Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
24 / 3
Average Mileage:
50,588 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Mar 142014


  • 107,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, another vehicle crashed into the front passenger's side of the vehicle. The force of the impact pushed the contact's vehicle across two lanes. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained unknown injuries and was transported to the hospital for treatment. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to the contact's residence. The contact later notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and notified the manufacturer of the failure. The vehicle was not inspected to determine the cause of the air bag failure. The approximate failure mileage was 107,000.

- Franklinville, NC, USA

problem #22

May 012014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system), however the parts needed were currently unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Plainfield , IL, USA

problem #21

Apr 262014


  • miles
I was driving on the everett turnpike in nh. There was a soccer net in the middle of the highway. The cars in front of me had stopped and I tried to stop, but because my power steering was out along with my anti-lock brakes. I couldn't stop. I hit the car in front of me and my airbags didn't deploy. Luckily the only damage done was psychological. If I were an inexperienced driver than I would have died.. I have already had my power steering fixed once and now it has been recalled again. The car as a whole should be recalled. I don't feel safe driving it after they fix a problem that has already happened twice.

- Woburn, MA, USA

problem #20

Jan 132014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


The contact owns 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received the recall notice related to NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. There are no failures at this time. The manufacturer was notified and stated there was no rental vehicle available. Updated 05/28/14 MA updated 06/02/2014

- Oswego, NY, USA

problem #19

Apr 072014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 131,000 miles
Hydroplaned on freeway. Car spun around til it crashed into the guardrail hitting 3 sides of the car. None of the airbags deployed. Waiting for claims adjuster to rule if its to be totaled.

- Holly Lake Ranch, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Feb 212011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 68,180 miles
On February 21th, 2011, I was driving on the I-95 expressway. Suddenly, I lost the control of my car which was hit by another car driven by [xxx] (case # [xxx]). on June seventh, 2010, my wife had similar accident with her 2006 Chevy Cobalt. The fact that both crashes were so similar made dubious about our responsibility on them. I asked to inspect my vehicle twice (3/25/11 and 4/9/11), but inspectors said that my car was ok. On December 12, 2011 I presented a complaint to F. H.S. M. V. D. M. S. (complaint #[xxx]), on December 16, 2011 its answer was; your complaints do not fall within its jurisdiction. Dejected, I did not forward any more action. I have just received from GM a warning about a defect which relates to motor vehicles safety exists in 2005-2007 model year (my) Chevrolet Cobalt, then I read on tv news, and internet, that GM issued that it's possible that the air bags might not deploy if there is an accident. In this moment we realized that both the 2006 and 2008 Chevy Cobalt air bags did not deploy, regardless both vehicles crashes were on front bumper allstate insurance paid the amount of $6440.58 to repair my car. We have received a significant amount of letters from lawyers and allstate insurance dealing with injures damages and monetary compensation. Allstate paid to Mr. Sentmanat the sum of $10 000, consequently our allstate insurance premium was raised substantially. This entire situation had caused stress, economic problems and lack of confidence in both my wife I. because both crashes happened in the afternoon rush hour, I-95 traffic was crowded and slow, but in other conditions and as consequence of air bag malfunction my wife and might have died. For the reasons explaining above I, the writer, demand from GM a monetary compensation for the psychological, legal, and monetary problems caused by my car malfunction. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- North Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #17

Jan 012013


  • 47,000 miles


Ignition switch jams; air bag light stays on; cruise control stopped working; airconditioner stopped working; tire light stays on; engine light stays on; and now heater is barely working.

- Bartlesville, OK, USA

problem #16

Nov 212012


  • 60,000 miles
On my way home from work in heavy traffic in indianapolis, someone in front of me hit their brakes hard. As a result, I also had to slam on my brakes. When I did so, my rear end spun out. I lost power steering. I crashed head first into the concrete median. However, the airbag did not deploy. Luckily, I escaped severe injury; although the wreck, the resulting loss of power steering, and the fact that the airbag did not deploy were directly due to the negligence of General Motors.

- New Palestine, IN, USA

problem #15

Jul 132010


  • 10,000 miles
I do not remember the exact dates and mileage, but I have seen recently the recalls on Cobalt. I purchased a 2008 Cobalt in 2008. Had 5 miles on it when I bought it. By, 2010 the ignition switch had been replaced 3 times, due to failure. 2 times the ignition would not start. Once, the car would not turn off. I had to drive immediately to the dealership that time. I contacted the dealership, GM, and interstate commerce dept. No one would help me. The only thing GM said they would do is give me $2500 towards the purchase of a brand new vehicle. I had just had my daughter and stuck on the side of the road with her the last time. After no help, I just had let them repo the vehicle. I know the recall only goes to 2007 models, but you may want to investigate the 2008 models as well.

