Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,972 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

May 012011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles


Loud noise/clunking while going over minor to moderate bumps and passenger side front brake 'grabs" when applying brake and "jumps when releasing. Have had passenger side wheel bearing replaced under warranty as well as power assisted steering motor under recall. Vehicle is driven very little due to out of state work. I have not had it to the dealer for inspection but plan to do so soon.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #28

Jun 012011


  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while having the vehicle inspected for regular maintenance, the mechanic advised that both of the bushings on the lower control arm were worn. The contact also mentioned that the vehicle had been making a very loud noise whenever he engaged the brakes. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 20,000.

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #27

Aug 052011


  • 12,400 miles
I bought my Cobalt in March of 2007. For the last year the radio will only play on the back speakers. The stero it self will play but some time nothing on sreen to show station or time. That not a magior as the problem the has happened now three time. When we go to stop at a light and push in on the cluck the car will die and the gauges on the dash will shoot over to the right and then to the left side fast. The car will restart. In the last month the front in will shimmy and shake when sppling the breaks. Dose it real bad when you slowing down when over 55 mile per hour. I have seen many complains on the front end. Wll it take a person to be killed for the Chevy company to have the vehicles called in and looked at. I bought the car because of the price, mile per gallon of gas.and over all look.

- Lusby, MD, USA

problem #26

May 152011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles


At 54000 miles a "clunking" noise began from the drivers side front when taking off from a stop or going over moderate bumps in the road. Im at 57000 now and the noise has transferred to the passenger side also. Have not yet had the chance to have it looked at but I feel its safe to assume my problem is going to be the same as all the rest.

- New Baltimore, MI, USA

problem #25

Jul 082010


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph over a bump, she heard a clanking noise. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the contact was informed that the front upper and lower control arm bushings needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred one year later. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the same repairs were recommended. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- Elgin, IL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

Jun 262011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 25,359 miles
Owner heard clunking noise in right front. Found the tire moves when brakes are applied. Dealer found right front control arm bushings worn and right front strut worn. Owner found left and right front strut to be leaking and right control arm badly worn. Corporation recommended only right side control arm bushings and right side strut to be fixed. Nothing was done right now because owner refused to pay for repair since the vehicle only has 25,000 miles on it.

- Sheboygan, WI, USA

problem #23

Dec 142008

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles


Cracking sound in front end.

- 17322, PA, USA

problem #22

Apr 202011


  • miles
Just purchased a used 2007 Chevy Cobalt less than 2 months ago. Now, we are stuck with having to replace the lower control arm bushing. I was shocked to see how many people are continuously having this problem.

- Pen Argyl, PA, USA

problem #21

Feb 122010


  • 40,000 miles
I have a 2007 colbalt lt and had to have the brakes and struts replaced at 40,000 miles. The front of the car was shaking when putting on the brakes and had a loud noise. I took the car to a repair shop when they replaced the brakes and struts. The struts shouldn't go up this quick. Now the key gets stuck in the ignition.

- Middle River, MD, USA

problem #20

Mar 112011


  • 62,000 miles
I own a 2007 Chevy Cobalt car. I am facing my third replacement of front end struts since I purchased the car. As a taxpayer who helped bailout GM and even purchased GM product for the first time, I am extremely upset. My GM dealer at jack matia in elyria, Ohio 44035 has replaced the other struts.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #19

Dec 182009

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles


2007 Chevy Cobalt lt, bought new! had a bushing wear away and was told I cannot just replace the bushing on this car so I had to replace the entire system. Also replaced front lower control arms, did all of this in March 2010. It is now Jan 2011 and I need to replace everything again!! it hasn't even been a year. This has cost me well over $1000. Extremely hard to control the car, it wonders where ever it wants and also very easy to over correct. We need a recall!!!

- Des Moines , IA, USA

problem #18

Jun 272009


  • 35,000 miles
2007 Chevy has rattling noise and sounds like front end is falling off. Took to dealer and was told the front end bushing(s) has to be replaced at a cost near $400. How many complaints do we need to make before a recall is in order.

- Portage, IN, USA

problem #17

Dec 202008

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
This failure is of the suspension system causing unpredictable movement and or control of automobile. This is a lower control arm bushing with a defective design causing it to fail. This repair is approximately $400. There is 2 on each auto. This repair has happened frequently to this consumer in that consumer has 2 of these autos.

