Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,582 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Sep 192012

Cobalt

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gas fumes were smelled by my daughters passengers as they carpooled to college. When parked, I smelled gas fumes coming from the vehicle for up to 5 hours. My daughter could not use vehicle for fear of fire incident. I reported a severe decline in fuel economy for this vehicle, months ago. Prior to bringing the vehicle to my mechanic, I checked with the dealer for a recall on this model year, who reported no recall. On Thursday September 27th, 2012 mechanic discovered fuel leak from the fuel/propulsion system. I purchased a new fuel pump and filter and it was replaced. Fuel efficiency still severely deficient.

- Bossier City, LA, USA

problem #20

Sep 102012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 52,500 miles
I have a 2008 Chevy Cobalt that we smelled gas fumes coming from back seat and at rear of vehicle, after inspecting vehicle found gas leak from top of gas tank from where the fuel pump goes into the tank, there is recall notices for 06,07,09 and so forth for Texas but not for the 2008 in Texas and I think it should be United States wide as this is could cause a major fire and kill innocent people in all states not just the ones with hot weather, as it is the vehicle is at dealer now for recall on power steering defect and checking on gas leak to see if it is coming from top of gas tank.

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #19

Aug 082012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 67,839 miles
An heavy smell of fuel caused me to take this car to a mechanic who determined that the fuel pump was leaking when the car was running. He replaced the pump and fuel lines. I understand there is a recall on these cars for model year 2007 and 2008. I called GM and was told the recall is VIN specific :( this model year should be included in this recall!

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #18

Sep 192012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased the car from don carlson Hyundai in tulsa, Oklahoma on the evening of 19 September 2012 and drove it to our home in edmond, Oklahoma, and by the time we got home there was a strong fuel smell. The dealer had just told us that the car had just had the windshield replaced, so we just chalked it up to the curing of the adhesives they used installing the windshield, but it is now the 28th of September 2012, the odor is getting stronger, and the car is becoming more and more difficult to start. You have to let it crank and crank before it will finally start, almost like it is flooded as back in the old days of carbs. This does not seem to be an isolated problem with all the problems being reported on various sites and it seems to be one that I would deem as an extreme safety issue with it relating to gasoline and gasoline fumes. With our car, I have looked under it and have seen no signs of puddling, which concerns me of where it might be collecting.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #17

Aug 152012

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while traveling 35 mph, the contact smelled an abnormal gasoline odor. The vehicle was later taken to the dealer where it was confirmed that the fuel pump failed, similar to the failure described in NHTSA campaign id number 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was contacted regarding the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable and the current mileage was 50,000.

- Pearland, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Sep 022012

Cobalt

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while refueling the vehicle, fuel spilled from the fuel tank erroneously. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the VIN was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 95,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #15

Sep 152012

Cobalt

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving approximately 35 mph, a strong odor of fuel emitted inside of the vehicle. When parked, the contact would also smell an odor of fuel outside of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorize dealer who stated the fuel pump would need to be replaced. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The manufacturer was notified and they informed the service warranty expired. The approximate failure mileage was 54,000.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #14

Aug 072012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The car had small smell of gas come from the ac vents, but when I got out of the car the smell got stronger so I looked around the vehicle to see where it came from, yet there was no sign of the leak but later that day I saw a small spot of water near the back of the car at first but it was too far back to be water at first so I checked where this leak came from and that's when I saw it coming from the fuel tank and already its been almost three weeks and became worst and the car may explode.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #13

Sep 032012

Cobalt

  • 89,300 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated fuel was leaking from the top of the fuel tank. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or independent mechanic. The failure mileage was 89,300.

- Bedford, TX, USA

problem #12

Aug 212012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
My fuel pump was leaking causing severe fuel loss while driving. I understand that there was a campaign (226B) that corrected this defect. The dealer told me my vehicle had the corrected fuel pump. Apparently the corrected fuel pump did not address the issue entirely. I am out $854.16 for something that there is an open campaign against.

- West Blocton, AL, USA

problem #11

Jul 302012

Cobalt

  • 106,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. While parked, the contact noticed a fuel smell. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics who stated that the fuel module was leaking and would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 106,900.

