Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
33 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
22 / 5
Average Mileage:
55,150 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 9 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #55

Mar 032010


  • 17,000 miles


Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) my daughter purchased a 2008 Chevy Cobalt in May 09. On March 3, 2009 she was in an accident caused by loss of steering control. This problem was reported to the dealer in July 2009, said no problem. On nonday colonial Chevrolet in va beach 23502 was asked about the recall related to the accident, and to check the system. They first stated no recall on Cobalt steering, and now are stonewalling the repair of the vehicle, and the recall problem. I was told we MA be without vehicle 90 days. Not satisfactory, no ownership of problem. [xxx]

- Windsor, VA, USA

problem #54

Feb 032010


  • 44,115 miles
On approximately 2/1/10, my "power steering" light came on after slowing to turn a corner. Since I was about 1 block from home, I drove home without power steering, turned the car off and checked my owner's manual where it suggested that I contact my dealer immediately. The following morning, I contacted the dealer and was told to bring the car in. As I turned on the engine, the power steering message was gone and the power steering had returned. I went ahead and took it to the dealer who told me to bring it back in if the message returned and power steering was lost again. I drove to work and as I turned into the parking lot, the message appeared again and power steering was lost. When the engine was turned off and restarted, the message was gone and power steering returned. I drove until 2/2/10 at which time I was driving down the expressway when the message came on again and power steering was lost. I drove directly to the dealer while the message was on. The car was checked and I was told the power steering assist motor was going out and would have to be replaced. On 2/3/10, I brought the car into the dealer for repair and paid $398.58 for repairs. (I.e. "motor kit").

- Owasso, OK, USA

problem #53

Dec 232009


  • 18,600 miles
I was driving my 2008 Cobalt, going West on 480 9cleveland),going the speed limit. I change lines to get off at ridge road, when we hit black ice, the steering on the car would not let me turn left/right it seemed lock in place. We (myself/wife) hit a SUV then another SUV, result was total loss of the Cobalt. My wife was pinned under the dash and I fractured/dislocated my hip 3 days in the hospital, we both had seat belts on.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #52

Mar 072009


  • 20,000 miles


On March 7 2009, I was involved in an automobile accident while driving a 2008 Chevy Cobalt lt, the vehicle was a rental from enterprise rent a car. I was unable to control the vehicle and the steering behaved very erratically. The cause of the accident was categorized as a dui (.089 bac) but I firmly believe that it was due to the steering, I did mention this in the initial police report but, but my dui took precedence over everything else. I was hospitalized with significant injuries and costs. Kindly advice as to how I can seek some relief from the consequences both financial, physical, mental and legal. I will consult an attorney in this matter as well, but would like to lodge a formal complaint about the incident.

- Hegins, PA, USA

problem #51

Feb 272010


  • 19,900 miles
My 16yr daughter has a 2008 Chevy Cobalt that she said the power steering locked up on this weekend 3 different times. She was able to pull the car to the side of the road and kill the engine and restart it without problems each time. Her car only has 19,900 miles on it, so it is still under warranty. My big concern is that if GM has not fixed the problem then it will happen again and she may not be so lucky next time. I am really concerned about letting her continue to drive this car.

- Mer Rouge, LA, USA

problem #50

Dec 182009


  • 10,550 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated while driving 25mph the power steering fail as he was making a turn. Within 30 seconds the vehicle reset itself this has happen twice within the last month. He has not contacted the dealer or manufacture as yet. The failure mileage was 10,550.

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #49

Jul 102009


  • 50,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving 55 mph it became difficult to control the steering wheel when making a right turn. The vehicle was traveling 55 mph at the time of the failure. The vehicle lost power steering whenever he made a left or right turn. When the power steering light illuminated on the dashboard the contact ha\D to turn the vehicle off and on so that it would reset and function properly. The failure mileage was 50,000. The current mileage was 68,000.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #48

Feb 102010


  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,862 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt lt. While driving 20 mph and attempting to make a left turn his power steering wheel locked. The driver also had to pull the wheel to continue driving normally while making a turn. The driver also stated that he spoke with the dealer and was that the vehicle was functioning normally and that should happen with an electric power steering wheel. The failure mileage was 32,862. The current mileage was 34,360. Updated 05/14/10.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #47

Feb 192010


  • 25,692 miles
My son's 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt with less than 26K miles recently lost all steering. The electronic power assist motor locked up. My son was fortunate he was in a parking lot and not on the highway when this occurred. A young coworker with a 2007 Cobalt had a problem with his steering. His car would wander in to the next lane until corrected. The Cobalt steering problem should be addressed via a recall before someone is seriously injured or killed. In both of the above cases, parts were replaced at no charge by a local Chevy dealer. My son's car was repaired on 02/22/10 and the co worker's on 02/16/10.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #46

Feb 122010


  • 12,000 miles
Power steering failure.

