Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
33 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
22 / 5
Average Mileage:
54,938 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 9 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #62

Apr 152010

Cobalt

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving 65 mph and attempting to slow down, the power steering warning light illuminated when the steering wheel locked. The power steering failure caused the contact to crash into a concrete barrier. The contact sustained neck and head injuries and was taken to the hospital. The vehicle was destroyed and a police report was filed. The contact filed a claim with the manufacturer. The VIN was unavailable when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was approximately 68,000.

- Wheaton, MD, USA

problem #61

Feb 162010

Cobalt

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was driving approximately 45 mph when the contact lost control of the steering wheel. The vehicle rolled over approximately two times. The driver was injured and transported to the hospital. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an impound lot. The manufacturer was notified and a complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 14,000.

- Compton , CA, USA

problem #60

Apr 052010

Cobalt

  • 65,000 miles
I have a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt that I purchased in January of 2008 with about 64,000 miles on it. Recently I had an incident that kept repeating itself in the same day where my wheel would lock and I could no longer steer. This problem I have never had and recently there have been other complaints of friends of mines who have the same problem. I'm just making this issue known and making someone aware of it, because it could get serious.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #59

Mar 102010

Cobalt

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving 10 mph, the contact noticed a chiming sound inside of the vehicle and then the power steering light illuminated on the dashboard. A few minutes after the warning light illuminated, the steering wheel became difficult to turn; however, after restarting the vehicle she noticed that the power steering had begun to operate normally. The failure has occurred on 7 occasions. The failure mileage was 54000 and the current mileage was 55000.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #58

Mar 112010

Cobalt

  • 36,500 miles
I am just driving along and all of a sudden the power steering goes out on my 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt, and it has done it at least 20 times within the last 4-5 days. Since I bought the car two and a half weeks ago.

- Independence, MO, USA

problem #57

Nov 212008

Cobalt

  • miles
December 21,2008 changed my life forever. Driver was killed in a one car crash, where her and her car were thru to the street below on 6-35 and high dr. The car went airborne she was thrown out the car but was saved enough to be transported to the hospital where she later died. The car was not so lucky it landed and rolled to a stop at the bottom of the bridge, in which the car was scatter in many pieces. There was physical not much left of the car. The car would have been going the speed limit it would have by passed the opening and landed on the other side but because it was slow going it resulted in her death. There was a reenactment done but the finding were in conclusive on how she died. She lost control after getting on the highway. I checked for recall on her 2008 Cobalt and there were none at the time of her death. Her older sister want to know if this could have been a result of the power steering problem. I started looking for recall right after her death and did not find any and did not know what to do but now this national recalls for the Toyota then the voluntary recall done with GM recently opened our eyes that this young woman death could be the result of faulty car. Please let me know what is need to be done to file this complaint. We have suffered a great loss. She was a good drive and the conclusion that has been made has been none. We just don't know what happened.

- Kansas City , KS, USA

problem #56

Mar 292009

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle was driven approximately 40 mph when the power steering failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times; however, the power steering reset itself whenever the vehicle was restarted. The dealer stated that nothing could be repaired unless they were able to duplicate the failure. The service manager stated that Chevrolet does not have a history of power steering failures. The dealer replaced the power steering motor prior to the related recall, 10V073000, steering:electric power assist system. The VIN was not available. Updated 5/17/2010 * cn updated 06/11/10

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #55

Mar 032010

Cobalt

  • 17,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) my daughter purchased a 2008 Chevy Cobalt in May 09. On March 3, 2009 she was in an accident caused by loss of steering control. This problem was reported to the dealer in July 2009, said no problem. On nonday colonial Chevrolet in va beach 23502 was asked about the recall related to the accident, and to check the system. They first stated no recall on Cobalt steering, and now are stonewalling the repair of the vehicle, and the recall problem. I was told we MA be without vehicle 90 days. Not satisfactory, no ownership of problem. [xxx]

- Windsor, VA, USA

problem #54

Feb 032010

Cobalt

  • 44,115 miles
On approximately 2/1/10, my "power steering" light came on after slowing to turn a corner. Since I was about 1 block from home, I drove home without power steering, turned the car off and checked my owner's manual where it suggested that I contact my dealer immediately. The following morning, I contacted the dealer and was told to bring the car in. As I turned on the engine, the power steering message was gone and the power steering had returned. I went ahead and took it to the dealer who told me to bring it back in if the message returned and power steering was lost again. I drove to work and as I turned into the parking lot, the message appeared again and power steering was lost. When the engine was turned off and restarted, the message was gone and power steering returned. I drove until 2/2/10 at which time I was driving down the expressway when the message came on again and power steering was lost. I drove directly to the dealer while the message was on. The car was checked and I was told the power steering assist motor was going out and would have to be replaced. On 2/3/10, I brought the car into the dealer for repair and paid $398.58 for repairs. (I.e. "motor kit").