- Martinsville, IN, USA

problem #16

May 212009


  • 40,862 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving at an unknown speed, the contact drove over a pothole and the rear passenger side wheel bent abnormally. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic and the mechanic replaced the wheel. Later, the failure occurred again when the contact drove over another pothole. The vehicle was again, taken to a local mechanic and the bent wheel was replaced. The contact stated that on a later date, the vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where the front vertical bushing on both front lower control arms were replaced as well as both end links for the front sway bar. In addition, the contact stated that the steering shaft and column assembly would also need replacing. He called the manufacturer and they advised him that they could not assist with the cost of the repairs. The vehicle was not repaired for the steering failures. The failure mileage was 40,862 and the current mileage was 58,000.

- Oak Creek , WI, USA

problem #15

Dec 132008

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that in December 2008, the ignition failed and the dealer replaced the ignition cylinder. March 2010, the contact heard a metal grinding noise while driving. The vehicle was taken a local repair shop where the contact was informed that the front struts, bushings, control arm shaft and stabilizer bar needed to be replaced; the mechanic replaced the bushing. The contact also stated that the front two tires needed to be replaced because of defective struts. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that the vehicle was outside the warranty and offered no assistance with repairs. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000 and the current mileage was approximately 63,000. Updated 01/12/11 updated 03/28/11

- Brunswick , OH, USA

problem #14

Jan 312010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
While driving my 2007 Chevy Cobalt I could feel it was pulling to the right. After awhile the whole front in was starting to vibrate. When I would be driving it felt like to whole engine was going to fall out. The noise was very loud and annoying. I seriously do not feel safe driving this car. I finally got it replaced, but this is two things in the last year, the front end bushing and the steering column. On this car we were told you could of just replace the bushings that you had to replace the whole part holding it up. This problem occurs at all speed limits.

- Lee's Summit, MO, USA

problem #13

Aug 312010


  • 30,000 miles
Front end noise when hitting any small bump. Dealer says front end bushings need replacement. Car is a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Car has 45,00 km and is just out of warranty. Car was driven by a woman and she didn't notice the front end noise. This car has been like this for a while as the front tires are worn out. The vehicle should not have this problem with such low km.

- Merlin, 00, USA

problem #12

Jul 012010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
2007 Chevy Cobalt, 20,000 miles, fnt end creaking, groaning/moaning. Feels very loose/rides very hard over the smallest defect in road! cole muffler diagnosed car bushings/control arms both sides need replace. Spoke to many owners of Cobalt & searched online-seems this is a common complaint around this same mileage which is unacceptable! bushings/control arms on cars w/limited mileage should be a defect of the manufacturer! this defect seems to be happening after the 3yr warranty & is not covered under the 5yr warranty! this is a safety hazard! I S/w ppl that had the bushings replaced/and the problem is still there & they have been told they have to have the control arms replaced too! most of the time, I feel I don't even have control of my vehicle. When I step on the brakes my whole steering wheel pulls to the left. When I change lanes, it feels like I'm jumping to the next lane. I had to replace my front tires bc of this front end suspension problem. Most ppl are not aware how, where, to whom to report a problem like this to. Most ppl use the attorney general for complaints, or directly to the dealer, therefore, your database is not accurate for the no. Of complaints re: The Cobalt fnt suspension. Most ppl I talked to haven't reported it, they just pd to replace it bc it was no longer under warranty. Costly repairs! over $1000 or more. When are U going to make GM responsible for this defect in the Cobalts?? the safety recall notice for the electric power steering should have also included control arms & bushings these are putting consumers at risk for crash also!!! this is clearly a defect in the Cobalt. This cars are not inexpensive cars the retail price starts at $16,000! make GM responsible for a safety recall on this problem before someone gets killed. This is a very dangerous situation and it is likely most consumers can't afford a repair of this magnitude, as it will consist of control arms/bushings/tires/alignment to make the vehicle safe again!

- North Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #11

Jun 082009


  • miles
Chevy Cobalt front end rattling suspension noise.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #10

Apr 152010


  • 14,325 miles
Vehicle & model: 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Bushings on right front lower control arm failed at mileage 14325 and 2 years 6 months usage of fair wear & tear requiring control arm replacement for safety of use. Bushings on left front lower control arm failed at mileage 15,644 and 2 years 9 months of fair wear & tear requiring control arm replacement for safety of use. No accident, bumps or pot holes caused or contributed to failure.

- Omaha, NE, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?