Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
24 / 3
Average Mileage:
50,588 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #43

May 082014

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repairs. The dealer stated that the part was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact did not experience the failure.

- Ontario , CA, USA

problem #42

Jun 022014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
In June 2014 I returned my 2008 Cobalt to reliable Chevrolet in springfield, mo for the ignition switch recall. The" service air bag" light had been on for the past several months. I had contacted a Chevrolet dealer service department and inquired about my concerns. I was advised "there was no service air bag" procedures that were serviceable on the air bags. When I took my vehicle to the Chevrolet dealer to have the ignition recall performed, I specifically asked about the service air bag light and was advised there was no recall on air bags. I have seen recall information on the local news concerning a recall that included the air bag. Can you please advise if there is a recall concerning the air bag as this is a sincere concern for my wife and myself.

- Elkland, MO, USA

problem #41

Jul 072014

Cobalt

  • 120,610 miles
My "service air bag" message came on today while driving and the air bag light is now illuminated on my dash panel. Came online to find out what the problem is and apparently it's a widely known issue with the Chevy Cobalt. I took it to the dealership but they want a lot of money to fix this safety problem. GM even issued a technical service bulletin about it but my car is out of warranty. Isn't this a safety issue that should be a recall?

- Lucas, TX, USA

problem #40

Jul 052014

Cobalt

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, another driver pulled in front of her and she tried to avoid a crash as a result another vehicle crashed into the contact and the contact crashed into a bridge. The contact stated that the air bags did not deploy. The contact injured her forehead, chest and suffered from back pain. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed and was declared totaled. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Lorain, OH, USA

problem #39

Jul 012014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to sway bar, power steering and ignition switch problems. The consumer stated the day after the vehicle was purchased, the sway bar links failed. Updated 07/30/14

- Marion, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #38

May 062014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 14V171000 (electrical system) and 14V047000 (air bag, electrical system); however, the contact was not unable to have the vehicle repaired because the part was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. There were no failures.

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #37

Apr 082014

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the part was unavailable for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Shannon, PA, USA

problem #36

Apr 282014

Cobalt

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag indicator was illuminated and the coolant levels malfunctioned for over a week. The dealer stated that the passenger side seat belt pretensioner needed to be replaced. The coolant failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Bourbonnais, IL, USA

problem #35

Jun 072014

Cobalt

  • 64,400 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevy Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, the power steering suddenly malfunctioned causing the driver to lose control of the vehicle and crashed into a tree. The contact indicated that during the crash, the airbags failed to deploy. The driver suffered a concussion, a neck injury and lacerations to the hands and face. A police report was filed. The vehicle was completely destroyed. The failure mileage was 64,400.

- Yadkinville, NC, USA

problem #34

Mar 192011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle accident and air bags did not deploy. The consumer stated her daughter was involved in an accident on March 19, 2011. Her daughter claimed, she had no idea what happened, when she lost control of the vehicle and it flew across the road, into the other lane, and lodged itself between two trees.

- Jermyn, PA, USA

problem #33

Jun 072014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was going straight at 35mph...speed limit in area is 40 another car turned directly into driver front near door hinge, car went head on into a street sign and my shoulder hit the steering wheel causing a large amount of pain and bruising, no power loss to the car but both side and front air bags failed to deploy.

- Benton Harbor, MI, USA

problem #32

May 222014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 91,778 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the steering wheel was hard to turn which caused the driver to crash into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The other driver sustained neck injuries. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 91,778. Updated 08-20-14...updated 09-09-14. Updated 09/15/2014

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #31

Apr 012014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time to perform the repairs. The dealer stated the part was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the prolonged delay. The vehicle was not repaired. There were no failures.

- Redford, MI, USA

problem #30

Jun 042014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
My 21 year old sons car is on the recall 14V047 and 14V171. I got a letter several months back that it was on recall and of course it is on the news. I got 2nd letter yesterday. When I called lakeside Chevrolet in rockwall I was given a vm for these recalls and they said they would order the part and it could take up to 90 days. My concern is 2 years ago this was a recall. We went to jupiter Chevrolet in garland and they said oh no ignition is fine its his key. At that time was a "possible recall". they made him a new key and charged him $39. At that time when he went in you had to shake column around to get key to work. I am now thinking with all the deaths shouldn't that car be recalled and shouldn't they be hurrying to get them fixed instead of waiting 90 day. Please help with this situation.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #29

Apr 072014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received the notification for NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated parts were not available. The contact had not experienced the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted.

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #28

Apr 012014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received the notification for NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the manufacturer failed to repair the vehicle in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated that parts were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available...updated 08/11/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on July 10. Updated 08/20/2014

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #27

Jun 012014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
I am very disappointed in GM's handling of the February 10 and April 10, 2014 recalls of 2008 Chevrolet Cobalts. I am a 2008 Cobalt owner, and I still have not received a letter nor has my uncle who is the registered owner. I bought the vehicle used but do not feel that is an adequate excuse for not being notified of this recall. I was not able to order the designated parts for repair until 3 days ago, as the dealership I contacted in regards to the problem did not get back to me. I do not feel that this recall is a situation to make light of. People are dying from this deficiency in the vehicle, and I was never even informed of the possibility of my air bags not deploying. I do not feel safe driving my car and I do not feel secure knowing that without my taking the initiative to investigate this problem, I would never have known that my car had been recalled. I also am not satisfied with the listing on the official GM letter on the NHTSA website that all ignition switches will be replaced, when the posted recall on cars.com from GM states a problem with the ignition cylinder as well. I also feel that my air bags, steering and entire electrical system should be tested and replaced if there is even the slightest chance that they have be ineffective. I lose power steering if my ignition switch fails, in addition to my air bags failing, further compromising my safety. I am very concerned about these defects on my vehicle, as I have no other form of transportation back and forth to work etc., and the length of time it is taking for it to be repaired. The dealership that ordered the parts for me told me it would be 6 weeks before the parts arrived, at which point I could make my appointment which may mean additional waiting. I, as a consumer, feel slighted and certainly disregarded. I will not recommend any GM sedan of this nature to anyone.

- Kenmore, NY, USA

problem #26

Oct 032013

Cobalt

  • 68,000 miles
Sliding on slippery road. Fishtailed, not sure if steering locked up. With the front of my car, hit another car in the side. No airbags deployed. Concerned about the recall with the Cobalt at this time.

- Middlefield, OH, USA

problem #25

May 232014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated after the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA recall campaign number: 14V171000, electrical system the air bag light illuminated sporadically and the power steering failed to function normally. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or an independent mechanic for the failures. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage was 79,873.

- Lebanon, TN, USA

problem #24

Mar 272014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the driver was traveling 55 mph and drove over a pot hole when the vehicle suddenly stalled, causing the driver to crash into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The force of the impact caused the vehicle to explode, causing fatal injuries to a passenger. The driver was removed from the vehicle within seconds of the explosion however, the passenger could not be rescued. A police report was filed. The driver was transported to the hospital for treatment of severe bruising, lacerations and fractures to both legs. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 ( air bags, electrical system) and stated that the recall notification was not received until after the incident. The VIN and failure mileage was not available.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?