- Owasso, OK, USA

problem #53

Dec 232009

Cobalt

  • 18,600 miles
I was driving my 2008 Cobalt, going West on 480 9cleveland),going the speed limit. I change lines to get off at ridge road, when we hit black ice, the steering on the car would not let me turn left/right it seemed lock in place. We (myself/wife) hit a SUV then another SUV, result was total loss of the Cobalt. My wife was pinned under the dash and I fractured/dislocated my hip 3 days in the hospital, we both had seat belts on.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #52

Mar 072009

Cobalt

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On March 7 2009, I was involved in an automobile accident while driving a 2008 Chevy Cobalt lt, the vehicle was a rental from enterprise rent a car. I was unable to control the vehicle and the steering behaved very erratically. The cause of the accident was categorized as a dui (.089 bac) but I firmly believe that it was due to the steering, I did mention this in the initial police report but, but my dui took precedence over everything else. I was hospitalized with significant injuries and costs. Kindly advice as to how I can seek some relief from the consequences both financial, physical, mental and legal. I will consult an attorney in this matter as well, but would like to lodge a formal complaint about the incident.

- Hegins, PA, USA

problem #51

Feb 272010

Cobalt

  • 19,900 miles
My 16yr daughter has a 2008 Chevy Cobalt that she said the power steering locked up on this weekend 3 different times. She was able to pull the car to the side of the road and kill the engine and restart it without problems each time. Her car only has 19,900 miles on it, so it is still under warranty. My big concern is that if GM has not fixed the problem then it will happen again and she may not be so lucky next time. I am really concerned about letting her continue to drive this car.

- Mer Rouge, LA, USA

problem #50

Dec 182009

Cobalt

  • 10,550 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated while driving 25mph the power steering fail as he was making a turn. Within 30 seconds the vehicle reset itself this has happen twice within the last month. He has not contacted the dealer or manufacture as yet. The failure mileage was 10,550.

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #49

Jul 102009

Cobalt

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving 55 mph it became difficult to control the steering wheel when making a right turn. The vehicle was traveling 55 mph at the time of the failure. The vehicle lost power steering whenever he made a left or right turn. When the power steering light illuminated on the dashboard the contact ha\D to turn the vehicle off and on so that it would reset and function properly. The failure mileage was 50,000. The current mileage was 68,000.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #48

Feb 102010

Cobalt

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,862 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt lt. While driving 20 mph and attempting to make a left turn his power steering wheel locked. The driver also had to pull the wheel to continue driving normally while making a turn. The driver also stated that he spoke with the dealer and was that the vehicle was functioning normally and that should happen with an electric power steering wheel. The failure mileage was 32,862. The current mileage was 34,360. Updated 05/14/10.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #47

Feb 192010

Cobalt

  • 25,692 miles
My son's 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt with less than 26K miles recently lost all steering. The electronic power assist motor locked up. My son was fortunate he was in a parking lot and not on the highway when this occurred. A young coworker with a 2007 Cobalt had a problem with his steering. His car would wander in to the next lane until corrected. The Cobalt steering problem should be addressed via a recall before someone is seriously injured or killed. In both of the above cases, parts were replaced at no charge by a local Chevy dealer. My son's car was repaired on 02/22/10 and the co worker's on 02/16/10.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #46

Feb 122010

Cobalt

  • 12,000 miles
Power steering failure.

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #45

Feb 042010

Cobalt

  • 7,000 miles
Trouble steering at slow speeds. Loose power steering when parking or driving at slow speeds. It now occurs often.

- Marlboro, NJ, USA

problem #44

Feb 212010

Cobalt

  • 38,000 miles
2008 Chevrolet Cobalt - power steering problem. Power steering light goes on, car loses power steering. Comes and goes. Never know when it is going to happen.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #43

Dec 042009

Cobalt

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was driving approximately between 45-50 mph on normal road conditions ; proceeding into a curve. There was an unexpected loss of power steering. The driver was unable to turn the steering wheel in the direction of the curve. The vehicle crashed head- on to another vehicle. The police and ambulance were called to the scene. There were no personal injuries to the vehicle occupants. However, both vehicles were completely destroyed. The failure mileage was 62,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Joshua, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?