- Durant, OK, USA

problem #10

Feb 042012

Cobalt

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that gasoline fuel was leaking. The smell had become overpowering from inside of the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to have a routine oil change performed but was denied because of the offensively overpowering odor. The contact was told that the vehicle possible exhibited a crack in the fuel pump. The contact was very concerned that the smell would become permanent. The dealer was notified who stated that before the vehicle could be brought to the dealer for a diagnosis, they would have to first perform further research for the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 57,000.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #9

Jul 232012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 21,600 miles
Gasoline is visibly leaking from the fuel pump module above the fuel tank. There is also a strong odor of gasoline from beneath the car. This defect has been recognized by GM and recalled for 2006-07 model years, but 2008 and newer model years that also have the problem are not covered by that recall.

- Las Cruces , NM, USA

problem #8

Jul 232012

Cobalt

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that gasoline fumes were emitted from the rear seats. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Orange , TX, USA

problem #7

Jul 202012

Cobalt

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that there were fuel fumes inside of the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or repair shop for inspection or repair. The contact performed an inspection and was able to find out that the fuel line was cracked. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure; however no assistance was provided. The VIN was unavailable.the failure and current mileages were 61,000.

- Lamar , AR, USA

problem #6

Jul 202012

Cobalt

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that there were fuel fumes inside of the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or repair shop for inspection or repair. The contact performed an inspection and was able to find out that the fuel line was cracked. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure; however no assistance was provided. The VIN was unavailable.the failure and current mileages were 61,000.

- Lamar, AR, USA

problem #5

Jul 022012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
My complaint is in reference to a fuel leak from the top of the fuel tank. After going on line I noticed that there has been a problem with 2006 through the 2008 model year Cobalt. I feel this is a safety hazard as the exhaust pipe passes below the fuel tank. This problem should have been fixed with the 2007 recall as I have heard there is one. What is required to have a recall for safety on the 2008 model year. This is a costly repair and the burden should be on the manufacture to correct. Again this is a safety hazard and is playing with peoples lives and also allowing fumes to escape into the air.

- Killeen , TX, USA

problem #4

Feb 102012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
2008 Cobalt now with 70K miles has strong gasoline odor and when at idle leaks excessive amount of fuel. I have a newborn baby and a 1yr old toddler and with a problem that severe I can't even drive this car and feel safe. I also did research online about this problem and there are many Chevy Cobalts with fuel problems. This is a huge safety issue and would like to see a recall for 2008 not only 2006-2007 Cobalts.

- Bullhead City, AZ, USA

problem #3

Oct 052011

Cobalt

  • 65,000 miles
Late 2011 my car starting having issues with the rpms going up and down while I was driving at a steady pace. By Dec 2011 my car smelled like it had a small fuel leak; one that I could only smell while my car was idling. Since February 2012 the smell of gasoline has gone from a faint smell while idling to an almost unbearable smell that I can smell even doing 70+ mph on the freeway. With the fuel lines not allowing enough fuel to be pumped into my engine it also does not like to start if it has been sitting for more than a few hours. I have to turn the key let the engine turn over a few times, let it sit, then attempt to start it up again. Chevy has had this problem with their Cobalt's since they have started making them it seems. They have not fixed the problem with the 2008's they have just chosen to ignore that our cars have this issue as well. When I call the dealership they tell me that the 2008 models do not have the issue that the earlier models had, but they are more than happy to diagnose the problem for me at a cost of $150 and they can fix it at double the price anywhere else because they are a dealership. No thank you! I will not pay Chevy to fix a problem that they have caused and refuse to fix. I do know that I will not be buying another Chevy once I am able to get rid of this car.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #2

Sep 152011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Since September 2011 I have noticed a significant decrease in fuel efficiency. The fuel efficiency has gotten worse since then. I now get about 12 miles to the gallon. Tires are checked and I use fuel with no ethanol. I have seen recalls on the 2007 models for the fuel pump and why not for the 2008 model? this has become a financial nightmare. I bought the car in Louisiana where I live.

- Bossier City, LA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?