I hate to say it but something tragic is going to happen to someone that is very weak and old that can not control the car. GM needs to do something about this now!!!!!!!!!!

- Niceville, FL, USA

problem #287

Dec 202009

Cobalt

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Chevy Cobalt and I am writing this complaint due to loosing the power steering on my car. The power steering is electric so it was hard for anyone to figure out what was going on with my car, I had to take it to the Chevy dealer and they knew exactly what was going on. The power steering went out and the power steering light came on, on my dashboard. I restarted my car and the power steering kick back in, but after that one time, the power steering would go out every three seconds and there was nothing I could do but restart the car no matter where I was once the power steering went out. I have a 6 year old son and this scared me extremely badly. I am a single mother who works daily to provide for my son, and other family members, it is imperative that I have my vehicle. Unfortunately the dealer had to keep my car and the insurance company does not give you a car while your car is in the shop, the funny thing is neither does Chevy, although they knew what the issue was they would not provide a car for me to use while they had my car. This also happened right before christmas, so the christmas money I had saved for my sons christmas went into getting my steering fixed which cost me $600. So needless to say, there went christmas. And according to Chevy I had to pay the entire lump sum before I could even move my car, so I had no choice but to pay the entire amount. I am very disappointed in Chevy for this issue, my sons safety is utterly important to me and I only got this car because I was under the impression it was a safe car, had I known about this power steering issue I would never have chosen Chevy in the first place.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #286

Jan 242010

Cobalt

  • miles
My 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt has steering wheel problems. Everytime I turn on my car power steering flashes about a minute or so after and immediately the wheel is very hard to turn. This makes it difficult to turn in any direction and even to change lanes. It is so hard that I cannot park correctly and I am scared to even try to parallel park because the last time I tried I hit another car. I do not understand why this issue is not being dealt with immediately because it is putting people in unbearable situations. I was told that I could only get it fixed at the car dealership where I purchased the vehicle from but what they would charge is beyond what I can pay. Something needs to be done now about this problem because it can only lead to more disastrous events. I vote for a recall immediately!!!

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #285

Feb 222007

Cobalt

  • 39,000 miles
Event: Just driving alone look down at the message board and it says powersteering failure, and just like that the powersteering was gone. I was able to maneuver the car over to the side of the road, turn the ignition off and back on which worked for about 2 min and the problem recurred. The car is very difficult to steer without powersteering and the way the problem occurs could easily cause a accident I would think after only 39,000 mile that part would not be worn out. The problem still exist, I have no other transportation. Just driving on alert hoping someone will take notice of the issue.

- Crandall, TX, USA

problem #284

Feb 242010

Cobalt

  • 32,000 miles
Steering shakes alot on rough roads and sometimes when applying the break. We brought the car in to the dealer a dozen times. They said they do not know what the problem is. We brought it to different dealers and they said it might be the I-shaft we have not fixed this yet because we are still looking for a for sure answer what it is. My future mother in law has a similar car but different year and has the same problem. The started of the shaking both cars had 32000 miles on them. Since the start both cars has replaced struts, control arm and tie rods. And we are looking to replace them again. What is causing this shaking?

- Menomonie, WI, USA

problem #283

Feb 062010

Cobalt

  • 52,000 miles
2007 Chevy Cobalt. Power steering intermittently goes out while car in use. Happened 1st time, then 2 weeks later happened again. Now(3 weeks after 1st incident) happens daily, several times a day. Turning the ignition off and restarting fixes the problem. Taking the car into Chevy dealership for repair on Friday. Now not driving the car in case more serious issues could happen.

- Greenville, OH, USA

problem #282

Jan 032010

Cobalt

  • 40,000 miles
My daughter's Chevrolet Cobalt 2007 car's power steering turns-off while driving and makes it a hazard during driving, especially for weaker individuals. The stiffness in steering makes it seem that it is locked. Research online shows that even earlier models have this problem. Chevrolet engineered making power steering powered electronically vice hydraulics and fluids as with most vehicles. And now, we find that there is no recall from Chevrolet and to repair it will cost about $2K. About 1/8 the cost of the vehicle. If were doing the same to a company like Toyota, then we should also look at the Chevrolet Cobalt.

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #281

Feb 042010

Cobalt

  • 44,620 miles
I own a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt with roughly 45,000 miles. Just recently, the power steering has begun to fail. I will be driving down the highway and, all of a sudden, the steering wheel gets very hard to steer and the "power steering failure" notification beeps. This has happened 3 times within the last 3 weeks. The first time I was making a right-hand turn and felt the wheel "pop". the other 2 times I was just driving down the highway without the wheel turned at all. I have called my local Chevrolet dealer and they claim to have never heard of this problem before. I have looked online and have found many people who are complaining about the same problem but say that their Chevrolet dealers do not know what is wrong. The 2007 Cobalt has an electronic power steering system without the standard hydraulic system and no power steering fluid. This is an extremely dangerous problem. I am driving down the highway at 60+ miles per hour and all of a sudden cannot steer my car. I have to pull over to the side of the road and shut the car off. This seems to reset the computer that runs the power steering and it will resume working once I restart the car.

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #280

Jan 202010

Cobalt

  • 38,000 miles
2007 Chevrolet Cobalt - power steering failure. Happens more often when weather/car is warm, particularly when weather is over 75 or 80. Most often when car is warm, like during long trips or when driving many places in one day (errands). I have had as many as 5 occurrences on days I am running many errands. The dashboard warning dings and power steering light comes on, the power steering fails and you cannot control the vehicle. Normally, you can stop the car, turn off the ignition and restart the car and it will work again for a while. Once crashed into my own carport pole, once ran over a curb. No one was hurt, and there was no serious property damage, only a bent support pole on my own carport, but I was lucky I was going extremely slow when this happened. It this happens at a higher speed, or in oncoming traffic, it could cause serious injury or even death. I took the car to a mechanic and was told the entire steering column/system would have to be replaced at a cost of over $2000. I am unable to fix this due to the high cost. This car is a 2007 with only 38,000 miles. Should not have major problems like this.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #279

Oct 202009

Cobalt

  • 37,900 miles
2007 Chevrolet Cobalt electric power steering failures. My power steering goes out while I am driving. It comes back on after I restart the car. I went to the dealer and they said there was nothing they could do unless they were driving the car when the power steering fails. This has been going on for 4 months. I feel unsafe. I will not allow my daughter to drive the car. I bought the car for her. Goodwrench has been unresponsive. I need help to fix this problem. It should not happen. I feel like they are sweeping it under the rug.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #278

Feb 222010

Cobalt

  • 27,000 miles
2007 Cobalt, the power steering just goes out at any speed. It make the car almost impossible to control.

- Monclova, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?