Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
55 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
46 / 3
Average Mileage:
56,550 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 7 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #437

Dec 212012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Edited partial news entry from the deadly accident: South Idaho crash kills two, including nampa woman; ipt (Idaho press-tribune) newsroom; gooding county--a nampa woman died after a car accident in gooding county Friday (12-21-12), according to Idaho state police. A burley man also died in the two-vehicle crash, which took place around 6:45 P.M. on interstate 84 about 35 miles outside mountain home. Three others from burley were injured. Young woman, 22, of nampa, was driving West on the interstate in a Chevrolet Cobalt. Authorities aren't sure why she lost control of the vehicle. She drove into the median and overturned. Her vehicle continued into the eastbound lanes of travel, colliding with a Nissan maxima driven by 23- year-old young man of burley. Young man died at the scene of the crash. Young woman was transported by air ambulance to a boise hospital, where she later died. Three passengers related to young man, all of burley...were taken by air ambulance to a boise hospital. All drivers and passengers were wearing seatbelts. [source: www.idahopress.com/news/S-Idaho-crash-kills-two-including-nampa-woman/art- - icle_7E5ce650-4C9A-11E2-8D7F-001A4bcf887A.html] because the roads were clear and dry, the Idaho state police speculated that the young woman was perhaps somehow "inattentive" in her driving. But the fact she was not on her cell phone or otherwise engaged with any other known distraction and the fact that her wrist was snapped back resulting in a serious compound fracture suggests that the vehicle violently and suddenly jerked out of her control. We know the Chevy Cobalt vehicles were under investigation for "steering problems" by the NHTSA and the investigation was closed in July 2010. With these fatalities perhaps it is time to review your previous findings. Updated 09-18-13 updated 9/24/13 updated 09/25/2013

- Eagle, ID, USA

problem #436

Aug 112013

Cobalt

  • 142,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was stated that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 142,000.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #435

Sep 062010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Power steering, all electrical, gauges, and lights would flash, steering covered under recall, but have now had a few electrical problems since.

- Jenkinsburg, GA, USA

problem #434

Dec 122008

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Couldn't turn key to start the car. The car was in park. To get the car to start I must giggle the steering wheel, while trying to turn the key. This is not right.

- Hillsville, VA, USA

problem #433

Jul 132013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 89,888 miles
Recently my 2007 Cobalt that I have only had for about a year started twitching out on the dashboard. I started the car to find the gauges fluttering, the security system light came on, it flashed power steering and low fuel ( car has full tank) as well as check engine. I pulled it into to drive where it clunked hard and there was a clicking sound coming from the shifter as well as the power steering was out. I disconnected the battery cables and it reset the computer with no problems thus far. The car has been ok for the last day and a half until today when very quickly the power steering light flashed and went off.the driver side speaker stopped working but flashes on randomly as well as the radio buttons don't work from time to time. I noticed a lot of recalls and similar problems with other peoples vehicles. I would like to know what is causing this electrical issues and have them fixed, I feel my safety is at risk, especially if the power steering shuts off again, this time while I am driving.

- Harrison Twp, MI, USA

problem #432

Jul 022013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph and making a turn, it became difficult to steer the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the steering shaft would have to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000.

- Berea, OH, USA

problem #431

Jul 082010

Cobalt

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the power steering wheel seized. The vehicle became unresponsive as the gauges in the instrument panel became illuminated. The power steering assist warning light was also illuminated. The failure recurred frequently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but they were unable to duplicate and diagnose failure. The failure was not reported to the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 35,000. The current mileage was 87,000.

- Falmouth , KY, USA

problem #430

Jul 062013

Cobalt

  • 84,000 miles
Vehicle was recalled around 2010 for steering and fixed. Since then numerous electrical failures, power brakes, and steering failures have happened. Vehicle has been in dealer and numerous other shops over the years for same problems. Chevy dealer (kerry Chevrolet in alexandria Kentucky), where car was bought kept saying they did not know what was wrong. Even after hundreds of dollars spent to fix, problems eventually came back ( electrical failure, gauges fluttering, radio flashing, steering lock, power brake failure). This past weekend, gauges started fluttering, steering locked up while driving and car went into a spin running off the road. Chevrolet dealer has always passed all these things off as not their problem. I would like any info on what can be done about this. We are now afraid to have vehicle fixed again and drive it fearing steering may lock while driving at a faster speed. At least this power failure happened at a low speed and no one in the other lane during spin. Next time might not be so lucky. Please give us any info on what can be done. Thank you.