- Maryville, TN, USA

problem #14

Feb 042014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 81,493 miles
I was driving on a 3 lane highway in the middle lane attempting to pass a vehicle by entering the far left lane when I noticed a car in my blind spot. I overcorrected when attempting to navigate back into my original lane of travel. My car began fishtailing, I spun around 2 times while crossing over 2 lanes of traffic and hit the right side guard rail almost head on at 40 mph. I went back into traffic and hit another vehicle on the side panel and came to rest with my car northbound in the southbound traffic the air bags did not deploy in the crash, which I found concerning with the amount of front end damage the vehicle sustained. The vehicle was deemed a total loss.

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #13

Mar 302013


  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the driver front air bag suddenly deployed causing the contact to crash into a ditch. The contact sustained broken ribs and a semi-severed finger. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000....updated 05/22/13

- Meraux, LA, USA

problem #12

Nov 282012


  • miles
Air bag light come on service immediately may not be protected in accident kept coming on had to take to tech codeboo13/0012 clockspring it scary for a car thats five years old. To find out its in steering area. ## VIN failed ##

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #11

Oct 162012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
On Tuesday morning I went to pick up my mail and I notice something hanging from my car ceiling inside the car when I went to take a look, it look like my airbag from the passenger side from front all the way back are deployed. There was no accident nor anyone attempt to steel the car. I'm 70 years old imagine if this thing deployed while I'm driving, for sure there will be someone dead. I contacted GMC to help me out so far they keep saying they will send an inspector to take a look but this will not happen for another week or so. So I can't drive the car for safety issues and they will not give me a rental car. What if there is an emergency and I do need a car what then? I'm not happy with the service that they providing me. This issue should not be taken lightly, if it happen to someone else for sure there will be a fidelity.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 012012


  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the key became lodged in the ignition and he was unable to remove it. Also, the contact stated that on a separate occasion while driving 45 mph the steering wheel seized and the air bag warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer six times who diagnose that the ignition module, steering wheel column and driver side air bag module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 82,600.

- Viola, WI, USA

problem #9

Aug 312012


  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph and attempting O decelerate, the brake failed to engage and the contact proceeded to crash into a stop sign. The front driver side air bag failed to deploy. The contact was not injured. The vehicle was towed to a local body shop for further investigation of the failure. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 39,000.

- Zapata , TX, USA

problem #8

Aug 012012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 38,128 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while parked, the air bag warning light and service air bag message illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 38,128... updated 08-27-12 the coil assembly was replaced. Update 08/28/12

- Northglenn, CO, USA

problem #7

Jun 152011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 52,732 miles
Service air bag light is illuminated in the driver information window. The light has been coming on and going off after a few days. Currently the light has been on and will not shut off. Didn't know until recently that when light is on, the air bags are inoperative in a crash. Many customer complaints are logged in on the internet going back to 2005. In addition, several GM technical service bulletin numbers are on line plus two NHTSA items numbers. Customers are paying from $300 to $1000 to have their Chevrolet Cobalt's repaired. Dealers are changing the air bag modules. This is safety item and repairs should be free of charge. Please advise.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #6

Jan 232012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 415,000 miles
While sitting in a parked position, the check air bag light and message lit up. Tried to turn it off by having the passenger unlock and relock the seat belt. Nothing changed. It has also come on while driving just a few feet. This is very annoying and worrisome. I would like to know what to do about this. Two weekends a month I have my son and my grand daughters in the car. I want to feel safe while they are in this vehicle. If this can not be fixed, I want a brand new car of my choice at no charge!!!! I have not been very happy with this vehicle. It is not a good car. I am tired of all of the problems with this car.

- Port Orchard, WA, USA

problem #5

Jul 152011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
My aircondition quits blowing cool air off and on the buttons are wrong. Engine light comes on and off. The airbag light comes on and off.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #4

Mar 062011


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving approximately 25 mph, the steering wheel locked and the driver was unable to turn the wheel. As a result, the vehicle was involved in a crash in which the air bags did not deploy. The driver and a passenger were reported injured and a police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a lot and was not examined for the cause of failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V073000 (steering:electric power assist system). The failure and current mileages were 55,000.

- Coal City, WV, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?