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #45

Feb 042010


  • 7,000 miles


Trouble steering at slow speeds. Loose power steering when parking or driving at slow speeds. It now occurs often.

- Marlboro, NJ, USA

problem #44

Feb 212010


  • 38,000 miles
2008 Chevrolet Cobalt - power steering problem. Power steering light goes on, car loses power steering. Comes and goes. Never know when it is going to happen.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #43

Dec 042009


  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was driving approximately between 45-50 mph on normal road conditions ; proceeding into a curve. There was an unexpected loss of power steering. The driver was unable to turn the steering wheel in the direction of the curve. The vehicle crashed head- on to another vehicle. The police and ambulance were called to the scene. There were no personal injuries to the vehicle occupants. However, both vehicles were completely destroyed. The failure mileage was 62,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Joshua, TX, USA

problem #42

Feb 172010


  • 41,000 miles
Prior to this incident, I had noticed that the steering was really stiff and hard to steer. I had originally thought that this was just the design of the car. This is a rental car so I only had it temporarily. On February 17, 2010, I pulled up to gas station driving this car: 2008 Chevy Cobalt ls. The steering froze up and the car wouldn't re-start. If this would have happened while I was driving, it could have resulted in serious injury or death. The manager at hertz will not speak to me and has not returned my phone calls. I am reporting hertz to the better business bureau and to my legislatures. Again, this car is a 2008 Chevy Cobalt ls and I have been researching this automobile. I have found that this car has a known issue and numerous customers want it recalled. At this time, I believe they are still having to pay for the repairs.

- Bullhead City, AZ, USA

problem #41

Feb 152009


  • 46,635 miles
Had a knocking sound coming from under hood. Lasted about two months. Took vehicle in before warranty expired and they said I had a faulty steering column. They tried to say it was possibly caused by my worn tires but they still have at least two months left before I would have to replace them. Because part was covered under warranty they replaced the steering column (pt#19209155) and I paid the $100 deductible. I had other problems with steering on the freeway but figured it was the road conditions. Non lead to a accident but at least one time I almost hit another car. Hopefully there will be a recall on this because this could lead to a very fatal accident. I will never use this vehicle to Transport any of my children.

- Winchester , CA, USA

problem #40

Feb 122010


  • 43,000 miles
2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. Electronic steering will disengage while driving. This problem has happened numerous times and causing the driver to nearly lose control of the vehicle. The problem will arise if the automobile is on the road at a high rate of speed or moving slowly. Dealerships project the cost at $900 to $1500 to repair. We feel this is the manufactures fault due to an ineffective electronic power steering. It is also a great safety hazard that could result in someone causing a fatality or getting hurt themselves.

- Casa Grande, AZ, USA

problem #39

Feb 162010


  • 44,000 miles
I was driving in town when all of a sudden the power steering warning beeped and flashed and I couldn't easily steer the car. I was able to stop at a red light and turn off the car and turn it back on. The car did the same thing again a few minutes later.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #38

Jun 132008


  • 9,000 miles
The contact's sister rented a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The driver was driving at approx 55 mph when the vehicle veered off the road into the opposite lane where it was struck by another vehicle. The driver was killed as a result of the crash. The North Carolina highway patrol inspected the vehicle but could not find a cause for the failure. The contact saw reports of failed power steering in news reports and thought that the explanation could have been a loss of power steering. The contact never spoke with the manufacturer or the dealer about the problem. The vehicle was totaled as a result of the crash. The current and failure mileages were approximately 9,000.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #37

Feb 152010


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving at approximately 45 to 50mph. The power steering light illuminated and within seconds the steering locked. He was able to move on the side of the road turned the vehicle off. The steering resumed normal operation. But then it failed again. The vehicle was towed to his home. The vehicle will be taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The current and the failure mileage were 45,000.

- Germantown , MD, USA

problem #36

Feb 102010


  • 43,000 miles
I was pulling into a driveway and the power steering completely went out and the power steering light came on. I immediately went to the dealership(mk smith, chino, ca) they turned off the car and the light went out and then the steering was fine. I left the car there for them to check out because if that would have happened while I was making a turn I would have had an accident. I know there has been over a thousand complaints with the same problem and even some accidents so I don't want to take the chance of driving the car. There needs to be a recall on this problem. Until there is I have to endure the cost of the repairs. I have a 2008 Chevy Cobalt.

- Chino, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?