- Highland Heights, KY, USA

problem #429

Sep 242008

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
I took my vehicle to get it checked due to a popping noise while turning, I was told the control arm brushing (bushing) was broken. The part was replaced. Then 4 months later the popping noise returned. When taken to the dealership, it was again the control arm brushing (bushing). Again, it was replaced. In about 8 weeks, the popping noise returned again. I knew what it was by then and I left it go for awhile. It was replaced in December of 2012. Again it is broken as I file this report and has been for a couple weeks.

- Centerburg, OH, USA

problem #428

Jun 202013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 2,566,650 miles
My 2007 Cobalt was recalled in 2009 for the steering column motor. I took it in to have the recall fixed. Well today it was making the same sound as it was in 2009 and I was told that I would have to pay out of pocket to replace the exact same part that was replaced in 2009. I know I am not the only one to have to have this done. I really think that General Motors needs to further investigate on this issue. I was given an estimate of $950 to repair. Why should I have to pay to have shoddy workmanship replaced.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #427

Jun 182013

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The steering is to hard to turn...it have a power steering light on car, ,,and the check engine is on... the speedometer does not work either and doesn't wana shift to any gear...any inf. Or help to solve this problems..... made in usa...

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #426

Apr 162013

Cobalt

  • 152,987 miles
When turning left or right it makes a clunking noise from the steering column.

- Montello, WI, USA

problem #425

May 132009

Cobalt

  • 30,000 miles
Have had many issues with the front steering, dealership claims nothing found. Now it will not pass inspection due to the steering knuckles. Radio was replaced 3 times!!! door locks do not stay locked/unlocked. Dealer states they never found any problems with it. Vehicle now has 110,000 miles on

- Oswego, NY, USA

problem #424

Apr 292013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 100,600 miles
I was driving down the highway at around 65 mph and all of a sudden the car just kind of had a mind of its own and started spinning out doing donuts across three lanes. I hit a Jeep and crashed into a concrete barrier. It was a miracle we weren't killed and the car is demolished, and if it hadn't been for the concrete barrier only god knows where we would have went. The steering just seemed to go out of control. I believe this is an extremely serious safety issue.

- Moriarty, NM, USA

problem #423

Apr 252013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph the steering became difficult to maneuver. The failure occurred intermittently. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000...update 04-10-14 the consumer stated the power steering would freeze intermittently while driving. The manufacturer was informed of the steering failure on April 29, 2013. The power steering was repaired in early May 2013 by a Chevrolet dealer. Updated 05/20/14

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #422

Jan 062011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 a Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the power steering assist failed with the illumination of the warning indicator. The warning light remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V073000 (steering). After the repair was performed the defect recurred. The remedy did not correct the problem. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of problem. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 07/09/13 updated 07/12/2013

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #421

Dec 282011

Cobalt

  • 99,912 miles
I have a 2007 Chevy Cobalt it had a recall on the steering assist ever since the steering locks up and the gauges start flashing I called Chevy and they do not do recalls on recalls they said it would be at my own expense to repair.

- Cadott, WI, USA

problem #420

Oct 152011

Cobalt

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the power steering warning indicator illuminated followed by a complete loss of steering. The vehicle had been previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 10V073000 (steering). The vehicle was currently at the dealer for diagnosis. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Kokomo, IN, USA

problem #419

Mar 152013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Driving my 2007 Cobalt I noticed after turning a street corner the power steering stops working and I had to physically pull back the steering wheel with effort, this now happens every time I try to straighten out after turning a corner at slow speed, I have an appointment with a GM dealer on April 1, 2013.

- Menominee, MI, USA

problem #418

Mar 152011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The vehicle was included in and repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V073000 (steering). After the recall repair was performed, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver when the contact attempted to park. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the power steering motor would have to be replaced a second time. The vehicle was repaired a second time however, the failure continued. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not further repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000.

- Anoka, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?